Date: 16/8/2018 11:48
0

Gamo Magnum Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (39 reviews)
2 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By James from USA on 2016-08-19 15:32:04

Things I liked: I like just about everything, it`s powerful ,it`s accurate , it looks great, l love this rifle.

Things I would have changed: The only thing I would change, add a suppressor and sling.

What others should know: Great rifle, worth the money.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Samuel from USA on 2017-04-11 09:50:23

Things I liked: Nothing.

Things I would have changed: The entire rifle.

What others should know: After a month of testing out the new Gamo Magnum 22 here is what remains of it. I've had it! People talk about accuracy. Yes the thing is accurate at times. I was able to hit a 2 inch plate at 50 yards, but that came with a price. The scope mount would constantly shift backwards shearing off the pins. Scope breakage was a norm. I installed 6 different scopes and all had broke. Torqued at 15 inch pounds on the rings and the scope would shift forward. So 20 is where it stayed put. With all the money tied up in this, I wish I had bought a .17 Hmr. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your money.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kyle from USA on 2018-06-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent rifle. Power from it is amazing. Great for hunting puts small game down easy without them suffering.

    Things I would have changed: The scope could be a little better but for the price its great.

    What others should know: If your looking for a good hunting gun this is it the .22 gets the job done. Gamo red fire ammo works best. The 51lb cocking might be tough for some. If it is tough consider going to the glorious house of gains to get in shape enough to use this lovely air rifle.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jay from USA on 2018-05-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate rifle shoots flat to 35 yds.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see the manufacturer remove burrs from steel parts before assembly. Skipping this process makes the rifle have very sharp edges in a few spots.

    What others should know: Overall I would recommend this rifle

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Leroy from USA on 2018-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The rifle is very accurate and powerfull. Once I had the scope adjusted I'm making tied groups all the time. Great purchase.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, I like it the way it is.

    What others should know: Excellent fabrication!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, trigger, power, ergonomics, open sights, build quality, fit and finish.

    Things I would have changed: Loud, even with heavy pellets.

    What others should know: Awesome air rifle! Very powerful and accurate and reasonably priced. Gamo hit a homerun on this one.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2018-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gamo Magnum is very powerful I love it. It's very accurate once you zero it in. It is .22 caliber which awesome for hunting or taking care of pest. Its relatively quiet for Magnum air rifle and I like that. Comes with a nice scope. I would definitely buy the gamo Magnum again with out a second thought.

    Things I would have changed: For $300 I wish gamo would have added an adjustable cheek rest but I feel the gamo makes that up with the power it has. Other than that nothing. Its awesome if your thinking about it just buy you won't be disappointed.

    What others should know: Try different pellets with your gamo Magnum when you get it after you zero the gun in. I tried crosman ultra Magnum, crosman hp, and gamo red fire. They all did good but I noticed it likes the red fire much better. Also mine really likes the crosman Destroyers I hit a squirrel about 15 yards Dead on. So try a bunch of different kinds.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By barry from USA on 2018-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the recoil rail for the scope, the pistol grip that is not swept backwards it is straight down so as not to strecth finger to place on trigger, it has a trigger adjustment screw for the first and second stage, light in weight slim in build not bulky and a whole lot of power that ya can feel and hear when hitting something .

    Things I would have changed: I would put on a muzzle brake to assist in pulling down the barrel of which most time I need to use both hands

    What others should know: Pulling down the barrel to load a pellet is tough need two hands most of time.....I tried many different pellets in my Gamo Magnum 22, thee only pellet that is accurate is the H&N FTT 14.66 gr head size 5.53mm, 5.54m and 5.55mm. It is loud not backyard freindly. I like this rifle alot it is very accurate

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lion from USA on 2018-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: very good rifle,hits very hard and accurate

    Things I would have changed: the scope

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mohammad from USA on 2017-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Darrell from USA on 2017-09-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: Powerful Accurate I love the pistol grip, it feels more natural to hold.

    Things I would have changed: I think a better scope mounting setup would be nice. The Iron sights are useless unless you don't install the scope. It definitely needs an adjustable cheek rest Scope needs mil dots, c'mon gammo, you know we have to hold over.

    What others should know: It's not that loud. It is VERY hard to cock, your arm may hurt afterwards, lol I had a slightly more powerful scope I used on mine, because I wanted mil dots. I have seen reviews that say "it's not as fast as advertised" well that depends on the pellet. I have some pba gold pellets that are 9.8 grain, and I'm sure it's at least going faster than 1125 fps as you can make out the sound barrier crack. That said, I like the 16.7 grain crossman powershot penetrators. They were very accurate in a much weaker gun I had and NICELY accurate in this .22 gun. These are first impressions. I will revisit this review later.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mike from USA on 2017-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate, shoulders well and lightweight

    Things I would have changed: Pretty loud when shooting; hard to cock but that's where you get your power. Longer barrel then most Gamos

    What others should know: A youngster would have a hard time cocking this rifle, I have the .22 and it's very powerful. Very accurate once you try different weight pellets

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Desiree from USA on 2017-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: nice

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: best bang for money

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Desiree from USA on 2017-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This is one of the most accurate and most precise and most powerful.22 rifle I own it's a must-have excellent for hunting.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Eric from USA on 2017-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: .22 cal. Mostly "go" and no "show": It ditches the oversized "shrouded" barrel for one with a straight contour. It's a no frills style setup, so a scratch and ding from hunting shouldn't cause someone any grief. The stock is sturdy and the cocking effort is manageable (I'd assume from the added leverage of this rifles rather long barrel). The open sights are decent and the ring around the front blade allows for easy target acquisition. I was a little hesitant about the synthetic thumb-hole stock, but after use my doubts evaporated quickly. I purchased this for hunting and nothing else - paper doesn't care how much energy your pellet has. There are plenty of other options out there if that is what your looking to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: While the ergonomics of the rifle are are pleasing, the swell of the forestock may benefit from being a bit "meatier". My overall biggest gripe is the asking price. I find the combo (i.e. scope, mount, and gun) to be rather unnecessary, and seeing that there is not another option it really limits the end user. A "rifle only" package for $200 would be an excellent deal, but the overall build (though not bad) makes it hard to justify a near $300 price tag. This is especially irritating for someone who has no intention of using this thing scoped, such as myself. Luckily I purchased this product during Pyramyd Air's wonderful 20% off sale, so the price after discount was a little easier to stomach.

    What others should know: For those that are allergic to synthetic stocks and despise plastic parts, this rifle is not for you - even the trigger is plastic... It's an economical rifle with magnum class power (though that is debatable). So far it seems to favor JSB Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.13 Grain pellets. There are also some excellent review videos out there that showcase various velocities one should expect via different pellets/weights. Lighter pellets (approx. 14 grains or less) offering top velocity and muzzle energy while the heavier ones (i.e. 21 grains) make it run out of steam rather quickly. So this rifle benefiting from a .25 cal. offering is merely a pipe dream. There's seemingly not enough horsepower in this things power plant to supply the appropriate pressure needed to propel the "big boys" at a respectable velocity (and with ample energy). With any spring/gas piston air rifle, there is always a compromise. Find the most accurate/practical pellet for your task, and stick with it!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2017-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: It is more useful in .22 cal with being able to stay below supersonic and more knock down power. Weight isnt too bad.mine isnt totally broke in but fairly accurate w cphp lead pellets so far.seems most heavier pellets stay on target better.i like the looks.i like the power. I like the brand.scope is acceptable due to ao but i prefer more than 9for max magnification.

    Things I would have changed: I think everyone wants a lighter gun.Also an easier cocking gun.This thing is a real work out for multiple shots in short time,or anytime.could use a better muzzle grip end.otherwise not much to gripe about. Higher magnification scope be nice.the adj parallax is a must.

    What others should know: After totally broken-in (say 300-400)shots of lead its fairly accurate even w the heavy recoil.how you hold is very important and repeated eye position to reticle and adj for parallax very important and you have a powerful and accurate heavy hitter.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Samuel from USA on 2017-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Nothing.

    Things I would have changed: The entire rifle.

    What others should know: After a month of testing out the new Gamo Magnum 22 here is what remains of it. I've had it! People talk about accuracy. Yes the thing is accurate at times. I was able to hit a 2 inch plate at 50 yards, but that came with a price. The scope mount would constantly shift backwards shearing off the pins. Scope breakage was a norm. I installed 6 different scopes and all had broke. Torqued at 15 inch pounds on the rings and the scope would shift forward. So 20 is where it stayed put. With all the money tied up in this, I wish I had bought a .17 Hmr. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your money.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Samuel from USA on 2017-04-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Just a comfortable air gun to shoot. Put quite a few rounds down range so far. I have tested numerous pointed rounds through this and so far the Excite Spikes is what this rifle loves. Shooting an average of 790 fps and 3.5 fps deviation after 10 shots. As of now i can shoot a 3 inch group at 50 yds. More testing with domed pellets soon. Get one you won't be disappointed!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing much. Wish there was a way to mount a bipod to the stock and not the barrel. Attachments to barrel is never a good thing.

    What others should know: Wait and see. I'll be testing dome pellets soon enough to see if I get better results at close and long range.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2017-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is an awesome Rifle right out of the box. And it just gets better the more you shoot it. I bought the .177 caliber and I'm extremely happy with it for target shooting. Very accurate gun. I highly recommend it.

    Things I would have changed: I can't think of a thing I would change. This is an awesome rifle!

    What others should know: Take your time to learn how the gun reacts and you'll be an excellent Marksman. Don't grip it too tight it's going to want to rock, Let It Rock.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Samuel from USA on 2017-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great looking rifle. Overall it feels great to shoot. So far I'm happy with it. The claim to fame with the fps is a little over exaggerated. Using 15.4 grain lead pellets I'm averaging 790 fps. I have only put maybe 100 pellets through it so far, so it may level out a bit higher.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing much. Overall a great rifle.

    What others should know: Clean the bore before shooting. I looked down the barrel once I received it. Gamo sure does load the grease and oil to it. A few passes with a dry patch, and cleaner will be fine.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By olivio from USA on 2017-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: this is an incredible air rifle and way underestimated as far as range. I've personally have shot dime size groups at 30 to 50 yards and have taken dove at 75 to 100 yards with little effort.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see some type of rail system to mount other components to my rifle especially for night hunting. Most of your problem varmints such as rabbits, raccoons, and opossums like to come out at night. Hogs here in Texas like to step out at dark until daylight because it is just too hot during the day.

    What others should know: Buy this rifle if you are interested in air rifle hunting. Don't spend more than what this rifle is worth because you will not get the quality that you will find in this rifle no matter how much you spend.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2017-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good power.Hard hitting.Accurate shooter.

    Things I would have changed: The price is a little high.The scope is too small.

    What others should know: I haven't shot this gun too much maybe 50 shots but the gun has a good heavy feel and shoots hard and straight.I have the .22 cal but want to get the .177 so I'll have a set.I swapped the scope to a larger better one to shoot 100 yards or so.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation