Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Daisy Avanti 717 Triumph Match reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (15 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2013-03-31 07:42:03

    Things I liked:This gun is great! I own several air pistols, but this is my favorite because of its accuracy, easy one pump operation, and balance. The grips also just feel very comfortable for my right-handed shooting.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:The Air Venturi AV-07900 rail fits the barrel for adding weaver-mounted scopes and dot sights.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2013-03-23 13:34:35

    Things I liked:The gun is very easy to pump. The adjustable trigger is fantastic, adjust to your prefered pull weight, no take up, right there when you squeeze. Amazingly accurate. Sights are adjustable. AV-07900 Air Venturi Picatinny/Weaver scope base fits perfectly allowing you to add optics that make the gun even more fun and accectuates the guns accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:It tends to be nose heavy and gets worse with the addition of optics but not too bad. The bolt being plastic is ok but would match the rest of the quality of the gun if it was light weight metal. The black plastic sights are very hard to see.
    What others should know:The first one I bought from Pyramid Air started leaking pressure at about 150 rounds. I was disappointed since I had it for only a couple of weeks. I called Pyramid Air and was very pleasantly surprised to hear that THEY would take care of the faulty gun. I was given a RMA number and was emailed a prepaid return label. I boxed it up and within a week recieved a new, not refurbished, gun. This is one of the many reasons I have given all my business to Pryamid Air. I would have given this an overall rating of 5 stars but with the failure I feel Daisy has not earned it. I have read other reviews where these guns are still working since they were first marketed in 1980 so I was very disappointed to have the first one fail. I am concerned about the longenvity of the replacement.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By edward from USA on 2014-05-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Bought this along with a 747. I like them both about the same. Right hand grips on the 717 and left hand grips on the 747 so I can do PPC type one hand practice, to maintain muscle tone for that type of shooting. These guns are perfect for that. I don't care what they say, these guns do not require expensive pellets. They shoot a variety of pellets with great accuracy at 15 yards.
      Things I would have changed:Can't think of anything I would change. I like the heafty weight of these guns, and ease of cocking.
      What others should know:The 717 had a defect from the factory and would not shoot consistent velocity. I sent it back to Daisy, and it was returned within about a week, with the defect repaired. Good Show Daisy!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mark from USA on 2014-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Bought mine 20+ yrs. ago and only this winter did I have to change some O-rings!!!!! Free-air by the way. A damn-fine entry target pistol, with pretty good sights
      Things I would have changed:Made target grips out of cherry years ago, plastic grips on this pistol?
      What others should know:Years of dependability! Accurate as the day I bought it-my receipt says $69.95 w/ pellets! But, I would buy this again, easily.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2014-03-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Received my 717 today and right out of the box 25ft offhand two hand hold,sub half in five shot group's for under $160. Woo Hoo.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing.
      What others should know:Grab them up before Daisy figures out they can sell this competitor for much more.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun is great! I own several air pistols, but this is my favorite because of its accuracy, easy one pump operation, and balance. The grips also just feel very comfortable for my right-handed shooting.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:The Air Venturi AV-07900 rail fits the barrel for adding weaver-mounted scopes and dot sights.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun is very easy to pump. The adjustable trigger is fantastic, adjust to your prefered pull weight, no take up, right there when you squeeze. Amazingly accurate. Sights are adjustable. AV-07900 Air Venturi Picatinny/Weaver scope base fits perfectly allowing you to add optics that make the gun even more fun and accectuates the guns accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:It tends to be nose heavy and gets worse with the addition of optics but not too bad. The bolt being plastic is ok but would match the rest of the quality of the gun if it was light weight metal. The black plastic sights are very hard to see.
      What others should know:The first one I bought from Pyramid Air started leaking pressure at about 150 rounds. I was disappointed since I had it for only a couple of weeks. I called Pyramid Air and was very pleasantly surprised to hear that THEY would take care of the faulty gun. I was given a RMA number and was emailed a prepaid return label. I boxed it up and within a week recieved a new, not refurbished, gun. This is one of the many reasons I have given all my business to Pryamid Air. I would have given this an overall rating of 5 stars but with the failure I feel Daisy has not earned it. I have read other reviews where these guns are still working since they were first marketed in 1980 so I was very disappointed to have the first one fail. I am concerned about the longenvity of the replacement.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Absolutely LOVE the trigger. It is so soft and so smooth that you have a lot of control where you can pull it slowly and not have the gun jerk while shooting. That alone makes the gun worth the money. All triggers should work this smooth. Very accurate on its own, but I purchased the Air Venturi AV-07900 rail and added a red dot sight for even better accuracy. Due to the prescription on my glasses, I have a hard time using the regular sights on all guns, so I have to purchase a red dot or scope to be able to see better. The side lever is very easy to pull too. An overall great gun.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mike Francioli from USA on 2013-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:good target pistol pistol
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:great for 10meter practice
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By wally from USA on 2012-08-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Recently got a brand new one & do I love it. It now comes with an adjustable trigger from 1 to 4 lbs & is the exact same gun as the 747 except for the luther walther bbl, and even comes with the 747 manual.
      Things I would have changed:maybe the plastic bolt but have never heard of a problem with it.
      What others should know:It has great plastic rear sight adjustable for windage & elevation with the supplied screw driver. Oh yes it is very low noise, & Daisy's customer service is the very best!!as is Pyramidair's...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By wally from USA on 2012-08-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:everything, great balance, sights,trigger'great customer service etc etc
      Things I would have changed:As i said on my first review and others is the plastic bolt but Iv'e not heard of any failures
      What others should know:Just received a brand new one and the 717 now has an adjustable trigger, 1 to 4 lbs just like the 747. It's the very same gun now except for the Lothar Walther barrel. The manual for it is the 747 manual...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jerry from USA on 2012-07-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Mine is 28 years old and has not required any service. I've lubed it regularly and adjusted the pump lever once. It still functions flawlessly. This pistol is very accurate despite it's modest power. It's perfect for indoor shooting, and excels for those of us that have to make do with distances less than the standard 10 meters. Very quiet and not at all picky about pellets. Even the cheapest Daisy wadcutters group well. Nice crisp trigger that has only gotten smoother with age. It's not as light as other 10m pistols but very usable with a nice clean break.
      Things I would have changed:Wood grip panels. The plastic grips offer a good, comfortable hold but the gun deserves better. Of course I realize that would raise the price.
      What others should know:The sights work well and provide a good picture but because they're plastic they're not the blackest of blacks and sometimes they can be a little shiny.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By wally from USA on 2012-03-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:1 pump,grips with good thumb rest ,accurate, great trigger, fully adjustable rear sight, very low noise.
      Things I would have changed:not much, maybe the bolt from plastic to metal.
      What others should know:DO NOT pump more than once as it will blow the seals & be careful when pomping as you may pinch your hand with the pump lever. bottom line this is a great target pistol but only chronys at about 390 fps with 7g wad cutters....
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2011-10-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For the money this is a really great bargain. I chrono'd Meisterkugln 8.2 at 355-355-358-354-356. Those pellets shoot a ragged hole at 25'. RWS Hobby (as a practice pellet) worked well, too. Really decent trigger, easy to adjust to 2 lb. and it holds the setting well.
      Things I would have changed:If there was a way to smooth out the operation of the bolt it would make this almost perfect.
      What others should know:The plastic grips are hollow and cannot be modified,
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Troach from USA on 2009-02-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought one of the very first of these, in July, 1980. I know I've fired over 5000 rounds through it, with no misfires and no falling off of accuracy, except for that caused by me. It's been great fun, indoors and out, and I expect to keep shooting it for years yet to come. By the way, it was $49.95 back then, and that seemed like quite a bit of money.
      Things I would have changed:As everyone says, the rear sight doesn't look like much, but it certainly provides fine accuracy, and obviously, a better sight would necessitate a price increase.
      What others should know:In the manual I've used with my 717 that shows how to adjust the cocking lever. If that adjustment is still part of the gun, readers should know that it's for real, and the tolerance range shown is serious.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Randall from USA on 2009-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great practice pistol. Very quiet. As the first reviewer said, it is more accurate than I am.
      Things I would have changed:Sights are plastic and make the gun look less sturdy than it really is.
      What others should know:The firing procedures take a little getting used to. Parts are easy to get from Daisy.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By bigtruck797 from USA on 2008-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I think this gun is more accurate than I am. the grips fit my hand well. I have owned this gun for over 10 years and have put a lot of pellets through it with no problem.
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight could be better, on my gun it has some free movemant. The parting line on the cocking lever was somewhat rough , a litte filing fixed that! I have to be careful to get the safety set to fire. The trigger is a bit squishy.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top