Date: 18/8/2018 8:32
0

Crosman .177 Cal Steel Breech Kit & LPA Rear Sight reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (11 reviews)
3 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Martin from USA on 2014-12-10 09:46:07

Things I liked: I have installed three of these and all worked excellently. Turned a pretty good pellet pistol into a tack driving monster.They work equally well on the 1377 and 1322 models, as far as accuracy increase. Also seem to be much better in the balance area.

Things I would have changed: All three of these have the issue of bolt being very difficult to close or open when handle is screwed in tight. This cleared up on all three after about 50 shots fired. There were small irregularities in the slot for the handle which smoothed out on their own with use. I polished this slot on my own 1377 and did not encounter this problem.

What others should know: I have been an avid air gunner since the middle sixties with the purchase of a Bennie 342 in 22 ca. Still a great gun today. These Crosmans are one of the greatest values in airgunning today, although with the addition of the steel breech and adjustable rear sight they are a little pricy. A prebuilt gun with these accessories at a discounted price would be great. But even $140 total cost for the accuracy and power is not a bad deal. Will someone please make nice wood replacement stocks and forearms for these fine guns?

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:1.0

By Mickey from USA on 2018-07-18 17:44:21

Things I liked: The individual components are well made and the technique, instructions and tools for changing out the receiver were fine.

Things I would have changed: The interface of the LPA sight and the receiver was not well thought out and needs to be redesigned, Three screws are used tighten down and adjust the sight on the receiver. However, in doing so, you wind up lifting base of the sight off the receiver platform. The only interface is now the bottom edges of the sight dovetail with the top edges of the receiver dovetail. I had no confidence in that arrangement what so ever. I finally just glued the sight to the receive. Of course the end result of that is I have no elevation adjustment capability.

What others should know: Don't buy it if you're really looking for a fully adjustable sight.

Sort by:
  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Mickey from USA on 2018-07-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The individual components are well made and the technique, instructions and tools for changing out the receiver were fine.

    Things I would have changed: The interface of the LPA sight and the receiver was not well thought out and needs to be redesigned, Three screws are used tighten down and adjust the sight on the receiver. However, in doing so, you wind up lifting base of the sight off the receiver platform. The only interface is now the bottom edges of the sight dovetail with the top edges of the receiver dovetail. I had no confidence in that arrangement what so ever. I finally just glued the sight to the receive. Of course the end result of that is I have no elevation adjustment capability.

    What others should know: Don't buy it if you're really looking for a fully adjustable sight.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mike from USA on 2018-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality steel construction, look and function of the LPA rear sight on the steel breech 1377. The LPA is a huge improvement over the stock sight.The look, feel and weight of the steel breech on the 1377 make it rock solid with the option of optical sights. It now feels and looks more like a firearm. The steel breech helps reduce the slight barrel movement with the plastic breech. I would have given 5 stars overall except for need to alter front sight.

    Things I would have changed: The fit into the dovetail should be tighter and the sight should sit lower in the slot. The stock front sight on both of my 1377s was to low and had to be raised to allow for adjustment low enough to get on target. Nothing to change about the breech.

    What others should know: If you run out of downward elevation adjustment, your best bet is to raise the top of front sight. It's easy to do, costs little or nothing and takes just little time and creativity.Read my comment on this review page if you want to see how I fixed mine.I know you shouldn't have to but if you like the sight and breech combo it's worth it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2016-07-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This increased the velocity of my 1377 with H&N Trophy copper-coated 8.80 grain pellets. The stock breech would barely sink the pellet into my plywood backstop or sometimes bounce off at 20 yards. With this installed it buries the pellet in the plywood anywhere from up to the middle or base of the skirt.

    Things I would have changed: I'm not so sure about the white dots on the sights. I'm thinking about blacking them out to provide better contrast. It'd be nice if they had a precision factory peep site made to these same dimensions, and not bulky like the Williams one. I wish there was a quality precision front sight besides the junky plastic stock one.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Adds more heft to the rear of the pistol. It allowed me to mount the higher quality LPA rear sight. I can also add a scope or red-dot sight if I choose to do so. The breech kit and sight were easy to install.

    Things I would have changed: Ensure that the rear receiver screw that came with the kit is threaded properly. See below.

    What others should know: I would have given the breech kit 5 stars except for a problem threading in the rear screw. The slightly shorter rear screw that came with the breech kit would not thread into the rear receiver. The threads on the screw eventually stripped out. To overcome the problem, I sawed the existing slightly longer screw off to the required length and used it instead with no further problems.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By edward from USA on 2016-02-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Adds weight to the pellet pistol and adds lots of good quality, transforming the pistol from average to high quality.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: I own seven of these pistols now, five in .177, and two in .22. I have gone to the expense and trouble of putting this breech kit on all of them, and certainly do not regret it. They transform the pistol completely into a different and better product.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-06-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: very easy to install, gives me a more accurate sighting method than the original rear site

    Things I would have changed: more expansive installation instructions

    What others should know: I purchased the steel breech/rear sight combination, I think it was a good value

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-06-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: great upgrade,the original plastic breech just doesn't "feel" right,and doesn't look right either

    Things I would have changed: larger print on the instruction sheet

    What others should know: easy upgrade, watch a few on line videos and you are all set!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rodney from USA on 2015-03-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: everything, especially that I can now solidly mount a red dot sight.

    Things I would have changed: make it switchable left & righthanded.

    What others should know: The fit is perfect. matched up to all holes. Very easy to install.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This was easy to install. After placing several hundred rounds through it I've had no issues.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I've read the other reviews and found that I had no issues in installing this new breech on my Crosman 1377

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Martin from USA on 2014-12-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have installed three of these and all worked excellently. Turned a pretty good pellet pistol into a tack driving monster.They work equally well on the 1377 and 1322 models, as far as accuracy increase. Also seem to be much better in the balance area.

    Things I would have changed: All three of these have the issue of bolt being very difficult to close or open when handle is screwed in tight. This cleared up on all three after about 50 shots fired. There were small irregularities in the slot for the handle which smoothed out on their own with use. I polished this slot on my own 1377 and did not encounter this problem.

    What others should know: I have been an avid air gunner since the middle sixties with the purchase of a Bennie 342 in 22 ca. Still a great gun today. These Crosmans are one of the greatest values in airgunning today, although with the addition of the steel breech and adjustable rear sight they are a little pricy. A prebuilt gun with these accessories at a discounted price would be great. But even $140 total cost for the accuracy and power is not a bad deal. Will someone please make nice wood replacement stocks and forearms for these fine guns?

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By wally from USA on 2014-10-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This makes a great combo for a very easy adjustable sight but needs to be set to it's lowest vertical setting.

    Things I would have changed: It needs to mount just a tad lower with the stock front sight to keep from shooting a bit to high but now that I'm used to it it's no problem & I'm very pleased with the combo...

    What others should know: Just aim at the very bottom of the target

Navigation