Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Gamo Bull Whisper Extreme Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5 (9 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:4

    Accuracy:5

    By wifishing from USA on 2012-05-23 16:18:58

    Things I liked:This rifle is the Varmit Hunted HP with a different colored stock and a bull barrel. The barrel is fluted. Why, I don't know except to make it look a little different. The barrel is made to look ported. Gamo really missed the mark by not porting the barrel for just a few dollars more. Over all it's a very good hunting rifle with great accuracy. The scope is better than some of the scopes that I paid $150.00 plus for.
    Things I would have changed:I would like a thumbhole stock version.
    What others should know:Both the Varmit hunter HP and the Bull Whisper Extreme are bacisly the same rifle.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4

    Value for money:3

    Accuracy:5

    By Josh from USA on 2013-06-05 00:17:45

    Things I liked:It is a very accurate rifle, I was very very surprised at how tight my groups were with it. I also like the fact its light, it is a very easy rifle to carry. It is not the quietest air rifle Ive ever shot but its a far cry from the loudest so it scores high in neighborhood safe points. It is an absolute hammer! The bpa pellets were slicing through 1/2 inch pine like butter; hollow points deformed more than I have seen with any air rifle up to this point. I really believe this is a great hunting rifle. The trigger is pretty outstanding for a gun under 500 dollars. I adjusted mine and tightened the screw all the way down and backed out just to see if it makes a difference, IT DOES! That by itself was a real shock! I keep it all the way tightened down, that gives me a heavier pull but a very very short one. The stock is very comfortable as well, it is actually needed with this gun since it does produce some notable thump. I will also say this is my nicest springer as far as recoil goes, there is no loud twang, no jump all over the place, just a stiff thump directly rearward. Overall a great hunting rifle from Gamo, I was very impressed.
    Things I would have changed:Plastic barrel shrouds... seriously? Come on Gamo, this is where I docked on value for money. I also don't like the fact that the grey cushions slip out of the stock, thats a little weird and I'm not a fan. Use some more metal!
    What others should know:I have a great rifle, it like some pellets better than others. The ones it likes I can shoot dimes all day long with, the ones it doesn't I still get 2 inch groups at 20 yards. I realize 2 inches at 20 isn't great, but this is the first rifle I've ever had that I didn't have to completely re-sight in every time I changed pellets, your experience may differ. You should also be aware of your pellets path if your shooting it near a residence, it will punch through a tremendous amount of material depending on the pellet (this is the first rifle I've owned that I actually do believe the velocity claims on, the occasional "7.8" grain will go super sonic). Gamo pbas and red fires go through 1/2 pine, Gamo Tomahawks and Crossman Premier wadcutters would stop within 1/4 and flatten out substantially. If you want a neighborhood backyard plinking rifle I would look elsewhere, it has the accuracy but its just too powerful. If however, your after a hunting rifle, this is a rifle you should seriously consider. After seeing the effects some of the pellets had on different mediums, I would feel completely comfortable shooting animals as large as raccoons, opossums, and rabbits with this rifle. Obviously they would require a headshot, but this rifle is accurate enough to do it, and powerful enough to put them down cleanly. I really really really like this rifle.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Josh from USA on 2013-06-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is a very accurate rifle, I was very very surprised at how tight my groups were with it. I also like the fact its light, it is a very easy rifle to carry. It is not the quietest air rifle Ive ever shot but its a far cry from the loudest so it scores high in neighborhood safe points. It is an absolute hammer! The bpa pellets were slicing through 1/2 inch pine like butter; hollow points deformed more than I have seen with any air rifle up to this point. I really believe this is a great hunting rifle. The trigger is pretty outstanding for a gun under 500 dollars. I adjusted mine and tightened the screw all the way down and backed out just to see if it makes a difference, IT DOES! That by itself was a real shock! I keep it all the way tightened down, that gives me a heavier pull but a very very short one. The stock is very comfortable as well, it is actually needed with this gun since it does produce some notable thump. I will also say this is my nicest springer as far as recoil goes, there is no loud twang, no jump all over the place, just a stiff thump directly rearward. Overall a great hunting rifle from Gamo, I was very impressed.
      Things I would have changed:Plastic barrel shrouds... seriously? Come on Gamo, this is where I docked on value for money. I also don't like the fact that the grey cushions slip out of the stock, thats a little weird and I'm not a fan. Use some more metal!
      What others should know:I have a great rifle, it like some pellets better than others. The ones it likes I can shoot dimes all day long with, the ones it doesn't I still get 2 inch groups at 20 yards. I realize 2 inches at 20 isn't great, but this is the first rifle I've ever had that I didn't have to completely re-sight in every time I changed pellets, your experience may differ. You should also be aware of your pellets path if your shooting it near a residence, it will punch through a tremendous amount of material depending on the pellet (this is the first rifle I've owned that I actually do believe the velocity claims on, the occasional "7.8" grain will go super sonic). Gamo pbas and red fires go through 1/2 pine, Gamo Tomahawks and Crossman Premier wadcutters would stop within 1/4 and flatten out substantially. If you want a neighborhood backyard plinking rifle I would look elsewhere, it has the accuracy but its just too powerful. If however, your after a hunting rifle, this is a rifle you should seriously consider. After seeing the effects some of the pellets had on different mediums, I would feel completely comfortable shooting animals as large as raccoons, opossums, and rabbits with this rifle. Obviously they would require a headshot, but this rifle is accurate enough to do it, and powerful enough to put them down cleanly. I really really really like this rifle.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the Competition style stock and grip. It makes a quiet 'thunk' sound with 7 gr lead ammo. It feels light and is perfectly balanced. So Powerful some shots bust through 3/4 birch plywood. The 3-9 40mm AO scope has very good optics.
      Things I would have changed:The scope rings and set-up.
      What others should know:I've had this .177 Bull Whisper EXTREME for 2 months and I am finally getting the scope zeroed in. It is very accurate at my normal range of 35 yards. The shock is fierce and I have to pull it into my shoulder to subdue it. The original scope set-up has a set of short rings on top of an add-on 3/8 rail on top of the piston chamber. I overtorqued the screw through the ring-cap. So I replaced the rings with NC STAR high rings, and removed the extra rail to put the scope down closer to the line of fire. I had to install a stop pin in the back one to stop the scope from walking toward the buttstock. The claimed cocking effort of 41 lbs seems heavy at first, but I got used to it. My 11 year old son can operate and fire this gun with no problems. Alloy pellets are fun because of the cracking sonic boom that breaks about 30 feet from the muzzle, but I can't always predict where they will end up. I think this gun shoots best with 7.9 gr. Crossman Premium Hollow-Points. 10.5 gr Crossman Ultra-Magnums work well also if you sight for the extra weight. They did break through 3/4" birch plywood I pasted my Shoot-N-See onto. 13.4 gr JSB Monster Diablo pellets cause a big drop in fps. GAMO Tomahawks are not consistent enough and some of them break sonic. I shot my first tree rat yesterday. It was in the scope one second, and gone the next. Go Ahead, Spoil Yourself with the best Break-Barrel
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Impressive gun, very serious heft, lots of power and very high fps (with special alloy pellet). Good accuracy ...and good looks too!
      Things I would have changed:Synthetic stock is fine, but for this ambitious gun, a walnut option would be great, even at a higher cost.
      What others should know:Be warned: cocking is rather strenuous. Not for the weakling...
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By JAMES from USA on 2013-01-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:rifle is nice and light a little under 7 lbs. and fits my hands very well and scope comes right to my eye when shouldered.accuary is amazing. 50 yds quarter size groups... scope that comes with this rifle is very good... i used rws lock down mounts, which i bought seperately.gun comes set up for them,my scope has not needed any shims with these mounts.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:this rifle is better suited for someone 18 or older.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By JOSE from USA on 2013-01-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:consistent accuracy, lightweight, cocking effort is easy, SAT (Smooth Action Trigger) 2-stage adjustable trigger, scope
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Wow!! I have this .22 Bull Extreme and I sincerely love it. It's a really powerful rifle with a consistent accuracy and it is lightweight. Compared to other rifles the cocking effort is easy, looks nice, and has a SAT (Smooth Action Trigger) 2-stage adjustable trigger that you'll also love. I changed to scope to a BSA Contender 3-12x40 and for me it's the perfect combination. The scope it comes with is also a really nice one but like I own a Gamo Whisper .177 as well, I used the scope of the Bull Whisper Extreme to upgrade the cheap scope the other rifle came with and know the other rifle is by far better than before. Be careful as this is a really powerful rifle. OVERALL I LOVE IT!! I recommend the JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Jesse from USA on 2013-01-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well built quality product. Love the scope with the parallax adjustment. On target and sighted in at 20 yds (3 shots in group smaller than pinky fingernail) in under 10 shots using the Premier Ultra Magnum pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Lead pellets that come with the gun are very inaccurate. Pistol grip is thick and meaty. Kids will not be able to shoot this with me.
      What others should know:Is louder than I remember from my youth, but still quiet enough for backyard shooting.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By alejandro from USA on 2012-10-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power and accuracy
      Things I would have changed:Nothing ,,,,,,,,,,for the price is perfect
      What others should know:If you are going to change the scope you may need a compensator because it has barrel drop also you need to use heavy pellets.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By jeremy from USA on 2012-10-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate and powerful rifle, solid hunting rifle, not to heavy for being out in the field but you should get a sling for it
      Things I would have changed:The scope is alright but plan on upgrading
      What others should know:This gun is very hold sensitive and for me has been picky on pellets
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By wifishing from USA on 2012-05-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      42 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is the Varmit Hunted HP with a different colored stock and a bull barrel. The barrel is fluted. Why, I don't know except to make it look a little different. The barrel is made to look ported. Gamo really missed the mark by not porting the barrel for just a few dollars more. Over all it's a very good hunting rifle with great accuracy. The scope is better than some of the scopes that I paid $150.00 plus for.
      Things I would have changed:I would like a thumbhole stock version.
      What others should know:Both the Varmit hunter HP and the Bull Whisper Extreme are bacisly the same rifle.
    Over
    ammo packs sold