Date: 17/8/2018 15:13
0

SIG Sauer MCX CO2 Rifle, Black reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (50 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Lucas from USA on 2015-10-09 05:15:19

Things I liked: It is heavy 8lbs...It shoots what they claim it does 750 fps with Crossman SSP ...lots of metal (suppressor,reciever, flip up sights)..sound suppressor screws off revealing a unpainted skinney inner barrel and it appears Sig plans on offering different barrels because there is a break mid way in the barrel under the handguard where it threads together...possibly to place a A2 style barrel instead of a suppressed one...the trigger is so smooth a resets crisply..makes for great rapid fire...

Things I would have changed: Make it like the Winchester mp4 and when you removed the mag pulling the trigger will release the bolt...not to crazy about leaving tension on the bolt or springs when it's stored but I can't use a 90 gram co2 in one sitting.. Also release an aftermarket aluminum stock instead of the plastic one it could easily be done...Also include a couple key mod rails like the MPX comes with...and make the QD sling slot in the buttstock actually accept a QD sling ..it's fake..

What others should know: This is not a toy...if you shoot something with it... it will break that object...I defiantly feel it's strong enough to kill small game no problem.. also the Manuel states that the MCX and MPX are the same gun with the exception that the MCX has a 21 inch barrel and MPX has a 16 inch barrel... Also Im pretty sure you can thread a bulk fill adapter to the co2 spot but you would have to drill out a hole for the co2 line if you want the stock back on..

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By craig from USA on 2018-04-22 09:00:24

Things I liked: Nothing

Things I would have changed: I put in the air cylinder and put in the clip then fired it. It did not travel very far, dropped quickly and did not reset for next shot. Was so frustrated I put it up and have not touched it since. Does not work!!!

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything.... this gun is sweet.. already decked out with scope and new grip and bipod....TRIGGER TIME.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing...very well made and looks and feels like the real McCoy.

    What others should know: Highly recommend this to all air gunners..very accurate and a blast to shoot.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Adam from USA on 2018-07-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very good feel and a lot of fun to shoot. Definitely happy with my purchase. Mine came with a free magazine and a total of 4 belts. Added the air venturi tank to this and it made it a lot better. Did not want to spend money on CO2.

    Things I would have changed: Adding accessories on the rail is a pain but worth it. Would be nice if there were some recommended kits here to add to save the trouble to research and buy from AR stores.

    What others should know: Picky on pellets. Does not like my RWS Wadcutters. Loves the JSB Exact RS 7.33 grain 4.52mm. Definitely get the air venturi tank for it to make it a PCP. Buy a lot of pellets. Decent accuracy but has a decent spread at over 10 yards. Still fun but its heavy.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randy from USA on 2018-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The gun was very nice. The ammo bands were smooth, it was surprisingly accurate and a blast to shoot. Then the wheels came off. I ran 10 different pellets to find the most accurate, this thing could spit 30 rounds as fast as you could pull the trigger and then it developed a c02 leak. Not a slow leak but a gusher. I must have wasted 5 or 6 canisters trying to fix this and now it's a paperweight. I was so shocked it started out being one of the funniest guns in my collection to a huge disappointment. It lasted only a few months and now it sits in my safe but it looks awesome.

    Things I would have changed: Quality parts to start. I'm thinking an internal seal is the problem in mine but come on guys it's got to last longer than a few months

    What others should know: Like I said, it's a blast to shoot, buy a couple spare ammo bands and a few co2 bottles and you are in for a treat, just not for long I'm afraid. The gun was very accurate and it also has a lot of accessories and a few different configurations. I added a vortex red dot and it was fun while it lasted

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joshua from USA on 2018-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 30 round detachable magazines, rapid fire, quiet looks and feels like a real gun. Grateful for the 1year warranty!

    Things I would have changed: Fix magazine feed issues (initial attachment of mag sometimes fails) makes it hard to train my boy on reload drills Put CO2 cart in front of magazine well (maybe make it look like a fake grenade launcher) so the stock can be collapsible (for younger shooters)

    What others should know: Purchased so my 8yo son could learn proper weapon handling and marksmanship. The airgun fired around 3000 rounds, then failed. Luckily we're within the 1year warranty, so hopefully SIG will fix the gun.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By craig from USA on 2018-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nothing

    Things I would have changed: I put in the air cylinder and put in the clip then fired it. It did not travel very far, dropped quickly and did not reset for next shot. Was so frustrated I put it up and have not touched it since. Does not work!!!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jamie from USA on 2018-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very excellent platform just like the firearm it copies! User friendly gets lots of shots per tank! Look and feel is excellent as well!

    Things I would have changed: nothing to speak of!

    What others should know: choose bee man pellets they work very very well and are accurate!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2018-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The realistic feel and look of this pellet rifle is pretty awesome. I love the fact that its a semiautomatic with a 30 round belt feed magazine which allows you to pull the trigger as fast as you can letting it rip down range, just like it says on the box. I love this Sig Sauer MCX and its shorter barreled counterpart the Sig Sauer MPX so much I own two of each, as well as 15 extra magazines. The accuracy is pretty fair due to the fact that its powered by CO2. My groupings are of a 1 to 1.5 inch spread from 25 feet.

    Things I would have changed: I would change the frame from cast iron to aircraft grade aluminum & one internal component. This internal component has made problems for a lot of MCX & MPX owners. Sig Sauer decided to make an internal key component out of plastic for some reason. Eventually this piece will get loosened up after so many uses. Unfortunately, this piece happens to play a big role in the last step for the CO2 to do its job. When the trigger is pulled the valve extends out right behind the pellet and releases co2 sending the pellet down the barrel, yet, when this piece of plastic gets loosened the valve no longer is stabilized, so when the valve extends out it can either get stuck in the extended position which will allow all of the CO2 to escape, or the valve will extend out at a slight angle getting stuck more & more each time the trigger is pulled making it harder and harder to pull the trigger till the trigger locks up for good. Why Sig Sauer made this one internal piece out of plastic is beyond me

    What others should know: Safety comes first!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By robert from USA on 2018-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: same weight and dims as real deal. good iron sights, trigger ain't too bad . consistant fpm from 7 gr. pellets

    Things I would have changed: needs to have all buttons and switches to function like the real deal. too bad it isn't full auto talk bout pellet flinger!!

    What others should know: ya either love it or ya don't your call mate

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Roger from USA on 2017-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: sweet...this thing is really fun to shoot...im 68 and of course had air guns since day one... getting more into the todays things...would love to go PCP but am learning about them.

    Things I would have changed: nothing except the weight maybe...love it

    What others should know: need to make the ammo belts available without the mag...would be nice but not a biggy

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2017-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: EVERYTHING. The feel and weight are real. The key mod system makes adding things like a bipod easy. Might as well go all the way with the mods. I did not rate accuracy because it's toooo damnnn cold outside. But the other reviews have me sold. Love the compartment in the grip. Good place to put the sight adjustment tool.

    Things I would have changed: Like most other people out there...at least make it in 22 or 25 cal. Sell the dark earth without the scope. You sell the extra mag's with 3 belts that's fine but lets make just the mag available so we can put those extra belts in something. The fore grip is too short. Not a real problem, swapped mine out with a folder.

    What others should know: Yeah....I'm getting the pistol later.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Okan from USA on 2017-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great fun. A must item for backyard target practice.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Orlando from USA on 2017-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: It's a great tatical rifle, and it's everything I expected from sig sauer, the 90 gram prefilled Co2 bottle gives me around 4 magazines of shooting. Overall I love it!

    What others should know: Definitely and extra mag or 3 would be a plus for uninterrupted, with a fresh bottle I've dropped pigeons and crows at 50 ft., the weather plays an important part with this rifle. I'm sure that with a head shot on pigeons will drop at 75ft. When one follows the manual there's no discrepancies on the MCX, since the arrival of it I've gone threw 5,000 rounds of .177, 7.4 grm pellets and only one has jammed due to rapid fire.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Hook from USA on 2017-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Just about everything. Indoor accuracy is almost silly, single ragged hole good times. The rifle has good heft, feels good to shoulder and fire. As others have mentioned, buy a lot of pellets-you will need them. It is fairly quiet and I got better velocities than the test data showed. With RWS 7gr I was getting at least a 570 average within the first 100 shots on a new JT 90 gram. Some shots over 600, which usually came after a rest and if the rifle was pointed at the ground during a target walk (hot shot probably came from some liquid CO2.) Trigger is a little stiff but pretty smooth considering it is advancing the pellet belt at the same time. There is plenty of metal on the gun, it doesn't feel like a toy at all. Zero feed issues thus far, I'm really enjoying the MCX.

