Date: 20/2/2019 23:44
0

Crosman Doomsday Bug. BUGOUTKT. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (48 reviews)
3 star2 star1 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By afastman from USA on 2013-12-26 00:17:01

Things I liked: I bought 2 of these for my boys for Christmas. Of course the surprise was worth the effort, but the product lived up to its reviews and reputation. Although the backpack water bottle and firs aid kit are "take it or leave it," the gun and the stock are well worth the investment. The fact that it comes with a starter pack of pellets pushes the total value over the top. By noon we had set up a small target range and the boys were shooting with HUGE smiles on their faces. It was a great afternoon of learning safety, technique and by the end of the session, hitting targets with fairly consistent results from 20 yards out. Right out of the box, the accuracy is impressive. The ease of use made it fun for my brother and I as well as the 7 and 9 year olds. The small-ish stock is a good stater platform for the smaller ones as well.

Things I would have changed: So far, not much. I do see the usefulness of several of the modifications that are popular on this gun and would hope that Crosman would incorporate several of them in subsequent offerings.

What others should know: Airgunners beware, this is definitely a gateway into a deep (probably $$$) black hole. I already have plans to dial these in and make them better for the monkeys, but I highly recommend this kit.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Martin from USA on 2019-02-11 04:29:23

Things I liked: Quick detach stock, practicality, easy of carry and concealment. Lightweight. Can fit into most backpacks, so perfect for pinking on a hike. Being able to switch rear apertures is also a nice feature. The Sos kit is a nice afterthought. Probably the best bang for buck kit when it comes to air gunning. Also, theres is an amazing amount of mods out there to make this airgun your very own.

Things I would have changed: At above 5 pumps, the gun starts to become a little bit backyard unfriendly. Having threads built in at the end would improve the product. Also, a steel breech should be included in this kit. Then again, the whole thing is under 100 dollars. The fire starting kit is nearly rubbish. Yes it does spark, and yes it is alot less effective than a match or something purchased at walmart. Instructions for the SOS kit are in poorly translated chinese -> english.

What others should know: This gun chronys at 495~500fps with 14.3 grain CPHP. This is with a steel breech. Without the steel breech, I got 483~495ish fps if memory serves me correctly. Both powers are recorded at 10 pumps. 5 shot groupings with the CPHP tended to be around 1 inch at 20 yards with iron sights. With the steel breech, hawke 4x32, and donnyfl moderator, I was able to get the group down to .5 inches at 20 yards, minus one flier. At above 5 pumps, the gun starts to become a little bit backyard unfriendly. Firestarter is pretty terrible. I would not rely on the SOS kit given. The pellets given will shoot, but are only accurate to a grand total of 2 feet.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Martin from USA on 2019-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quick detach stock, practicality, easy of carry and concealment. Lightweight. Can fit into most backpacks, so perfect for pinking on a hike. Being able to switch rear apertures is also a nice feature. The Sos kit is a nice afterthought. Probably the best bang for buck kit when it comes to air gunning. Also, theres is an amazing amount of mods out there to make this airgun your very own.

    Things I would have changed: At above 5 pumps, the gun starts to become a little bit backyard unfriendly. Having threads built in at the end would improve the product. Also, a steel breech should be included in this kit. Then again, the whole thing is under 100 dollars. The fire starting kit is nearly rubbish. Yes it does spark, and yes it is alot less effective than a match or something purchased at walmart. Instructions for the SOS kit are in poorly translated chinese -> english.

    What others should know: This gun chronys at 495~500fps with 14.3 grain CPHP. This is with a steel breech. Without the steel breech, I got 483~495ish fps if memory serves me correctly. Both powers are recorded at 10 pumps. 5 shot groupings with the CPHP tended to be around 1 inch at 20 yards with iron sights. With the steel breech, hawke 4x32, and donnyfl moderator, I was able to get the group down to .5 inches at 20 yards, minus one flier. At above 5 pumps, the gun starts to become a little bit backyard unfriendly. Firestarter is pretty terrible. I would not rely on the SOS kit given. The pellets given will shoot, but are only accurate to a grand total of 2 feet.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2019-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: To start with, the price. Amazing! You get a lot of bang for your buck with this kit. A pistol, shoulder stock, tin of pellets, canteen, small survival kit. And a backpack to carry it all. The pistol is very accurate with the longer barrel and open sights.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would change is the plastic breach. And the trigger pull weight. I did both. Replaced the plastic breach with a steel one. Replaced the trigger spring with a lighter one.

    What others should know: This is a great plinking/hunting package. If you're looking for a new small game hunting pistol, this kit is for you. If you're looking for a plinker that will hold a tight pattern at 50 feet, don't look any further this is the one that you'll want.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By cherokeesteve from USA on 2019-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: You can not go wrong with this kit. Extras: the Crosman water bottle has been replaced with a plastic canteen which comes with a semi-insulated cover that also has built in belt straps. The very small first aid kit has been replaced with the SOS kit. Very usable items, the fire starter stick is a great addition since it sparks even while wet. The back pack is not the thinnest and is large enough to carry all the items including the gun with the stock removed, taking it off/on couldnt be easier. The gun, wow. Super accurate, I was shooting one hole, five shot groups from 10 yards, free hand, after just a barrel cleaning. Chronied at 511fps out of the box. Personally, I believe with the longer barrel and shoulder stock and the other goodies this is worth the extra cash over say a 1322 and adding what you get with this. Thats not to say you wont end up modding this, the possibilities are endless, its nice to know if its something that cant be done right away, its a terrific shooter as is.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe some extra strategically placed adhesive padding internally or the stock. Its a cheap, easy fix to take out expected play in the slide on/off stock.

    What others should know: The Crosman pellets that come with the kit may or may not be great shooters for your particular gun. Thats normal, try some different pellets, find the one you gun likes, and start shooting bullseyes. Mine loves Hatsan Vortex Express .22 pellets in 13.32 grain, go figure.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dano from USA on 2019-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Man , what's not to like , great Carbine / pistol with extra goodies in it's own backpack , I threw in an extra set of grips I had taken off of a new pistol and with the multi tool I can switch back and forth , of course the stock needs no tools , just my pistol grip switch , pistol . carbine itself is really nice , pumps easy , hits hard and hits what I aim at and very compact , got it to toss in one of my boats carts or my truck and it will have everything I need to have some fun and water and med kit and all plus room for some energy bars and other goodies , by at least one of them and have a blast .....I should have bought a few of them when they were on special , but well worth the full price anyway .

    Things I would have changed: About nothing at this price point , be nice if Crosman made some one piece grips like the old 1377 / 1322's had so you could use no tools at all to switch from pistol to carbine but I will find a set or take an old carbine stock and cut it down and have it all .

    What others should know: This is an updated backpacker like the one's we all should have kept when we had them , buy them while you can .

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2019-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light easy. To csrry

    Things I would have changed: Tighten the fit of stock To the grip

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ralph from USA on 2018-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything I mounted a inexpensive dot sight on gun made it easier to shoot accurately.

    Things I would have changed: Could use more power but good for price.

    What others should know: Gun is well worth the money!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mudbugmitch from USA on 2018-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Compared to the original Bug Out, I liked the tin full of useful items. The canteen is nicer than the bottle and the backpack seems larger.

    Things I would have changed: It deserves a steel breech and larger pump handle. The detent pin digs into this big kid's hand.

    What others should know: For this price point you can't have everything, but you can mod it to fit your needs. Thanks for bringing it back. I LIKE IT !!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2018-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is just a fun little kit for getting away. The free targets made it even better. Good word, Pyramyd Air. Thank you.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pcp4me from USA on 2015-04-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Saw this gun. Saw the less than $100 price for the "kit". Had to have it to try it! Wow, was I way pleasantly surprised! With 13 pumps it chronographs at 525 fps and is one hole accurate! Saw a squirrel chewing my bird feeder in the back yard. Dead squirrel! One shot with iron sights and did not even use the shoulder stock! Four more bird feeder chewers bit the dust in the next two days with one shot each! WOW, this is one heck of a deal! Deadly accurate and powerful enough to put pellets right through squirrel heads! Great "Bug out kit"!

    Things I would have changed: Not one thing! This is absolutely a great deal! In emergency situations it would kill small game all day long with ease! Perfect for what it is meant for. Small, compact, self contained and very accurate!

    What others should know: Perfect for a backpack gun for hiking where you want to put some meat in the pot. Perfect for a "bug out" gun, though you need a better backpack for that! This one is ok for short day trips, but not long term survival. Not suitable for target work. You will wear your self out pumping it! Unless you want the exercise, that is! Over all, though, JUST BUY IT!! Glad I did!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mtlemmonrunner from USA on 2014-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This really bites they are out of this item and so is "Wally" which leads me to believe it's gone forever so sad and stinks to me! The great part of all this is I have one and modified it to the point that only the main tube exists unchanged with this item's name carved in. Oh, I left the valve hammer stock just de-burred cleaned and polished it. Also stock is thicker pump arm. Besides those items the rest is aftermarket stuff. The 1322 is seeming the next choice if wanting the over compensate the thing with highly function upgrades.

    Things I would have changed: The rear sight was beyond crazy to get right never did actually made me switch to something else. There is too much play in the un-screwed stock, meaning the spring holder is not making it solid. Dream list puts an actual steel breech on this rather fine item. Not only is it potentially longer its stronger and it's more aligned.

    What others should know: Even with heavier hammer spring and lighter trigger and flow-thru longer bolt the final mods with FT valve/piston added 30% more power and I was already getting 8 lbs energy shots before the FT valve/piston now its 30% above that so nice and sweet.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alexander from USA on 2014-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate with a cheap dot sight installed on a steel breech. Variable power and relatively low report makes it perfect for shooting indoors.

    Things I would have changed: Plastic breech and wiggling stock. With the plastic breech the barrel moves up and down quite a bit. This can be fixed somewhat by tightening the barrel band screw, but a much better solution is installing a steel breech. The stock wiggles a lot due to the pin not holding it tight enough. Crosman should include the stock with the holes in the grips for the screws. The metal grip has the threaded posts for the screws, so there is no reason to include the stock without the holes.

    What others should know: Excellent value for the money. Put on a steel breech and a scope of your choice and you'll have lots of plinking fun. Make sure to put a drop or two of pellgun oil right behind the pump piston cap. Out of the box pumping can be quite stiff. Once lubricated properly, pumping is very easy.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dallas from USA on 2014-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I wanted to add a Crosman Classic 1322 to my collection. I wanted a stock and a super pumper forearm stock. I spent some time researching prices, and found prices for the pistol, stock and super pumper that ranged from $97.00 up to $124.00. Then I saw the ad for Pyramyd Air for $75.00. I got all the above plus a back pack, a tin of pellets and a great first aid kit (that went straight into my golf bag!) Great buy. Thanks Pyramyd Air

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Aaron from USA on 2014-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Bought this package for the gun only. However, the first aid kit was nice. The gun is the same platform as the 13xx and great to mod and build from.

    Things I would have changed: Would like to see the gun offered by itself.

    What others should know: I installed the steel breech, 18" crowned and polished barrel, flat top valve and piston, as well as a few other mods. Shooting 13.4 jsb's @600fps. There is alot of potential with this platform but in stpck form it is still a good plinker and short range sparrow gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2014-06-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great value on an accurate rifle with allot of extras right out of the box accuracy is exception and there are a wide range of upgrade parts available for this model, as always pyramyd air customer support is exceptional and friendly and it arrived at my house two days after my order was placed

    Things I would have changed: Raise the price and include the steel breech kit and a scope and this would be a great package

    What others should know: Got a better price from pyramyd air than anywhere else I've found, and for $150 extra I was able to install a steel breech, scope, power hammer spring, flat top valve and piston, high flow transfer port, extended bolt probe, and power adjuster, raising it to 680 fps and making it a formidable small game hunter

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kurt from USA on 2014-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy, power, removable stock

    Things I would have changed: Make the pump handle like the 1322. This model's pump handle looks cool, but give me blisters on my thumb that I don't get with the 1322's narrower, simpler design. Also, the barrel seems a little loose as others have mentioned, but it has not affected the use of the gun or its accuracy.

    What others should know: Having a "rifle" that breaks down to fit in a small backpack is great. I bring this with me in a hydration pack out to the AZ desert on my mountain bike or hiking and have a lot of fun. I have been able to fairly consistently hit empty shotgun shells 50 to 60 feet away with this gun scoped, and still do pretty well with the iron sights too. I can also hit soda cans out to 150 feet fairly well holding the sights a little over the target. This gun is fun and seems to be a bit more powerful than my 1322.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2014-05-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: With the stock on the gun it fits to your shoulder like it was custom made for you.

    Things I would have changed: Raise the price and include a steel breech so you can use a scope or red dot sight.

    What others should know: I bought this as a lark just to try it. I now prefer to shoot it instead of my nitro venom. The power is surprising. I shot a treated 4 x 4 at 50 feet and buried a pellet flush with just 7 pumps. Big fun, try one and you will love it too! Never hesitate to buy from Pyramyd Air, they are the best around.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By harry from USA on 2014-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun has a great potential for higher power for internal mod, which I did by installing AirgunSmith's flat-top valve and flat-top piston, it shoot as good as RWS M-48 at 18 pumps, but no recoil. the trigger and the fore-arm support has been improved and better than the old 2289s I did not make any external changes, except the steel breech and the rear sight. So it can be put into the back -pack as usual. At last Crosman make the stock fit with the gun good.

    Things I would have changed: Only things I switched: are the steel breech, the rear sight, the valve and the piston.

    What others should know: When you want to mod this gun, make sure you know what you are doing. and is only $150.00 more. It may out shoot Talon SS.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Philip from USA on 2014-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Extremely accurate, easy to pump, not too loud. I wanted a .22 pumper that I could shoot indoors. I thought about the benji 392 but the finish and stock sights/scope setup left a lot to be desired and it seemed to take MUCH more effort to pump, granted its more powerful on fewer pumps but it seemed like pumping would get tiresome with the long stroke on the benji, not so on this carbine. It feels good and handles very well, likes pretty much any pellet you put in it. I have been shooting some horribly inconsistent gamo masterpoints and it really doesn't affect the accuracy, the gun just eats them up. Definitely feels powerful enough to put down a squirrel/rabbit/bird @ 50 ft. Much more fun to plink cans with the .22 cal vs. .177. I would only get the .177 version if I was shooting exclusively at paper targets.

    Things I would have changed: Steel Breech should be standard. Out of the box my rear sight was so far off, even fully adjusted that the gun shot 6'' off target. I think it was because the plastic breech was crooked or mounted slightly off. I had to unscrew the entire rear sight and move it over so that it was hanging off the left side of the gun but once it was sighted in with the peep sight it was extremely accurate. I added the steel breech and a cheap scope after a few weeks with the stock sights and its even more accurate now. There is a little wobble in the pump arm but the design is solid and proven. I had to add some electrical tape inside the stock grooves to keep it from wobbling while pumping and now its totally tight without having to put a screw through the stock. At $75 I would much rather have a steel breech than the backpack and other accessories. Adding the almost mandatory steel breech increases the cost by $35 and makes this just an ok value instead of a great one.

    What others should know: This is a classic and just plain fun to shoot. I always want to take "just one more" shot. I shot through the included tin of 175 pellets in less than 48 hours.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2014-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice pellet gun.

    Things I would have changed: The back sight is not easily adjusted.

    What others should know: nothing

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chris from USA on 2014-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: breaks down into two pieces,fits into bag nicely.Range is accurate to 50 feet,

    Things I would have changed: add a scope feature

    What others should know: not for kids,asit has power

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation