Date: 17/8/2018 1:44
0

Air Arms TX200 MkIII Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (207 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2007-12-04 15:44:18

Things I liked: I like the build quality of the gun, above all. Everything is done right. This is the kind of rifle you'll be proud to own for the rest of your life. It's the most accurate spring gun below $3,000. There are so many refinements in the trigger, the bedding, the barrel and breech, that I could write all day long about this rifle! In fact, you can read my TX200 article on this website.

Things I would have changed: Nothing!

What others should know: This is an underlever and therefore has limited access to the breech. People with very large hands may find it difficult to load until they develop a technique. The gun has 3 holes for a vertical scope stop pin, so buy scope mounts with a stop pin. Find the one best pellet, and use it exclusively. I've found both Beeman Kodiaks and 10.3-grain JSB Exacts to be equally accurate in my TX. I would scope this gun with a Bushnell 6-18x40 Trophy or a Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Mini-Size scope.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:5.0

By TaiN from USA on 2015-12-12 23:26:52

Things I liked: The blueing of the barel. Accuracy.

Things I would have changed: Cocking. The rifle was a refurbished model with a cocking problem and safety lock engagement. After a 100 rounds of pellet, I figured out how to cock the rifle so that the safety lock would engage and also how to cock it so that it would not engaged (I was still able to close the breech and fire with the safety lock not being engaged). For an expensive rifle like that, the cocking should work every single time and the safety lock also should engaged every single time. IT IS AN UNSAFE GUN. I checked the internet regarding the cocking problem with the TX200 MK3 and there are quite a few people reporting this problem.

What others should know: I bought this rifle as a refurbished model. The gun came with the the old packaging + manual + the RMA document from the previous owner. I did ask customer support regarding the cocking problem and they told me to return the gun. I really wanted to keep the rifle, but at the same time I didn't know if the cocking problem would get worse or not in the future. Throughout this course of the problem I found that: - Pyramid Air Customer service was not up to their par. Customer support assured me that a manager would contact me through my email, but it's been more than a week and nothing happened. I wanted to know whether PA sold a refurbished product without it having refurbished since I encountered the same problem as from the previous owner. - I also contacted Air Arms and reported the problem and I did not hear anything from Air Arms. So for new buyer, please check the internet by searching for "Air Arms TX200MK3 cocking problem" before considering buying this rifle

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1011 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My TX200 (.177 cal) is a laser when it comes to accuracy. It easily shoots dime-size groups out to 40 yards, and occasionally out to 50 yards. I have used my TX200 in field target application, and have taken 2nd or 3rd palace in most competitions at my local air gun club against a field of high-end PCPs. The Lothar Walther barrel has such precise machining in the bore that I never have to clean the barrel. The trigger breaks crisply and safely at 8.5 ounces (sweet!). My TX200 has the walnut stock that is absolutely gorgeous, with a very pretty grain, and tiger stripes to boot! The stock is very ergonomic and pulls to the shoulder easily. It is an easy gun to work on. I currently have about 20,000 shots on it, and it is still going strong.

    Things I would have changed: This is an expensive rifle ... but the craftmanship definitely makes it worthwhile.

    What others should know: My rifle out of the box shot at 15.5 fpe, which is a little hot for a springer used in field target. This is easily remedied by replacing the spring with an aftermarket spring. My TX is tuned to 13.5 fpe, which is a nice compromise between lessening the recoil, and still maintaining a nice trajectory with JSB 10.3gr pellets.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tim from USA on 2018-07-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is a beast! Very heavy. Beautiful bluing. Beautiful piece of walnut.

    Things I would have changed: The finish on the stock was rough guess it was a Monday or Friday finish. A bit awkward loading the pellets. After about 100 pellets I can't get it to settle down on zero yet but still plugging away.

    What others should know: It's heavy. U don't want to pack this thing around for long. If u have big fingers it will b hard to load. But it is a fine piece of equipment!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Curtis from USA on 2018-06-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Exemplary trigger. Simply the best trigger I have ever experienced on a springer. Beautiful finish. Beautiful stock.

    Things I would have changed: Loading is difficult. With practice it becomes much easier, but I still find myself occasionally dropping pellets.

    What others should know: This is primarily a field target competition rifle. As a hunting rifle its somewhat marginal. Just too heavy, especially up front and pellet loading is too fiddly. I wouldnt mark it down for that though, as it is a field target rifle. If you want a beautiful spring piston rifle, with a wonderful trigger that is made to stack pellets in a single hole from a field target sitting position, then this is the rifle for you. Its a pleasure to shoot, but its not an all rounder.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2018-05-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is super accurate. Very quite, handles well. The bluing is perfect. Balanced to perfection. I have shot this gun about 500 times now, it doesn't seem to be very hold sensitive.

    Things I would have changed: wouldn't change anything.

    What others should know: you need to know this gun is made to be extremely accurate. It doesn't have tons of power. Like some other guns out there.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chuck from USA on 2018-05-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the best air rifle I've ever shot. H&N field target trophy pellets go in one hole! The walnut stock is beautiful. I'm waiting for an pro sport w/walnut stock to arrive.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a little lighter.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2018-04-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate, accurate, accurate, beautiful walnut stock, checkering and metal finish. Did i mention it's accurate?

    Things I would have changed: Front heavy, and the safety has a "sharp" edge, not cut your finger sharp but uncomfortable after a few dozen shots.

    What others should know: My rifle is in the .177 caliber. With my fat fingers I get 1/3 of the pellets seated, 1/3 on the floor and 1/3 fall in the open breech area. Working on my loading technique.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By R Bruce from USA on 2018-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent air rifle, quality build and easy to operate. Using 8.44 grain Diablo Field domed pellets shooting with a mounted Vortex Diamondback 4-12 x 40 scope it shoots accurately at 25 yards.

    Things I would have changed: Lightening the weight of this rifle without diminishing quality and accuracy would be a plus.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2018-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy. Ballance, Beauty "walnut stock" Simplicity "mechanics", Smooth trigger.

    Things I would have changed: Cocking arm bumper. I believe air pressure has alot to do with loosing it. For the $$$ I shouldn't have to go to local hardware store to get O ring with precise thickness..........

    What others should know: This is a very well made gun. It's mechanical Simplicity gives it its Edge from the trigger to the barrel. If you're looking to buy one really good air gun don't waste your time shopping and buying other Chinese makes buy this one first after all accuracy is everything. Mine is not completely broken in yet but I've already invested another $250 on extra parts from Rowan engineering in England. When I get done I'll be in about a grand which some people may say is ridiculous for a Springer but the best is the best.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2018-03-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Simple design, nice balance feels good, accuracy, smooth mechanism, very little recoil, quality walnut stock and blueing....

    Things I would have changed: Bumper design for cocking arm.

    What others should know: This is a great hunting rifle in 22 caliber a little on the heavy side but well-balanced and easy to shoulder plenty of upgrades at Rowan engineering. I'm only a hundred and fifty pellets in but it was very accurate out-of-the-box and not pellet picky at all. Comes through with a very light trigger but easily adjusted to a one and a half pound trigger.....Very happy with purchase.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By PAUL from USA on 2018-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything about this gun is outstanding! The triggers first and second stage are perfect right out of the box as is the pull weight. The fit and finish is perfect and the deep bluing has to be seen to be appreciated. I bought the beech stock and it was much nicer than I expected. However I have seen the Walnut stock in person and in my opinion its almost to nice too shoot! The accuracy is equally impressive as everything else. The cocking effort is light and easy. It feels like its under 30lbs..

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: One of the very best Springer Airguns you can buy.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ron from USA on 2017-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The number 1 thing I like about the rifle is the accuracy right out of the box. It is spectacular. The trigger is unbelievable right out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: I love the gun but there is a couple things I would change. On my gun the walnut stock was not as good looking as some I have seen. I have seen a lot of pictures of these guns and I would say mine is kind of plain. While I am on the stock, mine is rather porous? I I have not shaved in a couple days my whiskers get stuck in the wood in the cheek rest and pulls them. A good system for a sling would be awesome. There are a few options on the market in Europe but nothing in the USA.

    What others should know: The main reason I went with the AIr Arms TX200 was accuracy and this gun has it. They are outstanding guns and worth the extra price from the rest.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By paul from USA on 2017-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings

    Things I liked: The gun is beautiful. I bought the beech stock and have no regrets. Very accurate. Mine is the .22 and shoots a lot of pellets great but the AA 16 and JSB 15.8s the best.

    Things I would have changed: QC at Air Arms. Tho the gun wash beautiful out of the box it did have a split piston seal which PA took care of for me in quick fashion. The gun did have spring twang. That was fixed by me polishing the spring ends to a mirror finish (when I put the new seal in it from PA). The seal could of happened from the over lubing from the factory but the spring ends, thats QC plain and simple. The spring ends looked like they finished with 20 grit sand paper. After polishing the ends no twang what so ever.

    What others should know: I own a lot of quality air guns and this is my favorite to shoot. Servicing this gun is the easiest I have and have shot many tins of pellets through it. The gun never quits amazing me with how accurate it is. Would I buy this gun again? YES.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Benjamin from USA on 2017-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fit and finish.

    Things I would have changed: Thumb hole stock and gas ram option. More polished stock, mine looks like its one step shy of being finished. Ill try Tru-Oil and see what that does. Slightly higher velocity in the 850-900fps range

    What others should know: Best groups in my TX200 Standard length are the AA Diablo 5.51 in 16gr. This after trying many other head sizes,brands and weights. My rifle likes middle weight pellets, lighter ones did not group as well at 30 yards with zero cross winds. Vortex kit takes only 10min to install and the result is a smoother firing cycle and slightly reduced felt recoil. Make sure your scope rings and or adapter has a built in scope stop.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ted from USA on 2017-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Not much i can say that hasn't been said about these rifles. Its the most gorgeous rifle in my collection. Fit, finish, stock, accuracy. It has it all . Mine is .22, walnut, left handed. I placed my order over the phone and asked jokingly to "please send a pretty one", and boy did they ! Thanks pyramidair, It got delivered in 1 day Nothin but happy here :-)

    Things I would have changed: Only thing i would change would be the little rubber plug under the barrel. O-rings work better.

    What others should know: You will not be disappointed with this purchase, This is the rifle youll wish bought a long time ago.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2017-06-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: TheTX200 is by far the most accurate Undelever I own my Rws is accurate but can,t compair to the attention to detail in the blueing and t stunningly carved walnut stock . I wated A long time for this rifle and it was worth it

    Things I would have changed: not a thing

    What others should know: highly recomended

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Damian from USA on 2017-05-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything: look, feel, balance, finish, power, accuracy, easy cocking effort. To me its worth every penny.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, well maybe the under-leaver catch adjustment (Do something to keep it from spinning and readjusting through cocking and shooting cycles).

    What others should know: Its a heavy gun, but it adds to its incredible accuracy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vernon from USA on 2017-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Tack driver

    Things I would have changed: It's a little heavy

    What others should know: You'll have a lot of fun. Buy lots of pellets.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Nick from USA on 2017-03-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The accuracy, ease of shooting and the stock checkering. No getting around it, this gun is popular for three reasons. It shoots where you want it too. It doesn't punish you for using a rest. And the Italians did a fine job carving that stock.

    Things I would have changed: Quite a bit actually. What 10 year old did the mechanical design for the safety? It is silly to conceive that an $800 air rifle could have a safety design worse than any $30 bb gun I have seen. Doesn't engage consistently when it should and Air Arms lacks the technology to let the shooter disengage and re-engage it at will. On arrival, the side stock screws were loose as others have reported so I tightened them. After 20 shots I was getting frustrated that my POI kept moving and I suspected a scope problem until the screw in front of the trigger guard dropped out on the table. The detent tension on the lever arm is never secure, so you will need to keep adjusting this every few shots as the process of cocking the gun moves it. I regularly go to cock the rifle only to find it hanging down. What should we expect from a service economy country. Clearly accuracy forgives many warts because this rifle would be destroyed in the reviews for its flaws if it were not so accurate.

    What others should know: I purchased Walnut because I just fell in love with it in a few of the reviews. Mine was actually a pretty ugly piece of walnut sap/heart wood mix. The broadest part of the stock looks like wood that didn't have the glue cleaned off all the way before finishing it. It is still nice but given the choice between my specific walnut stock and beech.. I would have chosen the beech. I also am not too fond of the high gloss finish on the metal but I knew about that beforehand. The accuracy is really something but I have to wonder if I would have liked the LGU master better. I know the construction and safety design would be light years ahead. And I have heard it is just as accurate. If I were you I would take another look at the LGU.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2017-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Really makes cocking my TX200 easier. Helps when trying to break the cocking lever loose from the detent. Good checkering gives a good grip. Looks cool on the rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Grub screws are a little small.

    What others should know: Use a metric Allen key when tightening the grub screws. The Allen key that came with my TX200 worked well. Also, wrap one or two layers of electrician table on the cocking arm where the grub screws contact cocking arm. This will make the aid fit tighter, and you will not need to overtighten the screws.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2017-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accuracy is excellent. I am able to consistently shoot dime size groups at 40 yards on a calm day, if I do my part. Getting great consistency with Air Arms 10.3 gr, producing 825 fps with a standard deviation of 2.6 fps!. The trigger is excellent: After adjustment, mine breaks at about 8 ounces, with no second stage creep. No twang in the shot cycle, just a short 'Bonk' sound. The fit and finish of the rifle is superb. I bought the walnut stock: What a work of art: The stock has zebra strips, which look really cool.

    Things I would have changed: Its a heavy gun, but since I shoot mine in Hunter Field Target (rested on a bipod), this is not an issue. It would be nice if a set of metric Allen key were provided for tightening the stock screws. Also the gun came over lubricated with a thin oily grease that caused the rifle to diesel after 500 shots (easily remedied by de-greasing the spring, compression tube and piston, and re-lubing with a small amount of AIr Venturi Metal to Metal Moly grease).

    What others should know: Mine TX200 shoot too hot for medium and light weight pellets. All my 8.5 gr pellets (AA, JSB and H&N) are going faster than 900 fps, and produce fliers. Your pellet experience may be different, so try out a fair number of pellets. Consider buying a decent scope: My rifle has a fair amount of recoil, which destroyed one scope pretty fast. The UTG Leapers Accushots (SWAT) have worked well on my rifle. Also consider getting the Air Arms cocking aid: It really helps breaking the cocking arm loose from the detent, and give a nice handle to cock the rifle from.

     
  • 123 ... 1011 Next
Navigation