Date: 20/10/2018 12:3
0

Crosman Challenger PCP & CO2 Rifle, No Sights reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (7 reviews)
2 star1 star
Add to Cart

Only 1 left in stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jim from USA on 2010-08-21 10:11:11

Things I liked: I have yet to find anything I don't like about this gun! Although I'm not an Olympic class shooter, with this gun I could get there.

Things I would have changed: Nothing.

What others should know: Although this gun has a plastic stock, there is no chance of mistaking it for a toy. It's a big, beefy gun with plenty to hang on to. The multiple adjustments make it easy to customize to your own body size and shooting style, which brings me to the main point - does it shoot? Well, yes. It meets the primary target rifle criteria, the rifle shoots much better than I can! I shoot primarily CO2 in this gun, indoors, at 10 meters. Experimentation from a solid bench rest with various pellets (over 20 brands/sizes tried) showed that the gun prefers RWS R10 Match pellets, 7.0 grains. With these pellets, groups (10 shot) of about 2 pellet diameters or less are easily achieved. Unfortunately, those groups are much more difficult to achieve while shooting offhand, but that is a shooter problem. I recommend this rifle highly. Unless you are in the top one tenth of one percent of the shooters in the world, you'll never need another gun.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By stephen from USA on 2015-01-10 09:30:59

Things I liked: The rifle was very accurate and I liked the adjustable stock.

Things I would have changed: I would add some type of texture to the butt stock, it's very slick and does not offer a secure feeling surface against the shoulder.

What others should know: I had issues with this rifle cocking and firing when I first got it. After some adjustments to the hammer energy with the help of Gene from the tech department it began to fire reliably, however after about 1,000 firings it started to refuse to fire on occasion. Then the velocity dropped off to near nothing. I decided to return the rifle and get an Air Arms T-200, which I have not received yet. I think Crosman could have better quality control.

Sort by:
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Phillip from USA on 2018-03-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Its nice on the eyes, as consistent as a regulated rifle and scary accurate within 20 yards.

    Things I would have changed: Its heavy for jugging around, I'd like to see a light weight stock option. Stand up shooting from shoulder is a task that I've yet to manage and is my preferred shooting style with all of my other rifles.

    What others should know: It has shot every pellet except the RWS 8.2 Meister's well enough, with the Superpoint, Polymag Short, JSB 8.44 and 13.43 extremely accurate. More accurate than I can manage to show. Floated Choked LW barrels and a huge range of possibilities in power with minimal effort and zero cost.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-11-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The adjustable stock and trigger pull.

    Things I would have changed: Better seals to retain air in the cyclinder.

    What others should know: This is my second CH 2009. My first has been undergoing repair since August of 2015. It was returned to shoot once and immediately had to be returned for repair and I have been waiting for three months for it as well as one of our local 4H guns.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By stephen from USA on 2015-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The rifle was very accurate and I liked the adjustable stock.

    Things I would have changed: I would add some type of texture to the butt stock, it's very slick and does not offer a secure feeling surface against the shoulder.

    What others should know: I had issues with this rifle cocking and firing when I first got it. After some adjustments to the hammer energy with the help of Gene from the tech department it began to fire reliably, however after about 1,000 firings it started to refuse to fire on occasion. Then the velocity dropped off to near nothing. I decided to return the rifle and get an Air Arms T-200, which I have not received yet. I think Crosman could have better quality control.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By stephen from USA on 2014-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I am an experienced firearms target shooter. Ammo is getting harder to find and more expensive so I thought that I would give the airguns a try. I bought a single stroke gun just to see if I would enjoy the airguns after so many years of shooting firearms. I also have enough room in my basement for a ten meter range. After enjoying the single pump for awhile I decided to step up to a PCP gun. I was attracted to the Crosman because of it's adjustable stock, and the other good reviews. I could not be more pleased with the gun. From a sandbag rest it will shoot one hole 5 shot groups, and I have been able to shoot ten shot groups standing offhand of under an inch. If you start shooting better than this gun is capable of shooting you are on your way to being one of the top shooters!

    Things I would have changed: At this point, nothing that I can think of.

    What others should know: If this is your first PCP gun, there is a bit of a learning curve, but Gene in the tech department at Pyramid did a great job of walking me through some of my initial mistakes. I would suggest that you fill the gun to 2,000 on the first fill to get everything seated properly, and then start shooting and adjusting your spring pre-load and so forth, and read the manual carefully. The first fill is a bit of a workout if you use a hand pump, but after that it's not bad. I shoot about 50 shots, and just a few pumps and you're back to a good working pressure. There is no need to let the pressure drop below 1,000 psi. The gun performs best near max pressure.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Shariq from India on 2012-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: very accurate i have bought it for practice for my 50 metere .22 peep sight match i have improve a lot good adjustable butt and cheek rest trigger pull is not matching with match rifle it should be more free

    Things I would have changed: i have increse weight to 6 kg to match the weight of my match rifle

    What others should know: very good rifle for practicising for prone position and for 10 metre match

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ken from USA on 2010-11-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Crosman you have really outdone yourselves this time. I have never shot anything like this rifle it operates flawlessly and is ridiculously accurate. Sitting at my shooting bench I have shot one hole groups time after time and offhand I can one inch groups easily at 10 meters. I am sure that a younger steadier person could do even better. The hole is only slightly larger than the pellet and thats with the target sights that came on the rifle, amazing. I got mine with Crosman sights they fit perfectly and are designed to fit the rifle I would reccomend them and it's a little cheaper to get them along with the rifle. The rifle seemed to shoot equally well with most any pellet but I got the most consistant velocities with RWS hobby pellets 531 to 535 fps. (5 shot string)Velocities seemed to stay pretty constant even as the air pressure got down near the yellow. Fit and finish are very nice and the rifle is quite well made. It can be adjusted to any size shooter I am six foot and it fits me just fine. There is also a slot for an adjustable shooting sling. Pumping the rifle is fairly easy even near 2000 lbs. I can pump it with ease. Co2 fill is also easy but I prefer the CA, heck its free once you got the pump. Try one before you spend $1800 to $3500 on a target rifle. You won't regret it. Enjoy one soon !! Ken Wilson

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at all, it works perfectly leave it alone.

    What others should know: You will need Co2 fill adapters and a paintball tank to charge with Co2 or if you are going to use CA you will need a hand pump with a short hose and a snap coupling to attach to the rifle. If you call Pyramid they can set you up with exactly what you need.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2010-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have yet to find anything I don't like about this gun! Although I'm not an Olympic class shooter, with this gun I could get there.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Although this gun has a plastic stock, there is no chance of mistaking it for a toy. It's a big, beefy gun with plenty to hang on to. The multiple adjustments make it easy to customize to your own body size and shooting style, which brings me to the main point - does it shoot? Well, yes. It meets the primary target rifle criteria, the rifle shoots much better than I can! I shoot primarily CO2 in this gun, indoors, at 10 meters. Experimentation from a solid bench rest with various pellets (over 20 brands/sizes tried) showed that the gun prefers RWS R10 Match pellets, 7.0 grains. With these pellets, groups (10 shot) of about 2 pellet diameters or less are easily achieved. Unfortunately, those groups are much more difficult to achieve while shooting offhand, but that is a shooter problem. I recommend this rifle highly. Unless you are in the top one tenth of one percent of the shooters in the world, you'll never need another gun.

     
Navigation