Date: 16/12/2018 6:37
0

SIG Sauer MCX. AIR-MCX-SCOPE-177-88. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

3.5 (11 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Thomas from USA on 2015-11-04 16:41:18

Things I liked: A very good replica gun. Not a bad trigger, similar to the one on the Sig Sauer P226 pellet pistol. Loading is easy if instructions are read carefully. At 12 meters most of my shots group inside a 2" circle; the rest inside a 3" circle, with a few beyond that. Not as accurate as an R7 or Prosport but fine for plinking. With the 90 gram bottle I get 240 shots/8 belts of 30 pellets. Tried JSB RS, Exact and Exact Express. Will use the Exact Expresses in the future although all three were good. Choreographed the last bottle with the Exact Expresses @65 degree temp. Spaced shots about 10 seconds apart. Came up with 7 averages @32 shots each--502 to 402 fps. SD's from 82 to 24. So although there's a wide spread and a shift in the averages as you go through a bottle, the shot groupings remain rather consistent, with the POI dropping with the last two reloads. Perhaps the numbers would rise if I shot every 30 seconds but that wouldn't be much fun. I do like this rifle a lot, esp for $200

Things I would have changed: The scope isn't too bad, especially at this price point. However, I like scopes with an adjustable objective for crisp focusing, @ 12 meters in this case, so I put a Hawke 2-7x32 AO scope on the mounts that came with the rifle. I'm very pleased with that arrangement. Also I would like extra belts for the magazine to be come available ASAP

What others should know: I'm not getting anything close to the advertised 750 fps. I thought I'd get about 575-600 fps with normal weight lead pellets but I chronied with two different bottles on two different days with similar results. I'll be shooting this in my basement throughout the cold months so it doesn't matter much now. I'm not sure how much the fps will go up in 70-90 degree days we get around here in the summer. But I've got other fine rifles for longer distances when outside. My grandsons are going to love shooting this rifle when they visit next summer.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Ian from USA on 2016-04-25 13:49:28

Things I liked: This is a really cool gun to shoot. It feels solid and well made, and if it functioned properly I'd give it 5 stars.

Things I would have changed: Magazine frequently jams and can be difficult to remove. The jamming occurred less when I started using H&N alloy pellets. Horrible trigger mechanism, pretty heavy and starts to misfire after 300-400 rounds....

What others should know: I was extremely excited to shoot this rifle. It looks and feels realistic with the full metal receiver. However, with only 300-400 rounds through the gun, it starts to misfire. The only way to get the trigger to be responsive was to charge each round. Pyramid Air have been fantastic, standing by its warranty. I returned this gun 3 times for a replacement and I just returned the 4th for a refund as I have no confidence the gun is reliable. I intend to purchase another rifle through Pyramid because its customer service has been exceptional. Unless Sig Sauer fix the obvious design flaw in the trigger mechanism, I would not advise anybody to purchase this gun.

Sort by:
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brian from USA on 2018-04-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: It's a lot of fun to shoot and I was surprised by it's accuracy. Around 15 to 20 yards this is a great rifle for shooting cans and plinking. Looks and feels like the real deal. The fun factor is high especially if you get the Air venture 13 cu-in tank and stock. It's around a 100 bucks but you never have to pay for air again, but you do have to have a compressor. I didn't have the opportunity to use it on this rifle, see below comments. I also have the MCX with the smaller barrel. It's basically the same rifle. Using the Air Venturi tank is much easier on the seals,because your not going to experience that severe temperature change like with CO2. You can also shoot a lot faster because regular air doesn't experience that severe temperature drop. I get about 300 shots with the tank and you can also detach the tank without loosing your air. Save it and shoot it later. I would definitely recommend this rifle. Sig makes a great product and they excellent customer service and tec

    Things I would have changed: Make the stock larger so that the Air Venturi 13 cu-in tank, and adaptor, can fit inside of it.

    What others should know: I purchased this rifle 18 months ago. I had shot about 1500 rounds and encountered no problems. Just recently though, the seals started to leak and I was only getting 3mags per CO2 cartridge. Prior to that I could shoot 7 mags per cartridge. I never put any oil on the CO2 cartridge as suggested by some buyers in the reviews. I talked with a Pyramyd Air tech and they suggested using some Pell oil on the CO2 to prevent this. They also stated that they don't perform any maintenance or work on Sig Sauer products. They did give me a contact number to Sig. I called Sig and explained the situation and they sent me an RMA number and paid for return shipping and stated that if they couldn't fix it they would replace it. That's was about a week ago and I will update this review when I get the rifle back

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By gary from USA on 2017-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The gun looks cool, semi auto can be fun for sure! (for short bursts of time). I ordered this one, but I was shipped an all black one with no optic kind of a bummer I decided to just keep the black one, and I already had a scope. pyramid refunded the difference in price. I regret the purchase of an extra mag for $29 but it does come with 3 belts, it takes some time to load and seat 4 belts, 120 pellets. I regret it though because that put me more in the hole on this gun. I am going to have to buy another better co2 gun to justify the PY-A-7466 hpa (1100 psi outlet 3000 psi fill) I bought for $99 this is better than co2 though I hat co2 to be honest very erratic, shoot fast it gets cold and down, down goes the velocity. I hope I can find super cheap pellets that will work fair in this gun it eats pellets, and it's a shame to waste money on good pellets for this gun. I know this is the things I like part other than looks there isn't a lot buy a crosman 1077 instead 12 rounds doesn't jam

