Date: 24/9/2017 20:19
0

Walther CP88, Blued, 6 inch barrel reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

Only 2 left in stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Edward from USA on 2010-03-26 12:03:07

Things I liked: This is a true hobby grade pistol, built for an enthusiast. Materials are metal where it counts and plastics where it makes sense, like the grip panels. This pistol looks and feels like a firearm and not a department store toy. This is not an inexpensive pistol, but it is an excellent value for the money! There is no reason this will not last a lifetime with proper care and maintenance.

Things I would have changed: This pistol should come equipped with fully adjustable sights instead of the fixed front and drift adjustable rear sight.

What others should know: Out of the box, the rear sight and barrel weight were loose. I attribute this to vibration and/or thermal cycling during shipping. I used the included hex wrenches to tighten both the sight and barrel weight and they have remained tight ever since. This pistol shot well and grouped well, but the rear sight was much too short and the pistol grouped about 2 inches low at 25 feet. I installed the optional Walther adjustable sight package and was able to dial in the elevation properly. I highly recommend installing the adjustable sights to get the most out of this pistol.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Matt from USA on 2017-01-16 10:54:53

Things I liked: The looks and the feel of the pistol are second to none. Shot count per CO2 cartridge, +- 50, is very good. Airgun pellet mags work very well. If you are selective with your choice it will even shoot RWS pointed pellets.

Things I would have changed: The trigger is probably the biggest disadvantage for accurate shot placement. Shot is fine out to 15-20 feet. At 30 feet and beyond POI really opens up. Front and rear sights should have white dots. Walter combo rail should be made of aluminum to match the rest of the pistol for a more stable platform to mount optics. Needs a second screw to secured to pistol. Not sure why Walter chose to use brass to secure CO2 cartridge. I would trade shot count for some more FPS.

What others should know: It's a pistol that I want to like but for the money there are better bangs for the bucks available. Example are the the Beeman P17 and Crosman 2240. These shoot so accurate that it becomes effortless. Good way to relax. Shooting the Walter CP88 is akin to shooting some of my springer refiles. Can be frustrating and challenging. Best grouping are with RWS pellets.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Matt from USA on 2017-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The looks and the feel of the pistol are second to none. Shot count per CO2 cartridge, +- 50, is very good. Airgun pellet mags work very well. If you are selective with your choice it will even shoot RWS pointed pellets.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is probably the biggest disadvantage for accurate shot placement. Shot is fine out to 15-20 feet. At 30 feet and beyond POI really opens up. Front and rear sights should have white dots. Walter combo rail should be made of aluminum to match the rest of the pistol for a more stable platform to mount optics. Needs a second screw to secured to pistol. Not sure why Walter chose to use brass to secure CO2 cartridge. I would trade shot count for some more FPS.

    What others should know: It's a pistol that I want to like but for the money there are better bangs for the bucks available. Example are the the Beeman P17 and Crosman 2240. These shoot so accurate that it becomes effortless. Good way to relax. Shooting the Walter CP88 is akin to shooting some of my springer refiles. Can be frustrating and challenging. Best grouping are with RWS pellets.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Matt from USA on 2016-12-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the looks and the feel of the pistol. Shot could of +- 50. It's a pistol I wanted to like but the accuracy left a lot to be desired compared to my Crosman 2240 and Beeman P17's. These two pistol brands have set a high standard given their low cost and accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Better QC from Walter and PA especially that I payed the 10 shot check before it was shipped. PA could have saved both of us some time and money had they gone over the pistol. Mounting option for optics are very limited. The rail that mounts on top on pistol is made of plastic, held on by only one screw. Sights should have white dots at the very least!

    What others should know: This is my first Walter product and one has to wonder about their QC. My Crosman 2240 and two Beeman P17 were no where near the price point of the Walter. This is one time that one does not get what one pays for quality wise.The accuracy doesn't match the looks then it's all for show. Tried six brands of pellets with different weights. Shot placements left me wondering how and why all of them could be so wildly inaccurate.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jay from USA on 2016-10-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I recently purchased the CP88 from Pyramyd Air. As always, Pyramyd shipped quickly and without any problems. I had the 10 for $10 "test firing" done. I find the 10 for $10 is a good way to be sure that there are no issues with a new gun. I only fired it a few times so far, but it seems to be very high quality, and very accurate. I also like the fact that the pistol uses metal, instead of plastic, magazines ones. Metal versions seem to hold the pellets in place much more securely.

    Things I would have changed: I find that removing and replacing the grip, when inserting a CO2, to be a little awkward. It does not easily snap in when putting it back in place.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jay from USA on 2016-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I just received my Walther CP88. As always the shipping from Pyramyd Air was perfect. I had the 10 for $10 test done. I must admit that this pistol has a true feel of quality to it, the minute I picked it up. Just fired about 20 rounds, but it seems very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing so far, but I have only fired about 20 rounds. Since I design and make furniture as a hobby, I will probably make some nice wood grips for this pistol.

    What others should know: A bit more expensive than some other pistols, but overall I think the money is very well spent.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2016-02-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Powerful; accurate; build quality; looks; easy to hold

    Things I would have changed: Less expensive wood grips

    What others should know: Very high quality mostly metal replica with very solid feel to it. Nice high fps helps with excellent accuracy. Smaller grips make it very easy to handle. Make sure and get extra mags (all metal!) for quicker follow up shots.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2015-10-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy, accuracy and accuracy. Hard hitting power with the extended barrel, easy co2 load and no leaks or loss of gas, nice single & double action, nice weight metal build.

    Things I would have changed: Secure the rotary magazine from popping out when opening the slide, offer wood grips at a decent price.

    What others should know: If looking for a replica that has a nice fit in the hand, this may fit the bill. Compared to some others for example, the Umarex Baretta 92fs has a larger grip dimension and is much heavier to hold. Albeit, the cp88 is a compact size at the grip so this is to be expected. Point being, smaller grip. . .easier to hold especially for smaller hands. Highly recommend the cp88 and PA for sales, service and shipping.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Yvens from USA on 2014-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fits well in the hand. Good weight. Single action has the perfect resistance for me. Pretty accurate. Easy CO2 puncture. Loud, with some kick on the first 2-3 shots.

    Things I would have changed: The plastic grips feel very cheap. Double action is not pleasant. The grip flies off when its released to get to the CO2.

    What others should know: It is not adjustable for elevation and requires 20-25 feet to get it on target. It is adjustable for windage. I dont mind because I prefer it shoots high at close range than low.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Graeme from USA on 2014-04-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice solid and well made gun. Quality feel. Safety can be thumbed on either side of the gun so works for left or right handers. Accurate out the box - iron sights being good out to 30ft without trying too hard. Fine tuning to follow.

    Things I would have changed: Now I've seen and tried the gun - I've bought the wood grips and will switch them out - this gun deserves the wood grips.

    What others should know: The magazine almost ejects when you open the gun to remove it. Easy to drop if not careful. Keep gun level OR be prepared to catch. 14 magazines from a 12g CO2 cartridge before the pressure and accuracy starts to drop off.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Andy H. from USA on 2013-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The fit and feel is excellent, and it has a very nice trigger once it breaks in. This is a very well made piece and great for "combat" practice.

    Things I would have changed: The magazines have 3 notches in each cylinder that are supposed to hold the pellets in place, but are too pronounced and deeply mark each pellet. Accuracy is not what I expected, but then my expectations were a bit high.

    What others should know: Buy this for fun practice. Buy a 2300 if you want to target shoot.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2013-10-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy is good. I've owned a multitude of CO2 pistols, both BB and pellet. While it won't outperform a Crosman 1701p (due to obvious reasons), it's still deadly accurate. I could get quarter sized groups at 10 meters, which is better than most of my other CO2 pistols. Feels good in my hand, and is reliable. Plus, I just love a 6" pistol

    Things I would have changed: Higher FPS. This is my common complaint. I'd love to see either FPS in the 500s, or a power adjuster. Also, the price, while not totally unreasonable, is a little high to compete with other guns. Granted, it's very well made, but people may tend to choose the lower priced option. Also, any "upgrades" (nickel, wood grips) cost significantly, much to my chagrin.

    What others should know: I'm not an expert, but I've owned quite a few air pistols. This one is, in mmy opinion, well worth the money. What surprised me is that it does better than my Crosman 357, which has the same length barrel. Granted, there are FPS differences, but not overly significant ones. In my opinion, a great value for the money. I wouldn't opt for the more expensive versions, because they give the same performance, at a higher price.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2013-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: The weight and feel feels like the real thing. I like how it fires both double and single action. Using this tool is a great way to practice. I was very pleased with accuracy.

    What others should know: Be sure to buy the extra magazines.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JORGE from USA on 2013-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Works great out of the box.Very accurate at 10 meters.Good for the first 40 shoots after that you can group but due to the lack of pressure it goes down couple of inches from bullseye. Great balance Borrow to friends who use fire guns and they are considering the gun because ammo is getting expensive and pistol performs great at 30 or 40 feet.

    Things I would have changed: I prefer the wood grips but to expensive. Work out with Umarex to down grips price.

    What others should know: If you buy it buy additional magazines. You can challenge any fire gun with it, very accurate.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andy from Canada on 2013-03-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I own quite a few Co2 pistol's Gamo's, Daisy's, Crosman's, as well as a Beeman , and a Webley, and the Walther CP88 puts them all to shame, with the exception of the Alecto, they all feel like Toys compared to the Walther, It makes me wonder why I waited so long, I guess the price made me a little shy, but after quite a few years I've finally come to realize that the more money you spend, the better the product. The CP88 is as accurate as a gun can be, the metal magazines are steps above the competitors plastic offerings, although I feel they're somewhat limited to pellet choice, most points will give you a hard time, with the exception of Crosman SuperPoint's which incidently game me the best groupings in lead, while the Crosman SSP's weren't as accurate they all where in the black, and gave the highest m/v readings in alloy,520fps. (Gamo Raptors/Platinum's, H&N FTT Greens, Baracuda Green's, which gave me the tightest groupings in alloy pellets and a m/v clost to 500fps) Co2 piercing is easy, and is comparable to that of the Daisy 008

    Things I would have changed: The gun functions flawlessly, although a gun with a price tag such as this should have a Fiber Optic sighting system as a must, or as an option in the least,

    What others should know: I found that 5 mags(40 power shots) is the norm after that you see a noticeable decrease in m/v, and accuracy. The gun is quite heavy, but it is all metal,and with good care will give you a life time of shooting enjoyment. The plastic foam lined case is nice, and saves you from buying one separately(this is not a gun that you just toss in a drawer after shooting it, If you want to keep the finish looking good, a foam lined case is a must)Use good quality pellets, and never insert a cartridge without polishing the tip and adding a drop of oil to keep the seals lubricated and pliable.I'm not a fan of flat-head pellet's, so I can't recommend any, but this shooter does love it's choice of dome's, I've tried almost every brand out there. RWS Super Dome's, Gamo Hunter's,Crosman Dome's/Field Point's, H&N Field Target, Field Target Tropies, Silouettes, Baracudas, all worked extremely well, but One Brand, thats especially hard to find came out on top,,Kovohute Standards shocked me, I thought I was getting a lot of fliers, and after close inspection found them to be all going through the same hole(this is from a bench-rest @ 15 meters). Not too many pointed pellets to tell you about, most of the ones i have on hand fit fine, but would have a tiny bit of the tip sticking out, or would be flush, and jam somewhere around the 4-5 round.& as I said earlier, Crosman SuperPoints fit the mag's well, and give terrific result's,& @ 7.3gr, they give a decent muzzle velocity of close to 450fps

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lamar from USA on 2013-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Realistic feel, looks and weight. The 6" is very accurate once you set the sights to match your own eyeline. Powerful yet does not eat up your CO2.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger pull in double action, Need a good lazer sight that will fit.

    What others should know: Outstanding air gun. Easy & fast to load. Buy extra mag.s you won't be sorry. Misfires-few to none.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By John from USA on 2013-02-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Weight and feel is close to a powder burner. Nice case.

    Things I would have changed: sights

    What others should know: Fps with new co2 is 420fps with CPHP. Drops quickly during shooting. Warms up, and good again.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2013-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Lots of metal - definitely feels "real". Even with a less-than-rigid front sight assembly, accuracy is slightly better than my Umarex Beretta 92.

    Things I would have changed: The double-action trigger is horrible. It seriously stacks at the end of travel ... and sometimes won't fire unless the trigger is released and pulled a 2nd time.

    What others should know: If you'll only shoot in single-action mode, you'll probably be happy with the CP88. However, if you want to shoot it in double-action, the trigger will need to be worked by an accomplished smith.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Maria from USA on 2012-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun feels good to hold and looks awesome. It is accurate. I also like Walther's eight shot rotary clips.

    Things I would have changed: Well, for an alleged 450 fps I would have expected a little more... power. To make a fair comparison, I have a Walther Nighthawk (400 fps) and a Gamo PT-85 (450 fps). At the same distance where they bury the pellets in a wooden board, this gun barely reaches the target. One side of the handle comes off to allow access to the CO2 cartridge. Getting it off is all fine and dandy, putting it back on, not so much. It'll probably be easier with use, but there HAS to be a better way to do it.

    What others should know: When I first ordered my Walther CP88, I got a defective one. It shot sometimes, and when it did I could just as well have tossed the pellet by hand. I mean, the pellets traveled maybe three feet and fell to the ground. Pyramyd Air kindly provided me with a return shipping label and I sent it back. I got the replacement today. When I first tried it I thought, "You've gotta be kidding." It shot, but the pellet bounced off a Shoot-n-see target without even peeling off the paint. I tried shooting an empty soda can, and the pellet made the can wiggle a little. It didn't even get a dent. I shot a few clips and the gun perked up a little. Now it manages to make a hole in a soda can. I guess it works, but I definitely expected more. I really like Walther airguns, and I want to like this one too. I will shoot it a little more, but if it doesn't start working better it'll have to go back.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Yifang from USA on 2012-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Full metal, Germany Made Quality, the gas cartridge load machnism. It's a great gun

    Things I would have changed: If the aiming blade has a white dot it will be perfect

    What others should know: buy more mags, u will need them

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Laurence from USA on 2012-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: I'm not an expert. I'm satisfied with my purchase (the CP88 and Pyramid).

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The CP88 seems to be sturdy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2012-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is really a finely crafted co2 gun...one of the best from Umarex. Great detail and hard to tell its not a powder burner. Plus, it just looks bad-#%! Don't you agree? The co2 loading is easy and all guns should use this system. Very accurate and easy to shoot well. I put the mount on it (see my review on that) and a red dot. So much fun! Good trigger for a double action. Single action is better. Oh and you get a LOT of shots per cartirdge.

    Things I would have changed: I prefer the glossier finish. I've heard they used to come like that. The sights are not target sights, but what you get is more authentic. I wish the wooden grips weren't so pricey! I can get custom made target grips on the 2240 for less.

    What others should know: If you're looking to get into these co2 action pistols...this is the one to get.

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation