Date: 19/8/2018 11:22
0

HW 40 PCA reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (8 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jerry from USA on 2007-09-01 17:03:45

Things I liked: It's a high quality gun. It's very accurate and fun to shoot. It looks and feels like a real gun. The trigger pull is smooth and light. It is easy to cock. The safety is automatically turned on when the gun is cocked.

Things I would have changed: Make it easier to load the pellet. At first it was difficult to load the pellet but with practice it got much easier

What others should know:

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Batman from USA on 2007-10-18 21:33:22

Things I liked: Well made, good quality. Very accurate but an 'ugly' duckling. Also, it needs more power especially in .22. Pyramid is simply the best ! Great service. Thank you !

Things I would have changed: It needs to be heavier. Less plastic but well made all-in-all.

What others should know: I have a Beeman R7 and a HW75

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Josh from USA on 2010-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Stunning trigger, works as advertised! This gun should cost twice what it does and is an amazing bargain. Feels good in my large hands and my friends who have smaller hands love it as well.

    Things I would have changed: Safety is a little awkward in its placement. Would be nice if it were one handed operation. But not a deal breaker by any means.

    What others should know: Do not try and hunt with this gun as it would be cruel. Not enough energy to do the job. I hope people understand that, even though it's obvious to some of us. some people mod the grip for "traction" but I don't see the need. It just fits so well in your hand. Thank you Weihrauch!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By carrie from USA on 2009-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Trigger from the factory set at 11 oz. As accurate my colt match target .22,great sights, fits your hand like a glove

    Things I would have changed: Needs more power

    What others should know: You need to own this pistol

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ed from USA on 2009-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Finely crafted. The cocking mechanism is robust and easy to use with a little practice as is the loading routine. The trigger is a marvel with just enough take up to allow a relaxed aim and sure let off. The lack of recoil adds to the precision. I have fired some 500 rounds of various types and weight and have had no problems. The FPS is low but this is a target/plinker not a hunter arm. Money well spent. A very respectable, accurate pistol. Enjoy the optic sights. Automatic safety is a good thing with a trigger this light.

    Things I would have changed: The gun is a bit light in the front for me. Some added weight might be nice. Some have concerns with polymer construction but it seems well done and there is metal where it is necessary.

    What others should know: I have fired precision pellets (RWS), Chinese pellets, Daisy pellets and about everything else I had on the shelf with no problems and remarkably not much variation in accuracy though wad cutters seem the best. For just plinking even the less expensive Daisy pellets work fine

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By dave from USA on 2008-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nicely finished, solid, and VERY accurate...Have been shooting this pistol for over a year, and love it. BEST trigger on any air gun I own.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

    What others should know: Worth every penny, have seen cheap copies made by others, but this is the REAL thing. German quality and expertise at its finest!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2007-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very comfortable grip; superb, predictable trigger; sights are easy to pick up in any light; pretty quiet (I shoot off my deck with neighbors 250 feet away); accurate right out of the box; virtually no recoil which can be a little disconcerting at first. Great pistol for casual shooting and teaching kids/new shooters how to shoot because there's no real noise and no recoil. They can concentrate on sighting and smooth trigger pulls. Very well constructed with no burrs anywhere.

    Things I would have changed: Loading pellets takes a little getting used to because the breech is recessed under the cocking lever. Easy once you do it a few times. I found holding the barrel vertical with my left hand and loading with my right to be the best way.

    What others should know: Cocking also needs to be "learned." Again, very easy once you get it down right. Just be sure you use the heel of your hand to compress the cocking lever its last few inches. That way nothing gets caught (like skin!).

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Batman from USA on 2007-10-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well made, good quality. Very accurate but an 'ugly' duckling. Also, it needs more power especially in .22. Pyramid is simply the best ! Great service. Thank you !

    Things I would have changed: It needs to be heavier. Less plastic but well made all-in-all.

    What others should know: I have a Beeman R7 and a HW75

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joel from USA on 2007-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very well engineered. Ergonomics are terrific, it balances like it grew out of your hand--sweet!. Excellect accuracy, good power for a target/plinking gun. THE ABSOLUTE BEST TRIGGER on a pistol available today.

    Things I would have changed: The screw for securing/adjusting the rear sight is too loose, and does not provide enough travel for a lot of adjustment. The pistol is pretty light and would benefit from another 6-8 ounces, especially up front. Sights could be better, the "rail" for attaching optics is not up to the task and could have been left off.

    What others should know: This is my THIRD try with "this" pistol. I originally bought the Marksman clone for $40-$50, and it was such a piece of garbage I took it back within 12 hours. I considered keeping it (for about an hour) because the ergonomics were so nice, but MARKSMAN's engineering ended up pi$$ing me off and I took it back. The second one I bought (immediately after returning the Marksman) was the "BEEMAN" clone. Again, GARBAGE! The Beeman upper receiver (which you use to pump the gun and cock the sear, over-lever fashion) "humped" up in the middle when you locked it back in place after the pumping stroke. I fired the BEEMAN 100 times in about 90 minutes, and got velocities between 350 FPS and 120 FPS ... yeah, "nice work", BEEMAN. Sent that one back, and had a hell of a time getting my money back from Beeman...I will never waste money with Beeman again. I really hesitated on buying the HW40PCA, because I had been burned with the clones, but I had several HW products, and shot many, many more when I lived in Germany, so I figured I would trust them a little longer -- excellent decision! My wife and I have a 10 meter range in our back yard, and we use the HW40PCA to shoot at paintballs, offhand. There are more than enough regular hits to make it a rewarding exercise.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2007-09-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: It's a high quality gun. It's very accurate and fun to shoot. It looks and feels like a real gun. The trigger pull is smooth and light. It is easy to cock. The safety is automatically turned on when the gun is cocked.

    Things I would have changed: Make it easier to load the pellet. At first it was difficult to load the pellet but with practice it got much easier

    What others should know:

     
Navigation