Date: 23/10/2017 0:59
0

Benjamin Discovery Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jerry from USA on 2009-11-19 18:51:01

Things I liked: Just got my 22 discovery today, I have both Marauders and both discoveries. This 22 seems to shoot very fast, I only get from 10 to 15 shots on a fill up, compared to the 17 calibers 25 shots. This gun is very powerful I put a 16 power scope on it and as fast as I pull the trigger the pellet hits the target, I use the 14.5 grain Crossman pellets. This guns power supply would easily handle a 25 caliber. It is definitely an Air hog, it seems to have a sweet spot at about 1500 PSI above that it throws flyers,something the other guns don't do. But that is because of the speed of the pellet IMHO,. Speed in excess of about 1100 FPS seems to do that and from what I can Judge, this is the fastest gun of all the other three. I don't have a way of testing the speed , but it is obvious that this is by far the most powerful of all the New rifles Benjamin made. It is light, and a breezy to carry, and I have also done installed sling swivels. The gun might settle down when it is shot a lot, but for now it is a screamer. I'd like for it to shoot the 900 advertised speed, it for sure is faster than mu Marauder 17 and 22 and the Discovery 17. So maybe it is because it is throwing out more air Not for sure, time will tell. My other 3 Benjamin's will take the lid off of a plastic soda bottle pointing towards me at 30 yards consistant from my bench, I hope this one does the same after a few more break in shots,.

Things I would have changed: Well it seems like it's all intact, some sling swivels would be nice, But I done put mine on..

What others should know: This gun is powerful, if it is bought for one of your youngsters, by all means coach him or her before turning them loose with this gun, it definitely isn't a toy, it is by far more powerful than a CB cap,,. It will probably take down a Raccoon real easy, at least mine will I have no doubt about it..

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By David from USA on 2017-04-06 16:51:26

Things I liked: It was accurate, when it held air, when the bolt decided it wanted to work, when it decided in it's bi-polar condition that it would fire at full power. Yeah, wonderful.

Things I would have changed: Manufacturing. Plastic (not even polymer?!) trigger : / Cheap internal parts that are difficult to field strip and assemble again. Trigger is non-adjustable, and oh yeah....plastic. Barrel needs to be better than "Red Ryder" grade, it seems to be the cheapest, thinnest, steel barrel they could put on this thing, no shroud? And the steel on the barrel is way to thin, like it's made for a kid's bb gun. This is supposed to be a "hunting rifle", .22 caliber and it has a cheap barrel. Not surprised. Compression gauge never reads right, even if I had NO air in it, the gauge read 100psi. Degassing doesn't work. Hammer spring is junk, most people on many forums say they replaced the spring with one from a Glock 17!! WTF? Overall: It fired fine for a week. Yup, that's it. A week. After that, owning this gun, you'll need to get used to the following procedure: 1. Notice a leak. 2. Tear down, attempt to diagnose. 3. Replace the parts, put back together. 4. Notice a leak, 5. Repeat 1-3.

What others should know: Yes. Crosman is JUNK! Cheap parts, junk made upper, constant leaking and FPS drops when it's on an "off" day and the gun is in a bad mood, No sling attachments, even, and the safety likes to just fall out. No, I'm not joking. Difficult and very time consuming and frustrating to field strip, and even more so to re-assemble. Parts are cheap junk, the O rings didn't match the holes/ports they were put into, and you have to have the fingers like a child to easily load a round into the chamber. I had the QB78 before this, and was Chinese made, and lasted 3 years. This piece of $300 garbage lasted 4 months. I grew tired of constantly finding ANOTHER leak, and looking for the issue, only to find out I made another leak when I assembled it! I can't believe that Remington puts their ownership and work into such junk. All in all: Biggest waste of time and money, and nothing but frustrating. I spent more time trying to fix it than firing it.

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2017-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Loved the stock on this one, really liked the metal safety. Works fine and has all the accuracy and power i want. I did a few mods and have 1 hole 5 shot groups @ 40 yds, a fox met his end @ 70 yd head shot. Great starter pcp

    Things I would have changed: Metal trigger guard, second barrel band, the shot count is more like 12 to 15 instead of 25 as listed

    What others should know: Dont get this pcp anywhere else but PA. Local gun shops seem to have the crappy selection of these fine air guns, plus PA has the best staff. Gun arrived right on time.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2017-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It was accurate, when it held air, when the bolt decided it wanted to work, when it decided in it's bi-polar condition that it would fire at full power. Yeah, wonderful.

    Things I would have changed: Manufacturing. Plastic (not even polymer?!) trigger : / Cheap internal parts that are difficult to field strip and assemble again. Trigger is non-adjustable, and oh yeah....plastic. Barrel needs to be better than "Red Ryder" grade, it seems to be the cheapest, thinnest, steel barrel they could put on this thing, no shroud? And the steel on the barrel is way to thin, like it's made for a kid's bb gun. This is supposed to be a "hunting rifle", .22 caliber and it has a cheap barrel. Not surprised. Compression gauge never reads right, even if I had NO air in it, the gauge read 100psi. Degassing doesn't work. Hammer spring is junk, most people on many forums say they replaced the spring with one from a Glock 17!! WTF? Overall: It fired fine for a week. Yup, that's it. A week. After that, owning this gun, you'll need to get used to the following procedure: 1. Notice a leak. 2. Tear down, attempt to diagnose. 3. Replace the parts, put back together. 4. Notice a leak, 5. Repeat 1-3.

    What others should know: Yes. Crosman is JUNK! Cheap parts, junk made upper, constant leaking and FPS drops when it's on an "off" day and the gun is in a bad mood, No sling attachments, even, and the safety likes to just fall out. No, I'm not joking. Difficult and very time consuming and frustrating to field strip, and even more so to re-assemble. Parts are cheap junk, the O rings didn't match the holes/ports they were put into, and you have to have the fingers like a child to easily load a round into the chamber. I had the QB78 before this, and was Chinese made, and lasted 3 years. This piece of $300 garbage lasted 4 months. I grew tired of constantly finding ANOTHER leak, and looking for the issue, only to find out I made another leak when I assembled it! I can't believe that Remington puts their ownership and work into such junk. All in all: Biggest waste of time and money, and nothing but frustrating. I spent more time trying to fix it than firing it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike21976 from USA on 2017-03-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate right out of the box. Light weight and easy to handle. Fixed sights work well but add a good scope.

    Things I would have changed: Very loud.

    What others should know: Great pcp air rifle for the money. Skip the pump and get a scuba tank for filling. Once you add a scope it will put the pellet where you put the crosshairs. Loud! Definitely not backyard friendly.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By johnny from USA on 2017-03-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the wide wooden stock. I cleaned the barrel, checked all the screws for tightness, mounted a scope, and went to the range with several different weight pellets to try it out. I checked from 14.3 to 18.1 pellets and they were all close, but I chose the JSB 14.3 for its slightly (very slightly) better accuracy. This guns out of the box surprised me, it puts the pellets touching at 25 yards off the bench. It cronied these 14.3 pellets at 850 fps.

    Things I would have changed: I know it's for safety, but the trigger (thanks lawyers) is pretty heavy.

    What others should know: The bolt and trigger both are a little hard when the gun is new, but after breaking it in, they smoothed up.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Glenn from USA on 2016-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Simple design that has lead the way for many shooters into PCPs for a long time. Due to the number of them in customers hands, there are a good number of aftermarket items available for a Discovery, should a person desire to personalize it. Absolutely excellent Williams Fire Sights. They are a significant step-up from the traditional black-on-black sights during the twilight transition period at each end of the day. I really like them. Plan to use them a good bit before mounting a scope.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if Benjamin/Crosman decided to lighten the Sear Spring and Trigger Return Spring a bit.The trigger assembly has a fairly hefty set of springs. I understand in todays world why they are heavier than they need to be though. Benjamin/Crosman (or ANYONE) should offer a high pressure air pump to fill a tank, which would run off a Tractor PTO. Should reduce the cost of a pump considerably to design one without needing a motor of its own. The Discovery needs a set of Sling Studs, but I can add them myself. And I'll probably put a satin weatherproof finish on the stock.

    What others should know: The first one I got would not hold air. Disappointed to say the least. I spoke to Dan at Pyramyd and he told me how to get the RMA procedure started by clicking on Contact Us in the upper right corner of the Pyramyd web page. It did cheer me up to know Pyramyd was paying the Return cost - very nice touch. I got the second Discovery and noticed it had 1Kpsi in it on arrival. Pumped it up and it is holding air just fine. This one pumped up to 2Kpsi from 1Kpsi using an AirForce pump in 52 pumps. It took 4 pumps(of the 52) to reach the 1Kpsi level already in the Discovery tank and then hear the Click of the Air Valve opening. Your pump may take a few less or a few more depending on the design. Don't expect this to shoot like a $$$HIGH$$$ air rifle, but the Discoverys do shoot well enough to kill squirrels, nuisance birds and enjoy a lot of good old plinking.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2016-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It took two returns to get one that held air even with the additional cost testing. PA was prompt in providing replacement . But still, three to find one that will hold a charge after testing?

    Things I would have changed: External appearance is good, but apparently internal fitting leaves something to be desired.

    What others should know: It looks like about 16 shots before the need to recharge. A bit limited but a fair trade for being able to use a hand pump to charge to 2000 psi. Very good accuracy. Loading a bit tedious, but 177 cal. Probably worth the trouble I went through.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By poparu from USA on 2016-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is light and shoots great. I think after a few more rounds and a good cleaning the accuracy will improve.To me it seams to have as much power as the Hatsan long rifle at 2/3 the pressure.

    What others should know: A better trigger assembly.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chad from USA on 2016-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to pump up. Shoulders up nicely and shoots accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Would pay a little more to make it quieter.

    What others should know: Fiber optic sights are good but putting a scope on this gun will let you use its full potential.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Duane from USA on 2016-02-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: It's sad that you look so foward to getting your new air gun just to find out it leaks. That's just what happened to me. I called Crosman because the discovery is supposed to be test fired before it leaves the factory. If this is true how come they didn't hear the air escaping the barrel when they filled it with air? We shouldn't have to pay an extra $10.00 to have someone else make sure the gun works, but I suggest everyone take advantage of this service PA offers , when purchasing a new gun. Pyramyd Air took care if my problem as soon as they could due to the holidays. The 2nd Discovery I recieved works just fine.

    Things I would have changed: Better quality control at the Crosman factory.

    What others should know: I strongly advise people to have pyramyd air yest your gun before it gets sent to you unless, you don't mind the headaches that come with returning any of these rifles.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Duane from USA on 2016-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nothing, just received my benjamin discovery .177 today and what a huge disappointment. I could not get it to hold air not to mention the barrel sat so far to the left in the stock I thought it might fall out. The bolt is very sloppy in the breech and the plastic trigger has me wondering since I didnt get the chance to shoot it. I'm returning it (if I can ever get the return label sent to me) and I'm really hoping the replacement is in much better shape than this one. I will amend my review once I receive my new gun (if it deserves it).

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2015-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Discover is a real game changer for me! Right out of the box, it will shoot rings around airguns I have had before! The potential of this rifle as a " hunter" is great, with the power and accuracy it produces, the only excuse for a missed shot is the shooter himself! ( it also is quite good at grouping patterns on paper) and is also a great platform for customizing later down the road.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing! It really does more than Crosman set out to design in the beginning. And with its " duel fuel " capabilities, who couldn't love this rifle ?

    What others should know: Go with it ! You will love it !

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By On Target Air Guns from USA on 2015-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This a awesome gun for the $. This gun is light weight, and deadly accurate. I purchased this gun with the hand pump and an Leaper scope and I have been extremely pleased. Pumping this gun up to 2000psi takes only a few quick minutes and I get a good 15 plus shots.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I liked the way I was treated by P.A. when I returned this gun.

    Things I would have changed: The gun was shooting low, to the left, and leaked air.

    What others should know: If you are going to buy an air gun, buy it from Pyramid Air. This is the first new air gun I have had trouble with. I ordered the same gun from WalMart, and had the same problem with it. It took 2 days, and a call to return it. When I called P.A., I received a return label. I exchanged this gun for an Airforce escape UL. I am very happy.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I got a great price, less than $200 with discounts from one of PA competitors, sorry PA. The crown and rifling was good. I bought one from PA a year ago and the rifling was damaged by Crosman's crowning tool, a common problem during all of 2014, see the forums. So, I sent it back to PA and they promptly gave me a refund! This December I ordered another one and apparently Crosman has fixed their problem cause this one has a great barrel.

    Things I would have changed: Although the trigger is very usable it can cheaply be made better. The bluing is very poor, I have firearms that are 50 years old with worn better looking bluing.

    What others should know: I also got a new Benjamin hand pump from Amazon for $126 delivered, gotta love the Xmas season. There are are a ton of mods on the forums and customs parts are available from many vendors, the sky is the limit. Keep it stock or bling it out. Either way this is a great fun PCP. Pyramyd Air is a great vendor and I've bought most of my guns from them. Air guns are like potato chips, you can't just have one, I've got 15 and counting!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The fix and feel of the gun its light weight and a great value.shoots great very accurate. Pumps easy enough It was loud, put a muzzle break and a new trigger, now it's my favorite .

    Things I would have changed: A better trigger would be nice

    What others should know: This a a very good value If you want to get started in pcp's this is a great start

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rich from USA on 2015-10-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have nothing but good to say about the Disco .177 I received from PA. Major complaint I hear all the time about the Disco is that it is LOUD. And yes, on HPA it is, but I am running on Co2 and it is as quiet as my 2260. The only thing I did to get a great shot count and flat string was to change out the striker spring with a Challenger spring. Case closed and shooting at an average of 650 for 50 shots. I am looking forward to shooting again on HPA as the rifle was smoking pellets at 950 fps+. Accuracy is fantastic on air orCo2.

    Things I would have changed: If it came with the M-rod trigger, this would be a best seller to the end of time! As it is and for the price, I can live with the trigger as it is!

    What others should know: It is loud on HPA, so expect it. Running on Co2 quiets this puppy down a lot, but don;t expect it to be like the Marauder as it is not shrouded. Get the 10 for 10 and be assured you are getting a good one. Mone likes the JSB RS Diablo 7.33 grain pellets the best and have pulled off 5-shot groups of less than 1/8" @ 25 yards on a calm day. The light pellets will run away from you on a windy day though when shooting at the slower Co2 speeds.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2015-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the wood stock, it feels good and points easy, I found nothing shoddy about this rifle, it holds air perfect. The trigger is much better than I expected. it is plenty powerful, chronograph reading from Pyramyd Air of 10 shots was 926 to 834 FPS. Accurace seems very good. I am glad I bought it.

    Things I would have changed: The rifle is very nice except for it is too noisy for in-town backyard shooting. would be nice to have as a bundle upgrade something like a TKO muzzle brake. Otherwise nothing.

    What others should know: I installed a 4x16x40mm AO Centerpoint scope using the high leapers UTG rings, that gave me plenty of room to roll a .22 pellet into the breach trough. I also installed a TKO 6 1/2 inch muzzle brake, it is still a little loud but not near what it was. I put out the extra $10. for the 10 for 10 test, I think it was well worth it to receive a near perfect rifle. I really like this gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ravmoshe from USA on 2015-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Why I never purchased a "Disco" after all my years of airgunning and collecting, hunting, target shooting etc....I don't know. I finally just got one a couple of weeks ago. For me it is in some ways the perfect air gun. Compact and light, can carry out in the field all day, beautifully accurate, easily powerful enough for any small game, looks great, and simple to pump with a hand pump.

    Things I would have changed: Shouldve gotten one sooner. Just wish there was a multi-shot cartridge like the Marauder models.

    What others should know: You'll love this gun. PCP's always annoyed me because of the constant need to recharge. Now it seems my springers are collecting a bit more dust.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jim from USA on 2015-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice looking and handling. Real easy to refill.

    Things I would have changed: Improve shot count

    What others should know: I only got about accurate shots before pressure dropped and point of impact started chaging

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By DAVID from USA on 2015-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice rifle. Light weight. I like having a choice between c02 and compressed air.

    Things I would have changed: The price. A little pricey.

    What others should know: Nothing.

     
  • 12345 Next
Navigation