Date: 17/8/2018 9:34
0

Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (132 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Joey from USA on 2013-12-29 12:11:44

Things I liked: This is a great gun for the money! Paid the 10 for $10 and got a good one.Very accurate, shoots smooth.I have a ruger mark 1 springer and this gun for the same money is 10 times better!

Things I would have changed: Cocking handle design and the rear sight. Both useable but a little room for improvement. I will buy a red dot sight in the future.

What others should know: Pyramyd sent the tape with the 10 for $10, average 540fps. with 7.1 grain lazers. Not bad! BUY THIS GUN!!!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:1.0

By David from USA on 2015-11-17 06:50:29

Things I liked: Its a Benjamin and its nitro

Things I would have changed: Better sighting system a longer trigger adjustment screw in a little less weight forward

What others should know: This is a tough one the gun is promising with post - 600 feet per second but Benjamin needs to go back to the drawing board on this one

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 67 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By corbin from USA on 2018-08-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pretty accurate,better when cocking shroud is removed. Great power for a plinking pistol. Simple straight forward operation.

    Things I would have changed: A bit more power would make this an awesome close range pest control pistol.

    What others should know: This was an intro gas piston air gun for me and for the price you can't beat it. Fun for plinking,really inexpensive way to get in some shooting practice. This pistol is very indoor friendly.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By daniel from USA on 2018-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Even though its a single shot. I like the weight and the feel of the gun. Aiming is easy ND ITS VERY ACCURATE.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe providing a longer extending arm for better leverage to cock the gun..

    What others should know: For me, it took awhile to figure out how to put the extender arm on the barrel as the directions were not copied well. But even with the extender arm on the barrel it was extremely hard to cock.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pete from USA on 2018-07-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pattern on the grip. Overall looks.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger.

    What others should know: Long trigger pull, needs to be shortened.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gary from USA on 2018-07-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: One pump, one shot, full power

    Things I would have changed: I followed advice of one review and changed the trigger adjustment screw from a 3mm X7 7mm to a 3mm X 8mm and it shortened the pull nicely.

    What others should know: I tried many 7.9gr pellets and found Crosman Premier super match competition grade to be the best match for this one. Sub 1/2" grps at 15 yds and hitting the 4" gong at 40 yds with a red dot.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2018-06-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The price. The spring piston design.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger could be better but after you get used to the creep it works.

    What others should know: This is a bit large and obtuse for a pistol but great fun Once you get used to everything. They might as well put a shoulder stock on it because its a heavy gun. Cocking to fire reminds me of a break barrel 12 gauge I had as a kid. Great value for the money. Very stoutly made! Not really noisy like some pellet guns. Backyard friendly. Get one for fun!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Scott from USA on 2018-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Seems ver accurate once I got the sights corrected, out of the box it was shooting LOW, over 2 inches low at 20 feet. With the rear sight raised to the limit it is about a half inch low at 20 feet, easily corrected in how you sight the gun.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger pull is long...and seemed stiff when I first started shooting. Now that I've put about 100 pellets thru it, the trigger seems to have smoothed out nicely ( still a long pull though).

    What others should know: Over all I love this pistol. Seems a little heavy at first, and the weight balances further forward than one might expect, making it seem heavier. However, I was soon compensating for that automatically. Also, this is a big gun. 19.5 inches long with the cocking aid attached. Not the gun to practice your quick draw, but should provide endless fun plinking, and even works for small pest control, though the long trigger pull makes the later a bit tricky. So far, she seems happiest with Crossman pointed premier pellets.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2018-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Simplicity of the device. More than adequate power and velocity. Perfect for shooting close range, indoors! Blows through aluminum cans, and light weight wood backstops! Accuracy is quite impressive for such an inexpensive pistol! Safety is very positive, and simple to operate.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is long, and a little tough. What should you expect from less than a c note investment??

    What others should know: Darn thing SHOOTS!! I mean,,,, it really shoots accurately! I bought Refurbished, and invested modestly! Looks like a brand new pistol! Opened the box, took it in the basement, shot 25 or so rounds. My buddy was here when it arrived,,,, he said, "Get Me One!!" That was after he fired it a couple dozen times! I've fired maybe 3 or 400 rounds, and it is getting sweeter, and the trigger is starting to smooth out.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ryszard from USA on 2018-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is very powerful and easy to get target

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2018-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Cocks easy and shoots great. Sights are great for aiming.

    Things I would have changed: Had to raise sight all the way up to get it hit where it was aimed. Trigger pull is long and hard to control.

    What others should know: Sight has given most everyone problems with not being able to raise it enough, other wise sights are great.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ron from USA on 2018-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The overall construction of the weapon is very sold.

    Things I would have changed: I would definitely make the grip smaller, lower the front sight and fix the trigger pull, because it really sucks. A two stage trigger would be nice

    What others should know: I sighted in my new toy with the rear sight that was affix to the gun when shipped, all though it took a lot of adjusting just get to that point, which was about 10 yards out. Once sighted in my groups were nice and tight, they were roughly dime size in diameter. Now for the real fun. I swapped out the rear sight with a (UTG 1x34 ITA Red/Green Dot Sight), beautiful piece of equipment might i add. It took me a bit but i finally got it sighted in and once again I was shooting tight, dime size groups. I will be perfectly honest though, the weapon was sighted in using a bench. Shooting this gun for me, (and I stress for me), was quite difficult due to its weight. I would strongly suggest using some form of support. My use for the gun is strictly target practice and small rodents, hint hint squirrels. So far three of the little critters laughed at me and said, "Is that the best you can do." Overall the gun in my opinion is pretty neat.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Martin from USA on 2018-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The accuracy and quiet Nitro Piston make this a nice pellet pistol. Good value for the price.

    Things I would have changed: This pistol definitely needs better sights! Like other reviewers here, I found it hard to to set the elevation due to the front sight being too tall, and/or the rear sight not having a large enough adjustment range. I mounted a red/green dot sight, and I like it much better. A more powerful .22 version with a scope or dot sight included would be totally awesome and worth a higher price!

    What others should know: This is a large and heavy pistol that may not be suitable for younger shooters. It is easier to cock than a break barrel rifle, but is still not easy to cock. As with any pellet pistol shooters should wear safety glasses, and shoot in a safe manner, making sure to have a good backstop.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jay from USA on 2017-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have to say that this is a well-designed pistol for the money. The gun is VERY accurate. It's so accurate so that you could feel it's just plain boring to shoot targets at 50ft. The trigger has lots of pre-travel with a relatively heavier trigger pull weight. However, the trigger action very consistent so that you can still shoot the gun accurately. I find this trigger great to practice trigger pull technique. Cocking is easy. The rear sight is easy to adjust. Pretty happy with this gun. I can maintain 3-inch groups at 50ft with the stock trigger so I can tell that stock

    Things I would have changed: I don't like the safety switch. It would be great if the gun had a picatinny rail.

    What others should know: The gun is big and heavy, but it's NOT that powerful. It will be a great gun for indoor target shooting but you shouldn't be using it for hunting.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Gary from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.764 ratings

    Things I liked: Nothing

    Things I would have changed: Should never have bought this pistol in the 1st place

    What others should know: This is a very well made pistol it is just not for me or what I was looking for. Way to heavy for my style of shooting needs to be more in a rifle configuration in my opinion. My ratings of this gun are strictly what that gun was to me no knock on the company or Pyramid Air at all though.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Shane from Canada on 2017-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nitro piston tech and fibre optic sights, cocking assist really makes it easier.

    Things I would have changed: The grip is not very comfortable, it's also a heavy pistol, most people will need 2 hands. Heavy tigger pull but consistent, by no means 'terrible' as I've read elsewhere.

    What others should know: I have the Canadian version purchased in 2017. I can't verify if there are any production changes from when it first came out but I can say that I had no issues with sighting this pistol in, out of the box, with no break in. I got this to pair it with my trail rifle and they go together great. With its heft and balance, I could really only recommend this gun to adult shooters. Youngsters might find it a bit too heavy and cumbersome. It's good for me, 6'1" with big hands, but if you're unsure, try before you buy.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2017-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: gas piston

    Things I would have changed: move handle closer to middle of body for better balance.

    What others should know: Dirt-cheap, highly desirable addition without modifying gun! You can use 2 hose clamps and a custom-cut sheet of plywood to made a stock. The flat sides of the pistol make clamping a stock onto the side of the gun very easy and secure. Put 1 hose clamp just behind the cocking hinge and the other at the very end of the body, just behind the sights. Using a stock allows you to remove the sight and attach a cheap rifle scope, instead of having to use a long-eye-relief, and expensive pistol scope. Use of a stock transforms this heavy, awkward handling gun into a handy little carbine that is easy to aim accurately.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Fred from USA on 2017-07-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Good gun for the money. Decent accuracy with the stock sights. Cocks fairly easy. Lots of fun to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: Better sights. The rear sight windage adjustment had to be maxed out to the right to get it zeroed in. Should be much better with red dot scope.

    What others should know: This is a plinker that is great fun to shoot out to 15 yrds. At around 480-500 fps it dosnt penetrate enough to be used for pest control. Be prepared to put some kind of optics on it because the sights are less then optimal although I might have gotten a bad one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Theophile from USA on 2017-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: My first pellet pistols have "settled out" to be a winner! Out of the box with windage dead even and elevation at zero, was hitting around my POI with an occasional flyer. Break-in time was quick (100 rounds) with almost zero dieseling and very little smoke. This pistol was peaking close to 560fps with my Benjie 7.9g HP's and after break in (about 150 rounds), leveled out with 5-group averages of 540fps! My last 5-shot group was a descent 1" grouping (still using the iron sights). I then installed a RR red\green dot reflex scope and was able to get sighted in to punching 1\2" bulls eye POI targets at 10yds. This .177 shoots quietly, just 75db 6" down from the muzzle and measured at ear level (all indoors), but I usually use hearing protection anyway. The trigger measures the rated 7# and has been consistent with a steady even pull and break. Still have maximum elevation travel for any longer distance adjustments. If you get a good one, it's an Accurate and Fun Shooter!

    Things I would have changed: Reduce the trigger weight of 7# and 1" pull before sear break...by 50%.

    What others should know: Caution: My 1st Trail NP had a front sight 3.8 degree cant to the right and the 2nd pistol a 1.8 degree cant to the right. This caused far right windage adjustments and bottomed out Elevation adjustments just to get a consistent POI at 10 yds (after 250 round break-in periods)! My 3rd Trail NP is the Charm. After 100 rounds of break-in activity, still have on the iron sights windage dead center and elevation all the way down for consistent hand-held bulls eye POI hits!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2017-05-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like gas piston much more over metal springs for less noise and smoother cocking.And being able to wait while loaded without losing power.It has decent power over most of my c02 pistols.I actually like the open sites despite all the dislikes about it.mine doesnt have the same exact rear sight as shown in photos.I bought mine from Walmart for 54$(what a great deal)on may 19-2017 & not sure if thats why my sight is slightly different than the one shown.adjs well no problem.

    Things I would have changed: Cocking aid should slide on and off easier. I really dont use it much anyways as i dont have problems cocking without it.A .22 cal would be nice.

    What others should know: Im not sure what rear sight is installed on these when purchased from pyramid but i have No gripes about it.It adjusts well and can easily be moved forward or backward for more adj or simply removed to install a dot sight.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terry from USA on 2017-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Fun gun to shoot it was accurate right out of box.

    Things I would have changed: Sites,not my favorite but ok for the price.

    What others should know: I love shooting this thing. Buy one.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Luis from USA on 2017-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Easy to cock without cock assist. So easy that even removed the barrel plastic extension/front site. Much quieter than spring pistols. The grips are pretty nice. This gun feel pretty sturdy. For the money I think you can't complain.

    Things I would have changed: First the rear sights are ok if you are hitting 12 inch targets at 10yards max. A red dot scope will solve that small issue. With a pistol scope 20 yards no problem. Trigger pull needs more adjusments but cant but then again is not a highend pistol.

     
  • 123 ... 67 Next
Navigation