Date: 19/12/2018 1:31
0

Hawke Optics 4-16x44. 14161. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (22 reviews)
3 star2 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By John from USA on 2013-12-09 10:06:52

Things I liked: The construction is solid and well made. The optics are clear and bright and the click adjustments give you repeatable settings. This is a side focus scope.I'm fond of and much prefer them to having to reach around the bell front for paralax and focus.

What others should know: The reticle has half mil-dots indications. While very fine,these are clear,readable and useful for precise aiming especially when using them on an air rifle with their low velocities (compared to standard rifle calibers)while shooting at small targets. The use of the Mil-dot allows you to use the dots for elevation and windage corrections (holdover)at known distances without having to make the minute of angle corrections on the fly. (Which is why they are so popular.) The half mil-dots obviate the need for 1/8th minute adjustments (again, you need to practice at known distances.) I now have three Hawke scopes and find them to be an EXCELLENT value for their price.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Water Rat from USA on 2015-04-02 16:40:05

Things I liked: Smooth adjustments and the 1/2 mil dot

Things I would have changed: This is most likely THE worst scope I have ever owned. At anything over 8X it is extremely sensitive to your eye position almost to the point of not being usable. I have been shooting since age 13 and I am now 46 so I have had lots of experience with optics and I know its mounted and adjusted correctly. I have missed lots of shot opportunity's at pest because I was trying to find just the right spot to look through the scope. I would have sent it back to Pyramyd Air for replacement in the 1st 30 days but I had some problems with the Benjamin Discovery that this scope was bought for and didn't even get to try this scope out until it was past 30 days.

What others should know: If in doubt send it back,don't get stuck like me.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2018-05-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I gave a five star taking into consideration the price. I am sure there are better scopes but at twice the price..

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I mounted the scope on an AirArms 510-TDR and I am very satisfied with the combination.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2018-04-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I put it on my 30-06 sako rifle good clear holds zero

    Things I would have changed: wouldnt change anthing would say it good so far

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Keyman from USA on 2017-08-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Good glass. price right.

    Things I would have changed: full reticle instead of 5 mile dot

    What others should know: I took off 6x24 ArgosFFP and installed this on my Wildcat 22. I use for squirrel hunting. Here in southern Illinois our woods and canopy are thick. Not like the YouTube hunters. this scope has poor dawn and dusk resolution. just fine as long as there is light. good shooting from 10 yds. to 60yds. I don't know if I would buy it again. I had never owned a Hawke before and granted this is a Vantage but for more money I would go FFP.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2017-06-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is the first Hawke scope I have used. Very High Quality for the price. Clear optics, I am able to focus at all powers, simple to use and light weight. The other fellow with the low rating must have gotten a rotten one and should have sent it back. I have this mounted on my Evanix Rainstorm .30 cal and so far so good. I like the simplicity, side focus and no frills operation. Eye relief is perfect for me.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at this time.

    What others should know: Please note that this is not a high kick (breakbarrel) special and seems to be very well suited for PCP. If you have a heavy kick gun, look at UTG. I really like this scope for what it is.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Adam from USA on 2016-11-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Glass is super clear and the side adjustment.

    Things I would have changed: Dots are super close together and only half the reticle I prefer full.

    What others should know: Hawke builds a great product.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-11-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very clear scope for price. Also like the side focus adjustment. The etched glass reticle is awesome.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Great scope for the price. I have scopes i paid more for that are not as clear or functional as this scope.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Haans from USA on 2016-01-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The scope is bright and clear. Turrets have precise clicks. Generally well made.

    Things I would have changed: Eye relief and exit pupil are fussy. This is due to the 4x zoom ratio. I would prefer a 2x ratio or fixed magnification as this would result in a larger exit pupil. Since this is a MilDot reticle and 2nd focal plane so the mils are only accurate at 10x you lose the ease of use at other magnifications. I leave my scope set at 10x and so the zoom feature has no value to me.

    What others should know: This is my 3rd Hawke Scope, all mounted on spring guns. I like the products. If you ever need to make a warranty claim, Hawke is excellent and provides quick turn around.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The clarity & magnification of this scope is awesome !!! Great value for price

    Things I would have changed: Nothing @ all

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Colin from USA on 2015-11-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fine crosshair, 1/2 milldots, durable and accurate,

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By valente from USA on 2015-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Mil Dots and half mils work awesome. Clear!!!! So so clear!!!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Best scope for the money!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gearl from USA on 2015-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Clear,crisp,Solid as a rock,

    Things I would have changed: Make more Mil Dots come father down the glass,The Mil Dots come about 1/3 of the way down the bottom half of the glass,they should come 1/2 of the way down.I bought it for my 25 caliber Marauder,but no more Mil Dots than it has ,I could not get to 100 yards ,with it ,but understand that with a rifle that is shooting 2000 to 3000 fps that would not be a problem at all.

    What others should know: This is a great scope,for sure.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Water Rat from USA on 2015-04-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Smooth adjustments and the 1/2 mil dot

    Things I would have changed: This is most likely THE worst scope I have ever owned. At anything over 8X it is extremely sensitive to your eye position almost to the point of not being usable. I have been shooting since age 13 and I am now 46 so I have had lots of experience with optics and I know its mounted and adjusted correctly. I have missed lots of shot opportunity's at pest because I was trying to find just the right spot to look through the scope. I would have sent it back to Pyramyd Air for replacement in the 1st 30 days but I had some problems with the Benjamin Discovery that this scope was bought for and didn't even get to try this scope out until it was past 30 days.

    What others should know: If in doubt send it back,don't get stuck like me.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mohamed from USA on 2014-12-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Wonderful, good quality, hold zeeo and very accurate !!!

    Things I would have changed: I think it will be more better if it has a night vision !!!

    What others should know: Pyramydair one of the best online store . I like it very much

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Curt from USA on 2014-10-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very clear optics. Holds zero...accurate time after time.

    Things I would have changed: Space the mil dots out a little more. Increase the parallex a little bit more than 3/8".

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2014-06-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Clarity, mil-dot reticle, smooth side parallax adjustment. Mounted on a Beeman R9 replacing the one that came with the combo. This is a much better scope.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I have two other Hawke scopes and they all have performed well. One had a problem develop and I sent it back. Their customer service was not the fastest in the world but very good overall. I would not hesitate to but another Hawke scope. I think you get a lot of bang for your buck.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2014-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything , very sharp side focus

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Great gun for the R1/Hw80

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cecil from USA on 2014-02-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: The side focus and clear view.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Like this scope as much as the 3-12 x 44.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By phillip from USA on 2014-02-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything.Very clear on all power settings. Side focus is smooth. Point of impact does not change at different power settings. Really brought out the accuracy potential of Umarex Octane .22 cal.

    Things I would have changed: I don't have a lot of experience with side focus scopes but I would put the side focus on the right hand side of the scope for right handed shooters. Would be easier to focus while holding the gun on target when shooting offhand.

    What others should know: The scope is not illuminated but I was still able to nail targets at night at 30 yards on 16 power with the use of a mag lite with ease. Buy one you will be glad you did. PYRAMID AIR has been great to deal with on all my purchases.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2014-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The clarity of the scope was great. It is a keeper

    Things I would have changed: Needs more Mil-dots. I like to shoot long range and there was not enough mil-dots.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2013-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: The construction is solid and well made. The optics are clear and bright and the click adjustments give you repeatable settings. This is a side focus scope.I'm fond of and much prefer them to having to reach around the bell front for paralax and focus.

    What others should know: The reticle has half mil-dots indications. While very fine,these are clear,readable and useful for precise aiming especially when using them on an air rifle with their low velocities (compared to standard rifle calibers)while shooting at small targets. The use of the Mil-dot allows you to use the dots for elevation and windage corrections (holdover)at known distances without having to make the minute of angle corrections on the fly. (Which is why they are so popular.) The half mil-dots obviate the need for 1/8th minute adjustments (again, you need to practice at known distances.) I now have three Hawke scopes and find them to be an EXCELLENT value for their price.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation