Date: 16/8/2018 20:12
0

Gamo Swarm Magnum, Multi-shot Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (21 reviews)
2 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Dennis from USA on 2018-07-28 10:21:25

Things I liked: This rifle is a blessing for pesky rabbits that constantly devour your hard time consuming planted landscape. Very powerful and hard hitting. The scope is a cheap one but gets the job done. Really no need for an expensive scope on a 300 dollar rifle. Absolutely love the 10 shot magazine. So time saving.

Things I would have changed: Soften up the very sharp edges on the base of the trigger guard. Because of finger placement when shooting the rifle it cuts into your finger with the felt recoil of the rifle. I used some fine grade sandpaper on mine to solve the problem.

What others should know: Cocking this rifle is not as easy as some of the you tube videos suggest but hope with use it will break in and be better.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Michael Long on 2018-08-16 10:29:12

Things I liked: Very quiet

Things I would have changed: Weight is an issue and the length

What others should know: So far it serves a purpose

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael Long on 2018-08-16
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very quiet

    Things I would have changed: Weight is an issue and the length

    What others should know: So far it serves a purpose

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alexander from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: No more single feeding a round into the breach!!!!! Finally a airgun built by people that understand not everyone enjoys manually load each pellet every shot

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2018-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love everything about this rifle. This air rifle is extremly powerfull and very very accurate. I use it every day to kill big iguanas in my yard and I can say that 90% of them was killed with 1 shot. This rifle is not a toy and I will recomended to anyone that want it for pest control.

    Things I would have changed: The brake barrel is hard but once you get used to it it's ok!

    What others should know: Extremely powerfull and very accurate. 100% satisfied

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By GREGORY from USA on 2018-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: first thought is in a 15 yard target area you hear the pellet hit the target before you hear the rifle. those pellets are really fast and powerful. i love the multi shot because so much time is saved not having to load after each shot. today in airgunning we have a choice of pumping air or cocking me personally i take the cocking. rotary is smooth and dependable no checking to see if pellet loaded while you cocked it.

    Things I would have changed: if i change something like the length of barrel that would make cocking effort harder. if i change rifle length that will cut down on the rifles power. if i change the length of the rifle that would make cocking effort harder and decrease the power of the pellets so i will leave the gun as it is. oh except maybe make the rifle in 25 and 30 caliber versions. that would definitely be a game changer 25 and 30 caliber repeaters that are reliable

    What others should know: love this gun

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2018-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is light, it holds well and feels good to me. Factory Trigger pull is satisfactory, could tweet it but it is good the way it is. Really like the 10 round clip set up so far it is working as advertised.

    Things I would have changed: THE SCOPE, Sell the rifle without a scope. Even with the silencer the rifle seems quite loud to me but that could change with time.

    What others should know: Waited for this rifle since May. Was supposed to arrive the first of June. Got it today August 13th. Took it out of the box and it checked out NICE, like I was hoping for. Went to clean it and MAN it looked like they drug it across the bottom of the ocean for the 3 months I had been waiting for it. I brushed and swabbed over 50 patches and solvent to get close to getting the rust out of the barrel. Real Nasty is the best I can say about that. Glad I did not shoot it first. The Scope, the BEST thing I can say about the scope is when you take it out of the box, it really looks like a scope. After looking, save your self time and energy and unbolt it from the rings and place it in the Garbage Can. After that exercise I got it sighted in at 15 yds and just off a tripod it shot less than a 3/4inch group. I am 69 and it takes a lot to cock but it is not a problem, on a cold day??? There is ample felt recoil but nothing painful for a person but could be tough on scopes. Buy One.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Leonard from USA on 2018-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks good. Seems reasonably accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Would put a scope that is focussed for closer. Install a reasonable trigger, I would pay more for a metal trigger with better adjustment screws. This to me is the weakest point on the gun.

    What others should know: If there were an honest reviewer I would love to see the review. It appears they have nothing but good opinions of any review.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cat from USA on 2018-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: awesome gun. love it. powerful, accurate. easy and fun to shoot. 10 round mag makes it extremely easy to shoot. i bought it as a squirrel hunting rifle and it is perfect for that and target shooting.

    What others should know: great buy!! highly recommend

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By eric from USA on 2018-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It hits hard and it is precise. I also have the regular non swarm Magnum. I compared the two. The power is about the same. The first 10 shots where within 2 inches at 20 yards. After 50 shots it calmed down to 1/2" groups in 20 yards. To me it seems a bit better in accuracy in compared to the regular Gamo Magnum by 1/4" at the 20 yard mark. The best two pellets for me are the H&N Filed Trophy 14.66 gr and the Benjamin Discovery 14.3 (yes the cheap ones - surprised as well). The Swarm version makes less noise than the regular magnum (since no silencer). The sound suppression is noticeable with the Swarm. Also, the suppressor provides better leverage for cocking. Make no mistake it is still a Be@#$% to cock the rifle. Except now I do it more often since it is quicker to load the pellets, so my arm hurts earlier than before. I am not a weenie, but 50 lbs is 50lbs. I certainly feel it after 50 shots or so.I could never fire 50 shots before as fast with the regular Gamo Magnum.

    Things I would have changed: The scope is really bad. It is worse than the one that came with the earlier Magnum model. it does not focus well and the setting clicks are not proportional to the adjustments. Basically set it and shot a few times until it settles, It is bad what else can I say about the scope. Buy another scope for it. The magazine is functional but the pellets do not snap in place as I have to use a pen or another pellet to get them to sit in place, it is annoying. I can get use to it because of the convenience of the magazine.

    What others should know: The trigger is not bad but is creepy and long, but not as bad as the Benjamin Nitro XL (sold that one). The trigger is the same as the original Gamo Magnum. You can replace the screw that sets the heaviness of the trigger pull with a longer 8mm one and screw it in more. That reduces the length and weight of pull and makes the trigger much better. I also tuned the original Gamo Mangun, something that I am planing on doing with this Swarm as well. Inside the rifle has several unpolished, as well as sharp edges. Once I smoothed those out and polished the trigger seers, and put some molly grease around the piston seal and the seers, it tamed the gun quite well. The power spread reduced along with vibrations. The trigger became better as well. Overall the rifle is a keeper. I just like to tinker with things.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chris from USA on 2018-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Magazine, game changer for break barrels. You can still load single shots without the magazine.

    What others should know: Predator polymag 857 fps PBA Raptor 1135 fps JSB Redesigned Monster 638 fps H&N Sniper Magnum 838 fps H&N Sniper Light 873 fps

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2018-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The stock is light weight, has a nice high cheek rest. The 10 round magazine is a tremendous bonus with this style of break-barrel. The CAT Trigger is also nice and can be tuned if you replace the sear screw behind the trigger. I also like the Sound Suppression. It does quiet the gun and it works as a great cocking handle. This is designed for hunting and plinking..at 35 yards I was shooting 2" groups at 20 Yard under 1" groups.

    Things I would have changed: The rifle does have a very heavy recoil and is a scope killer. Not so sure about Gamo’s RRR. I have one on my Gamo Magnum rifle and it did not save the scope. That is why I put the Bullseye ZR scope mount as a test on this rifle. It works fantastic and really saves the scope.

    What others should know: The rifle has a 51 LBS cocking effort so it is not for the weak. I shot about 300 rounds in a day and it was a nice little workout in between the gym. The magazines have an issue but can be easily corrected. After shooting numerous rounds I was having pellets randomly being miss-fed and fall out of the magazine. I discovered the magazine tension begins to weaken with use. I simple removed the Philips screw and rotated the magazine two more turns to increase the spring tension. There is a bit of a trick to it. It completely resolved the issue. My Magnum was the most accurate with the H&N FTT 14.66 but it did just as well with the Crosman Premier HP 14.3 gr. The Benjamin Destroyer 14.3 gr. Were the 3rd best and ironically are the best for the standard Gamo Swarm (Non-Magnum). With the Crosman Premier HP 14.3 gr, I had a low of 922 FPS (27 FPE) a high of 945 FPS (28.36 FPE) Avg. 938 FPS, Standard Deviation 6.74. It shot the 11.75 GTO alloys at 1068 FPS almost 30 FPE.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Skyy on 2018-07-31
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The 20 for 20 service didnt sight in the scope for me. It was over 80 clicks off, but at least I got a nice case..: Rifle is so good that it made up for it!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vikas from USA on 2018-07-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: First shot was super loud but then gradually the loudness decreased to a neighbor-friendly level. I've shot and compared this with a Diana 350 magnum. I do not have a chrony but used a 2x6 for reference. I would say the Diana still wins the penetration test. Swarm went only 3/4 way through 2x6, while Diana went through it completely (I still dislike Diana coz of its loudness and poor safety mech anyways). Swarm magnum is slightly more powerful than a swarm maxim. that is it! Nothing like what the dudes say in youtube reviews. Now, loading the swarm magnum is not comfortable as you think coz of the scope in the way and a long barrel. the silencer is doing its job and everything works. Its lightweight and aiming is not bad.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see a wooden stock than this cheap plastic stock. Would like to get 2 magazines instead of just one. its cheap plastic anyways.

    What others should know: You would still need a gym membership if you plan to shoot it frequently.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bud from USA on 2018-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: One flier (first shot in the 5 ring at 25 feet) the rest scattered around 9 and ten ring - out of the box. Must rest stock on the concrete (garage floor) for the very hard cocking. Oh yeah, I'm 84 years old. All shots were bench rest. All in all, I'm impressed. Ten shots in the magazine is a big bonus for this medium priced rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Manufacturer should try to make the rifle a little easier to cock or at least some removable rig to put on the barrel to help cocking???

