Date: 21/7/2019 3:43
0

Dan Wesson 2.5". 17177. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (74 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Dan from USA on 2011-12-06 20:50:13

Things I liked: s soon as Pyramyd offered these silver 2 1/2" Dan Wesson's the die was cast for me. I had to have one ASAP!!! Placed the order and SHAZAM a couple of day's later it was in my trembling hands. The little pistol was packed in a nifty OEM box - no plastic clamshell here! And the little box was so heavy I thought they must have included 2 pistols in my lucky box by mistake! But upon opening the lid I was shocked to see a single gleaming miracle of a pistol unlike anything I had ever seen. This metallic piece of awesomeness is just a beast and just a real treat to behold. The revolver's cylinder spins like a teflon snowball on wet ice and I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase.

Things I would have changed: he trigger feels a little mushy but functions great and besides this wonder pistol isn't intended to win it's owner Olympic Gold medals anyway. A pellet version with a rifled barrel would be nice in a future version. It would also be awesome to have an 8" silver version to go with this sweet 2 1/2" thunder munchkin revolver.

What others should know: If you love airguns then get one of these Dan Wesson pistols. Silver or Black - Long or Short - it's all good. Be sure to order some spare cartridges too along with some ammo and CO2 capsules. Wear your safety glasses. And don't display this pistol in public places or anywhere it could be mistaken for an actual firearm. Have fun but play smart & stay safe.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:3.0

By patrick from USA on 2018-08-07 10:04:00

Things I liked: We u8se as a training aid in our handgun classes.

Things I would have changed: Have the cylinder lockup at each chamber, like a real revolver.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By patrick from USA on 2018-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: We u8se as a training aid in our handgun classes.

    Things I would have changed: Have the cylinder lockup at each chamber, like a real revolver.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bernard from Canada on 2018-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the fabrication quality and functioning.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JimmyMos from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Haven't fired it yet but it's a solid,hefty feeling gun in your hand. Just that alone is worth the money

    Things I would have changed: The hammer is a little loose feeling

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dick from USA on 2017-02-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: No question about the build quality of the Dan Wesson. Top drawer. All steel except the handle. Great weight and balance and very good accuracy for a 2.5" barrel. Very realistic. I like the closely matched thickness of the front sight to the notch in the rear sight. Too many CO2 guns have a needle-thin front sight that literally swims in the rear sight, making it hard to place a shot. This revolver lines up the sights and fills the rear sight notch so that you know you are well sighted.

    Things I would have changed: Just the handle. I think one side of the handle should pop off to access the CO2 port would be better. That way the handle would be out of the way when loading a gas cylinder. As it is, the handle needs to be held in the up position to keep it out of the way. Not a biggie.

    What others should know: Your Colt 357 magnum cartridges are too big to fit in this gun and Schofield cartridges are too small @ .055, .040, and .036, respectively when mic'd. You can fire Schofield cartridges but will not get full velocity because they are 4 thousands too small resulting in loss of air pressure and a low velocity shot. Get the Dan Wesson cartridges for this guy to shoot properly.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-12-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: looks like the real thing. good for training.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jay from USA on 2016-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: The accuracy of this rifle is absolutely the best out of all of the rifles that I have. At 30 feet, my 16 shot groupings are less than the size of a dime. I also like the fact that there are quite a few add on's that are easily obtainable like sling and bipod. Though pretty much everything is made of plastic including the sites, it is remarkable how spot on this gun is.

    Things I would have changed: I would easily pay $150.00+ for this rifle if the stock were made of wood. It is a shame that they did not take this gun to the next level like the Dan Wesson pellet revolver.

    What others should know: The only mechanical issue I have with the gun is that the C02 cartridges sometime leak when I add fresh cartridges and I have to back them off until they stop and tighten them back. For ammo Exact Diablo 7.33 grain pellets work well for general back yard plinking but if you want a good punch at 25-30 ft with really amazing accuracy, shoot the Sig Sauer zero point 10.65 grain copper coated pellets through it. After you run 64 to 100 pellets through the rifle, it becomes a beast!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jay from USA on 2016-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I really like the quality and functionality of this revolver. The accuracy is very consistent at 25ft and 6 shot groupings are within an inch. The value of this gun is one of the best for the buck.

    Things I would have changed: Not that I care that much because I don't use it and like to manually load the gun because it gives the C02 cartridges time to warm up after shooting 6 rounds but the speed loader is a bit cheesey in the way that it fits. The grip is a bit odd compared to the quality of the rest of the pistol but I get the fact that it has to open somehow to load the C02.

    What others should know: This gun is well worth the value. I would recommend purchasing a molded holster as well and wipe it down to remove the oils from your fingers after every use. For ammo I have been shooting the Exact Diablo 7.33 pellets through it with really good results. I have also shot Predator Polymags through it as well but the accuracy has not been as good. Buy yourself extra shells so that when you shoot, you can re-load and keep going without spending the time after 6 shots breaking each one open to add a new pellet.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By don from USA on 2015-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: I'm glad it doesn't have an orange barrel tip

    Things I would have changed: I would make it where u cud put 3 bbs in each bullet and to mount laser or scope is not as simple as you make it look ..

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By micheljgaudet from USA on 2015-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I LOVE the fact this thing TRULY feels like you are loading real 'rounds'. You place six 'rounds' into a speed-loader, place the tips down into a bunch of BBs and push-squiggle a bit, making sure to finish off with you finger tip on each BB, feeling for THE CLICK! Then pop the shells into the gun using the speed-loader... SO COOL! Oh, and it is GREAT to be able to use both double AND single action!

    Things I would have changed: Hmmm - was a bit disappointed that the finish had three tiny mars where it looks like someone boxing it wasn't careful. Oh! And the HAMMER is so wiggly, back & forth to the left & right, as well as just a bit front-to-back - until cocked. This does not seem to affect the gun's action at all, but I need to research this and find out if the hammer SHOULD be so wiggly.

    What others should know: Mine came with a rail mount that you attach to the top, and I went ahead and attached it; one screw through the rail into the receiving hole for it. Haven't tried a little laser sight yet, but will soon. OH! Three stars for 'Accuracy'. Hey, it's a SMOOTH BORE SNUB-NOSE BB GUN! I would not consider using this for precision target shooting, nor ESPECIALLY to show friends how good a shot you are; get one of your rifled-bored type out for that, right? Just use it for maybe learning proficiency with going from target-to-target, using the speed-loader - get about six-to-ten of them and a pouch for your belt! And I would suggest not more than twenty-to-thirty feet shooting distance.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randall from USA on 2015-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The feel is very close to the real thing, the weight is correct, the trigger pull is not as good as the firearm, but it is not bad at all. It looks real, only till you start to be picky can you tell it is not real. Accuracy is good, so you can practice trigger pull with this bb pistol and when you shoot your firearm you will be in much better practice than if you had nothing to practice with other than your gun with snap caps. This gives you visual information as to where the shots are going. It's accurate, but shooting a snub nose requires a lot of practice and this is PERFECT for that. Try shooting it off of a bench with a rest and pull the hammer back for single action, it will group 3 inches at 10 meters and better than that. I'm a decent shot, but not great, and it is fine in the accuracy department. If you have an Airweight, it is larger than that gun, feels heavier too, but still similar. 6 shots too. Cylinder rotation is smooth. I also like Pyramid Air's great service.

    Things I would have changed: Not really anything, maybe the grips but they are okay. They move a little bit when you handle the gun. They don't move much, but if you pick up the gun, and try to wiggle the grips you can feel the movement and hear the movement. It is very slight. I could likely shim and stop the wiggle but it does not bother me and does not effect the use of the gun.

    What others should know: The black Dan Wesson and all the markings can easily be removed. I used a fresh pot scrubber, the kind with a sponge on one side and the abrasive pot scrubber on the other. That will get it off, but it leaves some scratches. You can get those out too, if you want, with wet/dry sandpaper. I did not go down to the base metal, still was in the silver paint. Except for the barrel showing a small bb hole instead of a big hole, this looks like a firearm. The black paint is on top of the silver base coat in case you want to remove the Made In Taiwan, etc. Power is okay, I was expecting less. This easily goes through both sides of a heavy duty cardboard box that shipped a large item in it. That was from 10 yards. I cannot see the bb's fly as I am shooting it. Not too loud, and as others have said the co2 lasts for a lot of shots. I did not modify the gun for more power, it's fine the way it came. I may modify a shell or two and try to fire birdshot out of it, just for fun. Wear eye protection

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By gino from USA on 2015-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Cosmetically on point with the real deal..AWESOME..a must have for collectors/enthusiast.

    Things I would have changed: The grip of I'm not to fond of but hey its a sweet piece.. More power

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Marc from Canada on 2015-05-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent simili. Heavy and looks like the real one. Should froghten intruders.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By anthony from USA on 2015-05-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: i love this gun best gun yet

    Things I would have changed: not a dam thing

    What others should know: get it now !!!!!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2015-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks real, functions like a real one except no recoil when firing which I would guess is impossible to replicate on a revolver. But nice high quality all metal with nice rubberized grips that hide the co2. So very hard to tell if it is a bb gun or real gun.

    Things I would have changed: night sights which I will be making.

    What others should know: Nice and heavy, well built gun.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2015-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Realistic look, feel, and loading of ammo.

    Things I would have changed: More fps.

    What others should know: Preforms as advertised.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from Canada on 2015-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very well constructed and the silver finish is 1st rate.Weight and balance is just like the snub nose my father taught me to shoot with.I would rate the accuracy at 5 out of 6 as the seems to be a few fliers.The shells seem to grip the BB's differently,some hard and some soft.I suspect this results in the missed shots.

    Things I would have changed: The opening grip feels a little flimsy,always afraid I might break it.

    What others should know: The manufacturer has 25 count bullet available.I would recommend their purchase.Loading the BB's in bulk gives a totally realistic experience as you can shoot lot faster.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2015-03-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I put this up by my mother in law's 357 snub nose... you can't really tell them apart... and the feel... too real. The only way you know it's not the real thing is looking down the barrel...

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

    What others should know: Buy extra rounds... I have several and ready to load after firing.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2015-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Silver finish is very realistic and wears very nicely. I love the implementation of actual shells that you load and fire. The single and double action is a nice inclusion. The sights are very good.

    Things I would have changed: The grips seem to have a rubberized finish, it will wear off on key contact points.

    What others should know: This version of the Dan Wesson is very nice and fun to shoot, however if you are looking for anything other than a close range target/plinking pistol I'd get the 4inch or larger barrel version for vastly improved accuracy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ray from USA on 2015-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Out of the box it looks as good as advertised. It feels like my 38 special, but a bit heavier. After sighting in (which was easy)I was able to group my shots within a one inch circle from 18 feet. That's the best I can hold right now. After oiling the trigger, hammer, and cylinder pivot with a long needle oiler, the action smoothed out some, but still is a little stiff. I'm sure the double action will smooth out as it wears in. I don't use the speed loader because I want the practice loading shells one at a time. It's giving me the practice I need for loading my 38. The revolver is surprisingly accurate for a snub nose. It's not only good looking, but a quality piece for the price. I like it so much that I made a leather holster for it.

    Things I would have changed: The metal breech seal should be smoother so the cylinder can advance more freely. The front sight should be blackened to avoid glare. These are very minor, but would help tighten shot groups.

    What others should know: I smoothed out the breech seal with 400 sand paper, and oiled it with a synthetic oil. Blackening the trailing edge of the front sight with a Sharpie pen made it a lot more visible. This piece is so realistic that caution should be taken handling it in public.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Danny from USA on 2015-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Weight, feel, look, replication, how the ammo is loaded into the cartridges,

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Be careful with this firearm. It may be a co2 air pistol but it is powerful, enough to shoot an eye out. Overall this is a nice piece to add to your collection. Absolutely identical in the weight, feel and look to the real deal. Be careful!

     
  • 1234 Next
Navigation