Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Hill Pump MK3, Up to 3300 PSI reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    By Vernon from USA on 2011-09-26 14:00:43

    Things I liked:I got a Hill MK3 pump because the farm is 100 miles from the nearest filling place. I completely emptied a Sam Yang dual tank Dragon Claw rifle to see how long it would take me to fill the gun by pumping and it took 700 pumps to reach 3000 psi. From 2000 to 2500 psi takes 100 pumps and you have to stop to let the pump cool down. 2500-3000 psi takes closer to 120 pumps and takes quite a bit of effort on both the up and down stroke. I had been filling the gun inside an air conditioned house without using the desiccant. When I went to the farm, the humidity increased throughout the day and I swear it got harder to pump the more humid it got. I never did see any water vapor from the gun on any of my shots so that indicates to me the desiccant was adequately removing the water vapor.
    Things I would have changed:Pump does what it’s supposed to do, produce high pressure at low volume. In 80°F weather I can do 50 strokes at 2000-3000 psi before the pump gets warm. Change the hose length, 1 foot is way to short! Make the base bigger. It works but you have to be on something hard, on anything slighty soft you start burying the pump.
    What others should know:If filling a gun from zero pressure, you can pump a couple hundred times before the pump gets warm. When you get the pump, take off the bottom brass guide of the outer cover and check for debris. Mine had a piece of the o-ring in the threads.
    3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    By John from USA on 2012-11-19 23:25:58

    Things I liked:Sturdy...works well. Can get a 3000+ charge on my Maurader.
    Things I would have changed:Hate...seriously hate the very short hose. WTH?!?! I have to lay the rifle on the ground when I use the pump and it started to scratch the gun. I resorted to laying out a towel or using the plano case. Still it is very awkward to use with such a short hose. Need at lease 2-3 foot hose rather than a 1 foot hose.
    What others should know:Better eat your wheaties...if you're below 2000 PSI, its going to take some work to pump back up to 3000 PSI. I rarely go below 2000 PSI to avoid this.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Gary from USA on 2014-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a very good pump. Very pricy but you get a great pump that can be rebuilt. Good carry over until you can afford a tank set up and then a great back up.
      Things I would have changed:Make the foot plate a little larger, and the hose twice as long.
      What others should know:This pump is very manageable if you are an average sized person. YOu need to take your time. Will give you a real work out if you are in a hurry. Just remember to complete both the up and down stroke to the stop, as it will give you better fill rate.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Blaine from USA on 2014-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I was skeptical about buying a hand pump vs. refilling by scuba tank. I'm glad I got the Hill pump. Refilling my talon isn't as bad as I read since I only shoot down to 2000psi. Parts are available if you need em' to repair this pump or rebuild it, beats buying a new one. I don't have to chase down a place to refill the scuba tank, I can pump all the free air I want.
      Things I would have changed:Longer air supply hose
      What others should know:I would not recommend if you are less than 150lbs as you need to put some weight into the down stroke to finish it when you get up to 2500-3000psi.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2014-06-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well built pump. One of the few that can be completely rebuilt.
      Things I would have changed:The hose is very short.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Colynn from USA on 2014-06-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pump is of great quality. Easier to pump with compared to a Benjamin pump.
      Things I would have changed:The hose that comes with this is pathetic. You have about 6 inches of wiggle room with it cause it's very stiff. It takes alot of pumps just to pressure up the hose. For $300 is I feel like they should include a long microbore hose and not pawn that cost onto me.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Bill from USA on 2014-06-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is a great hand pump. The best out there.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:You will always have a good air supply with you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2014-06-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a quality pump. It's well made and very solid. I chose this over other brands because it's ok for the owner to service/rebuild it when it needs it. Hill sells rebuild kits for this purpose.
      Things I would have changed:I think the provided fill hose is too short. I bought a micro bore hose that is 24 inches long and it makes filling my airgun much easier.
      What others should know:Hand pumps are not for everyone. It is fairly strenuous to fill a Marauder to 3000 psi.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2014-05-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The build quality is excellent. The pump works great with no problems.
      Things I would have changed:I wish the included hose was more flexible and maybe just a little longer.
      What others should know:This was the first and only pump I have owned. Based on my experience I would recommend this pump to anyone.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By jeffrey from USA on 2014-04-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very sturdy pump, well built, awesome air filter and moisture intake, foot rest seem large enough to hold pump straight when using, doesn't seem to want to slip out from under you while using, also an easy read gauge while pumping.
      Things I would have changed:A longer hose and quick disconnects would be a nice option when purchasing.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Ryan from USA on 2014-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Been using it for about a month now, and its been pretty consistent filling my m-rod to 3k psi. Its nice knowing I won't run out of air.
      Things I would have changed:The fill hose could use a few more inches on it, I have to fold my bipod up to get it connected.
      What others should know:You will have to buy a quick connect to fill your gun if you don't have one already.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Ricka from USA on 2014-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Good construction and solid build and looks nice for a pump.
      Things I would have changed:INSTRUCTIONS, horrible not having a manual and instruction pictures on the side of the box? What's that about?
      What others should know:This pump is very nice for a pump and worth the money because it is rebuild able. I use it to charge a Marauder .25cal and have had no problems. Don't waste money on other pumps just buy this one it will last and it'rebuilable! If you think your not pumping right just go on the forums and YouTube to find good tips.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2014-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great pump. Was concerned when I ordered it because most reviews here and on other online sites indicated it was very hard and tedious to pump to 3000 psi. I am 59 and in pretty decent shape but can'T believe how easy this pump works. I pump my daystate regal to 3200 psi in less than 3 min from 2000 psi.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a 90 degree fitting on pump and longer hose. 90 degree swivel fitting would be nice.
      What others should know:I watched 1 video on you tube that showed a guy using a board for leverage to use this pump. Made me question ordering this pump but turns out the video was rediculous once I saw how easy the pump was to use. I suppose if you are very small or in terrible shape you may want to consider other options. I love the quality of the pump.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Jeffrey L from USA on 2014-03-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's very well made.
      Things I would have changed:It was very expensive and I still had to buy a $25 connector to fit my Benjamin Discovery. The hose is very short.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Please delete acct from USA on 2014-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Sturdy Can be rebuilt Filters humidity from incoming air. This will help pump life and keep water out of air gun chamber.
      Things I would have changed:Price a bit high for a glorified bicycle pump. Include longer hose, its only 1 foot. (that is cheap for a 300.00 pump, come on guys think. Include common adaptors for air guns.
      What others should know:You can go slow with stiff arms or if you have any muscle tone to speak of can use arms to speed up process. Figure around 2-3 pumps per shot taken to fill gun back up.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-03-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Simple to set up after unboxing. Works great. The desiccant over the intake was a great selling point for me over the Benjamin pump. Very happy with the purchase.
      Things I would have changed:Could use better documentation overall. I was able to figure everything out, but the pictures on the back of the box are not exactly the most informative. Some tear-down instructions would be nice, since this pump can be rebuilt without voiding the warranty (but I am sure a Google search will provide the necessary information). Addition of a 2 foot hose would be welcome.
      What others should know:I had hoped that the hose would be long enough to fill my Marauder resting on its bipod but, alas, the gun must lay on its side on the floor/ground in order to be charged. The hose is just too short. It is a minor beef, but one that almost every one reviewing the product has pointed out. It did not come as a huge surprise. But make no mistake: this is a quality product that does exactly what it is supposed to do and does it very well. Since I opted not to go with a tank for an air supply (not easy to get a fill around here), I decided to spend the extra dosh and get this instead. Reviews from folks who went with a Benjamin pump and then bought this one were compelling enough to make me cut to the chase and just start here.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Chris from USA on 2014-03-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The pump feels very solidly made, keeping with Hill's stellar reputation. Assembly was easy with directions in the form of pictures and diagrams. Smooth pump stroke and easy to use. With proper maintenance this pump should last a lifetime.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Everything works as intended. Yes, this pump is more expensive than others, but if you buy the best you can afford and you'll have no regrets.
      What others should know:Shooting is more fun than pumping. That being said, pumping is not the nightmare some people would have you believe. Use good form and take a break every 50 or so strokes to prevent the pump (and yourself) from heating up. This will save your and the pumps o-rings. Also, when begining to fill my gun it requires 2 very fast pumps to seat the fill probe in the gun and open the check valve.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Cheung from USA on 2014-02-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very solid/sturdy pump. Does get harder as pressure increase but the trick is to go all the way up stop for a second then go all the way down and stop for a second. Also don't use your arms, instead lock your elbows and bend you knees so your weight is pushing down. Takes 50 pumps to fill my synthetic mrod back up to 3ksi after 30 shoots.
      Things I would have changed:Needs longer hose, 4ft would be good
      What others should know:get an extension hose
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Christopher from USA on 2014-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Pumps up my Talon SS fairly easily.
      Things I would have changed:Lower the price and include a free foster quick-connect and maybe a packet of silicon grease.
      What others should know:You need to provide you own adapters if you plan on using it to fill a PCP with a foster disconnect.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Joey from USA on 2014-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Feels like quality the second I took it out of the box. Works well and feels like it should hold together for a long time if it is kept clean and lubed properly.
      Things I would have changed:I havent found any obvious forseen problems yet.
      What others should know:Well, if its a rebuildable pump, that really should sell anyone!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By jesse from USA on 2014-01-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pumps my marauder pistol quickly I haven't counted but it takes less than 2 minutes to get it full resting every few strokes so it doesn't overheat
      Things I would have changed:send some connections for common fill adapters
      What others should know:buy some of the recommended lube for the pump it's important to maintain your equipment
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Christopher J from USA on 2014-01-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:You now have unlimited, anytime,anywhere HPA refills. never need worry about an empty or low fill tank or the scuba shop being closed.
      Things I would have changed:a little longer hose would be good but with my Talon SS I just rotate the spinlock tank so the gauge points up at 45 deg which makes it easier to see it and the foster valve is pointing at a 45 degree angle downward and the hose just makes a gentle curve up to connect. this works well if you use a LOW Harris bipod or similar, it is problem solved to connect and fill the tank on the gun.
      What others should know:Takes a bit of effort but not bad, I was pleasantly suprised how easy it was after you get used to pumping the correct way with body weight doing the majority of the work
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top