    Things I would have changed: The included vertical grip is a little small and cheesy, but I guess it works. I'd pay $1000 for one of these as a regulated pcp. Give me an integral tank, get closer to 700-800 fps in .177, and let me refill after 60 shots and I wouldn't put it down. Also, I swear Sig has to do one thing on each model to mess up scale realism. A body screw in a recess right through the mock ejection port cover in this case.

    What others should know: The keymod on this isn't real keymod and has a few "dead" spots in it due to molded in areas for screws. Actual keymod rail is thinner and has an inner bevel that keymod nuts lock in to. This is thick and has no inner bevel. Picatinny rail sections can be mounted but they will not be as solid as the real deal unless you get creative with some other hardware. It gets close, but I planned on a sling mount and I feel there is a risk of the rail section pulling off; this rifle isn't light. In no way insurmountable, but I wish I had known this before some accessories were ordered. I will try either flat m-lok nuts or some black fender washers and lock nuts to see if I can get a more positive mounting option.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles M from USA on 2017-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: I was anxious about purchasing the MCX given all of the problems reported by other reviewers. Fortunately, the MCX and accessory magazines I received worked perfectly as designed. The realism of the MCX pellet rifle is its best feature, although some features are just molded into the frame and are non-functional. The pellet magazine is the next best feature of the rifle. The pellet belts appear to be very durable. The magazine housing itself also appears to be very durable. The Air Venturi 90 g CO2 appeared to seal leak free. The magazines and the rifle operated as designed without any jams. The shot accuracy was very good. The best 10 shot groups from a bench rest at 10 meters distance to target were 0.75" each with RWS Hobby, H&N Finale Match Rifle, and H&N Match Green pellets. These shot tests were performed using a Center Point Multi-Tac Dot Sight (PY-A-3647) rather than the open sights.

    Things I would have changed: Sig Sauer should provide a 2 x 12 g CO2 accessory cylinder for the MCX for those occasions when you don't have the 88 g / 90 g cylinders or just don't want to shoot several hundred shots to consume the CO2. I have two other 2 x 12 g CO2 accessory cylinders, one for the Walther Lever Action rifle, and one for the Hammerli 850 rifle. Neither of these accessory cylinders will seal in the MCX because the cylinder stems are not long enough. The pellet seating tool is part of a small multi-tool that is also used to adjust the front and rear sights. Due to the tool's small size, it's a bit awkward to use for seating the pellets. I'd like to see Sig Sauer provide a pellet seating tool with a longer handle much like the one pictured in the Pyramyd Air blog report for the Sig Sauer MPX.

    What others should know: These are the other 10 shot groups from a bench rest at 10 meters distance to target: Crosman wad, 0.94"; Meisterkugeln Pistol, 1.5"; Meisterkugeln Rifle, 0.69"; R10 Match, 1.00"; Supermag, 1.13"; JSB Match Diabolo, 0.88"; H&N Sport, 0.88"; Match Pistol, 1.13"; Match Rifle, 1.00"; Finale Match Pistol, 0.94"; Crosman domed, 1.81"; RWS Superdome, 0.88"; Falcon, 0.88"; JSB Exact RS Diabolo, 1.56"; Exact Diabolo, 1.63"; H&N Baracuda, 0.88"; Field Target Trophy, 1.44"; Crosman pointed, 1.13"; RWS Superpoint Extra, 1.13"; H&N Spitzkugel, 1.00"; and Sig Sauer Match Ballistic Alloy, 0.81". Using an Air Venturi 90 g CO2 cylinder, the total shot count was 310 when I thought the CO2 was fully consumed. The sound of the escaping gas as the cylinder was removed suggested that there was enough CO2 for several more shots. I test fitted an empty Walther 88 g CO2 and believe that these cylinders will also seal completely in the MCX.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By G man from USA on 2017-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.264 ratings

    Things I liked: looks,experience.

    Things I would have changed: 177to 22(its competing with the Tippman SMG),its cool enough to be 1st and foremost hpa-177 is so small, why not go the whole hog and make it somewhat capable?Really can`t say about value not had it long enough-what is this key hole mount crud...better than mil pic?Now I have to buy adapters to deck it out and there fore there is little mounting space(top rail only).

    What others should know: Sorry if you like .177 I have always been a large for caliber bullet guy,in the Army hated.223.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tony from USA on 2017-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: It feels and looks real. Solid and heavy, can enjoy it fully right out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: Wish you could use an adaptor that uses 2 CO2 cartridges instead of an 88/90 gram CO2 cylinder or an HPA tank. Sometimes you just want to shot under 60 rounds and not have to leave the cylinder in the rifle to slowly breakdown the seals/orings.

    What others should know: Get an extra magazine, it's comes with 3 belts so well worth the money, it makes shooting more enjoyable when all you need to do is switch out the belts when they're preloaded.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Gary from USA on 2017-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is an awesome rifle when it works... looks and feels like an AR rifle... accurate and fires as fast as you can pull the trigger. I really really enjoyed this gun until after less than 500 rounds the gun started leaking profusely. As soon as you install the cartridge psssss till the cartridge is empty.

    Things I would have changed: Offer an adapter to use double 12 gram Co2 cartridges... the 88- & 90-gram cartridges cost twice the price for the same amount of air and usually most of us don't shoot 200 rounds and don't like leaving a co2 cartridge in the gun for extended periods.

    What others should know: Really disappointed in Pyramid Air.... contacted Pyramid Air... I'm sure this in not the only Sig MCX that has had this problem but they keep selling them. The customer service rep was absolutely no help. After 30 days you are on your own to take care of any problem with your airgun purchases.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2017-05-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: I live the look of this air gun. I originally bought it for my 7rd to plink with due to its relative cost, since I already have The Benjamin Armada Combo for backyard and range shooting. Yes there are a lot of ranges even indoor ranges that are air gun friendly as long as you are shooting lead pellets only no BB's. My son loved this air gun so I also purchased a couple m-lok rails off Amazon and bi-pod for him along with a red dot sight and three extra magazines which come with three belts each. This keeps the fun going most of the day for him with no pellet reloading. So buying extra magazines in my opinion is a must more so since you can squeeze off 30 rounds in under a minute. This is a truly fun gun.

    Things I would have changed: I wish they would offer it soon in a larger caliber other than.177. Also wish the but stock was made more durable.

    What others should know: The magazine that comes with the gun only comes with one 30 round belt. The spare magazine bought separately will come with three 30 round belts. I thought the flip up sights that came already installed where a bit cheap, but they did on our gun did come already tightly zeroed in. On another note some items ordered with this gun did not arrive even though the delivery service showed it was just dropped at my front door step Pyramydair made things right as quickly as they could. So I will purchase my next air gun and my supplies from their site. Customer service means a lot to me and my family being a disabled U.S. Army Veteran.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Shannon from USA on 2017-04-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have had the Sig Sauer MCX since 2-6-2017. The gun will not hold co2 after shooting 6 clips through it. Contacted Pyramid Air since that is were I bought it. The guy tells me to send to back to Sig. After purchasing 4 air guns from them in the last 6 months. Was expecting better customer service. If i have to send the guns back to manufacture, then i will buy direct from manufacture.

    Things I would have changed: Would not buy again!!

    What others should know: This air rifle does not meet expectations on the box!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Shawn from USA on 2017-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Honestly it's a lot of fun to shoot. My wife and I love shooting this one. Only had one malfunction when the trigger wasn't pulled all the way. I'm very happy that I bought it.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe eliminate the malfunction from a trigger not pulled all the way to the rear. And I'd love to see this in other calibers, and maybe make as a pcp so we wouldn't have to buy a conversion kit.

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation