Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Evanix Blizzard S10 Long reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Matthew from USA on 2009-09-23 12:52:48

    Things I liked:Well lets see the stock is the best i have ever seen on an air rifle! This Gun is very quiet!!!! great rich blueing I was amazed on the speed out of the .22 with the JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.1 Grains, Domed, im getting around 900-950fps like 32 to 36 ft/pounds As for Accuracy well lets just say its was sighted in at 20 yards, 30 yards shoots are a little high but at 40-50-60 yards cross hairs dead on making head shots to squirrels all day long cant beat that. The cocking of the gun never jams it’s all steal nice and heavy duty the Trigger is great take up the slack with the first stage then a nice clean second stage break im guessing maybe 2 pound pull that means you will “not” tweak the gun trying to get a heavy trigger back over all a great gun if you have the money to spend you wont regret it
    Things I would have changed:I would change the clip a little the only problem I was having was the pellets would fall back and when the clip Rotates the pellet skirts might hit the main block that the clip sits in it really only happened when I was using the predator polymag pellets so when you cock the gun make sure the pellets are in place as for the JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.1 Grains they did not slip at all but both were shooting great dead on target at 20 to 50 yards even at a 100 yards held two mill dots high and still getting out there with in 3in but that could have been me moving around
    What others should know:As for the baffles there are 3 long tubes and like 6 little caps in there what I had to do was take the 3 long tubes and make the holes in them the same size as the holes in the 6 caps because the pellet was clipping the tubs and making my grouping go hay wire the sound is the same as before and just works 1000 times better. As for the bar gage I guess they are having some problems with them working but they sent me a new one and I did the install and now works great. Just to let you know the gun is heavy!!!!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3

    Value for money:2

    Accuracy:5

    By Rodger from USA on 2009-05-19 00:25:37

    Things I liked:I bought the .22 caliber right handed version... After I got the shroud's baffles sorted out, this rifle is VERY accurate. It's also VERY powerful. It also has a very nice two stage trigger.
    Things I would have changed:I have a feeling Evanix rushed the production of the Blizzard just a bit to beat the Murauder to market. This decision may give a bad reputation to a really nice (but heavy) rifle. The first "clip" of pellets (JSB 18.1 gr. Diablos) I fired at a target gave a "group" that looked like I was shooting a shotgun. They also went clear through the plywood backing of my "quiet" pellet trap from 25 yds away. Whoa!! That power is why I didn't just box the gun up and send it back to Pyramyd. I pulled the shroud off the barrel and then pushed the delrin baffles out. Every one of the baffles showed evidence of pellet clipping. I went ahead and bored out the baffles and the brass muzzle piece to .3125" (5/16ths) and reassembled it. Ah what a difference. I fired five more Diablos and they all went through the same hole (and blew the back out of my repaired and reinforced pellet trap, again...). I didn't detect any increase in the noise of the shots due to my "modification". I've since fired another hundred or so pellets through my "Blizzard" and it does deserve that "5" I gave it for accuracy... now.
    What others should know:The rifle with a good scope weighs almost 10 pounds. If you were carrying it through the woods hunting it would make for a very long day. I wish they'd have put sling studs on it.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2011-08-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The rifle looks as good as my Air Arms rifles, is finished as well and the thumbhole stock is excellent, beautiful and very comfortable in shooting. A ton of power. Have taken a coyote, a few hundred muskrats, racoons and many smaller blackbirds and pest animals on the farm. Am shooting with accuracy at 75 yards with regularity. Can probably go further buy I am the limiting factor on distance - not steady enough for the really long distances with a pellet rifle. Nice and quiet in shooting. No recoil coupled with the quick loading of the next shot means I don't lose the site picture on the varmints for the next shot.
      Things I would have changed:The fill probe is a pain in the butt. Works but takes a few hard pumps first to seat the O-rings, and they need to be lubed with divers grease each time to get them sealed right. Wish this feature were as easy as the Marauder I have.
      What others should know:A lot of power and not a small air rifle. Very smooth all the way around. A beautiful rifle that is easy to shoot with accuracy.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Steve from USA on 2010-02-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nice stock and the fit and finish are perfect. Good balance and a very smooth side lever cocking effort. One of the best triggers out of the box that I have encountered yet.
      Things I would have changed:Make the pressure guage in psi. Add sling studs.
      What others should know:Buy it now that the price has come down! The power IS ADJUSTABLE if you know what you are doing. I now get 40 consistant shots at 860 fps using JSB 18gr pellets. 815 fps using 21 gr Kodiaks. My fill pressure is only @ 2500. Velocity variation is within 12 fps from start to finish. Out of the box it is very powerful and does as advertised. It is louder however but after my tinkering it isn't much louder than a Marauder. I had to lower the power for shooting in my back yard. The original power setting had a 25gr JSB Monster at 865 fps! This rifle is very accurate! For the price it's much, much better than the Marauder.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Matthew from USA on 2009-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      42 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well lets see the stock is the best i have ever seen on an air rifle! This Gun is very quiet!!!! great rich blueing I was amazed on the speed out of the .22 with the JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.1 Grains, Domed, im getting around 900-950fps like 32 to 36 ft/pounds As for Accuracy well lets just say its was sighted in at 20 yards, 30 yards shoots are a little high but at 40-50-60 yards cross hairs dead on making head shots to squirrels all day long cant beat that. The cocking of the gun never jams it’s all steal nice and heavy duty the Trigger is great take up the slack with the first stage then a nice clean second stage break im guessing maybe 2 pound pull that means you will “not” tweak the gun trying to get a heavy trigger back over all a great gun if you have the money to spend you wont regret it
      Things I would have changed:I would change the clip a little the only problem I was having was the pellets would fall back and when the clip Rotates the pellet skirts might hit the main block that the clip sits in it really only happened when I was using the predator polymag pellets so when you cock the gun make sure the pellets are in place as for the JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy 18.1 Grains they did not slip at all but both were shooting great dead on target at 20 to 50 yards even at a 100 yards held two mill dots high and still getting out there with in 3in but that could have been me moving around
      What others should know:As for the baffles there are 3 long tubes and like 6 little caps in there what I had to do was take the 3 long tubes and make the holes in them the same size as the holes in the 6 caps because the pellet was clipping the tubs and making my grouping go hay wire the sound is the same as before and just works 1000 times better. As for the bar gage I guess they are having some problems with them working but they sent me a new one and I did the install and now works great. Just to let you know the gun is heavy!!!!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By John from USA on 2009-07-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:The S10 arrived double boxed from Pyramyd Air with plenty of padding. Wow! What a luxurious beautiful gun. Nice trigger, very crisp, I don’t believe that I will be trying to adjusting it. It is also a large adult gun, larger than most full size cartridge rifles. The stock is wonderful and the bluing (except for one spot) is top notch. Sounds from the spring and hammer firing mechanism are the loudest heard by the shooter. Accuracy was very good. The point of impact relative to the point of aim changed very little (30 lethal shots to an English Sparrow size) at 25 yds.
      Things I would have changed:The charging probe came with the wrong size O-rings, making an accurate charging nearly impossible with a tank. The leaking past the supplied O-rings was horrible. Pyramyd Air needs to take note, this makes overcharging a probability. The charging probe is treaded on one end, but no quick connect nipple is included. The magazine holds the Kodiak pellets very loosely. The magazine O-ring limits the forward movement of the pellets but does not sufficiently limit the rearward movement. During normal operation the magazine allows the pellets to move backward in the magazine. The Kodiak rear skirts often catch on the receiver as the magazine tries to rotate and index for the next shot. This is a significant problem and I will have to search for a solution, unless Evanix or Pyramyd Air decides to fix this with a magazine replacement program. I have reason to believe that the meter on my gun may read high.
      What others should know:I set up the chrono and was hoping that I could characterize a normal valve lock as the pressure went down through a string of shots. No evidence of any valve lock was seen. I was shooting 21.1 gr Kodiaks (.22) during the shot string. Velocity started at 1045 fps from an indicated 240 bar charge and declined to 1008 fps after 10 shots. The indicated pressure after twelve shots was 210 bar. At the end of the second 10 shots, shot 20 was 949 fps and indicated pressure was 170 bar. At the end of shot 30 the velocity was 877 fps with a pressure on the gage of 135 bar. After going up two sizes to a P6 in a Harbor Freight assortment, I got a leak free engagement of the O-rings during a charge (don’t forget to use an appropriate O-ring lubricant). This O-ring is listed as having a thickness of 1.9mm and an inside diameter of 5.8mm. My final impressions are that this is a great high quality gun that did not go through an effective independent operational test and evaluation phase before going to production (not unlike many others). Without a minor O-ring fix to the charging rod, this is going to be an unusable gun for those that rely on a hand pump and not very useful for most. Without a more significant fix to the magazine, this is going to be a beautiful but frustrating gun for most.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Rodger from USA on 2009-05-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:After I fixed the baffles (in the shroud) , It's VERY accurate. It likes the heaviest of pellets, which makes it a hunter's dream. It also has an excellent trigger, and it's quiet.
      Things I would have changed:1. Bore the baffles out to 5/16" as they are they clip pellets. 2. Find some way to make it a little lighter. 3. For the price, it should come with QD swivel studs.
      What others should know:The rifle is heavy. Scoped and loaded it weighs over 11 pounds. However, it does balance well, so the weight is only a problem if you're going to carry it all day, especially without a sling.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By David from USA on 2009-05-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun is extremely quiet and powerful. Sighted in at 50 yards with eunjin 28 grain pellets is only about 3/4 inch high at 25 yards. I was getting 1/2 inch groups at 25 yards on a day with a variable cross wind that was anywhere from 5 to 15 mph. I really like the side lever action with the anti double load feature.
      Things I would have changed:Add sling swivels from the factory, and make the trigger adjustable without removing the action from the stock. Also finish the muzzle end cap on the shroud so it closely matches the shroud rather than leaving it the natural brass color.
      What others should know:The gun really likes heavier pellets. I did not get as good a group using crow magnums as with the eunjin pellets although the crosswind while I was sighting in the gun may have been an issue with group size.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By David from USA on 2009-05-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:fairly quiet. difficult to tell with wind blowing just how quiet, and didn't want to use the shooting shed at the range since it had been invaded by wasps. Seemed the valve mechanism made more noise than the actual firing of the pellet. Sighted at 50 yards with eun jin 28 grain pellets is about 3/4 inch high at 25 yards. Very accurate. Best guess is under 1 inch at 50 yards. Would have been easier to shoot groups without the variable crosswind that went from 0 up to 15 mph. Gun really likes the heavier pellets. The vertically adjustable buttpad is a nice feature. Never having a rifle with one before now I wish all my scoped rifles had one.
      Things I would have changed:Change the design so the magazine could be removed without cocking the gun. Change the color of the end cap on the shroud (currently unfinished brass) . Add sling swivel studs. Make the trigger adjustment accessable without removing the gun from the stock. Use a manometer with a smaller range; the gun is only rated for 200 bar the manometer doesn't need to go all the way to 350 bar, 250 would be plenty and the expanded scale easier to read.
      What others should know:Barrel is way back from end of shroud, and with the brass end cap you're probably out of luck trying to boresight the rifle after mounting a scope. I had a limited # of arbors for my boresighter and none would work.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Rodger from USA on 2009-05-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought the .22 caliber right handed version... After I got the shroud's baffles sorted out, this rifle is VERY accurate. It's also VERY powerful. It also has a very nice two stage trigger.
      Things I would have changed:I have a feeling Evanix rushed the production of the Blizzard just a bit to beat the Murauder to market. This decision may give a bad reputation to a really nice (but heavy) rifle. The first "clip" of pellets (JSB 18.1 gr. Diablos) I fired at a target gave a "group" that looked like I was shooting a shotgun. They also went clear through the plywood backing of my "quiet" pellet trap from 25 yds away. Whoa!! That power is why I didn't just box the gun up and send it back to Pyramyd. I pulled the shroud off the barrel and then pushed the delrin baffles out. Every one of the baffles showed evidence of pellet clipping. I went ahead and bored out the baffles and the brass muzzle piece to .3125" (5/16ths) and reassembled it. Ah what a difference. I fired five more Diablos and they all went through the same hole (and blew the back out of my repaired and reinforced pellet trap, again...). I didn't detect any increase in the noise of the shots due to my "modification". I've since fired another hundred or so pellets through my "Blizzard" and it does deserve that "5" I gave it for accuracy... now.
      What others should know:The rifle with a good scope weighs almost 10 pounds. If you were carrying it through the woods hunting it would make for a very long day. I wish they'd have put sling studs on it.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Philip A. from USA on 2009-05-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:All. is a very nice rifle.
      Things I would have changed:A better micro-gauge reads , on mine rifle, since new it never worked, just go to 50 bar even the rifle is full.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By davidcapao from USA on 2009-05-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      12 ratings
       
      Things I liked:looks nice! It's quiet and powerfull!
      Things I would have changed:It's a bite heavy
      What others should know:It kills every thing. From the smallest bird to a Turkey
    Over
    ammo packs sold