Date: 16/12/2018 15:59
0

UTG 4-16x56 Bubble. SCP3-UG4165AOIEWB. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (20 reviews)
2 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Bruce from USA on 2017-03-24 13:19:18

Things I liked: This scope is so much an improvement over anything I have used before that I am selling my other scope to buy a second one of these! Yes, it is a large scope but it is so sharp I don't even think about it when I'm shooting. I can count the eyelash hairs on a rabbit at 50 yds,and that's only on 10x! I find the bubble level to be easy to use as it's just right there where it can be seen easily. My group sizes shrank noticably in the first bench session after mounting and sighting in.

Things I would have changed: Have option to order it with 11 dovetail rings instead of the Weaver type. On smaller guns the included mounts are just in the way of the cocking bolt. I could work with it but I ordered the other rings the day I received the scope.

What others should know: If your gun has 11 mm rail, don't try to use included rings with adapters. Just order the proper ones when you order the scope. They cost like $13 and it's worth it.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Paul from USA on 2016-11-20 07:56:59

Things I liked: I like the idea, but not the implementation. I returned mine I favor of a Hawke.

Things I would have changed: The ocular bell was loose on the unit I received. The crosshairs were also off of the bubble. If I held the scope so the bubble was centered, the horizontal portion of the reticle was tilted so the right side was up and the vertical reticle was leaning left. If I held the scope so the reticle were even with (I used edges of Windows and seams around doors and bricks on concrete walls) the bubble was no where to be seen. I feel the bubble was too low within the field of view. It wasn't easy to see. I think people who didn't know it was there might not notice it when they use the scope. It would be interesting to see the bubble at the top of the scope, since the bulk of us use hold over, rather than hold under, maybe it could use up more real estate and be easier to see.

What others should know: In my shooting group we have had mixed results with scopes from UTG/Leapers. About 50% are acceptable. I was hopeful and took a risk but wound up disappointed. Maybe you'll have better luck, but at this price point you shouldn't need luck. Pyramyd Air has great customer service, and they processed my return without any problems or delay.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2018-09-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is my second purchase of the UTG - 4 x16 Bubble Leveler scope. I enjoyed my first one so much that I sold my Hawke 4x16. I can say the scope sure does help the canting and made easy by not having to keep peeking to a outside level. A lot of flyers are eliminated. I read several of the reviews before my first purchase and some reviews were a little of the map with the law of physics. The scope is clear at all yardage. There is also a lot of adjustment both windage and elevation. The scope for the price is a real value. in both windage

    Things I would have changed: If possible make the scope shorter and a little lighter. Still satisfied with the scope.

    What others should know: Pyramyd Air is pleasant to deal with. Welcome back Ruth. Ruth is very pleasant to deal with and returns promised calls. Also will answer questions even when a purchase is not made.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gerry from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like all the features for shooting Gunsylinger practice and it's a good buy for my Springer .

    What others should know: Air guns are fun

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Paul from USA on 2018-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the SWAT, the fine Mil-Dot etched glass reticle, the 56mm objective lens and the 1/8" MOA adjustment. Overall a 1/2 decent scope. The illuminated crosshairs are OK but I don't know if I'll ever have a need to use them.

    Things I would have changed: UTG should drop the attempt at including an integral bubble level that's not accurate. I set up a 2 ft long bubble level (verified accurate) out a few yards from the gun and scope and adjusted it to be perfectly level. I then set the gun and scope up securely and turned the scope until the scope level bubble was centered. The crosshairs were noticeably canted and were not at all in alignment with the perfectly flat top of the external level a few yards away. If everything was as it should be the bubbles should have matched and the horizontal crosshairs should have been perfectly parallel to the top of the external level. In other words, if the crosshairs were perfectly level, the scope bubble was not. Inversely, if the scopes bubble was perfectly centered, the crosshairs were obviously canted. They never matched. You can do this with a plumb line too. Match your vertical crosshair with the plumb line. If the bubble in the scope is centered, you're good to go. If it's not, ---------.

    What others should know: I actually like this scope and it's features, but don't rely on the integral bubble level to avoid canting unless you can verify that this feature is accurate in your particular scope.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2018-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love the clarity of the lens, love the different colors and brightness of the objective. great scope for the money. Great detail

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: For the money, invest in one.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dean from USA on 2018-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a lot of scope for the money. The bubble is not well-lit at the bottom of the scope, but even in a dark indoor shooting range it was workable. The side wheel is a great feature. The etched reticle is nicely done. I'll probably buy another one.

    Things I would have changed: For the amount of money that one pays for this scope, I'd be hard pressed to find a major criticism.

    What others should know: This is an excellent scope for not much money. Great value...oh, and the service I've gotten from UTG on another (used) scope was super! Thanks, Luke Ting!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Richard from USA on 2017-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very Clear

    Things I would have changed: Thicker Mil Dots Very Small

    What others should know: Very Long Scope Heavy Very Well Constructive

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Duke from USA on 2017-11-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: You can't get an accurate shot if you cant and this scope is awesome at helping you do that. I love the level feature and use it everytime I shoot. It is hard to see the level unless you turn on the lighted reticle feature but once on it makes it easy to make an accurate shot

    Things I would have changed: Without the lighted reticle it is very hard to see the level

    What others should know: If you don't buy the level scope by a level for your rifle to give you a reference to keep the gun true and shoot straight.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By oscar from USA on 2017-11-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: I been waiting to give my 2 cents well here it is..its not great but its better than ok..well worth it.i mounted it on my Noreen300 win mag rifle and took it to the range got sighted in 4 shots not using bubble.once zeroed.next 5 shots were @100 meters and all shots were very impressive touching would be a understatement ragged hole i did some minor tracking with the dials they seemed fine and true although it does have minor Stiction.but i didnt care my groups were so good i was lookin seasoned by my groups i did not use the high magnification. Except paralex kept all shots on lowest magnification the bubble really lights up when you have the illumination on its easier...but i like it it gives me confidence my groups reflect it.the etching reticle is super fine compared to all of my utg scopes it allows you to really beed down and drop those shots in more precise locations i like it i really do i know im not this good all the time but this makes me feel kinda like cheating. I like it

    Things I would have changed: 1st focal plane I REPEAT PLEASE LISTEN 1st focal plane one more time 1st focal plane higher magnification for target and ultra long distance better glass wouldn't hurt MADE IN China HEAVY more weight in long distance shooting a more heavy gun handling is vast improved..make different models tactical,target,hunting, different reticle options

    What others should know: If you are interested in a good scope check this out it's not for everyone or every situation...but i think its good value....STATE LAW

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Mark from USA on 2017-10-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I really like the side focus and the mil-dot reticle and the 1" tube

    Things I would have changed: I would like to be able to purchase with or without the lighted Reticle hardly ever use it .Its a OK scope not near as clear as my Leopold Varx II 3 x 9 I would also like for more light directed toward the bubble which is very hard to see unless it is very bright outside their needs to be a center reference line on the bubble also the turrets are a little sloppy but are very nice Idea the focus could also be a little finer it seems to go past focus very easily like I said this is a OK scope

    What others should know: Scopes I believe are one of those products that you get what you pay for and to get a really nice scope with all of the features that this scope has I think you are going to have to spend closer to 300.00 dollars and upwards that's my 2 cents.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2017-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The scope is VERY clear and ranges well for FT! The bubble level is a great idea but it is impossible to see it to use it effectively.

    Things I would have changed: Raise the bubble so it can be used, its a great idea but sits too low to use.

    What others should know: Great FT scope on my Marauder, ranges VERY well. An external level is still required because the internal one is useless.........

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bill from USA on 2017-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything, l like this scope so much I bought second one. It is not position scentitive.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.....

    What others should know: You will need an adapter from 11mm. to pict.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2017-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This scope is so much an improvement over anything I have used before that I am selling my other scope to buy a second one of these! Yes, it is a large scope but it is so sharp I don't even think about it when I'm shooting. I can count the eyelash hairs on a rabbit at 50 yds,and that's only on 10x! I find the bubble level to be easy to use as it's just right there where it can be seen easily. My group sizes shrank noticably in the first bench session after mounting and sighting in.

    Things I would have changed: Have option to order it with 11 dovetail rings instead of the Weaver type. On smaller guns the included mounts are just in the way of the cocking bolt. I could work with it but I ordered the other rings the day I received the scope.

    What others should know: If your gun has 11 mm rail, don't try to use included rings with adapters. Just order the proper ones when you order the scope. They cost like $13 and it's worth it.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By bob from USA on 2017-03-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The bubble Leveler is a nice feature no doubt. Really should be standard on most scopes.

    Things I would have changed: Price. UTG has always been my good enough scope at low prices. Almost disposable. Now they are getting the prices up there. Hawkes are ok too a have been a step up but not in the category of Baushnell Elites. You can get an Bushnell Elite E6241 that puts Hawkes and UTG to shame in optics for under 400.00 if you shop around. I think the UTG-4 is a fine scope at too high of a price point.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Donald from USA on 2017-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It is a decent, sturdy scope for the money

    Things I would have changed: If you are buying this scope mainly for the bubble level....don't do it.

    What others should know: When the vertical crosshair bisects the bubble, that crosshair is NOT vertical. I verified this with vee blocks, levels and plumb line. The plumb was a hanging eight foot 2x4. (One of the rare, straight ones). Had I purchased this scope with no bubble level, I. Would be quite pleased with it. By the way...I sent the first scope back to Pyramyd and got the usual excellant customer service and a quick replacement. The second scope was the same as the first, but I kept it. On the first scope, the illuminated reticle did not illuminate.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Burke from USA on 2016-12-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The optics in this scope are crystal clear, even to the very edge and the large ocular draws in the light. The etched glass reticle is much finer than on my previous Leapers scopes. The internal bubble level is so much nicer than one mounted on the exterior.

    Things I would have changed: I am not a big fan of the sunshade and would prefer one that is of the removable tube type. I am also not a big fan of the lens covers. They work, but they could be better. It would be nice if it was lighter, though it is rather large and it is ruggedly constructed. Perhaps it should have been constructed of unobtainium?

    What others should know: This is a LARGE scope. It sits well on top of my HM1000X, but would dwarf something like a Discovery. It is well suited for long range shooting. In short order the internal bubble level has you unconsciously adjusting your hold without removing your eye from your sight picture. The 1/8 MOA adjustments allow for fine tuning of your shot placement at long ranges. When I purchased this scope, I debated between this or a Hawke Sidewinder. I have no regrets. It is that good.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2016-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks like it's high quality, very clear glass.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe an inch shorter. It covers up most of the loading port on the RWS/Diana Air King. But once you tilt the barrel up to load it, it's very doable.

    What others should know: If you get this scope, pick up the larger side wheel for the range finder. It really is a nice option.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2016-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I really like the multiple colors available with this scope. The large objective and 30mm scope allow a lot of light transmission. I had no trouble installing the scope with the included rings. I normally hate installing scopes because I get overly OCD about it, but everything went onto my RWS 48 very nicely. I have been able to shoot from 10 yards out to 50 yards with quick parallax adjustments and had great clarity. Once mounted and settled in, I was shooting tighter groups than I ever did with the old, compact BSA. The scope was so clear, I never needed to use more than 6x, but I loved looking across the hills at the higher ranges of the scopes magnification.

    Things I would have changed: I was not a big fan of the way the turrets locked or reset. There was also some play in the initial adjustments, but I was able to sight my RWS 48 in without any trouble. But, this is the firs scope I ever noticed to have so much play before the "clicks" started.

    What others should know: As another user stated, this scope is HUGE! Also, the scope comes with "high" rings. Once mounted on the adapter for the RWS 48, my scope to bore, center to center measurement was 2 & 3/4". This poses some issue with gathering a good cheek weld without using lower rings or an aftermarket cheekrest.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Airborne Doc from USA on 2016-11-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Mounted this on a 24" AR-10. I was amazed at how well it works. I'm hitting the 1000yd ringer 9 out of ten.. Ringer is a one meter square metal 'bell'. easy to use parallax focus and target knobs . clear view with just a little distortion at edges. 1/8 inch MOA adjustment puts me right on the X at 1000 yd not 'almost' this is a awesome deal for this quality of scope. Well done UTG.

    Things I would have changed: a set screw to fix the focus for my eyesight I keep changing it when I change powers. But that is me not the scope. Could use a little more elevation adjustment for the long range guys.

    What others should know: I'm an old Army sniper so had to try this on my AR-10 but I bought it for a Benjamin Bulldog. Smooth move Pyramyd Air now I got to buy another one for the bulldog the one on the AR is staying there!

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Paul from USA on 2016-11-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the idea, but not the implementation. I returned mine I favor of a Hawke.

    Things I would have changed: The ocular bell was loose on the unit I received. The crosshairs were also off of the bubble. If I held the scope so the bubble was centered, the horizontal portion of the reticle was tilted so the right side was up and the vertical reticle was leaning left. If I held the scope so the reticle were even with (I used edges of Windows and seams around doors and bricks on concrete walls) the bubble was no where to be seen. I feel the bubble was too low within the field of view. It wasn't easy to see. I think people who didn't know it was there might not notice it when they use the scope. It would be interesting to see the bubble at the top of the scope, since the bulk of us use hold over, rather than hold under, maybe it could use up more real estate and be easier to see.

    What others should know: In my shooting group we have had mixed results with scopes from UTG/Leapers. About 50% are acceptable. I was hopeful and took a risk but wound up disappointed. Maybe you'll have better luck, but at this price point you shouldn't need luck. Pyramyd Air has great customer service, and they processed my return without any problems or delay.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2016-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Lots of adjustment available, seems quite clear, clicks are accurate, will fit on an RWS one piece mount. The leveling feature helps for long range shooting, but will take some getting used to.

    Things I would have changed: calibrate the parallax adjustment wheel, this one is way off 50 yd adj. shows at 30 yds. remove battery powered 36 color feature, it doesn't help, in my opinion. Or make a like scope without for a bit less $. Rings are worthless--- when are the airgun makers going to match the rings with the mounts on the guns?? Irritating, companies do not communicate with each other. 30mm rings are not cheap.

    What others should know: Massive in size, really big, has to be seen to appreciate just how big AND heavy. Almost 2 pounds by itself. Rings will not work on normal airgun dovetails. Removing the front cover will give more room to load fixed barrel guns. Getting the bubble level on the gun will take some trial and error unless you have some special tools. Just keep at it and it will work.

     
Navigation