Date: 10/12/2018 22:26
0

AirForce Texan Big. U2045. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (39 reviews)
3 star2 star

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Kevan from USA on 2015-08-19 17:27:14

Things I liked: Think Condor on steroids. The build quality is high on the Airforce scale. It begs to take deer hunting, and would be humane with good shot placement. It is superior in function as in accuracy and shot count to other production big bore airguns, specifically Korean and one custom made big bore AG that I have owned.

Things I would have changed: More information on suitable ammo and accuracy performance from Airforce.

What others should know: I'm in the early experimental phase with it (initial sight in), but I'm getting 1.5 inch 5 shot groups at 50 yards shooting a 340 grain cast bullet(.457 diameter)on a single charge. Initially Texan would discharge air through barrel when tried to fill, but after dry firing a couple of times and filling cocked it has performed flawlessly. You will need hearing protection with this AG. Recoil is about like a standard .410 shotgun. Be safe when shooting because of power of Texan. You will need a shooting environment similar to shooting a firearm(range,backstop). Caution:major cool factor. Had to wipe off the drool from next door neighbor airgun shooting enthusiast.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:5.0

By olivio from USA on 2017-07-22 12:31:39

Things I liked: I love the power of this weapon. If you love air gunning as much as I do then you would appreciate this fact but I would change a few things first.

Things I would have changed: I would change the way this rifle is powered meaning the location of the air tank. you are basically resting your face on a bomb. if something were to go wrong with the air tank while you were preparing to take a shot, it would take your head off.

What others should know: be very sure that any owner of this rifle checks and re checks the tank very carefully before any use.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Abdullah from USA on 2018-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: this gun is the very best gun made;

    Things I would have changed: nothing;

    What others should know: The Texan .457 is really a very accurate gun. And if tuned right, it is amazing. Setting your ammo to the proper setting when you dial it in on the rifle may take a few rounds to set, but once it;s there the gun will react exactly as it should. This gun is a crafted piece of equipment that's far above most other rifles. and if you check out most of the other reviews and videos by people on U-Tube, you can get a sense of just how much you can do with this gun. But one thing I will say for everyone that owns this gun is that you should get your self a deresonator which will take the vibration out of the barrel when you shoot. You can get them at Hunter Supply,and also, if you want your gun to be very quiet, like mouse farts, then you should get the Texan Short Shroud .457, it's so silent that you can't even hear the crack of the rifle. It's at Hunters Supply too.I use both because I shoot indoors when weather is nasty or too cold, or wet, I have a little over 10 meters indoors.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chris from USA on 2018-11-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Outstanding power and lots of available ammo and other aftermarket stuff for it. After trying ammo from many different sources I have settled on Nielsen Specialty for the most accurate ammo for it.

    Things I would have changed: I have never been a fan of the appearance of the AirForce design, however the more I use this the less I mind the Star Wars blaster appearance.

    What others should know: If you are looking for a high quality hunting air rifle for large game this is completely adequate. It is big, loud and has tons of power. Tuning and zeroing your Texan takes some time and attention (and a lot of air). Buy several different weights and types of ammo from different sources to find what your Texan prefers as you would any other air rifle. Fine tune with the power wheel starting at the lowest power level and work your way up slowly.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Glenn from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice gun, quality and accurate. My buddy shot it and ordered one for himself.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: If you make the jump into high out put air guns you won't regret it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By harry from USA on 2018-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: its a pin point hitter and is so great in the hitting power and so well made. and shoots as well as any rim fire rifle i have ever shot and that is many up to a 155 cannon when i was in the army. i cant say enough about this air rifle as its just perfect.

    Things I would have changed: not one thing its just as it should be

    What others should know: ya just bite the bullet as they say and go for it you will be so impressed in it yourself and enjoy this rifle

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dean from USA on 2018-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Love love love it .. what an AWESOME airgun .. Ive 4 now - bulldog / Hercules / marauder & now the Texan in 45 .. all are nice . But this one is my favorite ! Love the power & accuracy & light weight .. will be one I keep for years to come .. nice tight groups at 100 yards - powerful enough to take Arizona elk .

    Things I would have changed: For $1000 it really should have had a better buttstock . Their selling on eBay .. not really needed .. but it is a much bettter look

    What others should know: Take your time and seat the bullet / pellet good for spot accuracy .

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mick from USA on 2017-12-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: It's American Powerful ,and just simply a nail driver,took a gem out in the field ,loud but I hunt for the table ,so dont need a second shot in most cases.

    Things I would have changed: little loud,but the power that it pushes,well nothing to change for me

    What others should know: It's a little more money than I intended to spend,and that never happens with us air gunners,I'm laughing,but seriously well worth the ,'for myself', 'the investment',certainly a game changer for me and my life style,good gunning folks

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Richard from USA on 2017-12-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very powerful fairly accurate Extremely Loud and I live in the country

    Things I would have changed: $$$$$

    What others should know: Hunter's Supply ammo works well all the weights

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By olivio from USA on 2017-07-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.129 ratings

    Things I liked: I love the power of this weapon. If you love air gunning as much as I do then you would appreciate this fact but I would change a few things first.

    Things I would have changed: I would change the way this rifle is powered meaning the location of the air tank. you are basically resting your face on a bomb. if something were to go wrong with the air tank while you were preparing to take a shot, it would take your head off.

    What others should know: be very sure that any owner of this rifle checks and re checks the tank very carefully before any use.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DARRELL from USA on 2017-04-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings

    Things I liked: light an very powerful

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: this is a powerful air rifle it nothing to killdeer at 200 yards a very accuary if you get the rught ammo it worth the money

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2017-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The build and the "mechanism" are outstanding. The trigger is very nice..crisp and light......the accuracy of my new .308 is what I have dreamed of.

    Things I would have changed: I would love to see the butt stock lowered and the scope mounted close to the line of the bore. I know this won't happen, but it sure would please me.

    What others should know: In my shooting world, accuracy is King. Period. Today was my second outting with my Texan .308. I have not moved the "power wheel" from it's factory setting.....and five shot groups have been under an inch from 65 yards with JSB EXACT DIABOLO, 50.15 Gr, with 1/2 - 3/4" penetration into eucalyptus logs. I think I have died and gone to AirGun Heaven. I have also tried my home cast 65 gr bullets and they show great promise. I also tried some of my home cast 180 gr bullets normally used in my powder burners, but those were too long/heavy and were not stabilized. I believe cast bullets of 100 gr or a bit more will work in this gun. I'll let you know when time allows. My five shot groups were shot one after the other, with no air fills in between. At least six good shots without the groups showing low shots. My mind is boggled by this performance. You NEED a Texan .308......

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DARRELL from USA on 2017-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: light an powerful this gun is a beast round ball 350 220 all shoot good in 45cal

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: if you hunt big game this is the gun to get 45cal i love my 909s with tune but the taxen is just a dam beast

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2017-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the technical design, the quality of the build, and the fact that it delivers what you paid for. The trigger is exactly what you expect from AirForce, the cocking effort very light, loading is quick and easy....and it is quite accurate. I just received my .308 Texan and today was it's maiden voyage. Since it was a hasty trip, I left all three of my chronographs home. To me, accuracy is not just important, it is everything. Using a not great bench rest, scope set on 4x, and zero tuning....my fitst groups at 25 yards could be covered easily by a quarter, and a couple by a nickel. One group at 40 yards was 1 1/4". All groups started at 3000 psi and were 5 shots in a row, then refill. I am very pleased. I have not touched the power wheel, but it was about 75%. These groups were with JSB Exacts....50.15 gr. I lubed all pellets and bullets with a very light tumble lube (very gently) with a red grease from Cherrybalmz. It is very impressive.

    Things I would have changed: I would really like to see the scope right down on the barrel. I know that would complicate the trade mark design, but that would be what I would change

    What others should know: Beside the JSB's, I shot a bunch of my 65 gr short flat point bullets and they show a lot of promise, and will get more experimentation later. Just for ffun, I shot a batch of my 170 gr short flat points at 40 yards but while the group was about 3", the bullets keyholed as they were just a bit unstable. I speculate that this gun will stabilize bullets up to 100 gr, perhaps more. I am delighted with this gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gene from USA on 2016-11-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Made in USA. Like the sound and the slight recoil. Makes it feel like regular target practice. The accuracy was a surprise after seeing how crude the ammo looked. All in all a great experience. All I got was 200 rounds. If you buy this gun, get a lot of ammo. It's addictive!

    Things I would have changed: Been said over and over - Get rid of the funky dovetail rails or is that just so we have to buy an airforce bipod for twice the price? Which you can't even get?

    What others should know: Get HIGH rings to mount a scope. Still takes a bit of worming around with no normal stock and that high protruding tank. You'll figure it out - then you'll have a ball.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2016-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything about this gun is GREAT!!! I was amazed at the power of this air rifle! I had read all the reviews about it and still thought that it was just a saleing picth!! Boy was I wrong !!!

    Things I would have changed: NOT ONE THING!!

    What others should know: The gun is a little load but you can live with that !!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Power! Ease of cocking and loading. Power. Did I mention power? If you are a pinker do not buy this. If you are a hunter please buy this.

    Things I would have changed: Weaver rails please. Dovetails should be relegated to antique guns lol. Most shops around me only sell weaver mounted accessories.

    What others should know: When doing the initial fill use a scuba or carbon fiber tank. Keep the breach open. Air will leak. After that you are good to go. Use ear protection. It is not overly loud but way louder than a .22 mag but less than a .223. If you have neighbors within 100yards, police will show up. With round balls it is decent in terms of accuracy. I haven't tried hp's yet but trying to avoid air venturi and will probably give Mr. Hollowpoint a buzz. Don't let your children around this gun unless they're well trained shooters. I did let my 10 year old fire off a round but he has 2 years training prior on safety protocols. Kicks like a real firearm.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2016-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: I do not own the Texan yet.....but I will. I went to the Pyramid Air Shoot in Dover Ohio and shot this thing.........and it was.........more fun than any other air gun I've ever shot. Pyramid Air is kind enough to allow folks to try out airguns. The Texan was one of them. They also had the 25 Condor SS. Shot the Condor first. Great gun....Then the Texan 45. I aimed at a spinning target at about 40 yards.......a target that I guess I was not supposed to shoot at. I hit it......and the spinning target flew into the air and disappeared into the woods in the background. That target traveled about 25 yards in the air and landed somewhere in the back of the range. I immediately got this huge grin on my face as everyone said..."Oh wow.....did you see that?" A bunch of folks were grinning and laughing. I was hooked. They had to ask me to stop shooting and buy it already. I told them.....soon......very soon.

    Things I would have changed: My under ware after taking my first shot with this gun. More like a powder burner than an air gun.

    What others should know: This gun gets about 5 shots with each fill up. It is loud. It is long........ It is fun. It is awesome. It is accurate. It is........what an air gun should be. I am still grinning after a couple of weeks just thinking of shooting this thing. Hurry up Christmas......my gift to me. I will have to get another air tank as I will be using a whole lot more air than I am right now.

  • 5.0 5.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2016-08-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Low fill pressure, 300psi. Very air efficient, 5 shots per fill. Very powerful. Accurate. Reliable. I have around 1000 shots through mine, no trouble. Fairly light compared to traditional big bores.

    Things I would have changed: Do away with the 11mm dove tail and go with weaver. The pressure gauge on the gun is not very accurate. If you fill it to read 3000psi it is to much pressure and the gun will valve-lock. I have to show 2800 on the gauge to be at an actual 3000psi in the gun. Minor stuff. I still rate it at 5 stars! Should be offered in camo. I would like to see a shorter barrel option. They need to make it in a 600fpe .58 cal.

    What others should know: You will want 11mm dovetail to weaver adapters to use weaver style scope rings, bipod, and accessories.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mick from USA on 2016-08-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: whats not to like,really gun is light weight accurate,delivers unbelievable punch down range,and i mean way down range,never shot powder or air 200+yards with balls on power punching accuracy ,looking to purchase my own,had the abilty to test one out in P.A. insane a must have to any serious air gun hunter, or long range 'plinking'! hard to call anything this rifle does as 'plinking but!'

    Things I would have changed: nothing,ill let the pro's change what the deem needs change,as for me ,real good scope and your hunting

    What others should know: gun laws are changing every were get yours while you can,who knows what future sales and owner ship will intale,think its a great rifle and a great addition to any serious air gun hunter / marksman

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2016-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: the power is incredible, this will take down Big Game, it's accuracy is excellent with .457 cal round balls, Nielsen .457 168 grain EPP slugs and JSB .457cal pellets, you can't go wrong with this rifle

    Things I would have changed: change the dovetail rails to picatinny....

    What others should know: get the High scope rings, get a dovetail to picatinny rail adapter for mounting an after market Bipod, this thing is fairly loud but not that bad, it has a lower tone when fired, my Sumatra 2500 is louder with the higher tone crack, use .457 cal ammo, round balls work great and Nielsen ammo makes excellent ammo too, also the new JSB's .457 pellets work good too, there are a lot of ammo that works well in this gun, it is not pellet fussy, even casting your own ammo will work.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Leo from USA on 2016-07-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is by far the best one on the market today. It hits like a pissed off mule! And it has accuracy!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing airforce has this gun figured out.

    What others should know: Don't shoot this bad boy in town! Lol

     
  • 12 Next
Navigation