    What others should know: Buy this rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bud from USA on 2018-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: One flier (first shot in the 5 ring at 25 feet) the rest scattered around 9 and ten ring - out of the box. Must rest stock on the concrete (garage floor) for the very hard cocking. Oh yeah, I'm 84 years old. All shots were bench rest. All in all, I'm impressed. Ten shots in the magazine is a big bonus for this medium priced rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Manufacturer should try to make the rifle a little easier to cock or at least some removable rig to put on the barrel to help cocking???

    What others should know: Buy this rifle.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Richard on 2018-07-28
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It's a good shooting air rifle, and not as hold sensitive as others.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would change is the scope. Mine went out as I was sighting the rifle in.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2018-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Like the weight and accuracy

    Things I would have changed: If there is anyway to make it a little quieter

    What others should know: It's a great buy in my opinion.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Leon from USA on 2018-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: absolutely love! first shot went through steel street sign with cross head hollows. 2nd gamo rifle. also have the swarm maxim. great value for $$

    Things I would have changed: nothing at all.

    What others should know: cant go wrong! trying different pellets to see whats most consistent

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2018-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is a blessing for pesky rabbits that constantly devour your hard time consuming planted landscape. Very powerful and hard hitting. The scope is a cheap one but gets the job done. Really no need for an expensive scope on a 300 dollar rifle. Absolutely love the 10 shot magazine. So time saving.

    Things I would have changed: Soften up the very sharp edges on the base of the trigger guard. Because of finger placement when shooting the rifle it cuts into your finger with the felt recoil of the rifle. I used some fine grade sandpaper on mine to solve the problem.

    What others should know: Cocking this rifle is not as easy as some of the you tube videos suggest but hope with use it will break in and be better.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By scott from USA on 2018-07-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun does not disappoint in the power dept. I chronied mine and I got 28.1 FPE with 14.5 Gr pellets. If you move up to HN 18.3 Gr pellets, you may be near the 30 FPE ranges, which is astounding. The gun isn't to heavy and the auto load feature works great. Ive only got around 50 pellets thru it, and want to get at least 100 pellets thru it, before testing it for accuracy. As of now, it is accurate enough, but im hoping it will get better. The plastic goofy silencer on the front, makes it hard to clean the barrel, but you better clean it before shooting it out of the box. My rifle had plastic shavings stuck in the barrel. For $299 shipped, with a scope, cant beat this powerful, multi shot break barrel. The only thing that would make it better would be a underlever option.

    Things I would have changed: Make the front plastic silencer, easily detachable so you can clean the barrel easily or put a laser sighter in the barrel to sight in the scope without firing pellets. The silencer is molded into the barrel , and I cut mine off with a dremel tool, but it was a bastard to get off. Took me 1 hour. IMHO, the silencer doesn't really do much to make the gun quiet, but it does add 6 inches of length to make cocking it a bit easier. I used my metal lathe to make a new 6" barrel extension that screws on the end of the barrel, so I can now take that off, when I want to clean the inside of the barrel or put in a laser sight tool, to sight in another scope.

    What others should know: The stock of this gun, seems to long to me. I think it needs to be about 4" shorter to make it easier to line your eye up with the scope. I may cut off 4" from my stock. There is a hidden storage compartment under the stock handle, that has a plastic cover that will pop out, with a screwdriver or knife . You can put a extra magazine in their, or some pellets, cleaning rags, etc. This is the next evolution in break barrels and I have no idea why anyone would want to own a single shot break-barrel nowadays. Im very happy with the gun so far, but do hope Gamo can make a few improvements in the future like : Offer this in a under lever, keep the FPE around 30 , but with less recoil and figure out a way to have open sights. I do not see any need for GAMO to try and make this type of rifle, with more FPE because that jump in power, isn't gonna result in you being able to reliably hunt any bigger game. Keep the FPE AT 30 , BUT IMPROVE THE RECOIL, ACCURACY and offer it in a underlever .

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Erik from USA on 2018-07-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle definitely commands attention. The size is no joke. I am not an avid air gunner by any means, so my exposure is limited. Coming from a .177, this thing hits like a hammer. I put through about half a tin so far. Used the Gamo red tips like I saw in a review. I was able to sight it in pretty good with the included scope at about 20 yards and satisfied with the results. It does take some effort to cock it and the 2 hand method may be easier for smaller folks. It is comfortable to shoot and is pretty quiet all things considered. Swarm mag works like a champ.

    Things I would have changed: No complaints at this time

    What others should know: I also bought the biggest gun case (I think) on this site. The gun does not fit in the case with the scope attached. I could cut out one of the internal support pillars and it would fit. Just know that this gun is huge.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation