Date: 18/8/2018 13:52
0

Beeman R7 Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (35 reviews)
2 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Eric from USA on 2011-02-21 22:16:42

Things I liked: A very forgiving shooter. Likes everything I put through it, but seems to love JSB Exacts and H&N Field Target Trophys the best (3/8" groups at 15 yards with the latter after having been shot less than 200 times; I expect those will shrink further once the spring is broken in). That Rekord trigger is a dream. Excellent finish -- beautiful bluing and wood without a trace of plastic. (Who would expect less from those persnickety Germans?)

Things I would have changed: A bit more power would be nice, but I can't gripe one iota (the reduced power is exactly why it's a forgiving shooter). A slightly longer barrel and/or forearm would also move the center of gravity slightly forward, balancing the weapon better. Again, I realize I'm nitpicking, but you asked.

What others should know: Buy now before the cheap potmetal-and-plastic toys that masquerade as adult airguns overwhelm the market.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Curt from USA on 2016-04-11 09:25:16

Things I liked: Everything, It is a beautiful and well balanced little gun, light weight and easy to cock.I bought this gun for my wife (it would also make a great youth gun ) we enjoy target shooting and plinking in our back yard and she had trouble cocking my Diana 38, this gun cocks with little effort and is extremely accurate right out of the box , she was hitting bulls eyes at 20 yards after 20 rounds with a relatively inexpensive scope, Bushnell rimfire 3x9x40.

Things I would have changed: Nothing comes to mind

What others should know: Although I enjoy shooting this gun it's to small for me (I'm 6'3") , My wife is 5"6" and she has no problem with it and loves how light it is.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David on 2018-06-18
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the weight and size of the gun, the finish is high quality

    Things I would have changed: The r7 I received was defective , the break area was rusted and almost impossible to cock .... I contacted customer service and they shipped it back for repair .

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2018-06-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: In one of the many reviews I read about this gun before I purchased it, the writer stated that this is a rifleman's rifle. No truer words have been written. This rifle performs as advertised. Accuracy is spot on, if you miss with this it's your fault. I have owned the gun for a few months and have about 1500 pellets through it (17 cal). Somewhere around the 800-900 pellet range the gun was noticeably easier to cock and smoother yet to shoot, again just as everyone says. The stock open sights that come with the rifle are excellent. I chose to put the Williams peep sight on, and there are no regrets there. The gun was purchased with the intent to get my daughters shooting. They all love it and we have spent many evenings shooting together. That fact alone made the purchase price well worth it. The youngest is 11 and has no trouble in cocking the rifle. Some reviews have said it is a bit under powered. Personally I disagree, in my opinion the power level is perfect.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: The build quality on this gun certainly lives up to the reputation, as does the trigger. The accuracy is borderline ridiculous, if there is a con to this rifle it is that you will constantly need to move the target back for any kind of challenge. It is no problem to pick off 1/2" diameter paintballs at 15 yards until I am bored of doing it. My kids generally shoot at a knock down squirrel target at 30 yards and the squirrel spends most of its time laying down. If you think about what you spend on soda from a vending machine in a year, or what you have spent on your cell phone since Christmas, this gun is a screaming bargain. It's a bit like trying to explain what an orange tastes like trying to explain the quality of this rifle. With every shot cycle and cocking stroke you can feel and hear the quality. They do it right when building these things and don't cut corners, and for that I say thank you.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Galina from USA on 2018-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excelent rifl

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Buy and enjoy!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quite possibly the finest air gun I have ever shot, definately that I have owned. Was printing dime groups within 50 shots out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: Please do not change a thing

    What others should know: If you buy one of these, all of your other airguns may get dusty.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terry from USA on 2018-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I just took delivery of Pyramid's R7 in .20 cal. and quickly tested it out. My model was a "refurbished" gun, but it looks and performs very nicely. This thing is BEAUTIFUL with no blemishes that I can see. The iron sights were right on but then I attached a scope....what an accurate airgun this is! All the accolades this airgun receives is well deserving. My gun exhibited no "twang" and sounded wonderful. What a prime example of quality and workmanship! I'm Very Pleased!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing that I can see.

    What others should know: You'll be spoiled...

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brett from USA on 2017-02-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought the R7 because the lady had taken such a liking to my R9, but it was a bit too big and hard to cock for her. The R7 is every bit as nice as the R9, just like a miniature version of it. The length of pull is the same, but the forend is smaller and narrower, with a smaller and thinner barrel and breech. It has a satisfying 'thump' sound, whereas the higher powered R9 is more buzzy without a tune kit. Both rifles will one-.177 hole group routinely at 10m. Pencil eraser sized groups or better 100% of the time.

    What others should know: The trigger did need to be adjusted to lighten it to the R9's level of 'light and crisp'. It was a tad creepy at first, but is quickly improving towards my well broken in R9's magnificent trigger.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steve from USA on 2016-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Love the stock and the cocking effort. I 'like' the accuracy, I'm hoping to move that to 'love' after another 500+ rounds. For the price it's a great choice!

