Date: 21/10/2018 20:18
0

Benjamin Discovery Rifle & Pump reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (216 reviews)
Add to Cart

Only 5 left in stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Chris from USA on 2016-04-24 10:12:15

Things I liked: I love the fact that this gun has a pressure gauge on it. That way i know before shooting as mine will sit from time to time before using.

Things I would have changed: Bolt action is pretty loose and slips open pretty easily.

What others should know: When i first received this gun i tried to pump it up and just heard air leaking from the barrel. I was originally disappointed and thought i would have to send it in for repair, but after reading some blogs, I found when it has no pressure in it you need to cock it for it to pressurize. The instructions state to make sure gun is not cocked or loaded before pressurizing.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:2.0

By yuno from USA on 2011-01-22 23:09:59

Things I liked: The stock was ok

Things I would have changed: A barrel that doesn't flex with every viberation. An air storage system that doesn't leak. This one holds air for less than an hour. Not what was advertised. Sent an e-mail as per manufacturers instructions and never received an answer.

What others should know: I will never buy another product from this manufacturer for myself or for my grandchildren. If the bad product was unusual the company would not have ignored my e-mail.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1011 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2018-08-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is in regard to the .22 caliber model. Great value, consistent accuracy, very consistent velocity for a non-regulated valve, ease of re-filling air, size-weight and balance is great. It has ample power for small game, target shooting at longer range and inter-active target shooting where some "oomph" is required to make the target do it's thing. The included pump has been easy to use and trouble free for over 2 years of regular use.

    Things I would have changed: The loading port is small and requires careful loading. It becomes somewhat more difficult with a scope mounted.

    What others should know: We ran our .22 over a chronograph with Crosman Premier HP pellets (the most accurate of all the pellets we tried). The first 4 shots at 2000 psi are averaging 798 fps. After that the velocity jumps to 812 fps (1850 psi) and hangs in there for about 5 shots. Shot 10 or 11 will always show a slight dip in velocity to the mid 700's, but the accuracy and point of impact on the 25 yard target remains consistent until about shot 16 where the POI starts to drop. We have a Leupold Vari X-III 3.5-10X scope on this rifle. The scope may be over-kill for this set-up but we had it lying around with no other use. Accuracy is phenomenal. 25 yard 10-shot groups are less than a Dime in size. With no wind (or indoors) we've squeezed out 6 shot 1-hole groups. This is also with the scope on 10X. The trigger is a little mushy and takes some getting used to, but at this pricepoint it's hard to complain. We shot 44 red squirrels last season. Shots were from 20 -45 yards, mostly head shots.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The discovery was my first pcp and still is my favorite. I will start off by saying I really enjoy the more traditional look of a wood stock. The fit and finish is very nice for the price point. I love that the rifle has a smaller resovoir so that it is pump friendly, but also I get a crazy amount of fills off my small carbon fiber bottle!! The discovery is also very light even with a scope mounted. I have found it a pleasure carrying it in the woods. The bolt action is very smooth and placing a pellet is no problem. I have other airguns but is the one I will never part with. It has taken many squirrels rabbits and even raccoons. The gun is very accurate. Mine seems to like many .22 pellets, but my go to have been the H&N Barracuda hunters.

    Things I would have changed: The things I would have changed I did. They include a tko muzzle brake. This takes the loud report to a whisper. I added a brass aftermarket trigger from baker airguns. I good upgrade for trigger feel. An extra barrel band to really hold the barrel still. I think this made an accurate rifle into a really accurate one. One could hope for a multi-shot, but I find the single shot causes me to slow down and enjoy my rifle more.

    What others should know: I would suggest a tko muzzle brake as a must. It just makes the rifle so quiet. I would not hesitate on purchasing this one. If something ever happened to mine I would purchase another in a heartbeat. Who knows it might become your favorite too!!!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bill from USA on 2018-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Benjamin Discovery is a solid, accurate, air rifle at a good price. This pump does a good job filling the rifle and is simple to use. Most people will have no problem pumping the rifle from the lower end of the cylinder capacity to the maximum recommended pressure. That means that one can have a good PCP air rifle without buying an expensive compressor or having access to a compressor. With a suppressor, one can very comfortably shoot the rifle indoors without ear protection. Shooting outdoors without a suppressor or ear protection may be okay, but most will prefer having one or the other. Many other accessories are available for these rifles from various aftermarket dealers. Benjamin may not always approve, but these accessories can be nice options. For someone wanting to get into PCP shooting on a budget, the Discovery remains a great choice.

    Things I would have changed: One company makes an excellent aftermarket suppressor, but the valve cover doesn't fit with the compressor installed. Benjamin should accept that many people want a suppressor and change the design of the valve cover to accommodate the suppressor. I can imagine a cover with three semi-circular depressions at 120 degrees from one another looking good without the suppressor and both looking good and functioning well with the suppressor. A slightly longer hose on the pump might be nice. Getting the rifle in a good position for pumping can be awkward at times.

    What others should know: The bolt will be stiff for the first dozen or so shots, but the bolt will be pretty smooth within a short time. I've heard that someone makes a "stripper clip" loading system. This device doesn't turn the rifle completely into a bolt-action repeater, but the device does help position pellets for faster feeding from shot to shot. I haven't taken the time and money to get one of these, but many people will enjoy their rifle more with this addition.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By MATTHEW from USA on 2017-12-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Price, accuracy, the looks of the gun (its simple)

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a better trigger. I realize this would affect the low price so Im kind of on the fence.

    What others should know: The stock gun comes with only one barrel band so the end of the barrel can be moved if you hit it on something. Supposedly this doesnt affect the accuracy but I knew it would bug me so I ordered a second barrel band and now its secure. Not mandatory by any means but I like the barrel to have a secure feeling.

  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert D from USA on 2017-05-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It feels great and is nice to handle. Pumps up and loads easy. I really like shooting it when I have time to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: Really there isn't anything I would change.

    What others should know: Mine has no power like I thank it should, shot a squirrel at 15ft and he flipped around a time or two then run off. I haven't found any one in my area that works on air rifles.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Reginald from USA on 2017-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate easy to fill with hand pump

    Things I would have changed: Trigger, finish on blueing and would include a scope at no extra charge

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Orlando from USA on 2016-11-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The power of air rifle is great.

    Things I would have changed: Not one thing I would Chang.

    What others should know: Buy one.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2016-11-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: I have only shot 100 rounds so this review is initial opinion. Looks great and appears to be well made although out of light materials. I do not think it will take much throwing around. Power is awesome. First shots went right out the sloped back of my 14 gauge metal pellet trap. I had to install a 3/16 plate to correct that. Also, I had constructed a swinger target with 3" square 16 gauge metal swingers. First shot from 15 yds, went right through the metal without hardly making it move creating a 3/8" hole. The accuracy is great, however I had to raise the rear sight to the max to get zeroed at 15 yards. No further adjustment left for longer distance. I plan to install a scope so that is not to important. Altogether, I am very pleased with the purchase. I also got the pump with the rifle, 40-50 strokes from 1000-2000 psi. Pumping is not difficult until the last few strokes which you have to put some weight into. The gun is a little loud but not objectionable.

    Things I would have changed: The sights are good but the front sight appears to be too high limiting distance adjustment.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By rayburn from USA on 2016-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: light weight

    Things I would have changed: longer stock

    What others should know: need to get high/tall scope rings to help in loading

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-08-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Powerful when fully charged. Multiple shot feature an asset when hunting

    Things I would have changed: That said,I'm afraid it goes downhill from there. It is what it is but in my opinion, not what its said to be. I am a competition shooter in other disciplines and there is no way to get good groups with a cheap harsh plastic trigger like the one on this rifle. I have ordered an upgraded one from Alliance Hobby, but haven't received it yet. The bolt tries to open when you fire and you get a small blast of air in your face. I put a rubber band around it which helps but do I need to tell you what that looks like. The stock is completely functional but somewhat crude by my standards. I can see sanding marks where it wasn't properly finish sanded. An airgun in this class I test out to 50 yards. Contrary to what I had read before purchasing, (inch and sub inch groups at 50 yards) I haven't come close. I have tried JBS, H and N, RWS, Beeman, and Crosman. Groups at 50 yards are well over 2 inches. I have springers that can shoot close to an inch.

    What others should know: The number of shots from a charge is misleading. You may get 15 or 20 at close range but only 7 or 8 at 50 yards before your pellet begins to drop. From a full charge, fire 10 shots it takes about 35 pumps to recharge. 20 shots takes about 75. The Benjamin pump is not overly hard to use however as one well known writer said, he could pump it up one hand while sitting (I don't think so) another exaggeration. I know this is supposed to be an entry level PCP. So far I have invested over $600 to outfit this airgun and don't see it. Maybe I should have invested it in another nice springer. I have a sizeable airgun collection however, this is my first PCP and perhaps my last. What I have told you are the FACTS, not some writers B.S.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2016-05-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: one hole at 26 yards using 14.3 jsb and air arms 16 gr ..... chronograph results are crosman 14.3 902 fps jsb 14.3 890 fps air arms 16 gr 862 fps

    Things I would have changed: not a thing

    What others should know: pump works well and gets better with use !! it brakes in not out i get 15 very accurate shots going from 2000 down to 1500 psi

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chris from USA on 2016-04-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: I love the fact that this gun has a pressure gauge on it. That way i know before shooting as mine will sit from time to time before using.

    Things I would have changed: Bolt action is pretty loose and slips open pretty easily.

    What others should know: When i first received this gun i tried to pump it up and just heard air leaking from the barrel. I was originally disappointed and thought i would have to send it in for repair, but after reading some blogs, I found when it has no pressure in it you need to cock it for it to pressurize. The instructions state to make sure gun is not cocked or loaded before pressurizing.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Darren from USA on 2016-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Light weight PCP. Accuracy is good enough for a hunter/ plinker, probably not going to win bench rest competitions with it though. It has open sights and a wood stock. Add a pump and some pellets a few minutes sighting in and it's ready to hunt. Easy to add optics. Mine shoots 14.3 grain well and likes CP (inexpensive and common) better than most that I have tried.

    Things I would have changed: I would like a power adjuster. Better quality control....seems barrel band is often misaligned from factory? A bit tricky to get pellet loaded with scope....not sure how to improve. Some way to keep the bolt handle down so blow back doesn't occur....I use a rubber band or my thumb.

    What others should know: Accuracy is better than I can shoot with open sights so I added a scope. This rifle needs a challenge, plinking at normal targets at 25 yards can get tedious. My son and I hit a 6 oz tin can (smaller) dangling on a fence at 65 yards with a decent crosswind fairly consistently with this rifle. The rifle deserves much of credit since we are average at best marksmen. This isn't a fancy gun but it sure is fun. It's light weight and accuracy make it my go to for sparrow and starling pest control.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clay from USA on 2016-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun is very accurate, I tried out 16 different types of pellets and they all shot very well, only about 4 of them had a group larger than a quarter at 15 yards, and there were a few with groups inside a dime. If you are used to a regular firearm then this gun won't seem loud, every one says it is really loud but I didn't really notice. If you get this gun I would really recommend finding a lot of pellets to try out, I thought the JSB jumbo rs were the best with a group a little smaller than a dime, then I shot the copper coated H&N barracuda pellets and the group was less then the size of a dime.

    Things I would have changed: Make the trigger adjustable

    What others should know: The gun seems hard the cock but I figured out that the easiest way to cock it is to put your thumb on the part that sticks up to hold the scope and pull back with your thumb and other fingers to load it a lot easier, also, there are no instructions on how to connect the includ d air pump to the gun, so what you do is you pull the ring on the tip of the nozzle of the pump back and slide it on the gun then push it forward to lock it in place, hope this helps.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By carl from USA on 2015-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: THE BENJAMIN DISCOVERY IS A LIGHT RIFFLE I GIVE IT A PLUS IN THIS CATAGORY IT;S VERY POWERFUL IT IS ACCURATE FOR WHAT I AM GOING TO USE IT FOR IS HUNTING I LIKE THE 22 CAL.YOU DON;T HAVE TO PUMP THE RIFFLE TO HIGH IN PRESSURE WITH THE HAND PUMP I WISH I HAD THIS RIFFLE 30 YEARS AGO.

    Things I would have changed: THE CROSSMAN CORPORATION IS NOT GOING TO CHANGE NOTHING ON THIS GUN THAT WHAT I HEARD FROM THEM THE ONE THING I WOULD LIKE TO CHANGE IS BOLT ACTION SHOULD GO BACK A QUARTER OF AN INCH SO I CAN PUT THE PELLET IN EASERY

    What others should know: THE BENJAMIN DISCOVERY IS VERY LOUD THE TRIGGER NEEDS WORK ON BUT THE REST IS UP TO YOU YOU ARE NOT SPENDING A LOT HARD EARNED CASH AND IF THIS IS YOUR VERY FIRST RIFFLE BUY IT YOU WOUN;T BE SORY I LIKE IT WITH A FEW MODIFCATIONS IT;S JOY TO SHOOT

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Look, this rifle is probably one of the most customizable, personalizable, modifiable air rifles in existence. If you can find more fun for $200.00 get it. I don't count the pump which you must have as part of the purchase price, just like I don't count the cost of batteries in the price of electronics. This little gem has changed my shooting world. Prior to buying it after much reading and investigating what to get I cant say one bad thing about it. I have recently discovered that it loves JSB Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.13 Gr. pellets. Before I found this out the rifle was fun, now it's a freaking blast to pull out. I'm not able to shoot at great distances yet but the dime sized groupings at 15 yd's is great fun. When I can place a target or object I feel like punching holes into, inside my pellet trap and go to town on it knowing all pellets will end up in the trap because of the accuracy of this rifle that makes for hours of worry free fun in the back yard.

    Things I would have changed: Nothin'

    What others should know: Some will review this as sounding like a .22 rifle going off. That simply isn't even close to the case. Although it may be kind of noisy ( like a hammer hitting wood) it is nothing like a real fire arm going off. I can fire it in the back yard and my wife says from the front yard it sounds very reasonable, barely audible at times. That would not be the case with a .22 rifle being fired in a neighborhood. Make no mistake this thing has power, it is not a toy. Don't put this in the hands of kids used to playing with their Daisy and think that they are safe to handle it alone.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Matt from USA on 2015-10-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Price Accuracy Ease of fill with hand pump

    Things I would have changed: Muzzle report is a bit much with no barrel shroud - TKO muzzle break is a necessity for garden pests in the back yard. With a decent fixed power scope and a TKO brake you can put together a complete PCP setup for under $500 when the sales come up.

    What others should know: Don't bother with Polymags or JSBs in the .22. Polymags are accurate enough to hunt with inside 30 yards or so, but are not as accurate as the crosman or JSB Heavy pellets. The cheap tin of Crosman Premier Hollow Points shoots just as well inside of 35 yards as the JSBs. After that the JSB Heavy have a slight advantage. Both the crosman and JSBs will hold dime sized groups at 25 yards, as many times as you pull the trigger (15-20 shot groups) if the fill pressure is maintained.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-10-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything. I enjoy seeing each round touch one another. And its not as loud as I had first imagined. I haven't yet found a pellet that it doesn't like. I recently tried the JSB assorted tin expecting to find at least one pellet that did not shoot well, but to my surprise all 4 shot tight groups. Perhaps I just got lucky but I got a "springer" in .22 cal. at the same time and I still cannot find a pellet that it likes. The pump is a bit of a challenge for this 85 year old, but it works as advertised.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see P/A show a recommended "buddy" air bottle for this gun. I believe everyone would consider one if it had a decent price tag. I would not change anything else.

    What others should know: I believe I read where someone inquired about a sling. For what it's worth, years ago I bought an all purpose sling for my shotgun, with loops at each end (one loop adjustable) that you can slide over each end of the rifle. I put it on my Discovery and it works just fine for carrying over the shoulder. Does not look very stylish but I bet the squirrels won't care.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accuracy, ease of loading.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Had to cock it before I could get it to hold air the first time I filled it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jack from USA on 2015-07-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Weight, balance and accuracy in addition to service from Pyramyd Air.

    Things I would have changed: Add sling to discovery package

    What others should know: It took only 10 shots to sight in. Five shots for adjustment and five shots for a grouping the size of a nickel at 20 yards. The first six pest bird shots at 30 to 40 yards dropped 5 instantly and wounded one, probably the shooter's fault. I refill after 7-10 shots to keep accuracy for on the moment pest shots.

     
  • 123 ... 1011 Next
Navigation