Date: 17/8/2018 16:45
0

SIG Sauer P226 X-Five Open Combo reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (35 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Mike from USA on 2016-06-11 15:30:52

Things I liked: -It's mine. -If you want a better gun your gonna need a better wallet because the next step up is a big one. -Realism ect. is obvious and well done. The gas-in-mag technology has been around in air-soft for awhile and even in bb pistols a decade ago like the Walther cp99 but its about time they went all out, they went all out adding the bb reservoir while maintaining realism ESPECIALLY FOR THE PRICE. -Weight I just mentioned realism but the heft adds another dimension worth mentioning. -YOU CAN TAKE OFF ALL THE COMPETITION "open" GIZMOS! Unscrew compensator (and the lil nub that sticks out to hold it) & just dont put on the rail. Now you have the "combat" setup along with a flared magwell and adjustable sights...oh yea. -ADJUSTABLE SIGHTS! -Full field strip. -When the slide is racked a bb is actually chambered as opposed to a round being 'chambered' in the when the mag is inserted which theoretically will increase consistency, power and gas economy.

Things I would have changed: A tougher finish instead of the current would be nice, its not ugly (quite opposite) but It will wear as eject port already shows wear, but this happens on the real Sigs too, just don't drop it on concrete or that drop will live in infamy all up the side of your slide for the rest of its days. Honestly for the price if you ask for more its like blood from a stone a company can only do so much for so cheap, and the design is a great recreation of the P226 so there's really no room for improvement other than breaking out the model paint to add white dot sights and round count numbers on the mag like the 9mm.

What others should know: If you came here looking to buy an excellent recreation of an actual pistol click order & mission accomplished. I've owned maaaany air pistols and when one breaks,r is lost in the woods or I modify it beyond recognition I move on to a different model, even if there was a manufacturer defect I would order another one to take its place as long as pyramid would do the 10 shot. Its that nice. !!! If you want a tack driver remove the brass barrel from the shroud taking note of how it is free to move back and forth within the shroud about 1/16". You will eliminate up/down/left right while maintaining the 1/16" of front to back so were looking for a perfect fit so the gun can function properly. Now wrap the o-ring about with aprox 2 revolutions of electrical tape, when you insert it back in the shroud the inner barrel should be able to slide back and forth with a slight resistance if its too tight unwind some tape.!!!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Brian from USA on 2017-02-26 15:31:59

Things I liked: The feel, weight and definitely the accuracy.

Things I would have changed: The slide. I owned two. The slide on the first one broke right behind the front sight after about 18 mags. I decided to keep the first one for parts. I bought a second one and the slide broke in the identical place in less than 15 mags. I did not rough handle the gun.

What others should know: Be prepared for the slide to break. My review of the first pistol was not published by PA. I wonder why.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Scott from USA on 2018-07-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent feel and weight. Field strips like the real steel. Everything you'd want in a blow back bb pistol. Yeah, it uses a lot of CO2, but you wouldn't buy a Ferrari and complain about gas mileage, right? Pretty accurate after a tweak here and there, can plink cans up to 40yds with a steady hand. With the new price change to this open version, why not? I don't use a red dot, so I never use the rail, but when mounted, it makes a very solid add on sight mount. I've already purchased a 2nd, as I have 2 boys, and they both love this pistol. Buy a 2nd mag and yes, the standard X Five mags work just fine within the extended mag well of the open version, just need to make sure it's fully seated.

    Things I would have changed: Safety ONLY works when fully decocked! Pistol will fire with safety on and cocked/chambered. In fact, my son shot an entire mag in SA with safety on. Make the guide rod spring shorter to prevent slide breakage(see below for fix)

    What others should know: My first time with this pistol, it blew the nose off the slide within 10 mags. Problem solved with a small mod. If you field strip it down, take the heavy spring off the guide rod and with a dremel, cut 3 coils off the fully compressed side of the spring. When the slide blows back, both springs on the guide rod won't fully compress, creating a "spring stop" on the lower part of the slide that will eventually break it off. Also, while you have the guide rod stripped, take a file to the flash that is still there from the casting process and make sure the rod is smooth and the springs rotate freely and smoothly. Definitely do the electrical tape wrap around the inner barrel, build it up right behind the factory o-ring until the inner barrel slides freely, but doesn't wobble inside the outer barrel. I also removed the compensator and extension and hit the tip with a shot of flat black. Basically a standard X Five with extended mag well and adjustable sights.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George cook from USA on 2018-06-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Approx 1,000 B.B.s shot without problems. Very accurate, pop cans shredded at 50 to 75 feet with open sights.I Shot indoor competitive for years. This gun feels like the real McCoy.

    Things I would have changed: BB a are a little challenging to load into the clip but with a little practice it can be accomplished fairly easily.

    What others should know: For the price it is one great piece. The heft, function, feel and accuracy are all 10s. Buy one and enjoy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2018-04-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun came today and i shot 2 full magazines thru it. It functioned so amazing. The loudness wasnt that loud. It was much quieter than my S&W model 327 trr8. I just love the fact that i got a compensator & a rail & a tactical magazine for $80. The original one without the feature was $100 so this was a super good deal for me. I basically got this gun itself only for about $68. The magazine and the slide felt like the real gun and I really love it. the slide catch works like the real gun and everything else except for the decocker but it is possible to decock this gun by decocking like the revolver. No malfunctions yet. Also the CO2 in the magazine does not leak at all!!! I shot this gun with the laser sight and aiming with the laser sight is as accurate as aiming with the factory sight. Very very accurate gun. And it feels like a 22lr gun with the blowback.

    Things I would have changed: maybe the decocker should be added if possible. And white dot on front sight (I can definitely do that but it will be nice if it came with the gun).

    What others should know: as long as you dont put your co2 in your gun for too long, your co2 will not leak. I recommend less than 1 hour even thou the manufacturer says 24 hours. Also, do not field strip this gun if you are not familiar with firearms. And always wear safety glasses!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2018-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: So real, I just treat it lake a smaller caliber in my modest arsenal of handguns.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a stronger finish on the slide. It scratches easily, but only as easily as the finish on name brand handguns. (I don't know what's on this one, but Nitron sucks.)

    What others should know: Be careful. It's a real firearm and there are consequences for unsafe handling.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brent from USA on 2018-03-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The overall feel of it I'm very happy with my Sig Sauer p226 x5 open it is my new favorite in my collection I will be buying more in the future thanks I would recommend this product to any one it is a great piece

    Things I would have changed: 2 mags it should come with 2 mags that's it

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2018-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very hefty, feels like the real deal. Blowback is fantastic and gives that realistic touch. I have the gamo PR776 pellet gun, which is also awesome, this smooth bore bb gun shoots almost as good...which is amazing. I also have the Swiss Arms 1911, which is nice, BUT this is better.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing...fantastic gun.

    What others should know: You can remove the muzzle break and have the look of the stock p226 but with adjustable rear sights. Oh the screw in piece the muzzle break attaches to is removable as well.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jon from USA on 2017-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Weight of gun , materials used in workmanship,very well made ,Adjustable sights if you want them that really work . This is by far the most accurate B.B. pistol I have to date when using the best B.B. out of 6 different brands tried at 15 yards off a bench.I liked this gun so much I bought another one using open sights only. Cannot go wrong on this purchase.

    Things I would have changed: Not one thing

    What others should know: Lubing the slides makes a big difference on these blowback B.B. pistols ,I use Slide-Glide Standard on all my blowback guns using a Qtip as applicator.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2017-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The feel, weight and definitely the accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: The slide. I owned two. The slide on the first one broke right behind the front sight after about 18 mags. I decided to keep the first one for parts. I bought a second one and the slide broke in the identical place in less than 15 mags. I did not rough handle the gun.

    What others should know: Be prepared for the slide to break. My review of the first pistol was not published by PA. I wonder why.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2017-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Worked well for 18 mags

    Things I would have changed: not getting a response from Pyramid Air

    What others should know: Be prepared to buy 2 if you really like it. I did when the first one broke

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Robert from USA on 2017-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the basically all metal construction and the blow back. The trigger is good. Sights are good, I have a red dot to mount on it but I just have not put the red dot on the pistol yet. I like the fact the slide stays back after the last bb has been fired.

    Things I would have changed: I would prefer it to shoot .177 pellets with a rifled barrel for better accuracy, then it would be a really excellent training pistol.

    What others should know: I have shot a dozen magazines through the pistol so far and it's function has been flawless. if I am careful the pistol will keep almost all the shots in the black on a NRA 5 meter BB gun target, at 5 Meters of course.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Brian from USA on 2017-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice weight and feels realistic.

    Things I would have changed: Make the slide using stronger material. The slide on my pistol broke after three days of ownership. I ran approximately 18 mags through it and the slide broke at the forward end. I wonder if it happened because whenever the slide goes forward it slams the compensator. I did not abuse it in anyway.I will actually buy another one and keep this one for parts. Maybe I got a dud. Don't know.

    What others should know: Mags can be testy to insert inside the pistol.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Terry from USA on 2016-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Optics rail is much better than the Tanfoglio Gold Cup. It bolts onto the frame without coming loose like the GC. Accuracy is very good with my BSA dot sight mounted on the gun. Trigger pull on first stage is quite reasonable, and second stage breaks smooth. I have yet to try the open sights, but will do so very soon. I'm also getting ready to convert it to HPA with an A. N. T. conversion kit. After I hook it up to a 13 c.i. Ninja bottle, I expect this gun to really rock.

    Things I would have changed: Gap between compensator and slide needs work from the factory. I may take it off at some point. That's my only gripe.

    What others should know: P/A recently lowered the price on this gun from $99 to $79. 2 weeks after I bought one. Great timing, P/A... With that being said, this gun is a great value. Highly recommended.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sam from USA on 2016-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I am very pleased so far with this pistol. I have had very good performance from KWC products. They are well made of good quality materials and are accurate.

    Things I would have changed: The magazine rattles around on the handle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2016-06-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: -It's mine. -If you want a better gun your gonna need a better wallet because the next step up is a big one. -Realism ect. is obvious and well done. The gas-in-mag technology has been around in air-soft for awhile and even in bb pistols a decade ago like the Walther cp99 but its about time they went all out, they went all out adding the bb reservoir while maintaining realism ESPECIALLY FOR THE PRICE. -Weight I just mentioned realism but the heft adds another dimension worth mentioning. -YOU CAN TAKE OFF ALL THE COMPETITION "open" GIZMOS! Unscrew compensator (and the lil nub that sticks out to hold it) & just dont put on the rail. Now you have the "combat" setup along with a flared magwell and adjustable sights...oh yea. -ADJUSTABLE SIGHTS! -Full field strip. -When the slide is racked a bb is actually chambered as opposed to a round being 'chambered' in the when the mag is inserted which theoretically will increase consistency, power and gas economy.

    Things I would have changed: A tougher finish instead of the current would be nice, its not ugly (quite opposite) but It will wear as eject port already shows wear, but this happens on the real Sigs too, just don't drop it on concrete or that drop will live in infamy all up the side of your slide for the rest of its days. Honestly for the price if you ask for more its like blood from a stone a company can only do so much for so cheap, and the design is a great recreation of the P226 so there's really no room for improvement other than breaking out the model paint to add white dot sights and round count numbers on the mag like the 9mm.

    What others should know: If you came here looking to buy an excellent recreation of an actual pistol click order & mission accomplished. I've owned maaaany air pistols and when one breaks,r is lost in the woods or I modify it beyond recognition I move on to a different model, even if there was a manufacturer defect I would order another one to take its place as long as pyramid would do the 10 shot. Its that nice. !!! If you want a tack driver remove the brass barrel from the shroud taking note of how it is free to move back and forth within the shroud about 1/16". You will eliminate up/down/left right while maintaining the 1/16" of front to back so were looking for a perfect fit so the gun can function properly. Now wrap the o-ring about with aprox 2 revolutions of electrical tape, when you insert it back in the shroud the inner barrel should be able to slide back and forth with a slight resistance if its too tight unwind some tape.!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jon-Tex from USA on 2016-06-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Feels great in your hand, looks like the real deal. More accurate than my Tanfoglio Limited Custom BB pistol. Smooth double action. Good adjustability in the sights.

    Things I would have changed: The single action is way too long, otherwise I would of given it 5 stars for accuracy. It would have been really awesome if it had a decocker.

    What others should know: It is a heck of a lot more affordable than the real one!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: PRICE!!! The weight, the smooth and light trigger pull!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing! the price for PA was amazing!

    What others should know: This is a fun gun that has an extremely heavy blow-back. You can use the open sights (looking under the rail) or mount an optic, or remove the rail completely. I made a custom barrel which I extended evenly with the end of the muzzle brake. I added 80 FPS. The standard barrel chrono'd at 350 fps my custom barrel, which I added 3" to the over-all length, chrono'd at 430 FPS. You can't beat the price! Get one while they last!

  • 2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gina from USA on 2016-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I loved the real feel to the gun when I first got it out of the box. This gun is great overall and has amazing accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: I would have changed all plastic parts to be metal because they should be metal so they wouldn't break.

    What others should know: After shooting the gun for about 2 months my slide had got stuck so I went and read some reviews and one person said to get slide oil for the gun and I went and did that but I discovered that the front of my slide cracked and would slide smoothly. Later a chunk of the bottom of my slide broke off and now I'm stuck with a gun I cannot use, even after trying to contact sig sauer, pyramyd air and other places. So I'm now on a hunt for a new slide for my gun. This really made me angry!!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BRIAN from USA on 2016-04-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very well made pistol. This combo is a STEAL compared to the fixed sight model. The accuracy is great at 25 to 30 feet on paper, 1" to 1.5" c-t-c if you manage the recoil and sight alignment. Likes Daisy standard BBs which is a plus.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Great value in a blow-back pistol. As good as my Tanfoglio Gold in accuracy and trigger is almost as good.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2016-03-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is hands down the most satisfying air gun I have purchased in the past two years. Some of the reviews had me concerned, but my experience has been great for the past 4 weeks since my purchase. Nicely packaged in a box, the weight stuns you at first because you think you were sent a real firearm by mistake, then you pick it up and the size and feel of the grips gives you a strong comfortable fit. The blowback is the strongest of any of my 20 air gun pistols. But the amazing thing was that the accuracy was also the best of any of my pistols. The fully adjustable rear sites were a breeze to set and with a few minor tweaks I was shooting one inch groups at 20 feet bench rested. Standing and firing was a thrill and a challenge to gain control over the powerful blowback, but that was all part of the fun. Of course there is a price to pay for the nice kick and feel of a real gun, and that is the fact that you will only get through about three magazines or less on one CO2 cartridge

    Things I would have changed: The Magazine loading was the only minor dislike on this gun, that spring on the follower has to be one of the strongest ever, but that is a small price to pay for what has become my favorite action pistol. I will write back to amend this if I experience any issues, but so far it has been great. I been shooting about 100 rounds through this gun every day for the last 4 weeks and it remains the most accurate and most fun air gun in my collection.

    What others should know: The adjustable sights are so good on this gun that I did not use the rail supplied, although the rail is all metal and fits nicely, I have not installed it as the gun is great without it. This open version has the adjustable sights and permanently attached fake compensator. I have had no issues and highly recommend this gun to anyone sitting on the fence.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2015-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Sig Sauer had a great feel, good blow back and quite accurate out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: Plastic parts should be metal. The magazine which holds the CO2 cartridge would start bleeding out all the gas after about 400 rounds. Sent it in and got it exchanged for another SIG since I really liked it. The second gun started doing the same thing after about 300 rounds.

    What others should know: I don't know if this is typical for all of the same model Sig's or I was just lucky getting two lemons.

  • 12 Next
Navigation