    Things I would have changed: The price is a bit high I think the gun is kind of gimmicky in my opinion. The trigger is funky it feels like it has this goofy first stage where it is actuating the mechanism that moves the pellet belt then a kinda stop then fire the first shot is the worst for some reason it feels hard to pull through that chunky first part of the pull its actually difficult at times to know when its going to fire at times not all the time. It sucks when you get it in a good groove and get 10-15 shots off in a row then it jams you fix the jam reinstall the mag and it is funky for the first couple shots the trigger I mean. I am hoping the jamming will maybe be better with different pellets time will tell. My review is somewhat critical the gun can be fun at times (short times) but it is no target rifle by any means even running it on hpa.it is a toy gun that should cost about $100-140, it amazes me in 1988 I bought a Sheridan silver streak made by Sheridan not Crossman for $100 & this cost $229

    What others should know: It is fun to shoot if you can get through a mag without a jam or 6, and yes I am using the tool to push the pellets all the way in to seat them, ive even gone over them 2-3 times to make sure they are seated, at times you pull the trigger and it will not move, and the mag is stuck in the well because the pellet is partially pushed forward into the breech so then the mag has to be pulled very hard to get it out and when it comes out you see the pellet head is all deformed because it was stuck partially in the breech. I am using hpa with the PY-A-7466 tank and that is cool for an extra $99 the good thing is I can use it for other rifles so far I have used the HN lead free 5.56 pellets they shoot ok but not great rws superdome was worse. I just ordered some jsb match pellets to try on this and my more serious rifles. I actually kind of regret spending the money on this gun if all you want to do is shred some tin cans from 15 yards then this is the gun for you. The forgrip sucks also

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By scottywotty from USA on 2016-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is a sturdy, well made air rifle that looks great. The 1-4x24 scope has nice clear optics and works well with this rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Make it lighter. Give it a better trigger. Better accuracy and a little more power would be nice.

    What others should know: This is just an all around average air rifle. It's ok for plinking, and that's about it. It's not powerful enough, or accurate enough for hunting. And the trigger is heavy with too much travel. My Hammerli 850 AirMagnum out performs this rifle in every way. It's lighter, more powerful, more accurate, and it has a better trigger. If you're in the market for a CO2 rifle that takes the 88/90 gram cartridges, the Hammerli 850 AirMagnum is a much better choice.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Adam from USA on 2016-06-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent Rifle! This along with the Umarex Steel Force make for great shooting companions. I love the weight. The scopes well suited for the gun as well.

    Things I would have changed: The cylinders gas out quickly. Also wish there were more rounds on the belt.

    What others should know: Go ahead an order an additional magazine, which comes with three additional belts. The loading was originally a drag (using fingers). I'm using a nail tip now to manually load them, and it's a lot smoother. I read the reviews initially and was concerned. I took a chance and glad I did. No problems at all with this rifle (so far).

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ian from USA on 2016-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a really cool gun to shoot. It feels solid and well made, and if it functioned properly I'd give it 5 stars.

    Things I would have changed: Magazine frequently jams and can be difficult to remove. The jamming occurred less when I started using H&N alloy pellets. Horrible trigger mechanism, pretty heavy and starts to misfire after 300-400 rounds....

    What others should know: I was extremely excited to shoot this rifle. It looks and feels realistic with the full metal receiver. However, with only 300-400 rounds through the gun, it starts to misfire. The only way to get the trigger to be responsive was to charge each round. Pyramid Air have been fantastic, standing by its warranty. I returned this gun 3 times for a replacement and I just returned the 4th for a refund as I have no confidence the gun is reliable. I intend to purchase another rifle through Pyramid because its customer service has been exceptional. Unless Sig Sauer fix the obvious design flaw in the trigger mechanism, I would not advise anybody to purchase this gun.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By PAUL from USA on 2015-11-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This review is just my one time experience and should only be taken as such. I say this because the gun I purchased was defective right out of the box. However I did really like the look and feel of the gun. It had a nice weight and balance to it. It did not feel like a cheap plastic gun. Unfortunately the looks and feel were the only this I did like. Please bear in mind that it was a defective gun, so that may well explain much of my dislikes.

    Things I would have changed: The gun I received would jam on every magazine. Maybe I could get off a few shots before the jam, but eventually it would jam before I could get 8 shots off. Also once it did jam, it was extremely difficult to remove the jammed pellet as the magazine could not be released either. I would also add that the trigger pull was really bad on this gun. I believe that is because you are cycling the magazine for the next shot. This in turn made the accuracy of the gun really bad.

    What others should know: Pyramid Air honored their return policy and gave me a full refund. I did not get a replacement mostly because I was concerned about getting another defective one and also because I did not really feel the gun was a good value for the money. Once again my opinion is solely based on a defective product, so please bear that in mind when reading this review.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By standley from USA on 2015-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: being a retired soldier, l love the weight and feel of the weapon. Built quality is very high. Can't wait to take it to the range on base. Buy it , you will not be disappointed at all with this product. l ordered the .177 version and plan to order the .22 version also.

    Things I would have changed: l would include an extra magazine

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2015-11-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The weight and feel is like a real combat rifle. The accuracy is quite good. It's a great package. Scope is not the best but for the price, not bad.

    Things I would have changed: The belts are not easy to load for a .177 pellet. Placing the pellet in the belt slots and then you need to seat them with a provided tool which takes time. It would be nice if the rifle sold with two belts. The guns shoots nicely and you go thru allot of pellets so changing out and reloading is a pain. Two belts would help.

    What others should know: The advertised velocity is 750 fps and yet the real velocity was around 400. I paid for the $10 for 10 and my results were averaging around 400 fps. Poor advertising by Sig Sauer. I told Pyramid Air as to why this difference in velocities? They told me that it wasn't only mine that shot low but all of them did. They said Sig told them that you get what you get with no explanation as to why the difference!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2015-11-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: A very good replica gun. Not a bad trigger, similar to the one on the Sig Sauer P226 pellet pistol. Loading is easy if instructions are read carefully. At 12 meters most of my shots group inside a 2" circle; the rest inside a 3" circle, with a few beyond that. Not as accurate as an R7 or Prosport but fine for plinking. With the 90 gram bottle I get 240 shots/8 belts of 30 pellets. Tried JSB RS, Exact and Exact Express. Will use the Exact Expresses in the future although all three were good. Choreographed the last bottle with the Exact Expresses @65 degree temp. Spaced shots about 10 seconds apart. Came up with 7 averages @32 shots each--502 to 402 fps. SD's from 82 to 24. So although there's a wide spread and a shift in the averages as you go through a bottle, the shot groupings remain rather consistent, with the POI dropping with the last two reloads. Perhaps the numbers would rise if I shot every 30 seconds but that wouldn't be much fun. I do like this rifle a lot, esp for $200

    Things I would have changed: The scope isn't too bad, especially at this price point. However, I like scopes with an adjustable objective for crisp focusing, @ 12 meters in this case, so I put a Hawke 2-7x32 AO scope on the mounts that came with the rifle. I'm very pleased with that arrangement. Also I would like extra belts for the magazine to be come available ASAP

    What others should know: I'm not getting anything close to the advertised 750 fps. I thought I'd get about 575-600 fps with normal weight lead pellets but I chronied with two different bottles on two different days with similar results. I'll be shooting this in my basement throughout the cold months so it doesn't matter much now. I'm not sure how much the fps will go up in 70-90 degree days we get around here in the summer. But I've got other fine rifles for longer distances when outside. My grandsons are going to love shooting this rifle when they visit next summer.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2015-11-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: There rifle itself is quite satisfactory. Size, weight, appearance, trigger, loading pellets--all good. Be sure to read the pellet loading instructions carefully and notice how the chain for the pellets fits into the magazine before you remove it from the magazine for the first time. Takes a bit of effort to start the thread of the CO2 cartridge. Rifle arrived yesterday and today I shot 7 mags of 30 as per the written suggestion in the manual. No appreciable dropping of the point of impact with the final magazine. Perhaps there was enough CO2 left in the bottle for another 30 shots but I didn't want to court trouble with a jammed pellet. Accuracy was good for a CO2 pellet gun. From a rest almost all shots hit a 3" bullseye and most were inside a 2" bull. I tried JSB RS, Express and Exacts. The Exacts are the ones I will shoot in this rifle although the Express worked well also. I will shoot another bottle or two before I check the gun with the chronograph.

    Things I would have changed: The included scope was in no way acceptable to me. A good sight picture at 1X but as I zoomed towards the 4X end the sight picture progressively shrank. It was like looking down a long tunnel, no matter what eye relief I tried. The scope directions indicated a 3.75" to 4" eye relief but the tunnel stayed no matter what eye relief I tried. I should have guessed that at the price point of this scope, it wouldn't be much, but I didn't think the scope would be useless to me. Save your money and get the rifle with a red dot or open sights or put your own scope on it.

    What others should know: I put a Hawke 2 - 7 x 32 scope on the rifle using the mounts that came with the gun and the scope problem was solved although I was out the price of the Sig Sauer included scope. No noticeable recoil with this rifle so I would think the choice of a scope is broad.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-10-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The weight of the rifle is right on.

    Things I would have changed: I would add a 3 shot auto burst and with the safety selector in auto. I would have the supperessor work like the Air-Force rifle after-market ones that you can get online. I would like that a second ammo belt would have come with the rifle so one person could be shooting as another person can be reloading. Add a arrow to the Magazine for when removing and reinstalling the ammo belt.

    What others should know: It's fun to shoot with accuorry. Buy the CO2 air bottles in bulk you'll need them, because the fun runs out when the CO2 is gone.. Shoot Safely with fun.

Navigation