Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Crosman Quest 1000X Breakbarrel Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2009-10-11 12:49:30

    Things I liked:Pyramyd Air's Customer Service is Excellent! But this is supposed to be about the gun so... The gun is well made. Fit and finish are good. Operation is very good.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger break point is very hard to detect. I have not yet played with the trigger adjustment, but I suspect this issue is with the sear and not the trigger travel. This issue makes it even more important to ensure you are sighted on your target before you apply ANY pressure to the trigger. (Basic gun safety anyway...)
    What others should know:The recoil on this gun makes it necessary to have a scope stop on any scope mount used with it. Since I did not have the scope stop mounts I could not get the scope zeroed in. (Mounts with a scope stop are on the way.) Once I took off the scope I was able to zero in the stock sites very quickly. The fiber optics green front and red back are nice. I have to say the gun is as accurate as I am at this point. Being new to pellet guns and shooting Olympic 10M rifles targets at about 33 yards (prone or kneeling) I am hitting the black portion of the target more often than not. Can't wait to the scope on it and see how I can do. Also I have only shot Crossman Wadcutters and think the results are good in this gun. http://www.pyramydair.com/s/p/Crosman_177_Cal_7_9_Grains_Wadcutter_1250ct/557#productDescription
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Matt from USA on 2011-04-11 16:07:04

    Things I liked:Besides the prompt great service from Pyramid, the gun seems fine. I've probably taken a few hundred shots at this point, and after getting the sights where I want them now it shoots great. Anywhere up to about 50ft away I can cluster a bunch of shots very close. I got it to shoot squirrels, and it takes them down nicely.
    Things I would have changed:Very little. For the money it does everything I need. If it cost $200, then I would say a tighter sight maybe. But nothing for this price.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Fifer from USA on 2012-02-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate, consistent trigger pull, comfortable and easy all day shooter
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Ive had mine for about 6 years nows its got a customized stock and is still shooting as great as ever. My first air rifle and a very good one! Ill never get rid of my quest. Trigger is good but different takes geting used to.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Brett from USA on 2012-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good sights, relatively quiet, accuracy, awesome trigger pull
      Things I would have changed:Package with scope
      What others should know:This is my second airgun and my first breakbarrel and I love it. Recoil takes a few shots to get used to but once you get it, its an awesome gun. I'm looking to get a good scope so after that and after I have it for a while, I'll post another review. But so far, I love this gun!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Carter from USA on 2011-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this rifle is amazing! its got tons of knockdown power and is very afordable. cant go wrong
      Things I would have changed:none needed.
      What others should know:stock up on pellets because the gun is so fun to shoot you will not want to quit!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steve from USA on 2011-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Did not take long to sight in. very good gun for the money
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By josh from USA on 2011-11-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i love this gun powerful accurit a great gun.
      Things I would have changed:nothing.
      What others should know:a great gun for the price good long range shots and very powerful. but it is a bit loud but not to mutch.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Shaun from USA on 2011-09-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Really great fps, right under supersonic so it's a relitively quiet rifle. Great accuracy and trigger pull (way better trigger pull than gamo big cat) I have mine with a 3-9x40 scope set up at 30 yards and it has a 1 in. grouping with crosman destroyer ex pellets.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I can think of is to make the stock stronger because if you tighten the stock screws too much it will crack a little, other than that it's great.
      What others should know:Try to stick with wadcutter and hollow point pellets for best accuracy and usually from crossman and beeman. I have both the gamo big cat and crossman 1000 and I would definitely recommend the crossman, way better trigger pull, accuracy, noise, recoil, iron sights, way better price, and it doesn't make that stupid spring echo noise after it was fired like the big cat. Over all it's definitely worth the money, it's perfect for anyone either for hunting or plinking you can't go wrong.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By huntinfreak from USA on 2011-07-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great gun, well put together, overall a solid rifle
      Things I would have changed:The kick is bad and makes it hard to mount a scope. also the trigger pull is horrible.
      What others should know:i bought this gun for hunting, and it works. it isnt spectacular, or anything out of the ordinary, but it works.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-07-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love the feel of this rifle. It feels like the real deal. Accuracy of the sites is great, bulls eye first time out of the box. For the price excellent deal. Pyramyd Air got it here quick, in just a couple of days from ordering. Thank you it was just what I was looking for, gophers look out.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Matt from USA on 2011-04-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Besides the prompt great service from Pyramid, the gun seems fine. I've probably taken a few hundred shots at this point, and after getting the sights where I want them now it shoots great. Anywhere up to about 50ft away I can cluster a bunch of shots very close. I got it to shoot squirrels, and it takes them down nicely.
      Things I would have changed:Very little. For the money it does everything I need. If it cost $200, then I would say a tighter sight maybe. But nothing for this price.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Matt from USA on 2011-04-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It was under $100, it takes out squirrels that are tring to make my house into their house, and it's shot about a hundred times now with no issues.
      Things I would have changed:For under $100, what can you really change?
      What others should know:You may want to consider for $25 more the comparable rifles with the scope. I'm fine without it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By FrankSoCal from USA on 2011-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lots of power. First day I dropped a flying rat at 50yds as measured by my Bushnell Yardage Pro Sport.
      Things I would have changed:A truly adjustable trigger--for let off.
      What others should know:This my second Quest 1000, I have a broken spring on the original (believe it to be my fault). When I have the money, I will send it in for the gas conversion.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark A from USA on 2010-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I was extremely surprised. The price is very reasonable and lower than retail outlets in this area. May purchase a second as a backup.
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight works well but vibrates out of alignment after a few rounds, I suspect a stronger compression spring or teflon tape will solve this problem.
      What others should know:I installed a Mendoza Diopter sight on the dovetail close to the rear stock which really helps puts rounds on target at the 10 meter distance. This rifle is a keeper.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By kerby from USA on 2010-11-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a great gun for that special price
      Things I would have changed:I would love it in nitro piston
      What others should know:This is a powerfull gun .. It gave you more than others expensive guns ..If you can't use the scope , better take it without it.....
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By snipesquirrels from USA on 2010-11-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:was very accurate and powerfull
      Things I would have changed:nothing to change but if you have a scope and rings it would be a good idea by putting it on rather than buying the gun with the scope and rings
      What others should know:I killed three squirrels the first day i had it
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ralph from USA on 2010-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, wood stock
      Things I would have changed:Drop in stock, front sight
      What others should know:This rifle is definitely made for scope use. I had to modify the stock to get my cheek low enough to use the open sights. The housing that encloses the front sight pin is so large and clunky it renders the green pin from any sighting purposes other than locating the target. I removed the housing from around the pin and put a hood over it to protect it. Now I can place the pin directly under the target spot without covering it up. It brought my groups in from 3 inches to 3/4 inch at 35 yards.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DW from USA on 2010-07-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Out of box accuracy and the dieseling of those first few shots out of the box! Whoa...sounded like I was shooting a 10/22!!! Back to accuracy...out of the box, after adjusting the PLASTIC rear sight (Ugh) I managed a sub 1/2" CTC 5 shot group using Crosman Wadcutters at about 15 yards away. It took about 8 pellets to sight this one in. As the day went on, I tried a bunch of different pellets, and they all behaved basically the same. Let's talk about accuracy again...I hit 3 out of 3 shots at a soda can just using the PLASTIC (Ugh) open sights at approximately 40+ yards!!! I had to use a leaf as my marker as to where the can was because I could not really see it in the forest area of my backyard, but hit-hit-hit!!! I enjoy the balance of this one, and the wood stock is "good enough"...reminds me of my SKS Scout in terms of overall finish. Trigger is nice, and I turned mine about 3/4 clockwise to adjust the second stage. Did I also mention this air rifle is accurate? ;-) I am still learning this rifle, but average 5 shot groups were always about 1/2" outside of 20 yards, and usually anything within 20yds. I could pretty much get those shots in one hole, or the 5 shots would at least be touching...amazing.
      Things I would have changed:Here it comes...the plastic sights. When adjusting the elevation knob on my rifle, it was so loose, I wondered if it was going to stay put. Had to mess with it a bit to get it to stay. I mean, the sights work...but it's shame to create a rifle this good, only to put plastic sights on it. I am going to mark my current "sight settings" on the knobs because they can turn easily if bumped...pity. I would have rated this one 5 stars all the way were it not for those darn plastic sights!!!
      What others should know:Initial few breaks of the barrel are not bad at all, but man did that first shot unleash some loudness and echo! It really sounded like rifle going off, or a 38 cal. revolver...Also, this one has excellent balance and is not to finicky in terms of hold. Um...did I mention it was accurate? ;-) Amazing air rifle for the price, stock *can* get slippery from sweaty hands, however, I always put some grip tape on mine where I hold to keep the rifle from slipping and to remember where the gun likes to be held for best accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Drew from USA on 2010-06-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the wood stock. I did not touch the open sights after I took it out of the box. I was getting 1.5" groups at 10 yards with the open sights. It has a little kick to it. Very powerful.
      Things I would have changed:Lighter trigger. I would also like the scope stop to be bigger. I had a difficult time mounting my own scope on it. I had to adjust it again because I missed the stop hole on the scope rings. I ended up tightening all the screws on the scope mounts after mounting it. Over all though, I am happy.
      What others should know:I was getting 1.5" groups out of the box, at 10 yards with the open sights and it did not even need to be sighted in. The next day, I mounted a 3-9X32 Leapers scope on the rifle and after sighting it in, I was getting 1/2" to 3/4" groups, bench rested with this gun at 10 yards. I am pleased. After hearing that some people could not get 3" groups at 15 yards, I am very happy. I was getting those groupings with 10.5 grain Crosman Premiers. I shot some ligher hollow point pellets with this gun and I did not get as tight of groups with them. If anything this gun is too powerful. I was shooting bottles with 1/2" sheet rock behind them and the the pellets went though the shed panneling and made some ungly holes in my shed. Now when plinking, I make sure there is some 16 gauge steel behind it. It will make a nice little dent in 16 gauge steel as well. Seems like a nice begginer breakbarrel air rifle. I have only shot a Crosman 2100 and Pumpmaster 760 before this and the breakbarrel action is much faster than pumping 8 to 10 times. It is much heavier though than the previously mentioned pumps.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Q from USA on 2010-06-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light, good size, woodwork is great, metal evenly blued, rubber butt pad, easy to cock. This gun screams value, I took it apart before shooting to clean and inspect everything and checked out the piston, top hat, spring, everything and I didn't need to do any smithing to anything. Even has a rear spring guide! Comes to the shoulder nice and sits on the hand very well. Hold sensitive but not at all as much as other springers in the velocity range
      Things I would have changed:I guess the trigger but I didn't even shoot with it once, I pulled the one outta my Genesis that's no longer in action and put it on the Quest. The stock trigger felt like it would have been a pretty heavy pull though
      What others should know:Bought a tin of the cheap Crosman wadcutters for the break in and right out of the box with open sights at ten yards was getting 1/2" groups, so I figured it was time to scope it with a 4x32 I have laying around. Groups shrunk slightly, switched to Crosman FH and groups went down to one holers. Not even a hundred shots through it and already dead accurate! For the money how can you go wrong?
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Adam from USA on 2010-04-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate,
      Things I would have changed:The sight are a little on the cheap side, but they work well.
      What others should know:Now that I am about 1000 shots in I feel comfortable writing this. This gun is 100% the best investment I have made. I originally bought this gun to control the starling problem in my garden but as it turns out, this gun can do alot more. It took about 800 shot before the gune started getting really consistent but now, just 30 minutes ago, I shot 9 out of 10 one hole groups at 30 yds. The 10th group was still only about 3/8". I have found that this specific gun likes wadcutters and more specifically RWS Diablo Basics. It shoots all other pellet accurately too just not quite as consistently. Although the sights are on the cheap side, they perform very well. I see no need to scope this gun as having a little knowledge in ballistics makes this gun a formidible tool in the war on starlings, this gun will keep pellets on a target 18"x18" at 150 metres. yes you read that correctly,150m!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Don from USA on 2010-04-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy,power,looks,feel,trigger made of metal,good value
      Things I would have changed:nothing this is a really good rifle
      What others should know:At first, the barrell is frozen so you have to slap it to start the cocking process, but after about 50 shots you can cock it normally
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top