Date: 23/5/2019 7:57
0

Crosman Doomsday Bug. BUGOUTKT. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (55 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By afastman from USA on 2013-12-26 00:17:01

Things I liked: I bought 2 of these for my boys for Christmas. Of course the surprise was worth the effort, but the product lived up to its reviews and reputation. Although the backpack water bottle and firs aid kit are "take it or leave it," the gun and the stock are well worth the investment. The fact that it comes with a starter pack of pellets pushes the total value over the top. By noon we had set up a small target range and the boys were shooting with HUGE smiles on their faces. It was a great afternoon of learning safety, technique and by the end of the session, hitting targets with fairly consistent results from 20 yards out. Right out of the box, the accuracy is impressive. The ease of use made it fun for my brother and I as well as the 7 and 9 year olds. The small-ish stock is a good stater platform for the smaller ones as well.

Things I would have changed: So far, not much. I do see the usefulness of several of the modifications that are popular on this gun and would hope that Crosman would incorporate several of them in subsequent offerings.

What others should know: Airgunners beware, this is definitely a gateway into a deep (probably $$$) black hole. I already have plans to dial these in and make them better for the monkeys, but I highly recommend this kit.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By David from USA on 2019-05-04 22:46:54

Things I liked: Nice little kit with a very good price point, great for teaching young people the basics and fundamentals.

Things I would have changed: Get rid of the cheap multi tool, firer starter. Canteen is fine I have had several of these over the years, backpack good for younger people other wise a good starter kit.

What others should know: Use the shoulder stock for the best accuracy, try various pellets to find the ones that work the best for you. It will definitely build up your muscles pumping it up to ten pumps, but on the other hand you do not have to worry about fluctuated velocity as you do with co2.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By cherokeesteve from USA on 2019-05-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice kit, great gun. Super accurate, easy to breakdown. Shots a lot of different pellets accurately. Own of my favorites to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: Use the fat forearm used on the older 2289s.

    What others should know: Easily upgraded and customized to make it your own.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2019-05-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice little kit with a very good price point, great for teaching young people the basics and fundamentals.

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of the cheap multi tool, firer starter. Canteen is fine I have had several of these over the years, backpack good for younger people other wise a good starter kit.

    What others should know: Use the shoulder stock for the best accuracy, try various pellets to find the ones that work the best for you. It will definitely build up your muscles pumping it up to ten pumps, but on the other hand you do not have to worry about fluctuated velocity as you do with co2.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tom from USA on 2019-04-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great buy. Everything with this purchase was 100% . Price, item description, shipping. Would highly recommend.

    Things I would have changed: This is a great bargain. I wouldn't change anything.

    What others should know: I believe pyramid air is the only place you can get the 2289 with the 14.6 inch barrel and carbine stock. I'm so happy they brought this gun back . Very pleased with this purchase. I do plan on modding it some to make it the way I want it and that's also a plus with this model. Its a great gun out of the box, hits hard , accurate. Thanks pyramid air.! I'm already sold on my next purchase. I was set on the Seneca Aspen until I I seen the Gamo Swarm Magnum. I knew as soon as I seen Swarm I had to get it so that will be my next purchase with PA . Thanks for the great service you provide.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2019-04-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I set up an indoor shooting gallery, had a few co2 pistols, Crosman Vigilante,also a 2300 kt,also a Sig Sauer m17... and a 2400 kt. I really like the short little 2400 type rifles for indoors BUT, the .177 do not bang down the metal magnetic targets like the .22 does But, the co2 at close range would absolutely pancake a pellet, and also eventually bent the metal targets... So, enter the Bug-out multi pump .22.... It was accurate and with 3 quick pumps, it was a perfect combo of knock down power, and no co2 to buy

    Things I would have changed: Of coarse a steel breech, and the biggest thing I don't like is the stock, which will wiggle around a bit... They should absolutely drill the grip and put screws in this, and if a guy wants to remove them, so it is simpler to break down to put in a back-pack, great... everybody would win

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Marc from USA on 2019-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Bought on sale, great value. Accuracy pretty good for short barrel and iron sights.

    Things I would have changed: Some of the cheap offshore stuff probably not going to be very durable. Would find less stuff and better quality a plus.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By gary from USA on 2019-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Gun is great value for the money. Easily shoots over 500 ft per second.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Be ready to have lots of fun!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brad Morse on 2019-03-10
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have my new sight mounted to the Crosman air rifle and am very pleased at the accuracy that this rifle in pistol configuration is holding. This unit is a multiple pump unit that works very well. If it was available in a CO2 version and had a pistol grip, I would have rated it at 5 stars. Very smooth pellet loading indicating low resistance.

    Things I would have changed: The spring pin that is used to secure the stock in place is irritating on my hand when shooting.

    What others should know: Nice backpack.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Martin from USA on 2019-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.03 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quick detach stock, practicality, easy of carry and concealment. Lightweight. Can fit into most backpacks, so perfect for pinking on a hike. Being able to switch rear apertures is also a nice feature. The Sos kit is a nice afterthought. Probably the best bang for buck kit when it comes to air gunning. Also, theres is an amazing amount of mods out there to make this airgun your very own.

    Things I would have changed: At above 5 pumps, the gun starts to become a little bit backyard unfriendly. Having threads built in at the end would improve the product. Also, a steel breech should be included in this kit. Then again, the whole thing is under 100 dollars. The fire starting kit is nearly rubbish. Yes it does spark, and yes it is alot less effective than a match or something purchased at walmart. Instructions for the SOS kit are in poorly translated chinese -> english.

    What others should know: This gun chronys at 495~500fps with 14.3 grain CPHP. This is with a steel breech. Without the steel breech, I got 483~495ish fps if memory serves me correctly. Both powers are recorded at 10 pumps. 5 shot groupings with the CPHP tended to be around 1 inch at 20 yards with iron sights. With the steel breech, hawke 4x32, and donnyfl moderator, I was able to get the group down to .5 inches at 20 yards, minus one flier. At above 5 pumps, the gun starts to become a little bit backyard unfriendly. Firestarter is pretty terrible. I would not rely on the SOS kit given. The pellets given will shoot, but are only accurate to a grand total of 2 feet.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2019-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: To start with, the price. Amazing! You get a lot of bang for your buck with this kit. A pistol, shoulder stock, tin of pellets, canteen, small survival kit. And a backpack to carry it all. The pistol is very accurate with the longer barrel and open sights.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would change is the plastic breach. And the trigger pull weight. I did both. Replaced the plastic breach with a steel one. Replaced the trigger spring with a lighter one.

    What others should know: This is a great plinking/hunting package. If you're looking for a new small game hunting pistol, this kit is for you. If you're looking for a plinker that will hold a tight pattern at 50 feet, don't look any further this is the one that you'll want.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By cherokeesteve from USA on 2019-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: You can not go wrong with this kit. Extras: the Crosman water bottle has been replaced with a plastic canteen which comes with a semi-insulated cover that also has built in belt straps. The very small first aid kit has been replaced with the SOS kit. Very usable items, the fire starter stick is a great addition since it sparks even while wet. The back pack is not the thinnest and is large enough to carry all the items including the gun with the stock removed, taking it off/on couldnt be easier. The gun, wow. Super accurate, I was shooting one hole, five shot groups from 10 yards, free hand, after just a barrel cleaning. Chronied at 511fps out of the box. Personally, I believe with the longer barrel and shoulder stock and the other goodies this is worth the extra cash over say a 1322 and adding what you get with this. Thats not to say you wont end up modding this, the possibilities are endless, its nice to know if its something that cant be done right away, its a terrific shooter as is.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe some extra strategically placed adhesive padding internally or the stock. Its a cheap, easy fix to take out expected play in the slide on/off stock.

    What others should know: The Crosman pellets that come with the kit may or may not be great shooters for your particular gun. Thats normal, try some different pellets, find the one you gun likes, and start shooting bullseyes. Mine loves Hatsan Vortex Express .22 pellets in 13.32 grain, go figure.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dano from USA on 2019-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Man , what's not to like , great Carbine / pistol with extra goodies in it's own backpack , I threw in an extra set of grips I had taken off of a new pistol and with the multi tool I can switch back and forth , of course the stock needs no tools , just my pistol grip switch , pistol . carbine itself is really nice , pumps easy , hits hard and hits what I aim at and very compact , got it to toss in one of my boats carts or my truck and it will have everything I need to have some fun and water and med kit and all plus room for some energy bars and other goodies , by at least one of them and have a blast .....I should have bought a few of them when they were on special , but well worth the full price anyway .

    Things I would have changed: About nothing at this price point , be nice if Crosman made some one piece grips like the old 1377 / 1322's had so you could use no tools at all to switch from pistol to carbine but I will find a set or take an old carbine stock and cut it down and have it all .

    What others should know: This is an updated backpacker like the one's we all should have kept when we had them , buy them while you can .

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2019-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light easy. To csrry

    Things I would have changed: Tighten the fit of stock To the grip

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ralph from USA on 2018-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything I mounted a inexpensive dot sight on gun made it easier to shoot accurately.

    Things I would have changed: Could use more power but good for price.

    What others should know: Gun is well worth the money!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mudbugmitch from USA on 2018-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Compared to the original Bug Out, I liked the tin full of useful items. The canteen is nicer than the bottle and the backpack seems larger.

    Things I would have changed: It deserves a steel breech and larger pump handle. The detent pin digs into this big kid's hand.

    What others should know: For this price point you can't have everything, but you can mod it to fit your needs. Thanks for bringing it back. I LIKE IT !!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2018-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is just a fun little kit for getting away. The free targets made it even better. Good word, Pyramyd Air. Thank you.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pcp4me from USA on 2015-04-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Saw this gun. Saw the less than $100 price for the "kit". Had to have it to try it! Wow, was I way pleasantly surprised! With 13 pumps it chronographs at 525 fps and is one hole accurate! Saw a squirrel chewing my bird feeder in the back yard. Dead squirrel! One shot with iron sights and did not even use the shoulder stock! Four more bird feeder chewers bit the dust in the next two days with one shot each! WOW, this is one heck of a deal! Deadly accurate and powerful enough to put pellets right through squirrel heads! Great "Bug out kit"!

    Things I would have changed: Not one thing! This is absolutely a great deal! In emergency situations it would kill small game all day long with ease! Perfect for what it is meant for. Small, compact, self contained and very accurate!

    What others should know: Perfect for a backpack gun for hiking where you want to put some meat in the pot. Perfect for a "bug out" gun, though you need a better backpack for that! This one is ok for short day trips, but not long term survival. Not suitable for target work. You will wear your self out pumping it! Unless you want the exercise, that is! Over all, though, JUST BUY IT!! Glad I did!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mtlemmonrunner from USA on 2014-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This really bites they are out of this item and so is "Wally" which leads me to believe it's gone forever so sad and stinks to me! The great part of all this is I have one and modified it to the point that only the main tube exists unchanged with this item's name carved in. Oh, I left the valve hammer stock just de-burred cleaned and polished it. Also stock is thicker pump arm. Besides those items the rest is aftermarket stuff. The 1322 is seeming the next choice if wanting the over compensate the thing with highly function upgrades.

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight was beyond crazy to get right never did actually made me switch to something else. There is too much play in the un-screwed stock, meaning the spring holder is not making it solid. Dream list puts an actual steel breech on this rather fine item. Not only is it potentially longer its stronger and it's more aligned.

    What others should know: Even with heavier hammer spring and lighter trigger and flow-thru longer bolt the final mods with FT valve/piston added 30% more power and I was already getting 8 lbs energy shots before the FT valve/piston now its 30% above that so nice and sweet.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alexander from USA on 2014-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate with a cheap dot sight installed on a steel breech. Variable power and relatively low report makes it perfect for shooting indoors.

    Things I would have changed: Plastic breech and wiggling stock. With the plastic breech the barrel moves up and down quite a bit. This can be fixed somewhat by tightening the barrel band screw, but a much better solution is installing a steel breech. The stock wiggles a lot due to the pin not holding it tight enough. Crosman should include the stock with the holes in the grips for the screws. The metal grip has the threaded posts for the screws, so there is no reason to include the stock without the holes.

    What others should know: Excellent value for the money. Put on a steel breech and a scope of your choice and you'll have lots of plinking fun. Make sure to put a drop or two of pellgun oil right behind the pump piston cap. Out of the box pumping can be quite stiff. Once lubricated properly, pumping is very easy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dallas from USA on 2014-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I wanted to add a Crosman Classic 1322 to my collection. I wanted a stock and a super pumper forearm stock. I spent some time researching prices, and found prices for the pistol, stock and super pumper that ranged from $97.00 up to $124.00. Then I saw the ad for Pyramyd Air for $75.00. I got all the above plus a back pack, a tin of pellets and a great first aid kit (that went straight into my golf bag!) Great buy. Thanks Pyramyd Air

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Aaron from USA on 2014-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Bought this package for the gun only. However, the first aid kit was nice. The gun is the same platform as the 13xx and great to mod and build from.

    Things I would have changed: Would like to see the gun offered by itself.

    What others should know: I installed the steel breech, 18" crowned and polished barrel, flat top valve and piston, as well as a few other mods. Shooting 13.4 jsb's @600fps. There is alot of potential with this platform but in stpck form it is still a good plinker and short range sparrow gun.

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation