Date: 21/10/2018 7:16
0

Beretta APX Blowback Air Pistol reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (17 reviews)
1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Gregory from Canada on 2016-12-07 13:47:50

Things I liked: I just received my new Beretta APX air pistol today! After shooting about 80 rounds I was pleased with my newest air pistol. It is very nice not to have bright white WARNING text spoiling the appearance of the pistol. The warning is there but it is discrete and the same colour as the pistol. The blowback action is snappy and the sights are a three dot system that help make the shooting experience very positive with this pistol. The price is great for what seems to be a great quality air pistol. Accuracy seems to good, and I was pleased to have ten shot groups under two inches from 25 feet. So far I am impressed. I will update my review as I get more out of this cool looking air pistol.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Carl from USA on 2016-12-23 22:07:11

Things I liked: The gun form and texture, including trademarks and caliber inscription on the chamber looked good. Also, the absence of the white cautionary boilerplate (as with Umarex products) was really welcome! Fps was as advertised - crony at 370-398 fps on first 5 shots on fresh CO2 cartridge. The first few "crack!" were authoratative, almost like a 22lr. This is hot for a typical approx 3 inch barrel blowback BB shooter. Accuracy in elevation is decent (approx 3 inch spread) at 21 ft, but there was a 5 inch spread in windage that distance. The gun had a nice heft, but tended to rattle and clank due to loose-fitting slide. Poor contrast with the ASG CZ P09, for example, which is tightly and solidly put together!

Things I would have changed: The double action only (DAO) is irritating. My fault, as I had overlooked that point when buying. Why they would bother to offer a DAO in a market full of more-realistic DA/SA blowback is beyond me. What's the point in having a blowback when it doesn't cock the hammer for a SA shot? The trigger pull is stiff and long, so after a full mag on rapid fire, your finger will be sore and tired. Plus, the long pull and reset does not help with aim.

What others should know: Blowback is snappy. But effect is spoiled a bit by the cheapo, tinny clank and rattle. Very limited features overall, but perhaps in line with the low price point . Personally, if I had noticed it was DAO, I would not have bought it. If price is not an issue for you, I would strongly recommend the ISSC M22 instead.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles M from USA on 2018-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Umarex has released another very good replica of a modern firearm. Despite the non-functioning, molded-in take down lever and the stick magazine, I really like this APX BB pistol. For my hand, the grip is just about a perfect fit and is very comfortable. As a right handed shooter, the safety is very easy to operate with my trigger finger. Although the open ejection port is not essential to a BB pistol, I like that added touch of realism. The blowback is strong, but not too strong. While a bit long and heavy, the double action trigger has a very distinct and consistent "click" just before the pistol fires that makes it easy to quickly pull back to that click point before adjusting aim and firing. The white dot sights make aiming easy, and the APX shoots to point of aim. Accuracy is very good. At 18 feet to target, Umarex steel BBs produced a 10 shot group of 1.6" with 9 of the 10 shots within 1".

    Things I would have changed: I like the stick magazine because it is very easy to load, but I would also like to see a full size BB / CO2 magazine for the APX.

    What others should know: I shot 10 shot groups of the following BBs from a bench rest at 18 feet to target: Umarex Steel, 1.6"; Copperhead, 1.5"; Black Diamond, 1.6"; Daisy Premium, 1.5"; Smart Shot, 2.9"; and Avanti, 1.8". The APX performed very well without malfunctions. Some BBs, like the Smart Shot, are not a good choice for this pistol. The trigger is double action only. The blowback slide does not cock the pistol. As the trigger is pulled back, the 0.177 barrel actually moves forward until the sear releases at which time the barrel snaps back. The slide does lock back after the final shot when the magazine is empty. Total shot count for one Umarex CO2 was 90 when the slide failed to lock back on the empty magazine, but I recommend stopping at about 80 shots. I highly recommend this APX pistol. Get one. You won't regret it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Glenn from USA on 2018-08-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: First things first. As a collector and active shooter, I appreciate the professionalism of the pyramid air team. As for the Beretta APX,... This is one of the best replica air pistols I've purchased. It is at the top of it's class in realism for air propelled projectile platform based on a gun powder propelled projectile platform. Ergonomically this is my favorite air pistol. The grips are excellent, the slide serrations from front to back are a nice touch, sights provide good target aquisition, weight is spot on, trigger is predictable and consistent, all in line with the gunpowder version, (which is the proper terminology because these air pistols ARE firearms, just not gunpowder propelled projectile platforms.) The APX is a fairly accurate pistol as far as 4.5 mm BB platforms are concerned. I have consistently achieved 2" groups at 10 meters, 3" at 12 m. I was glad to see Beretta officially liscence this pistol and partner with Umarex. This was one that had to be in my collection.

    Things I would have changed: There's really not much to correct when it comes to this pistol's design. However, if Umarex and Beretta wanted to Improve this design with, say a Gen 2 APX, my suggestion would be to add an adjustable hop up system and a very slightly stiffer recoil spring ( very slightly,... it's just a little soft.). Also it would be nice to have a few variations as well. ( Maybe an OD Green and a FDE ) Other than that I wouldn't change a thing. Excellent pistol at an excellent price.

    What others should know: Buy this pistol. You're going to love it!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Derrick from USA on 2018-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good weight easy trigger pull

    Things I would have changed: Make the medal slide snugged

    What others should know: If your into air guns you should have this

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Keith from USA on 2018-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: pretty good for the money

    What others should know: shipping took forever - i just dont understand why they dont ship using usps direct the ups surepost is a loser! for $15.00 usps if it fits it ship works great they'll still make $5.00 profit on the shipping and handling.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2018-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: "Things I like..." Everything.

    Things I would have changed: Possibly; a touch heavier...

    What others should know: Whata(sic) copy of a real APX.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love the replica specs for the real APX and blowback action, i serves good practice in the event you need to keep your weapon drawn and target practice

    Things I would have changed: If i could change anything, it would be chamber, just as a means to inspect the chamber for clearence.

    What others should know: Get one!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2017-04-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: PRICE! For the price this is an excellent value. It's powerful with a really crisp blowback and with a laser mounted to the lower rail it's tac-driver accurate. You get a respectable amount of shots per co2 cartridge. Loading BBs is quite easy due to the design of the BB mag.

    Things I would have changed: Air is installed by removing a piece of the backstrap/grip. at least on my gun this can be tricky. I think they could have come up with something a bit more clever. There is plenty of room for an all-in-one mag like the Beretta 91 and 84 have. The grip is a bit on the large side. I have reasonably sized hands for a man and I find it just a tiny bit awkward due to its size. Which ties back to my previous point, there is plenty of room for a different style mag.

    What others should know: This really is a great gun for the price. You'd easily expect to pay $20 or even $30 dollars more for the amount and quality of gun you get. You won't regret adding this to your collection. I DO, however, recommend fitting it with a laser if you're after accuracy over just having a fun time. Made all the difference in the world.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By juli from USA on 2017-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: cannon shoots like a dream

    Things I would have changed: nothing but solidity it feels loose and heavy

    What others should know: great value great look great price...

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steven from Canada on 2017-02-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun is incredible, the materials are so solid, quality is great, and for realism- it feels literally real. Blowback is very crisp and the accuracy is quite good for a bb shooter. CO2 consumption is medium. The magazine is metal, it fits tight, has NO wobble, and makes an awesome sound when inserted. The slide has minimal wobble and is made out of nice metal. The beretta licensing engraved in the slide looks proffessional and extremely proper and authentic. All in all, this is what I'd expect from a 200$ gun. Definitely built to last. I had to persuade myself to even put CO2 in it and shoot the beauty.

    Things I would have changed: Only 3 things- the trigger is polymer (which is still very sturdy!) but it isn't metal. I would've also preferred a full size CO2 magazine over the stick mag. Last thing- the slide spring is a bit weak.

    What others should know: One important thing to remember when picking an air pistol is that you can't have it all. Weighing the pros and cons for this gun, I feel the pros outweigh the cons 500 times over. If you're like me, and prioritize realism and quality, this very well might be the gun for you.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By geralda from USA on 2017-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: EVERYTHING

    Things I would have changed: MAKE AVAILABLE EXTRA MAGS

    What others should know: THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST ,MOST REALISTIC GUNS I EVER PURCHASED

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Igor from USA on 2017-01-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Gun looks and feels very solid. Good weight and very realistic appearance. Nice safety switch located in the right place, easy to switch on and off while operating the gun. The butt cap of the mag nicely covers the CO2 piercing screw. All is attractively hidden from the view.

    Things I would have changed: The metal slide feels bit loose and shaky. The Blowback is also on the weak side however, it's OK for the gun that shoots around 100 rounds.

    What others should know: This gun is not that accurate but, i guess it's given considering the length of the barrel, blow-back and smooth barrel for bbs. If you are shooting cans or other objects close to that size, you will have lots of fun getting them down. I guess the appearance of the gun is the strongest selling point.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Will from USA on 2017-01-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: It has a blowback feature. Metal upper slide and solid lower section. Its also nice that they put all the warning messages under the trigger guard and not on the side of the slide in bright white lettering. It was accurate and I was able to get several shots (I did not count but 100 shots maybe?) out of one CO2 bottle. Loading the BBs was easy.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the blow back feature was harder. I would have gladly sacrificed shots for stronger recoil. Also the slide rattles around much more than I would like it to.

    What others should know: The trigger pull is long but consistent for each shot. When you do pull the trigger, pull it in a consistent motion, if you start to pull it and then hesitate the BB has a tendency to roll out of the barrel before you are able to shoot. The APX and Beretta logos on the slide are just bagging to be filled in with some color, they are indented in the slide and I was able to make the APX red and Beretta logo white. It brought some character to the gun. This is not going to be my go to BB gun, however for the price its not bad. If I could only purchase 1 or 2 blowback CO2 BB guns this would not have been one of them. Nonetheless I'm happy I added it to my collection.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2017-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: good investment...liked it so much I bought 2of them.

    Things I would have changed: nothing ...very realistic.

    What others should know: A good buy

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Carl from USA on 2016-12-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The gun form and texture, including trademarks and caliber inscription on the chamber looked good. Also, the absence of the white cautionary boilerplate (as with Umarex products) was really welcome! Fps was as advertised - crony at 370-398 fps on first 5 shots on fresh CO2 cartridge. The first few "crack!" were authoratative, almost like a 22lr. This is hot for a typical approx 3 inch barrel blowback BB shooter. Accuracy in elevation is decent (approx 3 inch spread) at 21 ft, but there was a 5 inch spread in windage that distance. The gun had a nice heft, but tended to rattle and clank due to loose-fitting slide. Poor contrast with the ASG CZ P09, for example, which is tightly and solidly put together!

    Things I would have changed: The double action only (DAO) is irritating. My fault, as I had overlooked that point when buying. Why they would bother to offer a DAO in a market full of more-realistic DA/SA blowback is beyond me. What's the point in having a blowback when it doesn't cock the hammer for a SA shot? The trigger pull is stiff and long, so after a full mag on rapid fire, your finger will be sore and tired. Plus, the long pull and reset does not help with aim.

    What others should know: Blowback is snappy. But effect is spoiled a bit by the cheapo, tinny clank and rattle. Very limited features overall, but perhaps in line with the low price point . Personally, if I had noticed it was DAO, I would not have bought it. If price is not an issue for you, I would strongly recommend the ISSC M22 instead.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-12-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: It's not a small gun. It fills the hand very nicely. Blowback is crisp. Loading co2 is easy once you realize there's no trick to removing the cover, you just yank it off, slide in the co2, tighten, and snap the cover back in place. I love simple stuff! Oh, and the mag is so easy to load. Nicely done Umarex.

    Things I would have changed: The picatinny rail is a little wider than normal so mounting a laser might prove tricky. I was able to muscle an ASG laser onto the rails but only after failing with an NCStar compact first. Best bet is try one that screws together rather than slides on.

    What others should know: It took me a beat to get comfortable with the trigger position on this gun. It's a bit forward of where I'd consider natural for my hands but once you squeeze off a mag or two you forget all about that. It's a really nice gun, better than many others in the under $60 club.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Vincent from Canada on 2016-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: low cost entry level blowback pistol, The finish on the gun is pretty well, the gun feel verry solid in hand, the plastic feel strong, nice Beretta logos on the grips and on the mag plate. safety lever is verry easy to use and well placed on the gun, trigger is thick and trigger pull is medium (double action only, load the bb's while pulling the trigger) The mag is a stick mag, but feel verry nice when inserting and removing (spring loaded), the sound it makes when inserting the mag is verry sharp! quality sound, tight fit no freeplay. The slide is pretty thick and heavy, the only downside is the small freeplay all around the slide, but it's not a deal breaker to me. The internal valve when exposed in the open port looks stronger than previous gun of the same kind I saw in the past, all black components. Slide catch is well made and easy to access, and also is verry close to the gun, verry compact. The texture of the grips front, back, side, is awesome, remind me the glock gen 4, impossible to have the gun slip out of your hand, ergonomy is like the H&K 45, fit the hand perfectly. It's the size of a Glock 17. sights are white dot, easy to aim. The accuracy is verry good, shoot straight at 15 feet, no need to compensate in X and Y, around 1''-1.5'' grouping. The power is pretty good too, I was able to pass both side of a metal soup can on the first few shots, then on one side until the end of the shots (approx 70-80 shots per co2). The slide lock back each time on empty mag. The blowback strenght is fairly good, not like the ISSC M22 or the Makarov Ultra, but strong enough to give you a good feeling! the slide spring is pretty weak, but we cannot have everything, it's surely to avoid any resistance to the blowback action. The mag release button is easy to access and works great. It looks a revamped version of the SA177 with better finish and better performances. One thing I do like a lot on this gun is the barrel, looks realistic, and the inner barrel is verry far hidden into it, so looks so you really have to look straight into the outer barrel to see it, like that. I used Black Diamond bb's for my test, works great. For the price, you can't go wrong with this pistol, looks fantastic! the slide can be removed with ease with the pin removed in the front of the trigger guard, so if you want to grease up the blowback seal, it's easy to do. I always had better blowback performance in the past while greasing this little green round blowback seal. There is no large white warning marking on the gun, only small gray faded marking under the trigger guard, so both side of the gun looks awesome. The only thing that I dislike about the gun, and it have nothing related to the gun, is the package, it comes in a transparent plastic clampshell instead of a nice paper box. So you need a box or gun case for storing it. Well that's it for my review, hopes it help someones who are looking to buy this gun!

    Things I would have changed: put in a paper box instead of plastic clampshell

    What others should know: get one!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gregory from Canada on 2016-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I just received my new Beretta APX air pistol today! After shooting about 80 rounds I was pleased with my newest air pistol. It is very nice not to have bright white WARNING text spoiling the appearance of the pistol. The warning is there but it is discrete and the same colour as the pistol. The blowback action is snappy and the sights are a three dot system that help make the shooting experience very positive with this pistol. The price is great for what seems to be a great quality air pistol. Accuracy seems to good, and I was pleased to have ten shot groups under two inches from 25 feet. So far I am impressed. I will update my review as I get more out of this cool looking air pistol.

     
Navigation