Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Hill Pump MK3, Up to 3300 PSI reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    By Vernon from USA on 2011-09-26 14:00:43

    Things I liked:I got a Hill MK3 pump because the farm is 100 miles from the nearest filling place. I completely emptied a Sam Yang dual tank Dragon Claw rifle to see how long it would take me to fill the gun by pumping and it took 700 pumps to reach 3000 psi. From 2000 to 2500 psi takes 100 pumps and you have to stop to let the pump cool down. 2500-3000 psi takes closer to 120 pumps and takes quite a bit of effort on both the up and down stroke. I had been filling the gun inside an air conditioned house without using the desiccant. When I went to the farm, the humidity increased throughout the day and I swear it got harder to pump the more humid it got. I never did see any water vapor from the gun on any of my shots so that indicates to me the desiccant was adequately removing the water vapor.
    Things I would have changed:Pump does what it’s supposed to do, produce high pressure at low volume. In 80°F weather I can do 50 strokes at 2000-3000 psi before the pump gets warm. Change the hose length, 1 foot is way to short! Make the base bigger. It works but you have to be on something hard, on anything slighty soft you start burying the pump.
    What others should know:If filling a gun from zero pressure, you can pump a couple hundred times before the pump gets warm. When you get the pump, take off the bottom brass guide of the outer cover and check for debris. Mine had a piece of the o-ring in the threads.
    0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By William from USA on 2014-11-08 10:21:02

    Things I liked:Very high quality. Extremely well made
    What others should know:This pump is very hard to use. You need to be in excellent physical shape to use it. I was never able to charge my Recluse above 1500 psi.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By wayne from USA on 2014-12-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I can throw my treadmill and exercise equipment away because this is all I need for a good workout.
      Things I would have changed:The price.
      What others should know:I am going to buy a tank because this pump is just not practical if you want to do much shooting. Way too much work.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Edward from USA on 2014-12-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great pump. it works as its designed.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Its a pump, it pumps air.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2014-12-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well made product.
      Things I would have changed:none.
      What others should know:If you are more than 5' 9" tall, you may experience back pain from pumping this more than a few times.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2014-11-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I read lots of reviews before purchasing this pump. Not disappointed very good quality. Bit of a cardio workout filling my Hatsan but very doable.
      Things I would have changed:Put some written instructions on the box! The instructions are all in funky pictures. One set of which neither I or my wife could figure out what it meant to say.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By BW-dtx from USA on 2014-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good Quality and Rebuildable
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I have found that if you pull the handle all the way up and hold it up for 5 seconds or more, then smoothly and briskly push all the way down and HOLD for 10 to 15 seconds AT THE BOTTOM of the stroke you will need less strokes. This becomes more important as the pressure goes over 2000 psi. On my Mrod, I can get 30 psi rise on each stroke (in the 2000-3000 range) by doing this. I use a large 4 1/2" 5000 psi industrial gauge in the charge line to monitor pressure and to verify that the little gauges are correct.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By William from USA on 2014-11-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very high quality. Extremely well made
      What others should know:This pump is very hard to use. You need to be in excellent physical shape to use it. I was never able to charge my Recluse above 1500 psi.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Fred from USA on 2014-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:If you have to use a hand pump to charge your air rifle, this is the best pump you could purchase, a little on the expensive side, but as had been said many times, " you get what you pay for " definitely a high quality pump, very well made.
      Things I would have changed:I added a extension on to the hose that comes with the pump and it could still be a bit longer to facilitate a easier fill.
      What others should know:Start out with the best and you will have no regrets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2014-09-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Got it on sale w/free shipping , I loved that part. It's also well made w/ brass fittings and stainless and rebuildable.It's my first pump so its hard for me to rate it vs other pumps. I'm quite impressed with it though no cheap plastic on it anywhere.Takes about twenty or so pumps to fill my Marauder from 2kpsi to 3k psi.
      Things I would have changed:Design a way to make them automatic -
      What others should know:First fill , get warmed up... .
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Chad from USA on 2014-09-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Life Time Warranty and Replacement Parts without voiding the warranty. Filters out moisture.
      Things I would have changed:LONGER HOSE. Swivel hose or fill connection like a foster fitting.
      What others should know:I have an Air Arms S510 and I use the Hill Pump MK3 to fill to 200 BAR or 2900 PSI with a little elbow grease towards the end. Its not as bad a people would lead you to believe, I've found its really all in your technique.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By The Dicker from USA on 2014-09-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to assemble and operate.
      Things I would have changed:It needs a longer,more flexible hose.
      What others should know:At 153 pounds, it is fairly difficult for me to execute the last couple of strokes to fully maximize the pressure for the HW 100.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Bruce from USA on 2014-08-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This Hill Pump MK3 is very well made and very comfortable to pump up my HPA tanks . It is so much better than my previous Air Force pump which failed in short order. My pump was shipped to me very quickly, Pyramyd Air has excellent service.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I did not like was that the Hill Pump did not come with a quick disconnect fitting. It has to be ordered, fortunately I took the hose and quick disconnect fitting off my Air Force pump and it screwed on perfectly on my Hill Pump.
      What others should know:The Hill Pump has a lifetime warrantee and it is rebuild able if repairs are needed. It also has an air filter and air dryer on it which should enhance reliability and fill your tanks and PCP guns with clean air. The Hill Pump might cost a bit more but it is worth the extra cost. I highly recommend this item.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Clay from USA on 2014-08-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well built and like the inlet filtering
      Things I would have changed:A big fellow to make the handle move up and down.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Paul from USA on 2014-07-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:When it was new it seemed to work fine. A month later with not much use it started getting harder to pump. Sent it back twice to be repaired, never worked right again.
      What others should know:Have a Benjamin pump I got before the Hill and the Benjamin is still going strong after over a year of heavy use.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Gary from USA on 2014-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is a very good pump. Very pricy but you get a great pump that can be rebuilt. Good carry over until you can afford a tank set up and then a great back up.
      Things I would have changed:Make the foot plate a little larger, and the hose twice as long.
      What others should know:This pump is very manageable if you are an average sized person. YOu need to take your time. Will give you a real work out if you are in a hurry. Just remember to complete both the up and down stroke to the stop, as it will give you better fill rate.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Blaine from USA on 2014-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I was skeptical about buying a hand pump vs. refilling by scuba tank. I'm glad I got the Hill pump. Refilling my talon isn't as bad as I read since I only shoot down to 2000psi. Parts are available if you need em' to repair this pump or rebuild it, beats buying a new one. I don't have to chase down a place to refill the scuba tank, I can pump all the free air I want.
      Things I would have changed:Longer air supply hose
      What others should know:I would not recommend if you are less than 150lbs as you need to put some weight into the down stroke to finish it when you get up to 2500-3000psi.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2014-06-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well built pump. One of the few that can be completely rebuilt.
      Things I would have changed:The hose is very short.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Colynn from USA on 2014-06-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pump is of great quality. Easier to pump with compared to a Benjamin pump.
      Things I would have changed:The hose that comes with this is pathetic. You have about 6 inches of wiggle room with it cause it's very stiff. It takes alot of pumps just to pressure up the hose. For $300 is I feel like they should include a long microbore hose and not pawn that cost onto me.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Bill from USA on 2014-06-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is a great hand pump. The best out there.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:You will always have a good air supply with you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2014-06-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a quality pump. It's well made and very solid. I chose this over other brands because it's ok for the owner to service/rebuild it when it needs it. Hill sells rebuild kits for this purpose.
      Things I would have changed:I think the provided fill hose is too short. I bought a micro bore hose that is 24 inches long and it makes filling my airgun much easier.
      What others should know:Hand pumps are not for everyone. It is fairly strenuous to fill a Marauder to 3000 psi.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2014-05-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The build quality is excellent. The pump works great with no problems.
      Things I would have changed:I wish the included hose was more flexible and maybe just a little longer.
      What others should know:This was the first and only pump I have owned. Based on my experience I would recommend this pump to anyone.
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top