Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Crosman 2260 reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Arnold from USA on 2008-08-29 16:01:52

    Things I liked:The rifle is ready to go right out of the box. all it needs is to be charged with CO2, which is easily accomplished by correctly inserting a bulb and replacing the screw cap per instructions. The peep sight is accurate enough for indoor shooting at 5 meters and the supplied front sight hood is a nice touch. The rifle is nicely balanced and trigger action is crisp.
    Things I would have changed:As shipped, it is necessary to wipe the barrel and other exterior metal surfaces down carefully with a very lightly oiled cloth to remove traces of dirt and rust. This also protects the finish. Be careful that the oil you use is not one that could possibly damage any seals. The stock did not have a white spacer at the buttplate as pictured on the box.
    What others should know:Velocities are consistent and in my opinion sufficiently high. As tested over my chronograph at about 68 degrees F, Crosman HPs gave an average reading of 553 FPS, while RWS Hobby pellets registered an average of 590 FPS. Variations were within 4 FPS for each pellet.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By makoy from USA on 2009-10-21 10:17:00

    Things I liked:Simplicity, accuracy and light weight, unlike other airguns that are too bulky and heavy..
    Things I would have changed:Crosman should keep same trigger mechanism from Crosman model 160 those trigger are the best and it's not made with plastic and also the bolt handle it's too short they should make it a little longer.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2011-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I got one of these a few years back. I eventually upgraded the bolt action and scoped the thing out. It's been a rather nice rifle other than the fact piercing the co2 cartrige is a bit rough on arthritic fingers. Today I got a benjamin Discovery and was looking at it thinking the thing looked very familiar. I checked it out and realized the discovery is simply a pcp version of this gun on steroids. I checked carefully and other than a massive air chamber, higher fps, and improved sights, the 2260 is a perfect indoor trainer for the discovery so the neighbors won't complain about the noise. I have to give this a high rating because I already decided it's brother was so great.
      Things I would have changed:Well, the design is an older one. I might upgrade the stock with a monte carlo like the Marauder. It should fit. Perhaps a custom barrel bracket so it can mount a bipod...trick it out a bit. Maybe add sling studs. It might become a bit more attractive with a few tweaks to the design, more eye appeal never hurts anything.
      What others should know:Nice design for the price. Nice trainer if you don't want the neighbors complaining about the noise a discovery makes. I wouldn't take it hunting though. It doesn't have the guts for the job.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By joe from USA on 2011-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Crosman has perfected CO2 usage to the extent that they are extremely reliable and affordable by most of us. This rifle has a lot of the features of rifles that are a good deal more expensive. It may not have a lot of fancy do-dads on it, but it will perform right up with the best of'em. It is light, well made, and with the right pellet, very accurate. For the low price of around $85.00 You just can't go wrong. It's a great beginners rifle for the youngster who is just starting out in the shooting sports. It's easy to use, and watch their face when they start punching holes in the bullseye....In my opinion It's a great value for the price.
      Things I would have changed:There are some changes that could be made such as a better rear sight, and a steel breech, but then this would increase the cost of the rifle. I do think that Crosman could figure out a better way to mount a scope without increasing the cost of the rifle more than a dollar or two, which I'm sure no would mind paying...
      What others should know:I consider that the sights that come on it to be good enough for field use, but if you want extreme accuracy you will need to replace the plastic breech with a steel breech so you can solidly mount a good scope. I have choosen to leave mine as is and just use it to the best of my ability. It will take blue jays out to 35-40 yards with no problem at all. I don't condone shooting birds unless they are pests. Try different pellet brands for consistant accuracy and stick with them. After much trial and error I find that the Crosman competition wadcutter in the 1250 "milk carton" bulk pack work the best in my rifle. And they are inexpensive. Since no two rifles are exactly the same another brand may work better in your rifle. Try several brands until you find the winner...You won't be dissapointed.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2010-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:light weight for long hikes, very quiet, very very accurate. sighted in at 10yds and the cross hairs hit the same out to 30 then at 40 yds i had to aim one mil high and at 50 yds 2 mil high. at 50 yds this gun as no accuracy issues and with the right pellets could probably take out squirrel eay. i heard alot of bad about the trigger but i actually like it. i planned on changing it but after using it im keeping it.
      Things I would have changed:rather have a synthetic stock. opened the box looked at the gun and it has marks on it. im not going to worry much and complain cause it doesnt effect performance and the guns pretty ugly to begin with.
      What others should know:like all the other 22xx guns theres a world of mods out there. also buy a steel breech if you plan to put a scope on this gun cause the crossman barrell mounts dont work at all. the scope moves all over the place and the screw strip out with little effort. over all the gun is amazing for the price you pay. the accuracy and silence of it are awsome. really likes jsb exacts and crosman hallows
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2010-05-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:light weight, well balanced. easy to cock and load. accurate with more penetration than I expected. Excellent 10 meter gun.
      Things I would have changed:make this model scopeable. If you want it scopeable they sell a new bolt kit so you can do that but you lose your rear sights if you put on that kit. also I'd give it a better screw in co2 cap. I have to tighten it with a screwdriver to puncture the 12 gram co2 and then undo it to change it since it is very hard to get any kind of decent grip on it.
      What others should know:It's very easy to take apart to service and clean, then reassemble. It's possibly the best gun as far as simplicity of design and operation. I'd never rely on it to save my life, but would happily use it in a 10 meter shoot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mitch from USA on 2010-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The 2260 has been the standard setter for .22 CO2 rifles for many years. I had a 160 back in the early 70's, and there were many squirrels, rabbits, and woodchucks that had fatal encounters with it! The power, accuracy, and simplicity of operation still can't be beat today at 3 times the price. I have bought a number of them from Pyramyd who is by far the best online airgun retailer in the USA.
      Things I would have changed:The stock. The stock. Did I say the stock?
      What others should know:I looked everywhere for custom stocks for the 2260, and the only ones available were $300+, a little high in my mind for an $80 airgun, so I came up with my own. Take a look at the black tactical 2260 in the customer images, and if anyone is interested you can contact me: mitch.glover@gmail.com...but you have to buy your 2260 from Pyramyd Airguns!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By moa from USA on 2010-04-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I liked the price and the fact I could do mods myself. I shot 20 rounds then took it apart.I fixed the trigger for 2 bucks and now I can hit any target within range consistently.
      Things I would have changed:I would put a synthetic stock on it or a higher comb. This is a chin weld gun with a scope. Iron sights need to be fiber optic or painted
      What others should know:This is a backpack gun with one screw and the safety it comes apart. I cut 4 inches off my stock and it goes everywhere
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2010-02-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:wood stock, quiet, accurate, powerful.
      Things I would have changed:Really nothing, the open sights are a little to far apart to aim, but you get used to it.
      What others should know:This gun is great for small game hunting, i have killed piegons, sparrows and even a 12 lb opossum with a headshot at 10 yards, at 40 degrees farenheit! That means that the gun lost 15% of its energy because of the temp and still was able to give a humane kill on a large animal. I would to this gun if looking for a cheap, durable and reliable gun that is good for all varmints.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steven from USA on 2009-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:C02 ,Light weight,Quiet when fired,velocity.Wood stock ,made in U.S.
      Things I would have changed:If perhaps a magazine could be added for breech to cock bolt and a pellet chambers auto,Would be nice,Otherwise ,nothing .Great feel and mechanical ,Easy to use.
      What others should know:First day i got it worked perfect !Made a couple holes on some heavy duty tin cans, at close range. Few days later i took it to open space field and tested a few crosman field hunting pointed pellets and they worked ok.Giving the temperature too low in area at 45-48 degrees.I do know that at 70-80 degree is alot better for c02 performance.Noticed a severe drop in velocity after a few shots but still did very well with a RWS high velocity lead free pellet shooting at an old DVD player at 20 feet,this pellet penetrated perfect.the crosman and rws super points almost penetrated but,left a good size dent on metal .Like i said ,the weather temperature is a major factor in c02 air guns and i still am very glad i bought .It has a nostalgic look and feel with wood stock .Good to have around for target fun or when needed.Powerfull ,with the RWS high velocity pellets.Mine has very sensitive trigger.So far most of my air guns are crosman and none have ever failed .Just a matter of keeping them oiled with a drop on "every" c02 used and occasional breech seal single drop oiled.Dont abuse them and ,,they will last a lifetime.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Patrick from USA on 2009-12-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Light weight, Power, Multi shots with the co2 cyclinder, accurate, wood stock, very well made. The rear sight is adjustable to a peep or a open sight and is adjustable. Great gun and great price!
      Things I would have changed: Nothing! If you want, add a scope and a sling that would be fine. Oh! maybe make the trigger and guard out of metal.
      What others should know:I checked with Crosman and the cocking bolt is not palstic, but brass! I don't see why some people think it is plastic. The rear sight is in the correct position. I see nothing wrong with this sight. Buy this gun. You won't be sorry!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mike from USA on 2009-12-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very Lightweight and super quiet. Excellent quality for the money! Is a tack driver at 20yds. .22 cal. is perfect and will kill starlings with ease. I have killed pigeons but that is the max for this gun. This gun is very simple and just plain works well.
      Things I would have changed:Breech and rear site are plastic and are not the greatest. Recommend the steel breech upgrade from crosman website.
      What others should know:You can buy a steel breech from Crosman's website for $29. It allows you to mount a scope and greatly improves the quality of the rifle. I wish they would just sell the gun with the steel breech from the beginning. The gun starts to shoot a wide pattern at 30yrds. 25yds max for this gun and it really shoots excellent at this range using the 14 grain crosman premier hunting pellets. This gun does not like heavier pellets (like 18gr+). Great value for the money.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By makoy from USA on 2009-10-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Simplicity, accuracy and light weight, unlike other airguns that are too bulky and heavy..
      Things I would have changed:Crosman should keep same trigger mechanism from Crosman model 160 those trigger are the best and it's not made with plastic and also the bolt handle it's too short they should make it a little longer.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Peter Dude from USA on 2009-08-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very Lite weight. Value for the money.
      Things I would have changed:Rear Sights
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Fred Johnson from USA on 2009-07-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate. Plastic parts should last a long time.
      Things I would have changed:Barrel band set screws are weak.
      What others should know:The Crosman 2260 is a great looking air rifle. It's not tacticool, but beautiful nontheless. The plastic breech and plastic trigger group are actually well made. The trigger breaks clean with little creep and is not too heavy or too light. The rear aperture sight is adjustable for windage and elevation. The diameter of the aperture is a little large for shooting at targets the size of a squirrel head, but it makes for quick sighting and shooting. The ease of shooting (compared to a spring powered airgun) and the good trigger allows for consistent accuracy. Some may wish to scope the 2260, but it really isn't necessary for those happy to use aperture sights. Two things bothered me when I got my 2260. #1) The stock inletting for the CO2 tube is cut at an angle which makes the C02 tube sit unparallel to the stock. #2) Out of the box the barrel band was loose allowing the barrel to rotate out of position. retightened and locked with thread locking liquid. Regardless with the two problems I've encountered, I think I'm going to like this air rifle for a long, long time.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Alan from USA on 2009-07-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great simple little plinker! This little rifle in .22 has enough power to push a 14.3 grain hollow point 25 yards with plenty of accuracy. The rifle came in perfect condition and ready to use right out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight, the rear sight, and did I mention the rear sight? Really, the peep sight is pretty bad. The aperture is large enough that you actually have to olean your head back to get a proper sight picture. When you spin it around to use a plain notch sight, you have just as much slop in the sight picture. A little hint...find a Marlin .22 semi-auto from the early 70's and duplicate their rear sight.
      What others should know:When using the open sights on this rifle, keep in mind that your sight picture will show a lot of open space around the front post! Keep the post centered and you'll hit your target. Modify the rear notch to narrow it down and you'll get even better! Don't get me wrong, this is a straight shooting rifle! I just have a problem with the slop in the sights and need tighter tolerances. It is a great rifle for plinking and just having fun sending lead down range! I took it right out of the box and put about 40 pellets through it on one co2 cartridge and didn't notice any drop of power. The pellet trap I used for my pistol now has some major dents in the back of it! Get this rifle, modify the rear sight (easy to make a new sight plate) and start sending lead down range!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mitchell from USA on 2009-06-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything, except out of the two I bought a year ago on one of them the stock was not cut straight.
      Things I would have changed:Since my last review I have changed out the gas valve and replaced it with a Boss valve and replaced the plastic breech with a steel breech. I have shot 500-600 pellets through it and have yet to have a flier. I mounted a 2.5 x 20 Simmons 8 point shotgun scope, and this is one fine rifle. At six yards it will shoot a Crosman premium pointed hunting pellet 14.3 grains 300+ pages into a telephone book.
      What others should know:One thing Crosman doesn't tell you is that besides a grooved receiver the steel breech also comes with a rear dovetail which will accept different rear sights available on the market. I have put down squirels hard with this rifle and will be looking forward to hunting cottontails with it this summer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dave in N GA from USA on 2009-06-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The range and accuracy of this rifle begs to have a scope. I purchased mine a year ago. No problems and loads of fun. My two grown boys enjoy it more than I do. The pesky squirrels are all gone from my yard.
      Things I would have changed:package this rifle in combination with a scope. My 2.5 power Weaver is a good match.
      What others should know:This rifle does everything a good back yard hunting rifle should. The squirrels and crows will soon learn to keep well clear.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2009-05-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:sights were dead on right out of the box. gun is great for precision shooting at 10 meters, lightweight, easy to cock and load
      Things I would have changed:make a set up so that it can use an 88 gram air sour5ce. 12 gram co2 doesn't last very long.
      What others should know:very elegant and well built. light, most accurate air rifle I ever shot. I'd trust this gun with my life.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jacob from USA on 2009-03-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun right out of the box with open sights was hitting pop cans at 25yds. Wood and metal except for the plastic breach.
      Things I would have changed:put on a metal breach! a magazine like the one on the 760 pumpmaster would be nice.
      What others should know:this gun needs a scope so get a pair of crosman clampon mounts for $10 or a metal breech for $30 . mine is most acurate with rws super points wich are like $14 for 500 wich is kinda pricey but they are hole in hole acuracy at 25yrds. when you put a scope on this gun dont use anything more powerfull than a 3-9x32 scope i had a 3-9x50 on it and it was just to powerfull and moved around alot because of how big it was. i sugjest using a bsa .22 special 4x32 scope wich is wat i use. this gun will take squirrels down at 30yrds with a head shot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2009-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks! real wood and metal! Except the breech but i put a steel breech on I ordered from crosman for 30 bucks, now i basically have a 2260SE i put a tasco 4x32 on it. This thing Is very accurate!! The trigger isnt bad at all pulls better than my silver streak. Best gun for the price, I love it!!
      Things I would have changed:The plastic breech, just do away with the plastic breech and make them all with the steel breech! maybe put some checkering on the stock and forearm, to make it look even better looking and more appealing.
      What others should know:Very accurate, great gun for the price I cant believe this gun doesnt cost more! Buy the steel breech from crosman it's only 30 bucks, very easy to install, and it allows you to install a scope with 11 dovetail groves. well worth the money.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Charles from USA on 2009-01-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to load and use
      Things I would have changed:Could use a little more weight. The gun is a bit light. Needs a better front sight.
      What others should know:Get a scope. The sight is ok, but the gun is far better with a scope. This gun needs dovetail attachments for a scope. I can shoot a 1" target at 75 feet, but after that the accuracy drops off. Very good for beginners and those learning to shoot a competition .22 rifle.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top