Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Diana RWS 460 Magnum Combo reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.5 (9 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Emmanuel from USA on 2007-09-18 21:00:29

    Things I liked:I'm pretty new in the air gun world so this review can be seen as very subjective. I liked the overall look. The stock is much beautiful than the picture shows. A minor varnish defect on the inside right end of the cock lever tranche (don't know how to call that part of the stock). The rifle is comfortable, the cocking effort is acceptable and the power is there. Small recoil but nothing annoying. Accurate enough and very powerful for small game hunting (that's the reason I gave my wife to buy it !). We are invaded by squirrels and I already acquired a TF78 in .177 for this purpose. Good enough but you have to hit one shot in the kill zone to make it nice or you have to finish off on the ground which makes me uncomfortable. The RWS 460 in .22 added to its super power gives you more "flexibility".
    Things I would have changed:I had some difficulties to sight the scope. Again I put that on my total lack of experience although the same operation on the TF78 was much easier. No problem what so ever with the front sight blocking the view from the scope. Maybe I missed a step here in which case I'd need some advise. For the price I guess I would have appreciated a better scope let's say at least a 4-6 range power or whatever. This also would have better served the power of this gun.
    What others should know:Not enough experience to advise other airgunners but so far I'm very satisfied with my new acquisition. At least I look serious in my backyard !
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Customer from USA on 2008-10-24 14:48:52

    Things I liked:Beautiful gun.heavy ,well built.Accurate.
    Things I would have changed:Should be easier to load.For someone with larger finger having to insert the pellet in the chamber can be a bit difficult.
    What others should know:Gun ships with a hard plastic washer /seal where the barrel meets the air chamber .This is the junction where the pellet is inserted into the barrel.This plastic washer is a piece of crap.After about 50 shots gun will start to lose compression.The washer in my gun broke in half after a few shots.I also have another rifle of the same model I bought elsewhere.It has the same plastic seal and it also caused problems after short use.I solved the problem by finding a rubber washer of the same size and replacing it.Now the rifle shoots hard and accurate every time.I have already fired over a thousand shots with the rubber washer with no problems.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-10-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful gun.heavy ,well built.Accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Should be easier to load.For someone with larger finger having to insert the pellet in the chamber can be a bit difficult.
      What others should know:Gun ships with a hard plastic washer /seal where the barrel meets the air chamber .This is the junction where the pellet is inserted into the barrel.This plastic washer is a piece of crap.After about 50 shots gun will start to lose compression.The washer in my gun broke in half after a few shots.I also have another rifle of the same model I bought elsewhere.It has the same plastic seal and it also caused problems after short use.I solved the problem by finding a rubber washer of the same size and replacing it.Now the rifle shoots hard and accurate every time.I have already fired over a thousand shots with the rubber washer with no problems.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steve S from USA on 2008-09-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy. I finally got around to figuring the best pellet for my particular rifle, and it's the 14.3 gr Premier, which does 830 FPS from my gun. I was initially getting 5/8 to 3/4 inch groups at 40 yards, and was impressed. After shooting several hundred pellets, I moved out to 50 yards, and the groups started opening to 2 inches and more after a while. Didn't know why. Then I read that the Premiers are one of the few pellets that can deposit lead. So I got some JB bore coumpound...but I was paranoid about ruining the muzzle crown with a brush (after reading how careful you have to be), so I decided to use felt pellets to clean the bore. Now there is concern about inadequate resistance with those pellets, I know. To solve that, I put a healthy dab of compound on the end of a felt pellet, and inserted it dab-first into the bore. I then pushed in a RWS Super-Point behind it, thinking that it gives two benefits: increasing the weight of the load (reducing piston impact), and having the point of the pellet drive itself into the felt pellet to help force it into the grooves better. Well, after ten such loads, and then five "dry" loads without the compound, I re-checked accuracy. Sub-one inch at 50 yards now. I kept the best group (7/8 inch C-T-C) to show a friend, then decided to shoot one more group, which came in at 3/4 inch C-T-C for five shots! The average ran right around one inch tho. I have found the forearm of this rifle is a little sensitive. It seems to like a moderately firm grip - no open palms or back-of-knuckles rest.
      Things I would have changed:A front sight that doesn't interfere with the line-of-sight from the scope.
      What others should know:Grip the forearm somewhat firmly when shooting.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Nelson from USA on 2008-06-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Rifle is extremely accurate. I could group 5/8'' at 27 yards from the benchrest with a 3-9 x 50 scope. Stock has a good finishing em good grip.
      Things I would have changed:I don't like the plastic parts like the front sights and the safety latcth. They could be replaced by aluminum alloy parts.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By daniel from USA on 2008-05-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:feel ,power accuracy,excellent
      Things I would have changed:the cocking mechanism needs a heavier metal that cylinder is easy to break and the gun its useless without it ,this is the only flaw in the design that i found.
      What others should know:overall a good gun for the money,likes heavy pellets
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By dave from USA on 2008-03-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The accuracy of the gun in unbelievable. The pwer is also very good
      Things I would have changed:When you buy the gun also buy a better scope mount. The one supplied with the gun is not very good.
      What others should know:I don't have much time on the gun so only time will tell how it will hold up to every day use. I wasn't sure if the weight of the gun was going to be a problem but i think it needs it for the recoil.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brandon from USA on 2008-03-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The general quality of the gun. Accuracy and power. The stock is very nicely made and finished and as others have mentioned i could not find any imperfections period. RWS quality, I have a model 34 thats over 10 years old and still works great.
      Things I would have changed:I dont like the front plastic sight. It gets in the way if a scope, it also looks silly. Also dont care much for the safety just feels cheap. I wish RWS would adopt a safety like that on the Gamo Hunter Extreme. Also the scope mount is flawed as you cannot mount a scope normally or it will just gouge out the hole for the stop pin. Not as powerful as advertised. The combo I bought came with the RWS300 scope which is not powerful enough for this gun in my opinion. At only 4x it doesnt have the zoom for more distant shots.
      What others should know:This is a very nice gun. Accuracy is dead on and very easy to shoot when held properly. The manner in which you cock and load the gun will take an hour or two of getting used to. If you drop a pellet when trying to load it then you have to flip the gun over and shake it until the pellet falls out. The best ammo for this gun that I have tried is either crosman premieres domed heavies or beeman kodiaks. Both shoot nearly the same. Expect dime sized groups at 20 yards with these pellets once you figure out how the gun likes to be held. I mounted a bushnell 4-12x40 scope on it using the RWS C mount and had problems with recoil moving the scope in the rings. Applied Scotchkote to the rings and that stopped the creeping. Twice i have tried to cock the gun and the beartrap mechanism clicked but could not get the gun to fully cock without retrying a few times for some reason. Not sure if this is indicative of something to come down the road or not. The gun is not as powerful as advertised. I bought it in .177 caliber and while it does have enough power for me to be plenty happy with It does seem to have a tad less than the Gamo hunter extreme that I had before it was traded in for the RWS. The RWS is a quality peice and much attention to detail has been paid in making it. For example where the butt pad meets the wood on the stock its perfectly flush and lined up. Overally very happy with purchase and I expect I will have this quality gun for many decades to come.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By gerald from USA on 2007-10-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the 460 is a powerful and accurate gun so far i have taken 3 sqirrels one shot one kill causing massive damage i like the rws super dome and weisauh21.5gram pellets shoot well for both target and hunting but the perdator polmer tipped have the best penatration this is a great pellet for great gun i have found it accurate to 60 yards but i have not target shot it more than that but i wouldnt be afraid to try it at 100yards if i had the room i have several airguns rifles,pistols,springers ,and pumps this gun is my favorate gun by far a good all around shooter and mine is a 22.cal
      Things I would have changed:i dont like plastic parts on my guns also its a bit heavy witch might be the reason for plastic but the trigger needs to be steel
      What others should know:the scope front ring 1/2 turn up back ring 1 1/2 turns up to line up scope with barrel
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Emmanuel from USA on 2007-09-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I'm pretty new in the air gun world so this review can be seen as very subjective. I liked the overall look. The stock is much beautiful than the picture shows. A minor varnish defect on the inside right end of the cock lever tranche (don't know how to call that part of the stock). The rifle is comfortable, the cocking effort is acceptable and the power is there. Small recoil but nothing annoying. Accurate enough and very powerful for small game hunting (that's the reason I gave my wife to buy it !). We are invaded by squirrels and I already acquired a TF78 in .177 for this purpose. Good enough but you have to hit one shot in the kill zone to make it nice or you have to finish off on the ground which makes me uncomfortable. The RWS 460 in .22 added to its super power gives you more "flexibility".
      Things I would have changed:I had some difficulties to sight the scope. Again I put that on my total lack of experience although the same operation on the TF78 was much easier. No problem what so ever with the front sight blocking the view from the scope. Maybe I missed a step here in which case I'd need some advise. For the price I guess I would have appreciated a better scope let's say at least a 4-6 range power or whatever. This also would have better served the power of this gun.
      What others should know:Not enough experience to advise other airgunners but so far I'm very satisfied with my new acquisition. At least I look serious in my backyard !
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Steve S from USA on 2007-09-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Surprisingly easy to cock for its power, to the point where they probably could have put a heavier spring in and gotten it to 1,000 FPS in .22. The checkering is a nice touch. Vibration is actually less than I expected. Muzzle crown is well recessed and protected.
      Things I would have changed:After adjusting the rear ring of the one-piece scope mount (supplied by RWS) to the point necessary for point-of-impact and sight line to coincide, I found the front sight badly obstructing the scope. Normally you could remove the front sight and add a muzzle break, but this sight forms an integral part of the cocking lever securement, so it can't be removed. At this point, I may have to cut off the top portion of the front sight (it's plastic). I think this was overlooked by RWS.
      What others should know:I haven't done accuracy testing yet, but I clocked sever weights of pellets, and the lighter ones (15-18 grains in .22) develope 22 pounds, the exact figure you calculate at 950 FPS with a super-light 11 grain pellet. So, they are delivering what they promised energy-wise.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top