Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Gamo SOCOM Extreme Air Rifle reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Seth from USA on 2009-10-28 13:53:14

    Things I liked:I've only fired about three shot with it and was surprised at the out of box accuracy. I'm a lefty when it comes to shooting rifles so I like the stock. I haven't gotten a chance to go shooting with it so I can"t give a fair review, but I can say that from what I have done with it I like it. I like the illuminated reticle scope, I think the package is awesome for the money. If for some reason you don't like the stock you can buy the wooden one from Gamo for about thirty-two dollars and you will have the other package for a fraction of the cost. Pyramydair may have the wooden stock for less. I've got three other Gamo rifles and a CO2 pistol, I bought a whisper for my younger brother and have shot them frequently and haven"t been disappointed my only complaint was I couldn"t keep a scope accurate on my shadow 1000. The open sights work well on it though
    Things I would have changed:The swell on the rear grip felt a little awkward to me but nothing I couldn"t get used to other people might not even notice it
    What others should know:There is no adjustable objective on the scope while that is no big deal to me others might want to take it into consideration
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Cookie D. from USA on 2011-07-15 08:25:06

    Things I liked:If I can ever get off 1st base with my problem below then I can answer this question.
    Things I would have changed:The product arrived to you from the manufacturer via UPS (I'm a UPS retiree), then it was overboxed and sent to me via FedEx. The packaging was compromised. The scope had fallen out of it's box and was loose in the rifle's box. The focus ring on the scope is extremely hard to turn. I know that the scope was made in China so I don't really know if the problem is a manufacturing issue or if the scope was actually damaged in transit. Does anyone check this stuff before it's sent to the customer?
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Scott from USA on 2010-11-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked: At first glance, I loved this gun's appearance. After I began to shoot it, I felt somewhat disappointed in it's performance and what I had paid for this gun. However, I shelved the light weight ammo and tried typical match pellets. I also pulled the Gamo scope and installed a 5-20x50mm scope. Like the PBA pellets, performance was inconsistent. I then moved to Crossman Ultra Magnum, 10.5grn pellets and it performed much more consistent. After 500 of these and a SLIGHT adjustment on the trigger screw, the trigger is getting smoother. Tonight I tried H&NSport, Baracuda Hunter pellets, 10.34grn, and it is very consistent-under 1" groups at 40 yards off of a tripod. This gun is a game taker. During all of this process I've taken six doves,40-60 yards, a grey squirrel and a nice fat fox squirrel-all dropped instantly with one shot. The combination of heavier pellets and this rifle is consistently deadly. I would recommend this rifle to a friend. I have plans for this rifle and my fur taker's permit for this winter.
      Things I would have changed: I think for the money, the optics are a joke. At 9 power you are shooting at a blurry blob. Gamo could look at the Benjamin Trail Nitro Piston package and see how they have fallen short in product for price. They should offer a true match trigger upgrade- more money in their pocket. It's geared as a "tactical style" rifle- so make it an "operaters" rifle. The addition of an adjustable cheek piece would be nice- maybe along the lines of the HK PSG-1.
      What others should know: Give this rifle time to break in and be diligent in tuning this gun and your shooting form. Like most "cool" things in life, this rifle seems sensitive to everything, from the pellets it injests to every millimeter of it's trigger squeeze. Consistent deadly accuracy with this rifle will require some patience and effort, but it's a power house.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By KENNETH W from USA on 2010-08-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:THIS GUN IS AWSOME AFTER SOME MODIFICATIONS. THE STOCK IS VERY PLEASING TO THE EYE. THE GAMO SCOPE PROVIDED WITH THE RIFLE IS SATISFACTORY. OVER ALL THE GUN IS VERY POWERFUL AND IS A WORTHY HUNTER FOR SMALL GAME.
      Things I would have changed:THE TRIGGER PULL NEEDS TO BE A LIGHTER PULL TO IMPROVE ACCRUCY THIS IS ONE ONE OF THE MODS I HAVE ACCOMPLISHED STATED IN THE REST OF MY REVIEW. TUNE THE THE RIFLE SPRING AND PISTON WITH A SPRING AND PISTONTHAT WILL SHOOT MORE CONSISTANT DURING CHORONY TESTING AND INCREASE DURABILITY. WELL I HAVE ACHIEVED ALL OF THIS AND MORE, READ BELOW.
      What others should know:I HAVE REPLACED THE TRIGGER TO A GRT-III TO GIVE ME A MUCH LIGHTER TRIGGER PULL FROM 3LBS 3 OZ. TO 1LB 9 OZ. RIGHT AWAY MY ACCRUCY INCREASED 100%. I REPLACED THE SPRING AND PISTON TO A MORE DURABLE SPRING AND PISTON AND A LITTLE MODDING IN THE PISTON BORE TO LOWER THE TWISTING AND HARD KICK BACK AND FORTH ALSO EASING COCKING EFFORT OF THE RIFLE. HERE ARE THE RESULTS IN FPS 7.9 GRAM PELLET.177 CAL HIGHEST FPS 1246 LOWEST 1210. EACH TIME THE RIFLE IS COCKED AND FIRED I NOTICED INCREASE IN FPS AND CONSISTANT CLIMBING OR STEADY BUT NEVER DROPPING IN FPS. NOW THIS RIFLE IS A BEAST. OVERALL I ACHIEVED CONSISTANT FPS, EASIER COCKING, LIGHTER TRIGGER PULL. AND I CHANGE THE SCOPE TO AMIL DOT SCOPE. THIS IS NOW A VERY ACCURATE SHOOTING RIFLE.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2010-05-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power,feel of stock or better put the ergo of stock.Ability to shoot heavy pellets well above 1000fps.Drops squirrels and other vermin with absolute authority. Shoots all mid weight pellets at super sonic up to about 9.1 or 9.2g,again the power.
      Things I would have changed:Easier cocking and lighter would be nice.Slightly higher magnification scope but for the price it does the job.A silencer like the whisper might be helpful cuz any non heavy pellet goes Crack! Will some body PLEASE make a gun of this power with a GAS PISTON.
      What others should know:Im not getting 1650fps with raptors but i didnt expect to cuz of my experience with big advertizing numbers but i was expectin something higher than 1500 and it did get 1550 with raptors that i dont shoot with anyway.Just for comparison.So far the beeman ex heavy kodiacs 10.6g have been the most accurate at 1070 fps and gamo rockets 9.6g a fairly close 2nd.Seems to shoot smoother w heavier pellets,havent tried many standard weight pells ie 7.9g-9g so not to bum out neibors w the crack,i must try crosman 7.9g hollow points though loud to see if they are as accurate in extreme as are in whisper whitch is super accurate.Extreme has alot of Bump(recoil) and is tireing after shootin awhile due to weight and cocking,and induces headaches too after jarring youre head around.Finally it is powerful and moderately hold sensitive.Its shoots accurately for as long as your arms stay fresh.Its easier to shoot whiper spot on cuz of lighter weight and trigger pull.Both gamos have grt3 triggers installed.OH and extreme is a better shooter than my Benjamin Superstreak thats in the same class.If you got strong arms and very tolerant of recoil then get this gun.IM Totally HAPPY with it,its not my everyday gun like the whisper but it does drop squirrels quicker when you getem.and does better on windy days w the heavier pellets.Feels awesome holding it too.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Danny from USA on 2010-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This not a backyard plinker. This is a long range power house. It is very accurate but it has to have the right pellets to be so. With the right pellets I have been putting 5 shots in same hole @ 32yd,s. Have shot it out to 50+yd.s and had the same one hole with 5 shots. Love the way it shoots.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger. This has been the only bad part of the whole gun. Looks like if Gamo was going to make a long range gun they would have put something better on it.
      What others should know:If you are wanting a good long range gun that is very accurate this is the gun for you. If you are wanting something to plink with go with something around 650 f.p.s. With this gun you will need a real good back stop. Have already cut a 2/4" in half with it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2009-12-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well constructed, accurate extremly powerful
      Things I would have changed:Lighter trigger pull 5lbs is alot.
      What others should know:This is louder than my .22lr using raptor pba ammo. This rifle is excellent for hunting medium to small game, that's why I bought it. Also is has a good recoil so when shooting have a firm grim. Included scope with RGB red, green and blue is cool since you can change the color of the center dot.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Albert from USA on 2009-11-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:The weight of the rifle and the price.
      What others should know:The rifle does not satisfy my expectations: 1. Too heavy; 2. on the casing of the piston, it is engraved “read operational manual before usng” (USNG! Should be Using); 3. The “10$” test was done by Pyramyd Air providing the results: 884.41 1285.84 1192.13 1148.26 1142.41 1116.59 1129.51 1133.63 1129.51 1130.98 1121.56 1136.29. I am a statistician and I can show that the velocity is close to be expected as1000 fts and not as 1200 fts as promised; 4. I did a shot test comparing this rifle with my Gamo Big Cat 1200.With PBA pellets as well as with leads, the new rifle does not demonstrate more penetrating abilities than those of the Big Cat. As was expected 1650 fts should be very different from 1200 fts.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Seth from USA on 2009-10-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've only fired about three shot with it and was surprised at the out of box accuracy. I'm a lefty when it comes to shooting rifles so I like the stock. I haven't gotten a chance to go shooting with it so I can"t give a fair review, but I can say that from what I have done with it I like it. I like the illuminated reticle scope, I think the package is awesome for the money. If for some reason you don't like the stock you can buy the wooden one from Gamo for about thirty-two dollars and you will have the other package for a fraction of the cost. Pyramydair may have the wooden stock for less. I've got three other Gamo rifles and a CO2 pistol, I bought a whisper for my younger brother and have shot them frequently and haven"t been disappointed my only complaint was I couldn"t keep a scope accurate on my shadow 1000. The open sights work well on it though
      Things I would have changed:The swell on the rear grip felt a little awkward to me but nothing I couldn"t get used to other people might not even notice it
      What others should know:There is no adjustable objective on the scope while that is no big deal to me others might want to take it into consideration
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By KENNETH W from USA on 2009-10-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:WELL BALANCE 99RIFLE
      Things I would have changed:I WOULD CHANGE THE TRIGGER TO A LIGHTER TRIGGER PULL AND CHANGE FROM SPRING PISTON TO A GAS PISTON
      What others should know:THIS GUN IS POWERFUL, BEST SHOOTING WEIGHT PELLETS BETWEEN 7 GRAMS TO 9 GRAMS. STAY AWAY FROM PBA'S THEY ARE TOO LIGHT AND CAN DAMAGE PISTON SEAL.
    • « Previous 12
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top