Date: 25/5/2019 16:5
0

Benjamin Trail NP. BBP77. Customer Reviews - page 7

Average Customer Review

4.0 (138 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Joey from USA on 2013-12-29 12:11:44

Things I liked: This is a great gun for the money! Paid the 10 for $10 and got a good one.Very accurate, shoots smooth.I have a ruger mark 1 springer and this gun for the same money is 10 times better!

Things I would have changed: Cocking handle design and the rear sight. Both useable but a little room for improvement. I will buy a red dot sight in the future.

What others should know: Pyramyd sent the tape with the 10 for $10, average 540fps. with 7.1 grain lazers. Not bad! BUY THIS GUN!!!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:1.0

By David from USA on 2015-11-17 06:50:29

Things I liked: Its a Benjamin and its nitro

Things I would have changed: Better sighting system a longer trigger adjustment screw in a little less weight forward

What others should know: This is a tough one the gun is promising with post - 600 feet per second but Benjamin needs to go back to the drawing board on this one

Sort by:
  • Previous 12 ... 567
  • Showitems
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Pye from USA on 2013-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very good fit, and finish on metal. Decent rear sight, and ease of cocking. I leave the cocking handle off. Very good power. Nicely machined barrel.

    Things I would have changed: Horrible trigger. The trigger adjustment screw is there for show, it doesn't do anything. The balance of the pistol is way off! If you look at other pistols about this size, you'd see that the grip is placed further forward to evenly distribute the weight. This pistol however has the grip way in the back, and made the pistol front heavy. The front sight is too tall, too fat, and round on the top, thus negating any accuracy potential. Combine that with the horrible trigger, and your accuracy is out the window. The clamp on rear sight is about to fall off the rail, as there's no built in scope stop.

    What others should know: It's a shame, as the fit, finish and power plant are very good quality. They should redesign the front sight, trigger, and ergonomics of the frame and this pistol is going to be a winner.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By raymond from USA on 2013-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It arrived in record time, very pleased. Packaged well, and just an all around great product.

    Things I would have changed: Don't care much for the sights, but that's just me.

    What others should know: Great value!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jose from USA on 2013-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Just received this gun today and I am very impressed with the build quality and design, also feels powerful and much quieter than expected, After 25 rounds I was grouping my shots right on the mark at 30', so accuracy for me was excellent. Overall a very nice gun to own.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing !!!

    What others should know: Some users may find this gun a bit on the heavy side, however it does pack a good punch and accuracy has been excellent for me after only 25 rounds, so not broken in yet, I can only imagine it will get better after 200+ shots.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By George from USA on 2013-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Powerful and shoots very well as far as grouping the shots.

    Things I would have changed: Only thing I would change is the rear sight, An air gun of this quality should have a better sight syestem to get the most from the product.Also the trigger pull is not very good as there is a lot of creep and not a real clean break.

    What others should know: Easy to load, Shoots the hollow point pellets very well.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By AMCooper63 from USA on 2013-05-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice power, handles better than its weight would suggest.

    Things I would have changed: Sights are way too high. At about 25' the gun shoots about 6 to 8 inches low. Sights are at maximum adjustment. This gun should be recalled based on this design error or all owners given a scope to attach to the gun.

    What others should know: I was unable to break open the gun when it arrived. I almost returned the gun. Then I smacked it over my leg and it broke open. After the first break I could continue breaking it until it sat for a while. Next outing, I had to break it over my leg again. A several hundred rounds through it, I can break it without smacking it over my leg.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bob from USA on 2013-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The cost is just right. It is a good gun for plinking. Nitro Piston is a good idea. Very little vibration

    Things I would have changed: The sights are cheap. When I first received the pistol I was shocked by hard it was to do the initial first cock.

    What others should know: It would be a good idea to pay for 10 shots for 10 Dollars that way the seals have been broken by Pyramyd Air Techs. I had the same problem with my Remington Vantage with Nitro Piston. After 10 shot is was dream to cock

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Lloyd from USA on 2013-05-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It's NP

    Things I would have changed: Trigger, sights , trigger, sights, trigger, sights

    What others should know: Can't believe this was released as is. Did they ever shoot it ? Trigger is terrible. You cannot zero with the sights as is. It shoots LOW. If you go to forums, the dis-satisfaction abounds. The value of 3 would be higher if this thing would shoot, as would the others.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2013-04-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Face it, for $80.00 it is a lot of bang for the buck. The overall quaility is very good. Unique design on sight, fairly inovative. A lot more accurate than I expected.

    Things I would have changed: Engineering, sights sit way to high, and are next to impossible to zero at 30ft without unscrewing rear adjuster, this problem could be solved by lowering the front sight. Safety spring is tied to the trigger tension, why did they do that, it only increases trigger tension, which is high to start with.

    What others should know: If you are not an experienced air gunner, and capable of sorting out assembly and engineering problems, you might want to look at a P17. The P17 isn't as powerfull, but only has a few assembly, and cheap easy parts to replace.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By marty from USA on 2013-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: I received my Benjamin Trail NP Air Pistol and a m very happy so far. In the advertisement it said to expect poor accuracy until maybe 250 pellets fired and accuracy will improve. When I received mine I set up a target 50 feet away and fired a couple of shots and all were at 8 o'clock position. I dialed in the sites and all remaining shots were in the center. I put up a new target and my next 10 pellets all found almost the same hole. This is with open sights. I am not sure I'm going to get a scope at this time. The gun is extremely easy to use. Thanks for such a great gun at a excellent price.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By daniel from USA on 2013-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: the looks the feel and the power

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: if you like air pistols you need to own this one

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Randal from USA on 2013-04-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: The gun looks and feels good in the hand. A bit on the heavy side but not heavy enough to be a problem

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is by far the worst that I have ever used. The trigger pull is long and hard. Although the trigger pull length is supposed to be adjustable, mine was missing the adjustment screw indicating poor QC.

    What others should know: Even with the "cheater" provided, cocking the pistol requires strong arms. Be prepared to look for alternative to the existing trigger assembly.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Eric from USA on 2013-04-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: The price, the good feel and the ease of cocking.

    Things I would have changed: Front sight is too high.

    What others should know: The cocking aid and front sight were a bit cumbersome for me at first. After shooting over 300 rounds in the past week, I've learned fairly well how to shoot this pistol. I use it mainly targeting hanging cans at 10 meters. However, I've hit hanging cans in still air at 35 meters. I have only shot Beeman Hollow Point coated pellets for now, and they have worked great so far. For the price, this pistol can't be beat. Just be patient with it. It really is a lot of fun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By william from USA on 2013-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Solidly built. Accurate once the pistol and you are broken in..

    Things I would have changed: Lower the front sight so that you don't have to replace the rear elevator screw with a longer machine screw.

    What others should know: Reserve judgement on this pistol until you put 30 pellets though it. Initially I thought this was the worst trigger I had ever seen on a gun. After 30 shots I went from hating the gun to absolutely loving it. The pistol demands that you handle it deliberately. A delicate touch will not do.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By pelletgunlover from USA on 2013-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good aesthetics, less recoil than spring piston pistol, reasonably quiet for it's power. So far not bad for Chinese airgun. Sights are of better quality than Ruger air pistol.

    Things I would have changed: US manufacture, trigger pull is heavy, Use rivets instead of screws for mounting barrel or have screws loctite blue on them.

    What others should know: I give 5 stars because of what you get for the price, $80.00 is a great price as the nitro piston is a more stable platform than a spring especially on a air pistol. Sights are well made for price as well.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mike from USA on 2013-04-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: quiet, vibration free, almost no felt recoil

    Things I would have changed: TRIGGER!!!

    What others should know: I've waited a long time to see a gas spring air pistol- would still like to see a super high quality one with an excellent trigger- are you listening HW? All in all though this Benjamin is not half bad for a mere 80.00. It fires smoothly & quietly with very little noticeable recoil. The fit & finish of the metal parts is also quite good. My only real complaint is the trigger- it is downright awful- heavy & with a lot of creep. I put moly grease on the sear- this is a no-no with fine light trigger mechanisms but is safe for simpler, heavier triggers. This vastly improved the pull,the creep is still there but it is smoother & easier to pull. Accuracy is pretty good after you become used to the trigger- I had no problem picking off small pebbles at 20 feet or so. If this gun had a crisp, light trigger it would be a real winner- I for one would be willing to spend an extra 50 dollars or more for a nicer trigger. Don't let the trigger turn you off to the gun though- Its the only gas spring pistol out there right now & it is fun to shoot. For the price you can't lose.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    1.0 1.0

    By lance from USA on 2013-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great value for the money and a fairly well made piece by the Chinese. NO flashings exposed on the plastic and the metal is all nicely blued. Very, very smooth firing cycle due to the Nitro Piston power plant. Reduces, if not eliminates twangy vibrations. Fits the hand well.

    Things I would have changed: Lower the front sight height. I had to change out the elevation screw on the rear sight to bring the up to the target. Indeed, lower the whole open sight system to be closer to the centerline of the bore; the height just adds error. The cocking assist handle needs to be redesigned so it can be used without it clicking onn as if to stay. I would prefer it be more like the Browning 800 Mag by Hatsan. That cocking assist is precisely that, not a barrel extension.

    What others should know: If you purchase this piece, go right to your local hardware supplier and get a longer 5mm machine screw and a small coil spring. The pistol needs more elevation but also a back up spring to support the spring blade that is the body for the rear sight.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By lance from USA on 2013-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Price is nice for this level of power in a pistol. Seems to be solidly constructed. Is ambidextrous with good gripping edges. Nice balance - better than the Browing 800 Mag.

    Things I would have changed: Rear sight needs more accomodation for the potential of barrel droop. Cocking handle/tool fits very tightly on the barrel - perhaps a bit too tightly. The trigger has a very hard pull. The Chinese need to work on improving trigger feel and function, it seems. The trigger seems to lag behind the build quality of the pistol.

    What others should know: This review is written after approxmiately 60 shots. Scrubbed out the barrel before first rounds with nylon brush and JB Bore Paste followed by felt cleaning pellets. Shoots low so far. Crosman notes inaccuracy for approximately 250 rounds. Will have to keep shooting to see if the pistol levels out and the droop can be compensated with the rear sight and any potentil velocity increase with break in. After cocking and pellet insertion, the barrel needs to be smartly brought back to battery to thoroughly compress the breech seal. This does seem to help compensate somewhat for the initial barrel droop.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2013-04-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: The weight of the weapon counteracts the "artillery hold" I have to use to fire it. I'll have to put a couple of hundred rounds through it to break it in...I've managed to put quarter-sized groups on paper so far, but we'll see whether that changes over a few days.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing yet. I'll post another review after I've put a few hundred rounds through it.

    What others should know: It's way easier to cock than the rest of my springers. I waited a while for this pistol and it was well worth the wait.

     
  • Previous 12 ... 567
Navigation