Date: 14/8/2018 5:8
0

Benjamin Mayhem SBD Nitro Piston NP2 Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (10 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Gary sollinger on 2018-02-09 00:36:02

Things I liked: Triggers good, Accuracy is phenomal -- right out of the box, Not atillery hold fussy. Nice Scope. Very quiet. Loves Benjamin Destroyer pellets. Downed to rabbits with perfect head shots Got it for $145 including shipping. $161.50 from grabagun.com then $30 rebate from Crosman

Things I would have changed: Nothing. I LOVE it

What others should know: Keep all your screws tight

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Fred from USA on 2017-08-16 21:30:52

Things I liked: I bought this gun to deal with pests around my country home. I cycled through about nine different pellets trying to sight it in. I finally settled on the Premier Hollow Point. Funny thing is the Premier Super Point didn't so nearly as well. I think I need to try some different batches. Overall, the other pellets didn't get all that wild, but with the Premier HPs, I put nine out of ten in the black at 25 yds and the 10th was less than an inch out. It seems to have plenty of power, but none of the pests have come around while I am around with this gun. Overall, it feels good and seems to be holding a zero well. Overall it seems to me to be nice and quiet. You hear a mild thunk-tat! when the trigger breaks. Far, Far superior to the Gammo Fusion I had. That gun has a lot of slack in the pivot and wont hold a pattern and the spring is so loud you can't hear anything else. Don't waste your money on a Gammo, unless the one I have is just an anomaly.

Things I would have changed: The trigger feels rough and gritty when you are squeezing off a shot. I hope it improves with use. The reviews I read said it was too heavy and hard to cock, but I'm a pretty big guy and the weight seems to help my hold and the cocking isn't any problem for me.

What others should know: The included scope seems OK to me, I can see the .177 hole in the paper at 25 yards and my eyes aren't very good. I set the scope at 4X and focused for my eyes and that seems to be about right for all ranges I've tried.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stan from USA on 2018-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is what I expected and more. It is quiet right out of the box, once it holds a nice tight pattern with solid impact. I currently have a RWS Diana .177 it is also very good gun but it was lacking the impact I was looking for to thin out the woodchucks in my garden. That is the reason that I bought the .22 Mayhem.

    Things I would have changed: The rear adjustable site is very loose and the scope is not as friendly as advertised, but for the money, its an overall good value.

    What others should know: This is currently my second Mayhem because I ended up returning the first one within the 30 day warranty period. The reason for returning the first one is that the rear site was so loose, there was no way to tighten it up, the scope was also faulty to the point where I couldn't hold a 4-inch pattern at only 20 yards. The trigger itself was also very hard to pull, it felt like the working mechanism was never polished because the entire pull felt very rough, even at the highest hair-trigger setting. The replacement gun that just arrived is a whole different animal. Its got a very smooth trigger pull; the scope is better but the rear site is still a little loose. I decided to switch to scope out for a red dot quick acquisition scope which I now have dialed in at 30 yards holding 2-inch patterns, it is by far the best way to zero in on a critter in the garden and take it out quickly. I am sure that the .177 is also very good gun, but I'm very happy with the .22

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DAVID from USA on 2018-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: How quite it is. I live on 5 acres so not that important.

    Things I would have changed: I did not like the scope, so I took my other scope and put on it.

    What others should know: Had to try a lot of different pellets to find what it liked. Had to adjust the trigger pull down so it did not jerk so much. It is heavy, so I have to have a rest to shoot good.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randy from USA on 2018-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Mayhem hits plenty hard. I have rock with a flat face leaned against a tree in our backyard woods. At 20 meters the .22 caliber Crossman Premier pellets completely flatten (completely!). Took a while to get the included scope mounted and anchored, but when finished it shoots better than I can at the moment. That will change with more practice--and will an economical air rifle, you can practice and practice without bothering anyone--it is quiet. Always have an extra strong backstop for target shooting with the Mayhem or its immediate family of Benjamin rifles.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dimang from USA on 2018-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun shoots very accurate at 25 yards. It is very quiet and throw a hard punch. The scope that comes with the gun is very clear.

    Things I would have changed: Better butt stock and lighter weight

    What others should know: I had to keep checking on the screws of the gun and the scope after I shot 30-50 rounds. It stays put after about 300 shots.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary sollinger on 2018-02-09
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Triggers good, Accuracy is phenomal -- right out of the box, Not atillery hold fussy. Nice Scope. Very quiet. Loves Benjamin Destroyer pellets. Downed to rabbits with perfect head shots Got it for $145 including shipping. $161.50 from grabagun.com then $30 rebate from Crosman

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. I LOVE it

    What others should know: Keep all your screws tight

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2017-08-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought this gun to deal with pests around my country home. I cycled through about nine different pellets trying to sight it in. I finally settled on the Premier Hollow Point. Funny thing is the Premier Super Point didn't so nearly as well. I think I need to try some different batches. Overall, the other pellets didn't get all that wild, but with the Premier HPs, I put nine out of ten in the black at 25 yds and the 10th was less than an inch out. It seems to have plenty of power, but none of the pests have come around while I am around with this gun. Overall, it feels good and seems to be holding a zero well. Overall it seems to me to be nice and quiet. You hear a mild thunk-tat! when the trigger breaks. Far, Far superior to the Gammo Fusion I had. That gun has a lot of slack in the pivot and wont hold a pattern and the spring is so loud you can't hear anything else. Don't waste your money on a Gammo, unless the one I have is just an anomaly.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger feels rough and gritty when you are squeezing off a shot. I hope it improves with use. The reviews I read said it was too heavy and hard to cock, but I'm a pretty big guy and the weight seems to help my hold and the cocking isn't any problem for me.

    What others should know: The included scope seems OK to me, I can see the .177 hole in the paper at 25 yards and my eyes aren't very good. I set the scope at 4X and focused for my eyes and that seems to be about right for all ranges I've tried.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mark from USA on 2017-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This model has iron sights and an Adjustable Objective CP scope. Power is there. Accuracy is good. After sighting and practice, I'm consistently about 1" CTC at 20 yards. That's accurate enough for me for pests.

    Things I would have changed: Make it quieter and lighter. I chose it over others because of the SBD technology. I figured this would be the quietest non-pcp gun with this kind of power. It might be for all I know, but the neighbors can surely hear it. I would not say that this gun is quiet at all but I don't have anything to compare it to. It has a loud pop (think hammer on plywood on concrete (garage floor)) but I've only shot it in-doors. It could be an acoustic thing.Trigger not as predictable as I'd like, but then I haven't tried to adjust it yet.

    What others should know: My first pellet gun. Bought it for pest control at < 25 yards (in back yard basically). I don't think a kid could use this. Cocking it takes some strength, and it's heavy enough to be hard to hold up for a child (12 yr old girl at least). The rear iron site was loose when I opened the box. Tightened up. No problem. Mounted the scope. It loosened up after 20 shots. Tightened again and it has stayed tight after 75+ shots. Trigger needs some attention/adjustment I think. Overall I'm very satisfied with this gun.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Rann from USA on 2017-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Scope was FAR better than I expected. Nice iron sights. Easy cocking.

    Things I would have changed: Should have come bundled with sling clip for the rear...and/or a leather sling. The CBT was/is a tad heavy IMHO. The longest gas-piston rifle I own...

    What others should know: Glad I opted for this model, not the wooden stock/pistol grip version. Frankly? It doesn't seem any quieter than the less expensive Ruger Yukon.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By marc from USA on 2017-06-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: recoil was pretty light next to what i anticipated. scope works pretty good and was easy to focus and adjust.

    Things I would have changed: if they could somehow get the same power out of this gun with 15 lbs less cocking force and gun weighing about 2 lbs less. benjamin would have a grand slam hit. i know that's dreaming but one can dream , no? otherwise it's a really smooth operating gun.

    What others should know: if you are not in good condition physically. you will work up a sweat cocking this gun over and over at the range. now i have no prior experience with other rifles. i chose to break in the airgun field with this gun and i am not disappointed. happy gunning!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By james from USA on 2017-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Iron sights well made !

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is sketchy

     
Navigation