    Things I would have changed: The trigger. My "Huntington Beach" R7 in .177 has a smoother trigger. The trigger travel is noticeably longer on this new gun and feels a little "rough"....?! If others have thoughts around this topic please comment. A reviewer of the new R7 once said that the new R7, "...shoots like a tuned rifle" out-of-the-box. I disagree a little with that statement. The trigger on all of my other R series Beemans feels better. Either way, I grab this gun 90% of the time when I step out to the backyard. It's cool.

    What others should know: 20 H&N Field Target Trophy pellets are what I like at the moment. I like a tighter fit with my pellets when I close the breech. I'm a big fan of crosman premiers but they don't offer in .20 :( I mounted a Leupold VX2 3-9x33 EFR to it. The whole setup is light and almost effortless to shoot.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Curt from USA on 2016-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything, It is a beautiful and well balanced little gun, light weight and easy to cock.I bought this gun for my wife (it would also make a great youth gun ) we enjoy target shooting and plinking in our back yard and she had trouble cocking my Diana 38, this gun cocks with little effort and is extremely accurate right out of the box , she was hitting bulls eyes at 20 yards after 20 rounds with a relatively inexpensive scope, Bushnell rimfire 3x9x40.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing comes to mind

    What others should know: Although I enjoy shooting this gun it's to small for me (I'm 6'3") , My wife is 5"6" and she has no problem with it and loves how light it is.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randy from USA on 2015-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I could not be more happy with my Beeman R7 purchased from Pyramyd Air. I asked them if the Beeman 1 piece medium mount would fit with my choice of a Bushnell Trophy 4X12 with a 40mm AO as I wanted a low mounted scope, they said it would, and it did perfectly. It took less than a half a turn up to zero the scope. After a tin of JSP exact 8.4's I could bench rest shoot a ragged hole that could be covered by a dime at 20 yards. I'm practicing standing offhand now and after another tin I can keep about 9 out of 10 in an inch and a half group at 20 yards. The R7 is certainly up to the job as I challenge myself to do better.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The gun is a joy to shoot and is very well built. Easy to cock and very accurate. It is extremely quite. The trigger is fantastic and the recoil is so low I can keep the crosshairs on the target and see the hit. It's rated at 700 fps but has a trajectory that will put an 8.4 gr domed pellet that is 1/2" high at 20 yards to group 3" low at 40 yards which will likely be my longest working distance. I'm not saying you could hunt at that range as I will just use mine to punch paper. Another thing to consider with the R7 is that it will not beat itself up as some overpowered guns may do which is another way of saying this gun will last a long time. Things like 4 for the price of 3 pellets, Bullseye Bucks, great shipping and other deals make Pyramyd Air a great place to do business with.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Lightweight; quality build; readily accepts all mounts and most scopes; cocks easily; doesn't come with a prepackaged scope system.

    Things I would have changed: I don't think there are any features that need change. I think all guns that require scopes, should be sold without package deals - like this one is marketed. It's ok for a seller to make a recommendation for mounts, rings, and scope, but prepackaging "junk" scope systems is usually a waste of the buyer's money; the buyer ending up with something he ultimately isn't satisfied with, and changes anyway.

    What others should know: I like that the buyer is not saddled with a package deal that usually includes a scope, mounts and rings that the buyer would not have chosen if given the chance to order with the gun in the first place. This gun does come with rings, which are acceptable, but not really what I would have chosen. Fortunately, it does not come with a scope! I made that choice for myself. Having bought a number of other guns that were prepackaged with "junk" scopes and cheap rings and mounts, I usually always change them for something more appropriate. This time, even though the gun did not come with sights, and would certainly have been a prime example of a prepackaged deal, my money wasn't wasted on such trash. I used a one piece mount w/rings, and a quality scope of my choosing, and now have a great set up! This is not just a beginner's rifle, or youth/ladies rifle, as it is as functional as other higher velocity rifles, just not as strength demanding. Pyramid reconditioned units save big money!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By martin from USA on 2015-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have a collection of quality rifles and this is my favorite air rifle..very well built...I like it even though it is a small rifle, easy to cock, have already hit horse flies at 20 yards..it will kill squirrels with head shots instantly even though it is lower power

    Things I would have changed: nothing...maybe the smaller size but then you would have a larger beamans....already have larger rifle

    What others should know: Smaller size necessitates using a rest for shots beyond 20 yds..very accurate. I also have an HMR 17 that was my most accurate...this is even more. You might use the middle weight pellets....not the very heavy ones as they do fade faster with the lighter shot powerl...make sure you seat each pellet with the seater tool exactly the same depth and it does hit in the same spot

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jared from USA on 2015-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy and overall quality.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: First Beeman rifle and very impressed with quality and finish. Trigger broke at exactly 2 lb straight out of the box. I zeroed at 25 yards and my first five shot group measured 0.207" using JSB Exact 8.44 gr domed pellets. These pellets consistently group 0.25" at 25 yds and will do 0.5" - 0.75" at 40 yards. Tried 3 other types of pellets so far but none have matched the accuracy of the JSBs. Couldn't be happier.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Giovanni from USA on 2014-10-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: ACCURACY ACCURACY ACCURACY , FIT&FINISH EXCELLENT TRIGGER

    Things I would have changed: LESS MONEY

    What others should know: GERMAN QUALITY

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By william from USA on 2014-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is not an accurate rifle. I bought it for indoor Shiloette shooting. It will not be useful for this. I contacted pyramid air and received no reply.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By G.Austin from USA on 2014-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fit and finish are excellent. Trigger is 1st class. Easy to cock. Very accurate. Not hold sensitive and can shoot from a rest. Why did I not get this gun before!

    Things I would have changed: Not a darn thing!

    What others should know: I shot 150 rounds for break-in without the scope mounted to give the gun time to settle down. I used a "Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount (medium)" to mount a 32mm objective scope. I added a "BlackHawk Hawktex Tactical Ambidextrous Rifle Cheek Rest Fixed Stock Rifle Nylon Black" to raise my line of sight... guns shoot more accurately with a "cheek" weld instead of a "chin" weld :-) Now for pellets... I purchased the "H&N Field Target Sampler Pack, .177 Cal" and shot the Field Target Trophy pellets until I found the head size it liked. Mine preferred the 4.51mm head. Chronograph -> 555fps for Field Target Trophy 8.64gr producing 5.9 ft/lbs, 8 joules, of kinetic energy. First zero at about 12 yards I can shoot one hole groups at 25 yards with only 1/2" to 3/4" of drop.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randall from USA on 2013-06-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: In the world of springer rifles, the R-7 is certainly among the finest made. They're manufactured by Weihrauch of Germany, and boasts Weihrauch's typical high quality. The handling and accuracy are superb, what some would call legendary. You can't go wrong with this carbine sized shooter with its fully adjustable Rekord trigger, especially if you're looking for repeatable accuracy, shot after shot.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2013-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like quality and I have found it here. Great little rifle. Accurate, smooth to shoot, easy to cock, just a pleasure to shoot. The Record trigger is outstanding.

    Things I would have changed: One thing I would like to see is a resettable safety, but I am nit picking.

    What others should know: This gun is not pellet picky, I have at least 6 different pellets that shoot very accurately and a couple that shoot extremely so. It is quiet and back yard friendly. It may not be high power, but I guarantee that you will shoot this rifle more than any of the magnums. Just buy it and enjoy!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dana from USA on 2013-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Wood finish, machining quality, size, ease of use and quiet sound level. Packaging. Accuracy. Included scope mounts. Likes a light handed artillery hold but is forgiving if you grip it firmly like a regular rifle. More accurate with different types of pellets than others would make you believe. Perfect step up for those that loved their Red Ryder Daisy or Crossman pumpers.

    Things I would have changed: Instructions could be better. Ability to turn safety off and then back on would be nice rather than just off. If moving up to a scope versus iron sights you will have some reading to do on how to properly set up.

    What others should know: Remember all the fun you got out of the Crosman 760 Pumpmaster? Well I wanted a similar sized and medium power plinker and sparrow taker outer but in a professional finish with incredible accuracy. I also wanted a quiet gun in a pick up and go form factor. You get that with the Beeman R7. Lastly, I don't understand why this gun is the highest rated gun with the most users. A well made gun that is the perfect size and form factor for everyday .177 backyard shooting.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2012-11-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Boy this may be the best plinker ever. I have always loved my RWS 34 for its accuracy and quality feel but boy is it heavy and large to carry around. I really have not shot it that much over the years. The R7 is just a lot of fun to handle and shoot. I put a Leapers 4 power Bug Buster scope on it and that increased the fun factor also. That scope will focus down to 3 yards so you can use it indoors as well as out. This R7 is a shooter !! Very accurate ! I love it.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: You can buy a sling swivel set that mounts to a .177 barrel and to the butt of the rifle. A sling is nice for extra stability for some shots and for carrying of course.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ron from USA on 2012-10-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: The gun is light,and well ballanced. Shoots smooth as silk,right out of the box! Fit and finnish is excellent,and the accuracy is amazing!Record trigger is adjustable,and excellent. The scope rings are included with this gun,though not listed in the specs.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

    What others should know: You hear alot about getting this rifle tuned! I'd sugest you shoot it a long time stock,before getting it tuned! I can't think of how it could shoot any smoother. This is ONE "springer" that I can shoot off a rest without POI changes,due to recoil. You can actually leave the scope crosshairs on the bullseye,and see the pellet hit after the shot!

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation