Date: 17/10/2018 0:16
0

Benjamin Mayhem SBD Nitro Piston NP2 Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (12 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Gary sollinger on 2018-02-09 00:36:02

Things I liked: Triggers good, Accuracy is phenomal -- right out of the box, Not atillery hold fussy. Nice Scope. Very quiet. Loves Benjamin Destroyer pellets. Downed to rabbits with perfect head shots Got it for $145 including shipping. $161.50 from grabagun.com then $30 rebate from Crosman

Things I would have changed: Nothing. I LOVE it

What others should know: Keep all your screws tight

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:4.0

By David from USA on 2018-08-17 14:17:26

Things I liked: The gun is quiet and easy to cock. I shot this rifle outside my sons closed bedroom window. He did not hear it. Neither will your neighbors.

Things I would have changed: The trigger is a 2 stage trigger that came in cranked down as tight as possible. The effort to pull the trigger significantly affected the accuracy of the rifle. It is adjustable and it is easy to adjust. Unfortunately being adjustable doesn't make it a good trigger. The first stage take up is simply a pile of useless over travel. Once you take up the slack there isn't a lot of creep. However, it just seems a bit gritty. Releasing the trigger without firing it seems to almost flop around in the first stage. I would prefer a crisp single stage trigger over this trigger.

What others should know: The first Mayhem I received worked OK but after 50 - 100 rounds it started having issues. You could hear the difference in the pressures. Several of us tried to get groupings at 18 yards. It would shoot a couple of pellets accurately and then it was way off the mark. The groups ended up being 12 inches at 18 yards. I contacted Crosman and sent it back. They replaced the unit after approximately 2 weeks. The new rifle came in and after 300 rounds it is working much better (except for the trigger, see above). I struggled with accuracy and replaced the scope. I lapped the rings and made certain I torqued the screws to the proper torque and blue loctited them. The next effort was to find the right pellets. Here are my test results at 10 yards off a lead sled. Gamo .22 TS22 - 1.5 inches H& N Barracuda 21gr - 2.5 inches H&N Terminator 16gr - 2.5 inches JSB Diablo 18gr - 1 inch JSB Diablo 15gr - less than 1/2 inch Crosman Premier 14gr - 1.5 inches This gun is very pellet specific.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By J Weyland on 2018-08-20
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This rifle is quiet, more quiet than other break actions I have, but not as quiet as my Benjamin Marauder. Having shot several pellets through it as I sighted it in, it is becoming quieter and the accuracy is good. The Mayhem will complement my Marauder. There are times when I need a fast loading rifle to deal with predators and my Marauder is not always pumped up and ready to go. I am looking forward to putting the Mayhem to work.

    Things I would have changed: If I could change something I would like an option to extend the stock. I have long arms and this rifles stock is about one inch short for me. I would also change the trigger pull, either making it shorter or easier to pull. To get a good grouping when I shoot, I squeeze the trigger while gently exhaling, stop in mid pull of the trigger, inhale and then continue exhaling as I squeeze the trigger for the shot.

    What others should know: New owners should use a thread lock compound on all scope screws. You will need it so plan on doing it from the start. The rear open site became loose after several shots, I could have used some thread lock on its screws but I chose to remove it completely instead. This is a very nice rifle, these little annoyances are very insignificant and easily correctible. You should enjoy shooting this rifle I certainly do.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2018-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is quiet and easy to cock. I shot this rifle outside my sons closed bedroom window. He did not hear it. Neither will your neighbors.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is a 2 stage trigger that came in cranked down as tight as possible. The effort to pull the trigger significantly affected the accuracy of the rifle. It is adjustable and it is easy to adjust. Unfortunately being adjustable doesn't make it a good trigger. The first stage take up is simply a pile of useless over travel. Once you take up the slack there isn't a lot of creep. However, it just seems a bit gritty. Releasing the trigger without firing it seems to almost flop around in the first stage. I would prefer a crisp single stage trigger over this trigger.

    What others should know: The first Mayhem I received worked OK but after 50 - 100 rounds it started having issues. You could hear the difference in the pressures. Several of us tried to get groupings at 18 yards. It would shoot a couple of pellets accurately and then it was way off the mark. The groups ended up being 12 inches at 18 yards. I contacted Crosman and sent it back. They replaced the unit after approximately 2 weeks. The new rifle came in and after 300 rounds it is working much better (except for the trigger, see above). I struggled with accuracy and replaced the scope. I lapped the rings and made certain I torqued the screws to the proper torque and blue loctited them. The next effort was to find the right pellets. Here are my test results at 10 yards off a lead sled. Gamo .22 TS22 - 1.5 inches H& N Barracuda 21gr - 2.5 inches H&N Terminator 16gr - 2.5 inches JSB Diablo 18gr - 1 inch JSB Diablo 15gr - less than 1/2 inch Crosman Premier 14gr - 1.5 inches This gun is very pellet specific.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stan from USA on 2018-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is what I expected and more. It is quiet right out of the box, once it holds a nice tight pattern with solid impact. I currently have a RWS Diana .177 it is also very good gun but it was lacking the impact I was looking for to thin out the woodchucks in my garden. That is the reason that I bought the .22 Mayhem.

    Things I would have changed: The rear adjustable site is very loose and the scope is not as friendly as advertised, but for the money, its an overall good value.

    What others should know: This is currently my second Mayhem because I ended up returning the first one within the 30 day warranty period. The reason for returning the first one is that the rear site was so loose, there was no way to tighten it up, the scope was also faulty to the point where I couldn't hold a 4-inch pattern at only 20 yards. The trigger itself was also very hard to pull, it felt like the working mechanism was never polished because the entire pull felt very rough, even at the highest hair-trigger setting. The replacement gun that just arrived is a whole different animal. Its got a very smooth trigger pull; the scope is better but the rear site is still a little loose. I decided to switch to scope out for a red dot quick acquisition scope which I now have dialed in at 30 yards holding 2-inch patterns, it is by far the best way to zero in on a critter in the garden and take it out quickly. I am sure that the .177 is also very good gun, but I'm very happy with the .22

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DAVID from USA on 2018-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: How quite it is. I live on 5 acres so not that important.

    Things I would have changed: I did not like the scope, so I took my other scope and put on it.

    What others should know: Had to try a lot of different pellets to find what it liked. Had to adjust the trigger pull down so it did not jerk so much. It is heavy, so I have to have a rest to shoot good.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randy from USA on 2018-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Mayhem hits plenty hard. I have rock with a flat face leaned against a tree in our backyard woods. At 20 meters the .22 caliber Crossman Premier pellets completely flatten (completely!). Took a while to get the included scope mounted and anchored, but when finished it shoots better than I can at the moment. That will change with more practice--and will an economical air rifle, you can practice and practice without bothering anyone--it is quiet. Always have an extra strong backstop for target shooting with the Mayhem or its immediate family of Benjamin rifles.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dimang from USA on 2018-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun shoots very accurate at 25 yards. It is very quiet and throw a hard punch. The scope that comes with the gun is very clear.

    Things I would have changed: Better butt stock and lighter weight

    What others should know: I had to keep checking on the screws of the gun and the scope after I shot 30-50 rounds. It stays put after about 300 shots.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary sollinger on 2018-02-09
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Triggers good, Accuracy is phenomal -- right out of the box, Not atillery hold fussy. Nice Scope. Very quiet. Loves Benjamin Destroyer pellets. Downed to rabbits with perfect head shots Got it for $145 including shipping. $161.50 from grabagun.com then $30 rebate from Crosman

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. I LOVE it

    What others should know: Keep all your screws tight

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2017-08-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought this gun to deal with pests around my country home. I cycled through about nine different pellets trying to sight it in. I finally settled on the Premier Hollow Point. Funny thing is the Premier Super Point didn't so nearly as well. I think I need to try some different batches. Overall, the other pellets didn't get all that wild, but with the Premier HPs, I put nine out of ten in the black at 25 yds and the 10th was less than an inch out. It seems to have plenty of power, but none of the pests have come around while I am around with this gun. Overall, it feels good and seems to be holding a zero well. Overall it seems to me to be nice and quiet. You hear a mild thunk-tat! when the trigger breaks. Far, Far superior to the Gammo Fusion I had. That gun has a lot of slack in the pivot and wont hold a pattern and the spring is so loud you can't hear anything else. Don't waste your money on a Gammo, unless the one I have is just an anomaly.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger feels rough and gritty when you are squeezing off a shot. I hope it improves with use. The reviews I read said it was too heavy and hard to cock, but I'm a pretty big guy and the weight seems to help my hold and the cocking isn't any problem for me.

    What others should know: The included scope seems OK to me, I can see the .177 hole in the paper at 25 yards and my eyes aren't very good. I set the scope at 4X and focused for my eyes and that seems to be about right for all ranges I've tried.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mark from USA on 2017-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This model has iron sights and an Adjustable Objective CP scope. Power is there. Accuracy is good. After sighting and practice, I'm consistently about 1" CTC at 20 yards. That's accurate enough for me for pests.

    Things I would have changed: Make it quieter and lighter. I chose it over others because of the SBD technology. I figured this would be the quietest non-pcp gun with this kind of power. It might be for all I know, but the neighbors can surely hear it. I would not say that this gun is quiet at all but I don't have anything to compare it to. It has a loud pop (think hammer on plywood on concrete (garage floor)) but I've only shot it in-doors. It could be an acoustic thing.Trigger not as predictable as I'd like, but then I haven't tried to adjust it yet.

    What others should know: My first pellet gun. Bought it for pest control at < 25 yards (in back yard basically). I don't think a kid could use this. Cocking it takes some strength, and it's heavy enough to be hard to hold up for a child (12 yr old girl at least). The rear iron site was loose when I opened the box. Tightened up. No problem. Mounted the scope. It loosened up after 20 shots. Tightened again and it has stayed tight after 75+ shots. Trigger needs some attention/adjustment I think. Overall I'm very satisfied with this gun.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Rann from USA on 2017-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Scope was FAR better than I expected. Nice iron sights. Easy cocking.

    Things I would have changed: Should have come bundled with sling clip for the rear...and/or a leather sling. The CBT was/is a tad heavy IMHO. The longest gas-piston rifle I own...

    What others should know: Glad I opted for this model, not the wooden stock/pistol grip version. Frankly? It doesn't seem any quieter than the less expensive Ruger Yukon.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By marc from USA on 2017-06-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: recoil was pretty light next to what i anticipated. scope works pretty good and was easy to focus and adjust.

    Things I would have changed: if they could somehow get the same power out of this gun with 15 lbs less cocking force and gun weighing about 2 lbs less. benjamin would have a grand slam hit. i know that's dreaming but one can dream , no? otherwise it's a really smooth operating gun.

    What others should know: if you are not in good condition physically. you will work up a sweat cocking this gun over and over at the range. now i have no prior experience with other rifles. i chose to break in the airgun field with this gun and i am not disappointed. happy gunning!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By james from USA on 2017-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Iron sights well made !

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is sketchy

     
Navigation