Daisy 5899 Peep Sight reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By lourdes from USA on 2009-06-13 22:22:57

Things I liked: The body is made of metal, not plastic, but the knobs and a few other parts are plastic. It is very accurate and easy to use. Great value for the money. Looks very nice mounted in the rifle too. It comes with instructions.

Things I would have changed: Include some type of high front sight.

What others should know: I use it with a Daisy 22SG and 880 which are not on the recommended list because the front sights of these rifles are too low for this sight. But with a little imagination you can raise or attach something to the front sight and it works great. I attached a little metal clip to the front sight to make it at least 1/4 inch higher. I guess that just about any rifle with a dove tail (3/8") will work with this sight if you can raise the front sight a little bit.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:5.0

By DG from USA on 2010-10-02 12:23:57

Things I liked: After adjustment it holds zero! For about $50, the 5899 and Daisy globe front sight provide a huge improvement over factory sights on a cheap pellet gun such as the Daisy 760. It is useful for informal 10 meter practice or plinking. This is a better way to learn to shoot than fooling around with a cheap scope.

Things I would have changed: Mount should fit a round-top receiver. Increased vertical range adjustment would be helpful. Adjustment detents could be a little more positive. Needs just a little more beef in the mount.

What others should know: For the price, one should expect it to be mostly plastic, but that seems not much of a problem. I had to flatten the receiver on the 760 (also plastic) and epoxy the barrel to the pump cylinder for accuracy - it is ugly but a quick way to stop the barrel from flopping around in the receiver. Also had to lower the front sight to compensate for inadequate height adjustment in the rear.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Philip from USA on 2015-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the second sight I have bought, because of the reasons I stated in my first review of this product. (lots of adjustment, well made.)This sight makes for excellent accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Philips screws need to be changed to socket heads.

    What others should know: The sight will fit many 3/8 dovetails on guns, but it was necessary to clear out some material on the underside of the sight to fit the crown on my Crosman rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Philip from USA on 2015-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made sight with lots of adjustment, mounts solid to dovetail, looks super.

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of philips screws and put socket head screws for clamp.

    What others should know: Works great on my webley rebel with 1/2 riser block to clear bolt. also works well with my crosmsn 2400 with steel breach. gotta buy another one as soon as available.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Junichiro from USA on 2014-04-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I put this sight on my Daisy 953. It really works. I love its accuracy, good design, and the price.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2014-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This sight is very good for my Junior Basic Marksmanship class.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: no

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ralland from USA on 2014-02-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Daisy 5899 Peep Sight is well worth the price. Sight adjustments are positive and precise and, because of its light weight, the sight is not affected by recoil, staying in position rather than slipping to the rear in the mounting grooves.

    Things I would have changed: I would prefer a smaller aperture.

    What others should know: The Daisy 5899 Peep sight can be used on a Crosman 1377 pistol equipped with a steel breech kit and a longer .177 barrel. A standard barrel weight and front sight from a Daisy 953 air rifle are required, but like the 5899 sight they are relatively inexpensive and easy to mount. While the height of the standard barrel weight and sight are ideal, I found the Daisy hooded front sight too high to be of use.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stuart from England on 2013-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent clean quality build, easy and accurate to adjust,looks good

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: In use enables deadly accurate grouping size of 2 pence or a nickel at 10m which is double BB guns intended range so ecellent.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2012-05-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to use, enjoyable to use. Works great.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I've never used a sight like this before, but I put it on my Daisy 953 and actually prefer this sight to my Bug Buster scope for this gun. I sighted it in very easily, and it has stayed right on target. I use it for approximately 10 to 20 yards, which is exactly what this gun was designed for. Works far better than the factory iron sights. Perfect upgrade for my 953, and worth every penny.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Hellhound from USA on 2012-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Aperture sight like a military rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, works fine as is.

    What others should know: The best upgrade for a Daisy 953! I use it with the original fiber optic front sight and can shoot pellets through the same hole on the paper target repeatedly.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DG from USA on 2010-10-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: After adjustment it holds zero! For about $50, the 5899 and Daisy globe front sight provide a huge improvement over factory sights on a cheap pellet gun such as the Daisy 760. It is useful for informal 10 meter practice or plinking. This is a better way to learn to shoot than fooling around with a cheap scope.

    Things I would have changed: Mount should fit a round-top receiver. Increased vertical range adjustment would be helpful. Adjustment detents could be a little more positive. Needs just a little more beef in the mount.

    What others should know: For the price, one should expect it to be mostly plastic, but that seems not much of a problem. I had to flatten the receiver on the 760 (also plastic) and epoxy the barrel to the pump cylinder for accuracy - it is ugly but a quick way to stop the barrel from flopping around in the receiver. Also had to lower the front sight to compensate for inadequate height adjustment in the rear.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2010-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent upgrade to Daisy 953. One rugged hole groups from rest at 10 meters. Scope was giving too much magnification making it hard to quickly acquire the target. Started shooting off hand since it was no fun to make one hole groups anymore. Installed along with Daisy front sight.

    Things I would have changed: I don't know about others, but for my 953, 10 meters setting hast to be the highest possible for this sight (that's with front sight changed as well). No big deal since my shooting area is no longer than this but if someone wants to shoot it farther they would have to install it more forward therefore causing the whole sight being slightly elevated by resting on the receiver.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alex from USA on 2010-04-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Makes my Daisy 953 very accurate. Easy to install and easy to adjust for windage and elevation.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: If you want to improve on accuracy, and don't want to go the scope route, this is the product to buy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By lourdes from USA on 2009-06-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: The body is made of metal, not plastic, but the knobs and a few other parts are plastic. It is very accurate and easy to use. Great value for the money. Looks very nice mounted in the rifle too. It comes with instructions.

    Things I would have changed: Include some type of high front sight.

    What others should know: I use it with a Daisy 22SG and 880 which are not on the recommended list because the front sights of these rifles are too low for this sight. But with a little imagination you can raise or attach something to the front sight and it works great. I attached a little metal clip to the front sight to make it at least 1/4 inch higher. I guess that just about any rifle with a dove tail (3/8") will work with this sight if you can raise the front sight a little bit.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Tom from USA on 2008-05-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: You really should have this sight for a 499 Champion, because the sight that comes on the gun is too imprecise to adjust accurately. This one adjusts with knobs, so you have a sense of what you are doing. It is very easy to install.

    Things I would have changed: I wish Daisy could redesign this sight for greater precision. The adjustments are sloppy and often don't go where the shooter thinks they should.

    What others should know: You have to get familiar with this sight and its slop, but once you do, it's far better than the peep sight that comes on the 499.

Navigation