Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Alfa Proj Competition PCP Pistol reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2010-02-08 13:11:51

    Things I liked:The quality is excellent, AirArms all the way..... A trigger smooth as glass, great adjustable sights, very consistent, the looks are beautiful and and everything is in the right place, wouldn't move or change a thing..
    Things I would have changed:Would add a pressure gauge, like the one used on AirArms rifles. It would be nice to know what was there, even though with the regulator it is very consistent...
    What others should know:This target pistol likes "LEAD ONLY PELLETS." No gold plated, copper washed FTS and Raptor. Both have been stuck about 2" from the muzzle. This requires a wooden dowel, as not to scratch the barrel rifling, from the muzzle to loosen it up, pushing the pellet back a little then firing it out. That's how I took care of it, and STOPPED USING the plated pellets. Must be very careful because these barrels are "cold wrapped." They are not hardened like a conventional firearm and the fine rifling can be easily damaged with a metal tool.... But the LEAD ONLY PELLETS work great...
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Sandy from USA on 2011-11-26 11:40:33

    Things I liked:I like the looks and feel of the gun. I like the fact that the bolt is spring loaded to make opening it a bit easier. I like the feel of the grip in my hand unlike my Baical IZH-46M which digs into my palm and is much too big for my hand.
    Things I would have changed:A bit better quality control
    What others should know:I really like this gun, but as I write this it has been back to Pyramyd Air for 5 days and I am waiting to hear the disposition of the gun. For starters, the probe did not work properly. When attempting to fill it with air, there was an air leak out of a relief hole on the body of the probe. There is a ball bearing that is supposed to seal that hole during filling, but there was something not right. Also, although I found the gun very accurate, it was difficult to sight in on a bench rest in that the rear sight needed to be set to max elevation to get to the center of the bull leaving no room for further up adjustment if needed. When I would shoot the gun, the rear sight continually loosened which I tightened by tightening the grip with a supplied tool. When I sent the gun back, the sight was literally rattling when I shook the gun. I'm not sure if this particular gun was a lemon but I have asked to either have it replaced with a new gun, or simply refund my money - I have had enough of this particular one. I am hoping that whatever the disposition is, I get a flawlessly functioning gun, because I do like the gun (if it only functioned as it is supposed to).
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Nick from USA on 2014-03-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very accurate, fun to shoot, easy to fill with air
      Things I would have changed:i would have the quick disconnect instead of the adapter they use.
      What others should know:i shoot this at rangers from 15 feet to 40 feet and i get one hole groups less the MOA. i usually shoot out the red in the bulls eye on all target.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By motorcycle_dan from USA on 2013-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:lightweight easy for youth to use. Reason for purchase was so youth could use at our 4H air pistol league. Works very well for that. I wish the PCP tank held more air but that would add weight so I'm happy as is. Very accurate. Simple to operate, left or right grip. Very nice.
      Things I would have changed:Not much unless you could get the price below 500 or include all the fittings to use scuba tank.
      What others should know:For the price best deal going. As accurate as a IZH but PCP and small grip ideal for youth.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2013-05-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality fit and finish. Accuracy and trigger. This is the only real entry level 10 meter match pistol. Ridiculous value for the money when compared to other match pistols.
      Things I would have changed:Grips are ambi. Meaning the don't fit a lefty OR righty! Yuck. Nothing I can't fix with a dremel tool though. So maybe it's not a bad thing after all since it can be adapted to r or l hand. No palm shelf on grip. Would have been nice-
      What others should know:This should be your first serious competitive 10 meter pistol. I ordered the right handed adjustable palm shelf grips on back order. We will see how they do on the gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Virgilio from USA on 2013-05-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like very much its design, workmanship, extreme accuracy, balance and ergonomics. I consider it an entry level match grade air pistol. I appreciate that it comes with a spare set of O rings.
      Things I would have changed:I only can get 80 shots max out of it. I wish it could go to 100 shots out of the box. I know I can adjust the power level to achieve that capacity. I wish it came with a right hand wood grip. I had to modify (sandpaper) the ambidextrous grip slightly to fit my hand - middle finger. I wish it came with a hard side case. I had to purchase a quad pistol case.
      What others should know:I had a problem with air leaking from the brass adapter's relief hole. I could not fill it up to use it. I eventually was able to fix the leak by using a tiny amount of modeling clay. It took about a day of trial and error to find the solution. I would have returned the pistol if I did not fix this problem. I wish PyramydAir had replacement fill adapters available.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By robert from USA on 2013-05-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Absolutely everything. This pistol is on par with any 10 meter pcp at twice the price. Great trigger, superb accuracy, and outstanding balance. It is very user friendly, a pleasure to own and shoot.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:I've tested several brands of pellets and I found crosman premier super match wadcutters group the best in my gun. Sometimes the most expensive pellets are not always the best choice.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2012-07-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Awesome pistol, I would give it six stars for accuracy. Points well for me without the weight. I get about 80 shots before I have to refill.
      Things I would have changed:As others have said I wish the weight was in 4 one ounce pieces. A gauage for the air tank would be good.
      What others should know:For the shot count I use the hundred pellet shot box and when I have used eighty I fill both the box and the pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mary from USA on 2012-06-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accuracy, many sighting options and trigger adjustability
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:this is an excellent air pistol. the ergonomics are wonderful. the weight is much less than many of its competitors. the accuracy is beyond reproach and it shoots bulls when the cylinder is full or one shot from empty. i bought the pistol for my 11 yr old daughter. she shoots 10 meter air pistol matches. the first day she shot it, her scores went up 25 points. after a week, she shot 391 out of 400. she can handle the gun all by herself including recharging via scuba tank. i used to have problems getting her to practice. now, i cant buy pellets fast enough. i dont think the big boy high dollar air pistols provide more quality.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sandy from USA on 2011-11-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the looks and feel of the gun. I like the fact that the bolt is spring loaded to make opening it a bit easier. I like the feel of the grip in my hand unlike my Baical IZH-46M which digs into my palm and is much too big for my hand.
      Things I would have changed:A bit better quality control
      What others should know:I really like this gun, but as I write this it has been back to Pyramyd Air for 5 days and I am waiting to hear the disposition of the gun. For starters, the probe did not work properly. When attempting to fill it with air, there was an air leak out of a relief hole on the body of the probe. There is a ball bearing that is supposed to seal that hole during filling, but there was something not right. Also, although I found the gun very accurate, it was difficult to sight in on a bench rest in that the rear sight needed to be set to max elevation to get to the center of the bull leaving no room for further up adjustment if needed. When I would shoot the gun, the rear sight continually loosened which I tightened by tightening the grip with a supplied tool. When I sent the gun back, the sight was literally rattling when I shook the gun. I'm not sure if this particular gun was a lemon but I have asked to either have it replaced with a new gun, or simply refund my money - I have had enough of this particular one. I am hoping that whatever the disposition is, I get a flawlessly functioning gun, because I do like the gun (if it only functioned as it is supposed to).
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2011-11-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Outstanding accuracy. Great product for the price
      Things I would have changed:I would be nice to have more sight options, such as the ability to add red dot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2011-07-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I just can't see any reason to spend more money on any other gun. Although I've never tried a Steyr LP10 or other flavors, or the Morini 162EI or any FWB, there can't be that much more to them, except maybe a better (smoother) trigger. But there is nothing wrong with the trigger on the Alfa. It feels just as good as the Baikal/Izzy 46M, with tons more adjustability. In fact, just about everything on this gun is adjustable. I've never experienced a gun with so many adjustments for the trigger. Without going into detail, do your homework and see what all you can do with it. The test target that came with it is 1 hole, with 3 ever-so-small cloverleafs for 5 shots. I can bench rest it from the small rabbit-ear Caldwell bag and shoot sub 1/2" groups @ 10m, and I'm just a beginner with pistols. My second match ever score was a 474 out of 600 for 60 shots with this gun, not great, but the potential is there, with practice. It sure ain't the gun! It's not that picky about pellets either, although I found the JSB Greens to be the best, closely followed by R10's and H&N Match. I've tested and owned the Baikal/Izzy 46M, but God what a beast. It's just too front heavy, and I don't feel like carving the grip to fit my hand. I've also had the Webley Alecto, and Weihrauch HW40. None of these 3 come close. Seriously, you may find a more accurate gun, but only by millimeters, if that, and you can adjust this gun to fit you better than many of the expensive ones.
      Things I would have changed:The weight should be chopped up into 4 little ones instead of 1 big one because it's either too little or too much. I've learned to shoot it without the weight, but I'd love to have smaller ones for the option of tuning the overall weight better. The regulator should do a better job of ... regulating. Seriously, a gun this good comes in a cardboard box? It should come in a foam-fitted heavy-duty case with plenty of extra empty slots for "stuff". Of course, the box helps keep the cost down, so I'm not really going to complain, except now I have to go to some sporting goods store and buy a good case anyway, so why not include it up front? A gun this good deserves it.
      What others should know:I also tried a TAU 7 Match pistol, but CO2 is such a hassel, and it was way too loud for backyard use if you have neighbors nearby. The Alfa chronied at an average of 489.2 fps with the JSB's, 511.8 fps with R10's for 10 shots. Charged up to 200 bar with the JSB's I got an average of 470.9 fps for 80 shots, with a low of 441.6 and a high of 483.5. Sounds bad, but at 10m I think it's OK, but not for a regulated gun. On the 86th shot it dropped by 67 fps, and then on the 87th shot it hissed like a snake and released all of it's air. A great feature to let you know to recharge if you're not counting shots. Randomly within those 85 good shots, it freakishly released 3 of them about 90 fps faster than the others, but that didn't effect POI at all, it just got a little louder, and I could feel it. Since velocity is adjustable, I have no doubt that I could adjust for an average of say, 430 fps, and get around 120 shots out of it. For serious match competition you MUST get the optional grip. The ambi is just what it is, a compromise. The bolt-loading is a dream, better then on a Daystate Harrier and Air Arms S400 ERB I had. The light weight and ease of loading/cocking allows you to shoot all day. Have plenty of air and pellets handy. Check out the video test on Youtube. If, like me, you felt the RAT (Russian Agricultural Tool) Izzy 46M just feels all wrong, but still want the best quality pistol you can get for the money, look no further. Good Luck. See Ya Shootin'.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Shiva from India on 2011-01-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything is adjustable, awesome pistol to shoot, trigger very smooth, for this cost love it! Very accurate!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing!
      What others should know:Be ready to change the grip, I had changed the company stock to a Adjustable Grip for Alfa PCP Pistol which cost an additional 99 dollars,
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By JOSEPH R BAKO from USA on 2010-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fantastic trigger , smooth as silk . Grip is easy enough to customize . Good sights .
      Things I would have changed:wouldn't change much at this price . good value .
      What others should know:this gun is extremely accurate , and easy to shoot .
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joe from USA on 2010-02-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The quality is excellent, AirArms all the way..... A trigger smooth as glass, great adjustable sights, very consistent, the looks are beautiful and and everything is in the right place, wouldn't move or change a thing..
      Things I would have changed:Would add a pressure gauge, like the one used on AirArms rifles. It would be nice to know what was there, even though with the regulator it is very consistent...
      What others should know:This target pistol likes "LEAD ONLY PELLETS." No gold plated, copper washed FTS and Raptor. Both have been stuck about 2" from the muzzle. This requires a wooden dowel, as not to scratch the barrel rifling, from the muzzle to loosen it up, pushing the pellet back a little then firing it out. That's how I took care of it, and STOPPED USING the plated pellets. Must be very careful because these barrels are "cold wrapped." They are not hardened like a conventional firearm and the fine rifling can be easily damaged with a metal tool.... But the LEAD ONLY PELLETS work great...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joe from USA on 2010-02-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Quality built, light trigger, "smooth as glass," consistent, gr8 interchangable sights, very modern, definately a piece of art and conversation piece to any collection.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:LEAD ONLY!! This piece absolutely does not like hard pellets, "Kodiac double gold," and Gamo "Raptors," to name a few. both got stuck towards the end of the barrel.... Sure AirArms uses choked barrels for accuracy.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top