Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo Recon Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By rafa 357 mag from USA on 2007-08-17 16:12:40

    Things I liked:the plastic..
    Things I would have changed:the velocity and the optical..
    What others should know:that is very good to youngers shooters to learn...
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By Michael from USA on 2007-09-27 20:47:53

    Things I liked:it feels nice and its great on the grips
    Things I would have changed:needs to be heavyer plus longer with better trigger setup and change the barrel to a normal one
    What others should know:this gun is only good for shooting glass bottles and paper targets
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Independentrealist from USA on 2011-07-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the fit and thumbhole grip. This rifle is perfect for backyard target/plinking. I have ordered the "scope creep stop" from Gamo, it is a creeper for sure. I like the polymer or plastic covered barrel and the rifle is very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:I would smooth out the spring vibration when you shoot the gun, however you do get used to it after awhile. Better quality scope needed with scope stop included.
      What others should know:This is not the cheaperst plinker out there but its built good & tough should last a long time.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Erik from USA on 2011-03-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fits my four sons ages 7 to 12 very well as far as size and proportions. Cocking pressure is well within all their capabilities too. Makes it much easier on Dad during a shooting session.Has greater accuracy with the heavier pellets than I anticipated. My sons consistantly hit nickle sized targets at 30 to 40 feet.
      Things I would have changed:Scopes on both rifles I purchased moved back on the rails to the point of the rear ring coming completely off the top rail after pushing the rear plastic cover off. I fixed this by upsetting some of the dovetail steel with a center punch. So far this has fixed the problem.
      What others should know:My kids were very excited to have a pellet rifle that they could handle and that fit them well, especially after they were able to knock down targets regularly.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By DW from USA on 2010-06-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I got this one to replace the Crosman Raven I recently got for my daughter...I just did not trust the plastic trigger group on the Crosman in terms of longevity. I like that the Recon has a metal trigger group, much smoother break of the barrel, and stock is SO much more ergonomic than the Raven. The Recon is an accurate rifle, and I managed to hit a soda can at about 35-40yds. away with a different scope, not the one that came with it.
      Things I would have changed:The scope that comes with the Recon. It has a "TV screen" shape when viewed through the scope! I would also like to see a scope stop included with this rifle. Even though the FPS is not the fastest, the vibration definitely causes scope movement.
      What others should know:For me anyway, I have found the Recon to be finicky in terms of where you grip the rifle. I found that grabbing the very front and pulling into your shoulder with a straight a pull as possible will result in great accuracy. Lotta trigger creep, but I am happy it is metal! (FWIW, I do not think the trigger is adjustable).
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By CharlesT from USA on 2010-06-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The sweet trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Accuracy
      What others should know:Always keep the muzzle in safe direction and always assume a gun is loaded and ready to fire... treat it in a safe manor!!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2010-06-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light, Fun to shoot, best price in its level, Great for kids and adults
      Things I would have changed:Scope is cheap and hard to adjust,my rating was on the rifle itself.
      What others should know:Once you get your scope tweaked its dead on, and stays that way if you tork the screws tight more accurate with the lighter weight pellets and that will boost your velocity a bit . likes the crossman and daisy match pellets.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By importslayer from USA on 2010-04-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy. first and foremost i couldn't group better than 1.5" at 20 yrds with this gun with the scope it came with. however i recently got a better scope for my big cat so the scope that came with the big cat went on this rifle and let me tell you it made all the difference my girlfriend even grouped about 1" at 20 yrds her first time shooting it. my groups were half an inch. the 4x scope that came on the big cat is not a good scope by any means but it is WAY better than the like 4x20 that came on this thing. i also like the pistol grip and my girlfriend loves that its lightweight and easy to cock. she cant cock the big cat. The trigger is also very good.
      Things I would have changed:obviously the scope is a big problem for me its trash. it would probably be good for a young kid as they wont be able to tell the difference and at the very least it will help develop good shooting habits.
      What others should know:even though this rifle has low fps it is very accurate. i had to change the scope to get good accuracy out of it. i took the scope off my big cat and put it on this and its a little tack driver now i have been shooting it more than the big cat now.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2010-03-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The stock / cheek rest / thumbhole are ergonomically perfect for me..and I'm 5' 10". Scope / gun combo is good to go. Zeroed in 6 shots. holding dime to quarter size groups at 25 yards. Can't ask for much more at $ 90!!!!
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is WAY too long of a pull for my liking. The manual says it should have an adjustable 2 stage trigger, mine doesn't. I am contacting Gamo to find out if it is a misprint / what I can do to replace the trigger.
      What others should know:Oh yeah, it looks as cool as it does in the picture, but look at the "closer view" pics. The bull barrel is not as thick as it appears in the small picture.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2010-01-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate, and great for the young shooter. I purchased this for my ten year old son and it was a perfect match, light weight and was easy to cock.
      Things I would have changed:the plastic around the "Bull" barrel is kinda cheesey but it is ok and keeps the barrel from getting scratched. The scope is of decent quality especially for the new and young shooters that will be kind of rough with a first scope
      What others should know:I was extremely surprised with the accuracy this gun. it is a perfect match for the young shooter that has out grown the Red Ryder style guns.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Robert from USA on 2009-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The design of the stock and overall weight of the rifle makes it a good choice for introducing younger kids to the sport of air rifle shooting. Trigger action seems to be good but this is the first air rifle ever purchased so I no way of comparing. Won't wear yourself out cocking the barrel on this one.
      Things I would have changed:Include scope rings with a stop pin or add a Gamo scope stop to the package. Give an option to purchase just the rifle and order the scope setup seperate.
      What others should know:Go ahead and order a scope stop if you decide to purchase this air rifle. I was supprised at how much scope movement there was with just a couple a shots with a rifle of this power. Will be ordering one myself so I cannot judge accuracy until fixed. The scope clarity seems to be fair but don't expect anything fancy. Remember this is a youth rifle and they probably won't know the difference but, if you are alittle picky you might as well go ahead and upgrade to a better scope and ring setup.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Fred Johnson from USA on 2009-07-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Top notch plastic stock.
      Things I would have changed:Include a scope stop.
      What others should know:The Gamo Recon is a fantastic and quiet backyard plinker. The plastic used on the barrel and the stock is precisely made and rugged, much better than other air guns in this price range. The included scope works well and is clear. This gun is also good with a red dot sight if you're thinking about buying one. Even with this low powered spring gun, you will need a scope stop. The trigger is good enough for most, but it is gritty with a lot of creep. To get the most from this Gamo, or any other Gamo, put on a GRT-III trigger from Charlie DaTuna. I did and is money well spent. I've had my Recon for about 1-1/2 years. I have no regrets in purchasing this air rifle and I am still surprisingly satisfied every time I shoot it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Shadow94 from USA on 2009-06-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A very good beginner rifle. The ergonomic stock is very comfortable.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:The trigger guard will rub against your middle finger, so I recommend shooting with two fingers.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Charles from USA on 2009-06-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really like this gun. It is compact, lightweight, easy to cock, solid, loves JSB Exact 8.2gr pellets. It's almost as accurate as my IZH-61. Terrific plinker! Very good targeter. Excellent for young people, too.
      Things I would have changed:Offer a package including BugBuster scope in place of the 4X.
      What others should know:I upgraded the trigger and like it even more afterwards.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Dead Eye K99 from USA on 2009-01-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Weight, feel & looks, very easy to cock.
      Things I would have changed:Include a better scope. Make it bolt action, but I guess thats just preference.
      What others should know:Very nice, the scope included is pure plastic and I really suggest buying a better one.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Mr. from USA on 2008-11-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Gamo Recon gun stock is very ergonomic, the pistol grip is very comfortable, and the barrel is very easy to break for nine year old son and twelve year old daughter.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see a better written manual, trigger, and information on how to order replacement parts in the manual.
      What others should know:The Gamo Recon barrel vibrates and the compression is inconsistence, which cause it to be inconsistence in the accuracy department .When the recon accuracy is compared against the Crosman Raven, it failed miserably. I purchase a Gamo Recon for my daughter and two Crosman Raven from Parymydsair. The Raven out perform the Recon in accuracy, power, and costs. Both my kids can knock off a soup can on our fencepost from 30 yards using Crosman Premier .177 Cal, 7.9 Grains, Hollowpoint with this the Raven. If you are going to buy a youth air rifle for your kids, spend your hard earn money on the Crosman Raven.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Michael from USA on 2007-09-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:it feels nice and its great on the grips
      Things I would have changed:needs to be heavyer plus longer with better trigger setup and change the barrel to a normal one
      What others should know:this gun is only good for shooting glass bottles and paper targets
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By aalford from USA on 2007-09-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The easy cocking, light weight, quietness, accuracy make this rifle a lot of fun to shoot. The synthetic thumhole stock is totally sweet and the polymer covering on the bull barrel keeps it looking good without any chance of rust. The trigger is better than my other Gamo's.
      Things I would have changed:I would like it to come with a little nicer scope. Also mine did not come with a scope stop so I purchased one of the Gamo stops from Pyramid as I did get some scope movement without it.
      What others should know:I bought this rifle for my son and out of three Gamo Rifles we own, this one gets shot the most. It is not the most powerful, but it is so quiet, easy to cock and so easy to shoot well, that we put more pellets through the Recon than any of the others. Ours loves Crosman Premiers (7.9 gr) and averages 510-515 fps with them.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By rafa 357 mag from USA on 2007-08-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the plastic..
      Things I would have changed:the velocity and the optical..
      What others should know:that is very good to youngers shooters to learn...
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top