Date: 20/5/2019 1:25
0

Umarex Octane Air. 2251302. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (208 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Daniel from USA on 2017-07-26 22:49:46

Things I liked: What's not to like? Powerful, accurate, comfortable. I find this gun to be absolutely perfect.

Things I would have changed: Add sling mounts. Definitely not a deal breaker though.

What others should know: If you're looking for a solid dependable.22 that comes with a good scope, look no more.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Kevin from USA on 2017-03-22 07:47:57

Things I liked: Rifle has good power. I was able to take out large ground hogs trying to dig under the house. Accuracy is good. Trigger is good. Silencer works good.

Things I would have changed: The rifle is heavy but not sure how much can be done to lighten it up. Cocks hard but that probably cannot be improved much.

What others should know: Bought the rifle August 2013. Took it out of the closet to shoot a squirrel this spring March 19, 2017 and the rifle cocked way to easy. Turns out the gas piston went bad over the winter. The rifle has not even made it through half a tin of 500 pellets. Rifle was never abused or left cocked for any length of time. Nitro pistons have great power curves but it looks like they don't hold up well. I was concerned about the nitrogen leaking out of the piston over time when I purchased it. I think I will go back to a spring pistons system, there is no gas to leak out.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1011 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-06-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything.

    What others should know: The below review, that was submitted before this addendum, is from Woodys World. I do recommend this air rifle in either caliber. Get a chronograph. Woodys World.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-06-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power, price, size, and everything about it. This .177 arrived yesterday, 6/20/2018. I also have the .22 version, which I bought two and a half years ago. Shooting this one, I am already acclimated, just a different caliber. I did not opt for the Stop-Shox version, even though I thought about it. I was sold on this version, if it aint broke, it doesnt need fixing. The scope is good, I know eventually the shock may cause a need to upgrade. I already have two CenterPoints. I will change when that time come. It took me 8 shots with the Crosman Ultra Magnum 10.5 grains to zero the scope on the 2 inch target at 80 feet.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: The only modification to this is the breech seal and two shims. My opinion, all reviews should be conducted on all air rifles as they were purchased, shipped, and received, as is. After mounting the scope yesterday, I did take about 15 test shots, after cleaning the barrel, from 3 different pellets: the 10.5 grain Crosman Ultra Magnum, the 9.26 grain H&N Crow Magnum HP, and the 11.57 grain Beeman/H&N Sport Silver Arrow. I chronographed 5 shots from each. The 10.5 grn.Crosman Ultra Magnum results were: 918, 938, 929, 930, 926 fps, averaging 928 fps. The 9.26 grn H&N Crow Magnum: 1040, 1046, 1028, 1048, 1024 fps, averaging 1037 fps. The 11.57 grn Beeman/H&N Silver Arrow: 880, 887, 868, 877, 878 fps, averaging 878 fps. For accuracy, 5 shots each at a 2 inch target at 80 feet, in 79 degree weather. The Ultra Magnum and the Crow Magnum both put 3 hits in the 1 inch inner circle with the other two hitting the 2 inch target. Silver Arrow 5 shots hit together, less than a quarter inch below.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mel from USA on 2018-05-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love the gun

    Things I would have changed: too hard to cock

    What others should know: no

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenney on 2018-05-08
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: My Octane arrived 1 week ago. What an impressive beast. As with all new pellet rifles I sat down and watched golf while shooting about 250 rounds through it. Sat down to shoot targets and the groups were still a little loose. So I fired another 250 - 300 rounds through it and the break in is finished. Was then able to determine the best pellet . This gun likes the H&N Hunter and JSB Ultrashocks. I can shoot consistent 5 shot groups at 25 yards and cover them with a dime. Accuracy is excellent! Shoot around 800 rounds the first week. Now for the 1400 fps they advertised. So I got out the chronograph the results were impressive. Gamo Platinum pellets 1340 fps, screamers but useless to hunt with. H&N Terminator at 1050 fps. The H&N Hunter at 720 fps and the JSB Ultrashocks at 745 fps, real killing power for a .177. It will even shoot the Sniper mag 15 gr pellet at 580 fps. I put a UTG Red/Green dot sight with a 3x magnifier behind it. Weighs 10.2 lbs.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe make it a little longer and a little heavier...just kidding

    What others should know: This is a Big Boy Air Rifle, not for kids. Alloy pellets sound like a 22 rifle. Heavier pellets are true power killers. Take your time break it and you will be continually impressed with what this rifle will do.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Hector on 2018-04-04
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: 3 years warranty

    Things I would have changed: make it more quiet

    What others should know: This monster at 80 yards is powerful with a 6x24x50 scope bench rest set up the scope to 18 zooming one mil to the right. is very strong and loader, at 100 yards one mil 1/2 to the right perfect the rifle by default is 1200 fps with 13.5 pellets speed up to 1400 fps

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2018-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Gas piston, powerful, inexpensive and not bad looking.

    Things I would have changed: Needs to go on a diet, too heavy.

    What others should know: I've fired about 200 shots and it's still seems to be burning off excess oil. The first few shots were very loud, almost scary.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2018-02-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have the Umarex Octane .22 caliber air rifle. I like the power to value, well worth it.

    Things I would have changed: The scope is pretty good, except no mildotsn, not absolutely necessary. I did have to change, only because the reticle was loosened by the recoil shock after about two hundred rounds. Replaced it with a CenterPoint 3-9X32AO mildot scope.

    What others should know: I did purchase the Archer Air Rifle XMV breech seal and shim kit. The breech seals and shims fit Umarex and Ruger Air Rifles, both .177 and .22 caliber. Also, all airgunners should have a chronograph for pellet velocity evaluations and to determine if your air rifles/guns are losing velocity due to breech seals or piston problems. Woodys World.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kaviraz from USA on 2017-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: the power seems fine. Though I will need to fire through Chronogragh to check. It has gotten easier to cock an I have yet to fire a 75 rounds through it. It came zeroed and scope mounted.

    Things I would have changed: So far, nothing yet. I will be testing the power.

    What others should know: The gun appeared fairly easy to cock. Much easier than my Hatsan 100x vortex under-lever. I received pellet expansion of 2mm, from a distance of 16.25 feet. The pellet travelled through a half inch thick styrofoam, 3/4 inch framing ply, 1/2 inch particle board and got stuck in the dart board behind. All were lined up with virtually no space between. A few pellets almost made it through the dart board, in the same scenario. They deformed the other side of the dart board. Stay tuned.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2017-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: What's not to like? Powerful, accurate, comfortable. I find this gun to be absolutely perfect.

    Things I would have changed: Add sling mounts. Definitely not a deal breaker though.

    What others should know: If you're looking for a solid dependable.22 that comes with a good scope, look no more.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stuball56 from USA on 2017-07-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is the first air rifle I have owned since the '70's era Crossman and Benjamin pump up's. Wow! You've come a long way baby! Everyone who sees this behemoth asks if I'm deer hunting, and what caliber? I am getting to know the rifle, I have owned .22's and shotguns in the past so shooting is not totally knew to me. I have only about 100 rounds through it, and I also had the "20 for 20" service done. I figured this would prevent me from receiving a defective rifle.It seems to have done just that. I have had zero problems with the gun, other than loose screws on the scope mount, all of them! I assume this is the cause of the rifle being quite a bit off, 6 inches, target. After sighting the rifle in using H&N Baracuda Match .22 Cal, 21.14 Grains, Round Nose, a heavy pellet, it is very accurate indeed. If using a bench rest I can get dime size groups at 25 yards. I also shot some 18 grain Baracuda hollow points with very little if any change in accuracy or hit points.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is sloppy. I really must learn how to work this out of the rifle. There are tutorials available. The trigger is my only real gripe, I feel with a better trigger my shooting would improve noticeably. After paying for the 20 for 20 service I would expect the screws and mounts to be tight. They were very loose on the scope mounts.

    What others should know: If you are considering a first airgun purchase, this is a good one. Note: one must be in fairly good shape, and have full use of both arms and hands to cock this rifle. I figured out the best way for myself, which does not deviate from the manual much at all. I am very pleased with this rifle, and my main reason for purchasing it is to eliminate highly destructive groundhogs, which are getting out of hand here in West Michigan, at least on my 30 acres of alfalfa, holes all over.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2017-03-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Rifle has good power. I was able to take out large ground hogs trying to dig under the house. Accuracy is good. Trigger is good. Silencer works good.

    Things I would have changed: The rifle is heavy but not sure how much can be done to lighten it up. Cocks hard but that probably cannot be improved much.

    What others should know: Bought the rifle August 2013. Took it out of the closet to shoot a squirrel this spring March 19, 2017 and the rifle cocked way to easy. Turns out the gas piston went bad over the winter. The rifle has not even made it through half a tin of 500 pellets. Rifle was never abused or left cocked for any length of time. Nitro pistons have great power curves but it looks like they don't hold up well. I was concerned about the nitrogen leaking out of the piston over time when I purchased it. I think I will go back to a spring pistons system, there is no gas to leak out.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2017-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Update to my previous review: I've now shot about a thousand rounds through this gun. Most pellets don't go supersonic anymore, but they hit hard, fast and straight. Seat your pellets, about an eighth of an inch. I researched the gritty trigger issue online and since the "fix" involved nothing more than dismantling the trigger and polishing two parts I decided to see if it would just wear in on it's own rather than dismantle my new gun. So I oiled it up good, which helped in itself, and sure enough, after about 200 rounds or so the trigger smoothed out a great deal. I don't have the means to test the pull, but it is light enough now that it's no bother. I did wind up taking the gun out of the stock though because the screw in the barrel hinge came loose. Applied loctite, tightened, no trouble since. As for the safety that everyone complains about: I like it. I just flip it back when I put my finger in the trigger guard to shoot, don't even think about it anymore

    Things I would have changed: A little thread locker would go a long way. Weight reduction would be nice, but not at the expense of quality.

    What others should know: Great gun, great price. Shoots most any pellet I've tried reasonably well, not picky at all in that regard. I'm getting half inch and less groups at thirty yards and I feel like the gun could do more if I could. We'll see. It is a handful, especially with a heavy Leapers scope on it. Very quiet, except for that thwack when the pellet hits. I saw a good many complaints about cocking effort; don't see it myself. I put the butt of the gun on my left foot, give the barrel a tap to break the lock loose then bend at the waist to push the barrel down and cock it. Easy. I'm not in the habit of writing reviews on products, but this gun makes me want to brag. There is no comparison between my Crosman and the Umarex. Quality of design, materials, aesthetics, for just a little more than the Crosman Blaze, the Octane is an order of magnitude better. I'm thinking of buying a CO2 pistol. If I do, I'm pretty sure it'll be an Umarex.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2017-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: So far it has exceeded my expectations.

    Things I would have changed: It is a bit more difficult to cock than I expected.

    What others should know: This is NOT for youngsters. Definitely an adult airgun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2017-01-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: First off, let me say a word about Pyramyd Air's service: WOW! I ordered my Octane at 11:00am one day and had it in my hands before 9:00am the next day--for free. Hard to beat. As for the gun: I'm 61 and shot quite a bit when I was younger, air guns and firearms, but I haven't shot anything in years. I got the urge to try it again and bought a Crosman Blaze NP. Big mistake. So the Octane became my "next" gun. Straight out of the box the gun looked and felt good. Solid, a bit heavy, yes, but it balances so well you hardly notice. The first six or so shots went seriously supersonic, then it calmed down a bit, but 7.9gr. hollowpoints went supersonic more often than not. I shot about a dozen shots with the open sights, then mounted my 3-12x40 scope. In about fifteen shots I had the scope zeroed close enough to hit a 1" bullseye at 30 yards. Judging from what I've read it will take some time to break the gun in and get full accuracy, but so far I'm impressed. Time will tell

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, really. I have a quibble or two about the trigger, but I expect it will get better with wear. If not, I'm sure there's a fix, or possibly a custom trigger in it's future. This gun would be worth the thirty or forty bucks for a custom trigger.

    What others should know: One thing I'll say: If you look at the reviews on this website the vast majority are glowingly positive. Amazon has the same gun for a little less money, but read the reviews. Fifty percent negative. Now you can say that it's more likely that people who buy a gun from a site like this are more likely to be knowledgeable shooters but it's also true that often what you buy from a "discount" outlet is made to looser standards than otherwise, in order to meet the price point the discounter demands. Just a word to the wise.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eric from USA on 2017-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I'm just getting back into air gunning, these things sure have changed. I like the power, accuracy, overall quality and look of the Umarex Octane.

    Things I would have changed: Rifle could use some meat on the stock for cheek rest, can be a little uncomfortable when lining up your shot.

    What others should know: Great value, alot of power!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2016-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Powerful,accurate,well made, nice scope.

    Things I would have changed: Weight

    What others should know: Buy a lead sled for sighting in

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2016-11-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: cleaned barrel up real good then shot it same day I got it.(WHAT A PELLET RIFLE.) I'am 75 and it's a little hard to load but we GET IT DONE Shoots great with crosman ultra dome 14.3 gr.

    Things I would have changed: Make it a little easer to break the barrel to load that's about it. Make it easer for us old guy's??????????

    What others should know: BEST PRICE I COULD FIND WAS FROM PYRAMYD AIR . CAN'T BEAT THERE SERVICE ANYWERE THAT I COULD FIND .

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Noel from USA on 2016-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Being new to air guns I first bought a cheap .177 to play with then jumped up to a Gamo Hornet in .22 just to try a larger pellet with a gas piston. After learning a little about the hobby I wanted to go straight up to a magnum powered rifle with a gas piston. Researching on this site led me to the Umarex Otane and I am very happy with my purchase. Most other reviews caution that this is a picky rifle and hard for a beginner to learn. I found it easy to shoot and have had no problems thus far. It is so much stronger than my other two rifles and I am amazed at the chrony numbers. I paid for the 10 for 10 and according to the print out this rifle put out over 1500 fps for the first few shots and later settled down to about 1000 fps average using RWS hobby 11.9 gr. The scope is usable and was easy to zero in. This rifle is heavy however I actually like that as it just feels well made. I have about 250 pellets through it and so far no problems at all.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice to see a better protected front sight and maybe some type of sling attachments on future versions. This rifle will get heavy quickly.

    What others should know: Based on my own research this is a hard hitting magnum powered rifle that can give you much fun for a lower cost. There are better options however if you want a decent affordable gas piston .22 that will have fps numbers as high as any others this is a good choice.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clayton from USA on 2016-11-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great hard hitting air rifle Shoots decent groups right out of the box Rugged feel, not for the kids Vary impressed with .25 inch penetration at 80 yards into 6x6x14 inch wood block with match grade barracudas. Still on first tin of 200, probably about 20 left in there so this gun is just starting it's brake in period. I believe it's safe to say at 50 yards this air rifle will safely and humanly take small game. Great value for the pop!

    Things I would have changed: This air rifle is what it is, mid entery level (my opinion) If you have tennis elbow and want to shoot 200 plus rounds in a sitting this is not the rifle for you.

    What others should know: This air rifle should be in every ones collection After 180 shots I'm pretty sure this just became my go to snake popper for a while.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eddy from USA on 2016-10-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accuracy. Comes with scope.

    Things I would have changed: Weight.

     
  • 123 ... 1011 Next
Navigation