Date: 20/5/2019 19:26
0

Benjamin Trail NP. BBP77. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (138 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Joey from USA on 2013-12-29 12:11:44

Things I liked: This is a great gun for the money! Paid the 10 for $10 and got a good one.Very accurate, shoots smooth.I have a ruger mark 1 springer and this gun for the same money is 10 times better!

Things I would have changed: Cocking handle design and the rear sight. Both useable but a little room for improvement. I will buy a red dot sight in the future.

What others should know: Pyramyd sent the tape with the 10 for $10, average 540fps. with 7.1 grain lazers. Not bad! BUY THIS GUN!!!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:1.0

By David from USA on 2015-11-17 06:50:29

Things I liked: Its a Benjamin and its nitro

Things I would have changed: Better sighting system a longer trigger adjustment screw in a little less weight forward

What others should know: This is a tough one the gun is promising with post - 600 feet per second but Benjamin needs to go back to the drawing board on this one

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 67 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Marvin from USA on 2019-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I was surprised by the power and accuracy of this pistol, I did not expect the quality and accuracy of this Benjamin! I went with this product and brand because of the excellent performance of my Benjamin Nitro Air Rifle, as it has bagged over 150+ squirrels over the past year, and I am also impressed with this product as well!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing that I can see needs correction!

    What others should know: When you use this Benjamin .177 pistol, you will need to be aware of its long barrel and that the sights need to be set to your vision/specs. The long barrel will tend to move around more when pressing the trigger, so also note that you can adjust the trigger pull for better "triggernometry"

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bryan from USA on 2019-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Overall the pistol is very good, actually excellent considering the price. Even with the crappy trigger I can easily make a pop can dance from across the yard (about 60 feet). I removed the flimsy rear sight, chopped the front blade and installed an old BSA 30mm red dot I had lying around. It's now my go-to rat gun. I read how the point of impact changes with the installation of the barrel extension so I just threw it back in the box with the sights. Honestly I don't know what the fuss is all about, it's not THAT hard to cock, even without the barrel extension. I've shot more than a few springers that were MUCH stiffer. Whiners should just man-up, or remove the extension after cocking for each shot; BTW I saw a guy on teh interwebs who recommends turning the barrel extension around backwards to make it easy to don/doff, but YMMV.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger sucks, but I'm hoping that it smooths-up with a few hundred more rounds, and I may just attempt a trigger job. Yeah I realize that doing so will void my warranty, but the pistol was only $80 and I've probably already voided it by chopping the front sight). If I had to do it again, I'd probably just remove the whole front sight assembly by heating it with a heat gun, but unfortunately I didn't see that particular YouTube video until after I'd put away the Dremel... sigh. There were a few sharp mold-flash lines around the trigger guard; a razor blade made quick work of them. The grip is large, but I've got large hands, so it's not too big for me. In the hand it feels like an unbalanced HK Mark 23, so if you've got small mitts, you might want to try reducing the grip size with a file or Dremel. The molded-in texture is also a bit coarse, but again nothing a file wouldn't fix (custom stippling anyone?). Oh, one other thing, .177 is nice but I do wish that it came in .22.

    What others should know: Pyramid Air customer service was outstanding! I ordered a factory refurb pistol with the 10 for $10 service and they sent me a new pistol for the same price because they were out of the refurbs. I will definitely order from Pyramid Air again and would recommend them without reservation to friends and family. Sure, you might be able to save a buck or two from the "mega online retailer," but you won't get better service. Oh, as far as the Benjamin NP Trail pistol goes, I'd recommend it to anyone wanting/needing an affordable (relatively) high power pistol for plinking fun and/or whacking small verminous creatures (which are practically the same thing as far as I'm concerned). Thank you Pyramid Air, I look forward to doing business with you again.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Joe from USA on 2019-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Its a cool plinking gun. 5-30 yards

    Things I would have changed: The trailblazer II is an upgrade, this one is takes more cocking effort and lacks a suppressor

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By mike from USA on 2018-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: not bad for inside plinking or 30 to 50 feet outside target practice

    Things I would have changed: trigger

    What others should know: mine shot very low without cocking assist, better with it on. just opposite of other reviews

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wally from USA on 2018-10-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun is very good for the price. FPS was as labeled on box when using alloy pellets and very accurate after about 100 rounds.

    Things I would have changed: For me nothing.

    What others should know: Good gun for the price if you want to not spend much.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Arthur from USA on 2018-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything but the trigger

    Things I would have changed: Trigger travel which negatively affects accuracy.

    What others should know: Customer service agrees that a longer trigger adjustment screw would improve the situation they declined to offer a screw, which I would gladly pay for. I cant find a screw locally.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By corbin from USA on 2018-08-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Pretty accurate,better when cocking shroud is removed. Great power for a plinking pistol. Simple straight forward operation.

    Things I would have changed: A bit more power would make this an awesome close range pest control pistol.

    What others should know: This was an intro gas piston air gun for me and for the price you can't beat it. Fun for plinking,really inexpensive way to get in some shooting practice. This pistol is very indoor friendly.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By daniel from USA on 2018-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Even though its a single shot. I like the weight and the feel of the gun. Aiming is easy ND ITS VERY ACCURATE.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe providing a longer extending arm for better leverage to cock the gun..

    What others should know: For me, it took awhile to figure out how to put the extender arm on the barrel as the directions were not copied well. But even with the extender arm on the barrel it was extremely hard to cock.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pete from USA on 2018-07-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Pattern on the grip. Overall looks.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger.

    What others should know: Long trigger pull, needs to be shortened.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gary from USA on 2018-07-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: One pump, one shot, full power

    Things I would have changed: I followed advice of one review and changed the trigger adjustment screw from a 3mm X7 7mm to a 3mm X 8mm and it shortened the pull nicely.

    What others should know: I tried many 7.9gr pellets and found Crosman Premier super match competition grade to be the best match for this one. Sub 1/2" grps at 15 yds and hitting the 4" gong at 40 yds with a red dot.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2018-06-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The price. The spring piston design.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger could be better but after you get used to the creep it works.

    What others should know: This is a bit large and obtuse for a pistol but great fun Once you get used to everything. They might as well put a shoulder stock on it because its a heavy gun. Cocking to fire reminds me of a break barrel 12 gauge I had as a kid. Great value for the money. Very stoutly made! Not really noisy like some pellet guns. Backyard friendly. Get one for fun!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Scott from USA on 2018-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Seems ver accurate once I got the sights corrected, out of the box it was shooting LOW, over 2 inches low at 20 feet. With the rear sight raised to the limit it is about a half inch low at 20 feet, easily corrected in how you sight the gun.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger pull is long...and seemed stiff when I first started shooting. Now that I've put about 100 pellets thru it, the trigger seems to have smoothed out nicely ( still a long pull though).

    What others should know: Over all I love this pistol. Seems a little heavy at first, and the weight balances further forward than one might expect, making it seem heavier. However, I was soon compensating for that automatically. Also, this is a big gun. 19.5 inches long with the cocking aid attached. Not the gun to practice your quick draw, but should provide endless fun plinking, and even works for small pest control, though the long trigger pull makes the later a bit tricky. So far, she seems happiest with Crossman pointed premier pellets.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2018-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Simplicity of the device. More than adequate power and velocity. Perfect for shooting close range, indoors! Blows through aluminum cans, and light weight wood backstops! Accuracy is quite impressive for such an inexpensive pistol! Safety is very positive, and simple to operate.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is long, and a little tough. What should you expect from less than a c note investment??

    What others should know: Darn thing SHOOTS!! I mean,,,, it really shoots accurately! I bought Refurbished, and invested modestly! Looks like a brand new pistol! Opened the box, took it in the basement, shot 25 or so rounds. My buddy was here when it arrived,,,, he said, "Get Me One!!" That was after he fired it a couple dozen times! I've fired maybe 3 or 400 rounds, and it is getting sweeter, and the trigger is starting to smooth out.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ryszard from USA on 2018-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: It is very powerful and easy to get target

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2018-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Cocks easy and shoots great. Sights are great for aiming.

    Things I would have changed: Had to raise sight all the way up to get it hit where it was aimed. Trigger pull is long and hard to control.

    What others should know: Sight has given most everyone problems with not being able to raise it enough, other wise sights are great.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ron from USA on 2018-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The overall construction of the weapon is very sold.

    Things I would have changed: I would definitely make the grip smaller, lower the front sight and fix the trigger pull, because it really sucks. A two stage trigger would be nice

    What others should know: I sighted in my new toy with the rear sight that was affix to the gun when shipped, all though it took a lot of adjusting just get to that point, which was about 10 yards out. Once sighted in my groups were nice and tight, they were roughly dime size in diameter. Now for the real fun. I swapped out the rear sight with a (UTG 1x34 ITA Red/Green Dot Sight), beautiful piece of equipment might i add. It took me a bit but i finally got it sighted in and once again I was shooting tight, dime size groups. I will be perfectly honest though, the weapon was sighted in using a bench. Shooting this gun for me, (and I stress for me), was quite difficult due to its weight. I would strongly suggest using some form of support. My use for the gun is strictly target practice and small rodents, hint hint squirrels. So far three of the little critters laughed at me and said, "Is that the best you can do." Overall the gun in my opinion is pretty neat.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Martin from USA on 2018-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The accuracy and quiet Nitro Piston make this a nice pellet pistol. Good value for the price.

    Things I would have changed: This pistol definitely needs better sights! Like other reviewers here, I found it hard to to set the elevation due to the front sight being too tall, and/or the rear sight not having a large enough adjustment range. I mounted a red/green dot sight, and I like it much better. A more powerful .22 version with a scope or dot sight included would be totally awesome and worth a higher price!

    What others should know: This is a large and heavy pistol that may not be suitable for younger shooters. It is easier to cock than a break barrel rifle, but is still not easy to cock. As with any pellet pistol shooters should wear safety glasses, and shoot in a safe manner, making sure to have a good backstop.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jay from USA on 2017-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have to say that this is a well-designed pistol for the money. The gun is VERY accurate. It's so accurate so that you could feel it's just plain boring to shoot targets at 50ft. The trigger has lots of pre-travel with a relatively heavier trigger pull weight. However, the trigger action very consistent so that you can still shoot the gun accurately. I find this trigger great to practice trigger pull technique. Cocking is easy. The rear sight is easy to adjust. Pretty happy with this gun. I can maintain 3-inch groups at 50ft with the stock trigger so I can tell that stock

    Things I would have changed: I don't like the safety switch. It would be great if the gun had a picatinny rail.

    What others should know: The gun is big and heavy, but it's NOT that powerful. It will be a great gun for indoor target shooting but you shouldn't be using it for hunting.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Gary from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.764 ratings

    Things I liked: Nothing

    Things I would have changed: Should never have bought this pistol in the 1st place

    What others should know: This is a very well made pistol it is just not for me or what I was looking for. Way to heavy for my style of shooting needs to be more in a rifle configuration in my opinion. My ratings of this gun are strictly what that gun was to me no knock on the company or Pyramid Air at all though.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Shane from Canada on 2017-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nitro piston tech and fibre optic sights, cocking assist really makes it easier.

    Things I would have changed: The grip is not very comfortable, it's also a heavy pistol, most people will need 2 hands. Heavy tigger pull but consistent, by no means 'terrible' as I've read elsewhere.

    What others should know: I have the Canadian version purchased in 2017. I can't verify if there are any production changes from when it first came out but I can say that I had no issues with sighting this pistol in, out of the box, with no break in. I got this to pair it with my trail rifle and they go together great. With its heft and balance, I could really only recommend this gun to adult shooters. Youngsters might find it a bit too heavy and cumbersome. It's good for me, 6'1" with big hands, but if you're unsure, try before you buy.

     
  • 123 ... 67 Next
Navigation