Date: 16/8/2018 0:5
0

Colt Python CO2 Revolver reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (26 reviews)
2 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Matthew from USA on 2014-04-22 09:14:18

Things I liked: First off, I actually wasn't even aware that this gun existed until I stumbled across it while searching for co2 air revolvers on Pyramyd Air. The Python is a very sturdy, hefty gun (it's virtually all-metal, and you can really feel the heft when you hold it) and, being a very well-made replica, it looks great.. I give it points just for being aesthetically pleasing. Heck, even if you buy this gun just as a prop/replica, it's worth it.. the hard red plastic/rubber tips of the rounds can even be easily removed, which leaves just the brass cartridges looking like real spent .357 shell casings. But it's not just a good-lookin' gun.. it's quite accurate, shoots hard, and just overall feels great to shoot due to the realism of the gun design. Being able to actually load .357-sized rounds into the functional cylinder, click it back into place, then fire away - I prefer single action - feels pretty sweet. I also like the recessed co2 design, as opposed to having some kind of ugly external screw knob.. and the grips are relatively nice and compact, although the hard (somewhat rubberized?) plastic can feel a bit abrasive after a while. I was actually settled on the Dan Wesson 8" revolver, but this gun just happened to catch my eye at the last minute and stole away the sale.. I mean for $99, it's a great buy! The Dan Wesson will be my next purchase.

Things I would have changed: Although I've only owned this gun for a little over a week, I haven't experienced any issues or malfunctions with it. My only relatively minor complaints: - On my particular gun, the hammer appears to lean very slightly off-center to the left (really only noticeable when cocked). However, this may simply be part of the design, as I mentioned this to an acquaintance experienced with airguns and he said that he noticed the same thing on his Python. - The grips, while reasonably compact, are not particularly comfortable (mostly noticeable after extended use).

What others should know: Revolvers are awesome.. get this gun while it's still $99 bucks! I would not be surprised if it doesn't stay that price forever, since it seems to be worth more than that. P.s... Thanks to Pyramyd Air for a great buy and great service. The gun was delivered very quickly and their customer support is very efficient and helpful. I was definitely impressed with them overall. Thanks, Pyramyd Air!

The most helpful critical review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Lawrence from USA on 2014-05-20 08:30:27

Things I liked: Very realistic look and feel. Grips are solidly attached.

Things I would have changed: Very loose and sloppy fit of the cylinder onto the crane allows the cylinder to pivot on the spring loaded forcing cone and the crane to open partially as the gun is cocked. Since that's something I just couldn't get over, I returned the gun unused to insure a full refund.

What others should know: I replaced this with an Umarex S&W 586 and, even though I gave up some realism and quite a few more dollars, I'm much happier.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Emmett from USA on 2018-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the feel and the look of the revolver. It was sighted in pretty accurate at fifty feet. After that, need to make adjustments. Get about 80 shots on CO2 cartridge.

    Things I would have changed: Add an extra set of cartridges.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2017-11-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Gun is accurate for a smooth bore pistol. at 35 feet I can hit a gallon jug every time. The co2 cartridge is easy to change and I get close to 100 shots off in one cartridge. The speed loader is excellent.

    Things I would have changed: If a rifled barrel was on the gun it would be great

    What others should know: After about 2000 shots through it all the co2 was dumped. The valve that connects the co2 cartridge and hammer failed. I called Umarex and they sent me another valve free of charge. They were very helpful. This is the reason that I only rated the pistol with 3 stars. Otherwise the pistol is fine, well made and worked fine. If the valve had not failed I would have given this pistol a five star rating in all except accuracy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2017-11-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: It is very heavy. People said the cylinder was sloppy but I got a high quality on mine i guess. Very realistic showed it to my mom and she said it looked and weighed like the one that her dad had. Hammer feels great. not some cheap pull to it.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: Don't remove the rubbers on top of bullets like some people said. The bb wont fit. Unless you want it as a replica and never want to shoot it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Don from USA on 2017-08-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: just received this today and just completed shooting multiple rounds through it, lots of fun, weight and feel of this revolver is great, noise level is low for shooting indoors.

    Things I would have changed: cylinder needs to be tighter a little sloppy, speed loaders are junk

    What others should know: overall fun revolver to shoot

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tom from Canada on 2017-04-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I liked the heft and balance, the grips were comfortable, very good (except for one problem, described below) construction and finish...overall, well made...but...

    Things I would have changed: but the grips were kinda loose, and the double-action trigger pull was awkward (at first, a harder pull to position the chamber, then a lighter pull to fire [is that a colt method?])...loused up the aiming...better when going single action...that way, the lighter trigger pull allowed better groupings... also, the barrel started to wiggle on its retaining pin (up & down at this time, but what about later?...i only shot about 50 rounds!)... enough to feel the movement (clickety-click), and enough to affect the shot ( I tied the barrel down very tightly against the frame, and the grouping seemed to improve

    What others should know: except for the poor pinning of the barrel, this is a nice pistol...but, compared to the double-action of my dan wesson .357, the python double action could be better...still, that may be a colt characteristic that UMAREX copied...I never fired a python, so i could be wrong...as an aside, the dan wesson seems to use the same barrel/frame pin mounting, so my python could just be one of those that has a problem...

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Spike from USA on 2016-01-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: is almost true to actual Colt Python.

    Things I would have changed: problems leaks CO2, Cylinder does not locked in position.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ron from USA on 2015-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great weight & feel. Love the metal frame and cylinder.

    Things I would have changed: nothing.

    What others should know: This is a recent purchase for me. It's taking a while to sight-in, but it's getting there. Definitely by extra shells and speed loader. Worth the money. Shells are a bit looser than I expected, but not an issue. It's a replica; not a real pistol. The grip is fine. Others feel it's too rough, but I haven;t had any issues. A very good air pistol, well worth the price. A great addition to your collection.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ray from USA on 2015-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything .

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Looks more realistic than the chrome version I bought

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2015-05-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good replica. Very accurate at 5 meters for a smoothbore.

    Things I would have changed: Elevation sight is too high. I have to aim about 2" high to hit the center of the bullseye even with the rear sight down as far as it will go.

    What others should know: I get a good 72 shots out of one CO2 cartridge.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2015-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Realistic look, feel and loading of ammo.

    Things I would have changed: Just a few more fps.

    What others should know: Preforms as advertised.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Claude from USA on 2015-03-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the look and feel of this gun. I also like it's accuracy and that it has Colt license trademark. Colt has been around for a long time.

    Things I would have changed: There's not much I would change on this gun maybe if they could make the same model with blued steel and the shells with silver colored bullets

    What others should know: Yes, this is a good purchase for the money.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Claude from USA on 2015-03-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the look and feel of this gun. I also like it's accuracy and that it has Colt license trademark. Colt has been around for a long time, since the old west known for their Peace Maker. I also recommend a double gun case for it and to buy the Colt Commander they are the same price.

    Things I would have changed: There's not much I would change on this gun maybe if they could make the same model with blued steel and the shells with silver colored bullets

    What others should know: You can also get the Colt Commander to go with this gun they are both very good airguns for the money don't forget to buy a double gun case

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chris from USA on 2015-03-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Weight, feel & overall aesthetics excellent, pointing ability close to firearm's. Recommend reserving review until you fire about 300-400 shots through it as most of the minor flaws settle down after that

    Things I would have changed: Still trying to add nail polish for the red ramp/white outline sights & I think I'll be through

    What others should know: Excellent companion to the S&W 327 TRR8...both are an absolute blast to shoot & are a fraction of the original firearms

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bob from USA on 2015-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: It has the look,weight,feel and detail of the original Python.It uses less CO2 then blow back models. The adjustable sights.

    Things I would have changed: The cylinder has too much play and hits against metal guide that holds it in place. Sent first one back and second one had same problem. Everyone would like better grips.Cylinder release is plastic and a little loose. Would love to see it in a 6 shot pellet with rifled barrel for accuracy, while maintaining true look.

    What others should know: I removed the play in the cylinder using clear Mylar tape around bushing and pivot shaft. It now feels more real. Worth having for anyone that collects true replicas. Smooth bore BB accuracy is hit and miss at best.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Frank from USA on 2014-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very realistic.

    Things I would have changed: I would have given it 5 stars but there is a slight wobble in the barrel. The barrel seems to be pinned to the gun so I don’t know as it can be tightened or if its just the nature of the beast. I don’t think the looseness in the barrel is enough to affect accuracy much, but it is annoying since it can be felt when handling the gun.

    What others should know: A target pistol it is not, but it is fun to shoot.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Nicholas from USA on 2014-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice trigger especially in single action, it became quite accurate after about a 200rnd break in, at 20yrds I'm now getting a 2 inch 5 shot group with a avanti BBs.

    Things I would have changed: make it able to fire pellet's and give it a rifled not a brass smoothbore, the worst thing about it is the cylinder sometimes gets in a bind, when the cylinder opens the back edge is hitting part of frame just above the trigger and its started knocking off the finish around the edge of the cylinder, the reason its doing this is the cylinder has to much forward/rearward movement on rod that it spins on, if you make sure the cylinder is all the way forward before you open it, it won't do it ( it helps to point it downward )if I can get the cylinder off I might can fix the problem with a washer.

    What others should know: it has brass smoothbore, If I remember correctly it said you should get like 60 shots per co2 fill, it's more like 40-45 good shots than it gets kinda weak. and the accuracy started out pretty bad, but after 200rnds it got a lot better, I think the shells need to break in to get the velocity consistent,

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By CM Donn from USA on 2014-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The overall look and feel is spot on the real model which I placed side by side.

    Things I would have changed: The silk screening on the barrel and do an engraving.

    What others should know: These shells are not compatible with other bras shell models like Dan Wesson.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Lawrence from USA on 2014-05-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Very realistic look and feel. Grips are solidly attached.

    Things I would have changed: Very loose and sloppy fit of the cylinder onto the crane allows the cylinder to pivot on the spring loaded forcing cone and the crane to open partially as the gun is cocked. Since that's something I just couldn't get over, I returned the gun unused to insure a full refund.

    What others should know: I replaced this with an Umarex S&W 586 and, even though I gave up some realism and quite a few more dollars, I'm much happier.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jesse James from USA on 2014-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice parkerized type finish., A very attractive remnant of the real thing, Packaged well, Dead on accurate, beefy, can't honestly remember the real Python as heavy. A teriffic buy @ $99.00 a copy.

    Things I would have changed: Tighten up the swing out cylinder to the ejection rod, too much play there, but it did not affect shooting ability or accuracy. Would have fabricated a look alike wood grip like the one on the real Colt Python.

    What others should know: This thing is cast iron durable although I would hate to drop it on a hard surface, it would marr the hell out of it. Most of the gun really looks like the real Python except for the rear frame near the hammer, there it kind of resembles a Dan Wesson pistol.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2014-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: the realism,heft and over-all ever thing about this gun Great buy for the price.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation