Hill Pump MK3, Up to 3300 PSI reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

By Vernon from USA on 2011-09-26 14:00:43

Things I liked: I got a Hill MK3 pump because the farm is 100 miles from the nearest filling place. I completely emptied a Sam Yang dual tank Dragon Claw rifle to see how long it would take me to fill the gun by pumping and it took 700 pumps to reach 3000 psi. From 2000 to 2500 psi takes 100 pumps and you have to stop to let the pump cool down. 2500-3000 psi takes closer to 120 pumps and takes quite a bit of effort on both the up and down stroke. I had been filling the gun inside an air conditioned house without using the desiccant. When I went to the farm, the humidity increased throughout the day and I swear it got harder to pump the more humid it got. I never did see any water vapor from the gun on any of my shots so that indicates to me the desiccant was adequately removing the water vapor.

Things I would have changed: Pump does what it’s supposed to do, produce high pressure at low volume. In 80°F weather I can do 50 strokes at 2000-3000 psi before the pump gets warm. Change the hose length, 1 foot is way to short! Make the base bigger. It works but you have to be on something hard, on anything slighty soft you start burying the pump.

What others should know: If filling a gun from zero pressure, you can pump a couple hundred times before the pump gets warm. When you get the pump, take off the bottom brass guide of the outer cover and check for debris. Mine had a piece of the o-ring in the threads.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

By William from USA on 2014-11-08 10:21:02

Things I liked: Very high quality. Extremely well made

What others should know: This pump is very hard to use. You need to be in excellent physical shape to use it. I was never able to charge my Recluse above 1500 psi.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 67 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By joe wilson from USA on 2015-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: it works very well

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: i am 62 years old i can pump 3000 lbs but it takes a while i have to rest

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By stephen from USA on 2015-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Straight forward set up and easy assembly. Reliable and accurate pressure gauge, always agrees with the gauge on my rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing that I have found.

    What others should know: Works as advertised.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Hemn Mahmmod from Albania on 2015-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Overall this Pump is really Top, and works even better than advertised, i had one and sold to my friend, he has 2 Diana P1000, he is continuously filling his both Dianas up to 300 bar with this Hill pump, and till now the hill pump is works very good,,, last year i bought 3 and this year i have my order placed for 5 more,,,1 for myself and rests for my friends,,

    Things I would have changed: no thing,,, it is perfect...

    What others should know: you need to let the pump for some time after pumping until the pump will cool down. if you repair it each month( cleaning & re-lubing parts and o-rings) this pump will late for years ,,,,

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2015-01-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pumps easier than the Benji pump.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: If you are going to hand pump a PCP to 3000 psi. just get a Hill. The Benjamin Pump works too hard getting to that psi and you'll be rebuilding it quite a bit.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Rafael from USA on 2014-12-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: excelent quality

    Things I would have changed: a longer hose

    What others should know: very short and uncomfortable hose

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By dljrocket from USA on 2014-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works as advertised. I like the Dry-Pac system to help remove moisture.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Works very well and pumps up the small reservoir on my Benjamin Marauder pistol quickly.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jeremiah from USA on 2014-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Simplicity of setup. Easy to use.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: If you are lazy do not buy this pump.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By wayne from USA on 2014-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I can throw my treadmill and exercise equipment away because this is all I need for a good workout.

    Things I would have changed: The price.

    What others should know: I am going to buy a tank because this pump is just not practical if you want to do much shooting. Way too much work.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2014-12-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Great pump. it works as its designed.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. Its a pump, it pumps air.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2014-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made product.

    Things I would have changed: none.

    What others should know: If you are more than 5' 9" tall, you may experience back pain from pumping this more than a few times.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2014-11-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I read lots of reviews before purchasing this pump. Not disappointed very good quality. Bit of a cardio workout filling my Hatsan but very doable.

    Things I would have changed: Put some written instructions on the box! The instructions are all in funky pictures. One set of which neither I or my wife could figure out what it meant to say.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BW-dtx from USA on 2014-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good Quality and Rebuildable

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: I have found that if you pull the handle all the way up and hold it up for 5 seconds or more, then smoothly and briskly push all the way down and HOLD for 10 to 15 seconds AT THE BOTTOM of the stroke you will need less strokes. This becomes more important as the pressure goes over 2000 psi. On my Mrod, I can get 30 psi rise on each stroke (in the 2000-3000 range) by doing this. I use a large 4 1/2" 5000 psi industrial gauge in the charge line to monitor pressure and to verify that the little gauges are correct.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By William from USA on 2014-11-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very high quality. Extremely well made

    What others should know: This pump is very hard to use. You need to be in excellent physical shape to use it. I was never able to charge my Recluse above 1500 psi.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2014-10-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: If you have to use a hand pump to charge your air rifle, this is the best pump you could purchase, a little on the expensive side, but as had been said many times, " you get what you pay for " definitely a high quality pump, very well made.

    Things I would have changed: I added a extension on to the hose that comes with the pump and it could still be a bit longer to facilitate a easier fill.

    What others should know: Start out with the best and you will have no regrets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2014-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Got it on sale w/free shipping , I loved that part. It's also well made w/ brass fittings and stainless and rebuildable.It's my first pump so its hard for me to rate it vs other pumps. I'm quite impressed with it though no cheap plastic on it anywhere.Takes about twenty or so pumps to fill my Marauder from 2kpsi to 3k psi.

    Things I would have changed: Design a way to make them automatic -

    What others should know: First fill , get warmed up... .

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chad from USA on 2014-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Life Time Warranty and Replacement Parts without voiding the warranty. Filters out moisture.

    Things I would have changed: LONGER HOSE. Swivel hose or fill connection like a foster fitting.

    What others should know: I have an Air Arms S510 and I use the Hill Pump MK3 to fill to 200 BAR or 2900 PSI with a little elbow grease towards the end. Its not as bad a people would lead you to believe, I've found its really all in your technique.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By The Dicker from USA on 2014-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to assemble and operate.

    Things I would have changed: It needs a longer,more flexible hose.

    What others should know: At 153 pounds, it is fairly difficult for me to execute the last couple of strokes to fully maximize the pressure for the HW 100.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bruce from USA on 2014-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This Hill Pump MK3 is very well made and very comfortable to pump up my HPA tanks . It is so much better than my previous Air Force pump which failed in short order. My pump was shipped to me very quickly, Pyramyd Air has excellent service.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I did not like was that the Hill Pump did not come with a quick disconnect fitting. It has to be ordered, fortunately I took the hose and quick disconnect fitting off my Air Force pump and it screwed on perfectly on my Hill Pump.

    What others should know: The Hill Pump has a lifetime warrantee and it is rebuild able if repairs are needed. It also has an air filter and air dryer on it which should enhance reliability and fill your tanks and PCP guns with clean air. The Hill Pump might cost a bit more but it is worth the extra cost. I highly recommend this item.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clay from USA on 2014-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well built and like the inlet filtering

    Things I would have changed: A big fellow to make the handle move up and down.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Paul from USA on 2014-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: When it was new it seemed to work fine. A month later with not much use it started getting harder to pump. Sent it back twice to be repaired, never worked right again.

    What others should know: Have a Benjamin pump I got before the Hill and the Benjamin is still going strong after over a year of heavy use.

  • 123 ... 67 Next
Navigation