Date: 15/6/2019 21:51
0

UTG 4-16x44 AO. SCP3-U416AOIEW. Customer Reviews - page 5

Average Customer Review

4.5 (102 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By David from USA on 2012-07-02 04:35:46

Things I liked: This scope has a considerable number of features for the money and is a great value! As a dealer I get all the info! For PCP or Co2 etc. Air Rifles it works great! I wouldn't suggest if for Nitro Piston & Spring guns though, I have personal experience there. 1st.> The 30mm tube offer very good light transmission even with an ARD attached like I use. 2nd.> The 9 Mil Dots each side of center are great for making adjustments for both Holdover & Windage and they are clear and sharp and small enough not to block the view even at distance. 4th.> Proper initial adjustment of the rear eye piece should be done while looking at a clear blue sky to adjust it for a sharp crisp image of the Mil Dots. Then the SWAT with a big Wheel adjustment pressed on it really makes focusing so much easier and more precisely done with the left hand while holding the rifle too! I like the 100mm Big wheel over the 80. 5th.> Leapers includes Medium? padded scope rings with a large diamond shaped tightening nuts which are very nice, hold securely and easy to use. Although they also make quick release rings too. For a Weaver base receiver, Leapers also has a conversion rail to allow the use of Picatinny mounts to be used, which are my choice. 6th.> The locking cross hair Turret wheels are also a very nice feature, just don't over tighten them. The turrets have nice crisp knob adjustments too.

Things I would have changed: 1st.> I like to see the numbers for the power setting ring put on the side of that ring closest to the eye peace for easy viewing by the shooter to determine what power setting is being used especially if power adjustments are made. 2n.> While the built on sunshade is nice in some respects I'd rather see the front of the scope flat and threaded to make it easier to add an ARD an [Anti-Reflection Device a honey comb grid] on too it. This can also be camo-ed so the front lens isn't notieable by game at all. And a screw in a short tube and be able to screw another on to the first if a longer tube is desired.

What others should know: The EZ-Tap Ritcle illumination with it's 36 colors to choose from is a great feature to contrast with your target, especially in dim light! Once a shade of your choice is chosen and the button is depressed briefly to turn it off, that same shade reappears when turned on again. Shade choice clarified: The 'R' button on the Right, is used to choose whichever of the 6 basic colors you want? The 'G' on the Left is used to chose the shade intensity within whatever shade is choosen with the 'R' button!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

By Troy from USA on 2015-04-08 18:21:04

Things I liked: I like the appearance over all. The locking knobs are nice and the entire unit feels solid. Optics are acceptable.

Things I would have changed: Reticle is a bit heavier than I'd like but doable.

What others should know: This one is going back. After around 250 shots the scope stopped holding zero. The POI would shift from zero to about four inches left then back again, sometimes stopping in between for a round or two. A back up scope proved it's not the rifle and all mounts, fasteners, and stock screws are good and tight. I took a gamble with this scope because reviews are generally favorable and it seems quality name airgun optics are hard to find. Not willing to give it another chance and will stick with the gut, avoiding the brand in the future until I see nothing but five star ratings. Lot's of them.

Sort by:
  • Previous 12 ... 456 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BRYAN from USA on 2013-02-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: crisp clear optics, nice mil dot reticle,fits perfectly on marauder with med height scope rings

    Things I would have changed: all the colors are overkill, red and green are sufficient

    What others should know: i added the swat wheel for ao adjustment and its really convenient

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By steve from USA on 2013-01-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: nice clear optics..like the zero return optical feature..and flip up lens covers.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: good value for the money..You can spend more but you won;t do much better.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eugene from USA on 2013-01-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Clear and maintains setting.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing except maybe have option of rings other than weaver. The weavers that come with it are usless to me, had to buy others.

    What others should know: I think it is a great scope for the money.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Binh from USA on 2012-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice scope,crystal clear, look nice with my marauder.

    Things I would have changed: side wheel adjust pretty tight from 10 yards to 30 yards.

    What others should know: Recommend to everyone.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2012-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I'm sure there are better scopes, but I don't think you can buy a better scope for the money. I love the 9 mil dots on each end of the crosshairs. I also have the 4-12x40 1 inch leapers. The 30mm scope provides much more light, and has more clarity than the 1".

    Things I would have changed: The side parallax is very stiff. I doubt it will loosen up with use. It looks like I will be getting the 100 mm sidewheel option

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Terry from USA on 2012-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice Scope, good set of featuress

    Things I would have changed: Make it cost less to purchase

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pahlevan from USA on 2012-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Good value product, easy set up

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Shawn from USA on 2012-07-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a great scope. It's got all the bells and whistles that you'd expect from hunting scope. I have this scope mounted to my Gamo Silent Stalker IGT, and it has never had to have the zero recalibrated. My Gamo's seen better days, but this scope is tough! I especially like the cap-less adjustment turrets that lock into place without having to unscrew the caps unlike the other scopes out there. The sidewheel AO adjustment is a must for airgunners, and the notch on the zoom is also great.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see this scope in a non-illuminated model to lower the costs. I don't really care for the 36 colors.

    What others should know: This is a great scope for any spring/gas piston rifle. If you're looking to shoot into the 50-80 yard range at a quarter sized target, this is the scope to get.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2012-07-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Weight, clarity,features.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Big heavy scope designed for magnum break barrels. Looks great on top of my benji xl 1100.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2012-07-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.05 ratings

    Things I liked: This scope has a considerable number of features for the money and is a great value! As a dealer I get all the info! For PCP or Co2 etc. Air Rifles it works great! I wouldn't suggest if for Nitro Piston & Spring guns though, I have personal experience there. 1st.> The 30mm tube offer very good light transmission even with an ARD attached like I use. 2nd.> The 9 Mil Dots each side of center are great for making adjustments for both Holdover & Windage and they are clear and sharp and small enough not to block the view even at distance. 4th.> Proper initial adjustment of the rear eye piece should be done while looking at a clear blue sky to adjust it for a sharp crisp image of the Mil Dots. Then the SWAT with a big Wheel adjustment pressed on it really makes focusing so much easier and more precisely done with the left hand while holding the rifle too! I like the 100mm Big wheel over the 80. 5th.> Leapers includes Medium? padded scope rings with a large diamond shaped tightening nuts which are very nice, hold securely and easy to use. Although they also make quick release rings too. For a Weaver base receiver, Leapers also has a conversion rail to allow the use of Picatinny mounts to be used, which are my choice. 6th.> The locking cross hair Turret wheels are also a very nice feature, just don't over tighten them. The turrets have nice crisp knob adjustments too.

    Things I would have changed: 1st.> I like to see the numbers for the power setting ring put on the side of that ring closest to the eye peace for easy viewing by the shooter to determine what power setting is being used especially if power adjustments are made. 2n.> While the built on sunshade is nice in some respects I'd rather see the front of the scope flat and threaded to make it easier to add an ARD an [Anti-Reflection Device a honey comb grid] on too it. This can also be camo-ed so the front lens isn't notieable by game at all. And a screw in a short tube and be able to screw another on to the first if a longer tube is desired.

    What others should know: The EZ-Tap Ritcle illumination with it's 36 colors to choose from is a great feature to contrast with your target, especially in dim light! Once a shade of your choice is chosen and the button is depressed briefly to turn it off, that same shade reappears when turned on again. Shade choice clarified: The 'R' button on the Right, is used to choose whichever of the 6 basic colors you want? The 'G' on the Left is used to chose the shade intensity within whatever shade is choosen with the 'R' button!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chris from USA on 2012-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I really like this scope the optics are very clear and the side focus is a breeze to use for the price you can't go wrong

    Things I would have changed: add a sun shade and offer the 11mm rings

    What others should know: it's big and heavy but for bench shooting works out great

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By morris w from USA on 2012-05-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: everything this scope has to offer is outstanding.

    Things I would have changed: make it in a 6x24x50 you will have a winner.

    What others should know: excellent scope for the money!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By golfnick from USA on 2012-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.663 ratings

    Things I liked: clarity and swat style features are cool. seems to be very sturdy in my setup on Benjamin marauder

    Things I would have changed: controls on lighted reticule are a bit funky

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By nell from USA on 2012-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is definitely a very solid well built scope, The 36 color illumination is a real nice feature. The optics are crystal clear, and with the exception of the adjustable objective dial that is extremely stiff, everything else moves smoothly. I would imagine that the objective is stiff because this scope is designed to use a swat wheel. The quick change rings are good quality and do not look like they will give out under reasonable usage, and a plus for using this scope on more than one gun.

    Things I would have changed: The one i recieved was definitely a returned scope, firstly because there was a small scratch on the eye bell lense, secondly, because the rings had been opened and showed marginal signs of mounting, and thirdly because the right hand side of the reticle doesnt illuminate all the way to the edge, regardless of color selection. i havent mounted this scope yet, but if it does not take or hold a zero it will be going back. i was under the impression that i was purchasing a new scope, not a return.I would return it simply because of the illumination problem but if it holds zero i will wait for the reticle illumination to burn out. returns are too much of a hassle. i would have given this a solid 5 all the way around, but gave 3 stars for value, simply because of the used scope i recieved.

    What others should know: While the 36 color illumination may seem a little useless, it really does make it very easy to see the reticle, even in bright sunlight. again i havent mounted this yet, and may revise my review if it doesnt take or hold zero, but overall for the money, the price would be very reasonable on a new scope

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By travis from USA on 2012-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: this scope is perfect for high power pellet guns but not soo good with low power...

    Things I would have changed: the look of it thAts the only thing.

    What others should know: this is overall a great scope a bit pricey though.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2012-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Most everything. I really like how the turrets lock, no caps to loose and you don't need any tools. The rings it comes with are very nice quality too. Bang for your buck this is a very nice scope!

    Things I would have changed: Side focus is a little stiff, not awful but stiff. the flip up lens caps don't fit real good appearance wise. They work fine though. The dots are a little small on the retical, but not bad.

    What others should know: You probably won't get a better scope with these features unless you spend 300$

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By stephen from USA on 2012-01-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: everything. clear optics,light choices,everythng about this is great.

    Things I would have changed: not a darn thing.

    What others should know: that they need to buy this.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stubby from USA on 2012-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great optics, the clarity is great. It would be very hard to beat this scope for quality and price.

    Things I would have changed: The SWAT focus knob is stiff, too stiff, for quick and easy focus even with a 100mm side wheel attached. It would also be nice if the Mil dots were synched to the zoom level for more accurate shooting.

    What others should know: I received this as a Christmas gift and really like it. The 16 power is great and I've been able to hit, reliably, targets out at 65-70 yards using a Beeman Sportster in .22. I added a rubber eye tube and it makes getting a good picture quick and easy and keeps it a consistent picture from shot to shot. Sighting it in only took about 10 shots and it is holding its accuracy so far, after ~100 shots anyway. I think the multi-colored reticle is a nice feature, but really not necessary, I haven't used it yet and really don't expect to.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steve Jaynes from USA on 2011-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Fit and finish excellent. Clarity of optics excellent. Good eye relief and exit pupil which make for a relatively non-fussy eye position. Good choice of magnification range for most air rifle shooters as a "combo" scope for both target shooting and hunting. I NORMALLY opt for a 3-12 magnification, but the 16 power gives an edge in bench target shooting and long distance varmint hunting. I really make use of the ability to re-zero the elevation and lateral adjusters.

    Things I would have changed: The 36 color reticle illumination with the "projection" illumination design is a major step backwards for Leapers/UTG. Their former edge-lit etched reticle with only two colors is in my opinion, a far better design. The reticle on the older models in finer and crisper. This model and the 3 other 36 color Leapers/UTG models I've tried have a lot of distracting light splatter in the internal baffles and light-path, in low light conditions, even with low intensity setting on the reticle illumination. I frankly think Leapers should bring back a 4-16x44mm modeled after the SCP3-P3124AOMDL, for the people who don't want the size and mass of the 4-16x56. Now that would be a kick-butt all-around scope!

    What others should know: The parallax / focus adjustment and magnification adjustment were VERY stiff out of the box, but loosened up appropriately after a few outings. Still very stiff in cold weather. I highly recommend the Swat Wheel for ease of range estimation and focus. It's a hard choice between a 3-12and a 4-16 models. The extra field of view are helpful when trying to locate game at distance but the extra magnification is very useful for target shooting and long distance varmint hunting. You makes your choice and your milage may vary.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vicente from USA on 2011-11-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: The optics are great! and it a great look and feel to it.

    Things I would have changed: The back scope cove moves around a lot when opening and closing. Should make a tighter fit.

    What others should know: The 36 color illuminated mil-dot reticle is a cool feature and all but i just dont think its necessary. the scope by itself is worth the money so i dont like the feeling that i probably paid more for all those colors when i really only wanted the scope. but other than that its a great buy!

     
  • Previous 12 ... 456 Next
Navigation