Hatsan 95 Air Rifle Combo, Walnut Stock reviews - page 1



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By john from USA on 2012-03-26 13:02:30

Things I liked:Let me start by saying, what a good looking gun this is. Very stout yet not so intimidating as some other hatsans (walther talon). Behaves very well as both plinking or serious hunting platform.
Things I would have changed:stiff, which I am sure will improve with use.I am reffering to the cocking effort. (not complaing, just an observation)
What others should know:This rifle has the power and most definlety the looks to rival rws and other eleite spring rifles
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Ernest from USA on 2014-05-15 15:41:25

Things I liked:nice stock, good innovation in design, low cost
Things I would have changed:attempted to remove stock from steel to expose the main spring and found the temper of the screws and bolts to be of soft temper leading to distortion of them and not allowing dis-asembly
What others should know:trigger was so bad I sent the 95 back just for that reason although there are other problems.
Sort by:
  • 12345 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By CAREY from USA on 2015-04-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Really nice walnut stock-especially for the price. Still breaking in (I've probably run ~ 175 pellets through it so far) and accuracy appears to be pretty good. Feels somewhat lighter than my 100x (which is a good thing). Trigger may be superior to other airguns in this price range, but is not nearly as pleasurable to use as the ones on my Beemans and RWS airguns.
    Things I would have changed:As Rick Eusler has commented, Hatsan products can be "crunchy out of the box". This is my third Hatsan air gun (I also have a 100x Torpedo and Model 25 pistol) and so far the cocking action is the less refined than with my other two Hatsans-and not in the league with my Beeman R7 and RX. I've also experience considerably more dieseling than I'd like-even though I cleaned the barrel very carefully before firing the first shot. As others have commented the scope is not high quality and lacks AO, but thanks to my aging eyes and nearsightedness, it still beats the heck out of using the open sights when the intended target is much more than 10 yards away. Firing behavior is somewhat harsh, but not too bad (use of the artillery hold is a necessity). Trigger pull is heavier than I'd prefer.
    What others should know:I believe the rifle would benefit greatly from a fairly thorough tune. Also, I selected .177 because I lacked a power springer in that caliber and because pellets are less expensive. However, I'm starting to wish I'd purchased my rifle in .22 or .25 now.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2015-04-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:My first major airgun purchase,with advice,a very good decision!! Appearance is awesome and functions as they say!! I am a lousy long gun shooter but enjoy the shooting sports!! Air-gunning is a real challenge to powder burners,I'm having fun!!
    Things I would have changed:Nothing!!
    What others should know:If this is your first adventure into airguns,it is a very good choice!!
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Minimalist from USA on 2015-03-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Appearance is great - all wood walnut stock with stylish and comfortable checkering. Made in Turkey, not China, and certainly (after ~100 shots) seems to be a quality product. Highly adjustable sights are a plus for both elevation and windage. It has great power and shoots through 3/4" plywood even at 25 yards.
    Things I would have changed:The safety is plastic and the paint has started to chip/wear off already. Definitely surprised on that one. I'm not a fan of fiber optics so would change the sight, however, it is accurate as can be and again, highly adjustable.
    What others should know:After decades away from the air rifle scene (only used a multi-pump BB+pellet gun as a child), I was drawn to the price point and quality of this product. What stood out to me was the German steel and the walnut stock with checkering. I was aware that it was heavier than most, which isn't a problem for me. Young ones and weaker ones, women included, may struggle with cocking this one handed and/or holding it up. The weight IMO is a positive - gives a feeling of importance to it. Additionally it makes the recoil (to me) nearly non-existent, but then again I compare it to actual firearms. It's a beauty and functions extremely well. At this price point, it seems like a fantastic deal. You could only find better by going for synthetic stocks, perhaps. Drops squirrels even with a wadcutter!
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Fred S. from USA on 2015-03-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Beautiful rifle.
    Things I would have changed:The bolt that runs through the stock, near the front, broke. Hatsan sent me another.
    What others should know:The rifle was wonderful in the beginning. Using Crosman Premier Hollow Points at 10 yards I would get one ragged hole. Then things began to change. Now, the target looks like it was hit with a shotgun. Some of the holes are 5-6 inches apart at 10 yards. Tried a different scope and open sights--same problem. I can actually wiggle the barrel, if I hold the stock secure, so something is loose. Is past the 30 days, so cannot return to Pyramid Air. Have contacted Hatsan, but no answer.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Detphasouk from USA on 2015-03-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:First off the wood is gorgeous and the trigger is better the most of my 22 rimfire it's very arcuate out of the box, didn't get a lemon ya!! At 14yds quarter size with iron sight on a shooting stick. Only shoot 30 pellets so far.
    Things I would have changed:Weight, its heavy but I can live with that.
    What others should know:Gun got lots of oil clean before u shoot it, and yes it is back yard guiet, my crossman 17cal is louder.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Fred S. from USA on 2015-01-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Beautifully made. Very, very accurate, right out of the box. Fits and handles well.
    Things I would have changed:Leave the scop off. It's not a good one.
    What others should know:Very powerful. Shoots through 3/4 pine and 3/4 plywood with Crosman hollow Points. The more you shoot it the smoother it becomes. I would recommend. But it takes an effort to cock.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Gene Barrels from USA on 2015-01-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Powerful, nice stock, German metals, nice trigger, not to hard to cock, I have the metal spring 95,.25cal, it's hard hitting!
    Things I would have changed:The scope is alright, after all prep optical's are adjusted in? I had to adjust the front optical to get a more crisp view.
    What others should know:the front muzzle break is a little off? It doesn't effect accuracy, tho you can't use a laser bore sighter on it?
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By christopher from USA on 2015-01-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Beautiful stock, accurate with open sites, trigger, good power.
    What others should know:Shoots well out to 30yd with H&N FTT. Good for close varmint, but really fun shooting reactive targets with this .25
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Giovanni from USA on 2014-11-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I wanted to like this rifle i tried hard to make it shoot this is my 3rd 95 , two .25cal one in vortex and the other in spring, and one in .177 vortex , i do love the wood on the rifles but something is wrong with quality control at Hatsan i just sent my 44-10 qe for warrenty and it is only 3 months old .
    Things I would have changed:QUALITY//////////CONTROLLLLLL.
    What others should know:AIRGUNNERS THERE IS NOTHING LIKE GERMAN QUALITY . BEEMAN RWS WALTHER AND MY FAVORITE WEIHRAUCH . NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH THESE BRAND OF RIFLES.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Henry from USA on 2014-10-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The trigger, the truglo sights, the variable power scope. the power, the great looking stock, Great fit and finish.
    Things I would have changed:The weight, I would like to trim the weight.
    What others should know:This is a great gun for the money. I shot it a long time before putting it down for a while.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Peter from USA on 2014-10-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Great air rifle, love the walnut stock and solid mechanism. A real quality piece, it is very accurate and should last a long time.
    Things I would have changed:The scope that comes with it is not up to par with the weapon. I upgraded to the UTG Bug Buster and it really compliments the rifle, loads of fun to shoot and spot on.
    What others should know:Great service and advice from Pyramid Air staff ... they are super to deal with. Plus, super fast shipping.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Filberto from USA on 2014-08-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked: Great value and well built for the $$ Nice rifle for an adult or a large frame person...Most definitely not a toy rifle this is a serious springer
    Things I would have changed: The Weight should be a bit lighter it is a a heavy beast,but then again i did upgraded to a much better scope the UTG 3-9x40 AO True Hunter scope with the offset UTG mount a great combination which did increase the weight a bit but WELL WORTH IT..Love this rifle can't wait to truly break it in and really find out the true potential
    What others should know: I Strongly suggest to clean the barrel before firing.. A bore snake or bore mop with a few drops of a good cleaner i prefer a non-petroleum base..
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Woody from USA on 2014-08-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This airgun is accurate and easy to shoot.
    Things I would have changed:I would use a different scope. The one I have is out of focus and a bit on the cheap side.
    What others should know:Overall I'm pleased with the airgun.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Robert from USA on 2014-08-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Overall the 0.177 rifle seemed to be a quality airgun except for the scope and mounts. I couldn't help but like the rifle. Powerful and not too hard to cock. Trigger was exceptionally nice. Better that my RWS 34 T6 trigger. Nice stock but the finish could have been better.
    Things I would have changed:Open sights were too low. I couldn't get my head low enough to line up the 3 points. Scope was of questionable quality. Scope may have been a big part of the reason I couldn't get good groups, although I also tried another scope and mounts w same poor results.
    What others should know:I had great hopes for this rifle for target shooting based on many good reviews. First I got 2 inch groups at 20 yards with several kinds of quality pellets like prem hollow pts. JSB match was the best. The barrel was smoking a bit so I figured more shooting was needed to break it in. As I shot it, the groups improved somewhat but I kept getting a cluster of 3 and a cluster of 2. Also got "stringing" both horiz and vertical. After 250 pellets I figured it should be mostly broken in but I just couldn't get consistancy out of it. I tightened everything, cleaned barrel, tried the artillary hold, & often used prone w sandbags. For comparison, I can shoot 3/8 in groups often at 50 yds with my CZ 22LR. I did manage to get a dime sized 5 shot group from the Hatsan 95 one time but most groups were scattered. I cant help but think that the right person could possibly get this rifle to perform very well, but not me. Maybe it needed a tune up. Maybe I will buy another one & try again.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Philip from USA on 2014-08-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Beautiful Turkish walnut stock, lots of power and accurate. For you folks that wonder about it, DO NOT confuse FPS with energy! In .25 cal, you are looking at an advertised 630. That is with heavy lead pellets! This thing will dispatch a squirrel in a heartbeat. I've also taken larger "pests" like rabbits and a raccoon as well. As with any pellet rifle, shot placement is critical, but with the accuracy of the model 95, shouldn't be an issue.
    Things I would have changed:Leave the scope off of the package deal and drop the price because of it. Doesn't seem to hold zero very long due to the weird recoil a springer creates.
    What others should know:Grab a UTG BugBuster or AccuShot line scope for this one. These hold up great to the recoil a springer produces. Definitely a very capable rifle for taking larger game at fairly long distances. Squirrels can be had up to 80 yards or so and I've taken rabbits at 60+ yards. Shot placement is crucial, so sight it in properly and your in the money with this one!
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By David from USA on 2014-07-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:High quality and pretty accurate. I would recommend it.
    Things I would have changed:The scope doesn't seem to hold zero. I shot it everyday for 4 days on a recent camping trip. I put approximately 300 pellets through it. Pretty accurate but I had to re-site the scope in every 50 pellets which can get frustrating. I will be replacing it.
    What others should know:Great beginner to intermediate pellet rifle. Some individuals had a hard time breaking it down to load so not for everyone, especially the young.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Mark from USA on 2014-07-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The quality of workmanship is great. For the power and cost of the rifle, the scope is more than adequate and was dead-on from 35 yards with ZERO adjustment - just mounted and shot, clover-leafed the target. It seems to prefer slightly heavier pellets, with the most accurate thus far being Beeman Kodiak Extra Heavy Domed, 10.65 grains. Next accurate (that I have tried) would be the Winchester Hollowpoint 9.75 grains. Stock is beautiful, and the velocity seems to be very close to the advertised rate, maybe even a bit higher. Crossman Premiere 7.9 grains measured +-1076/fps.
    Things I would have changed:Weight. This thing weighs a ton and is difficult to hold on target without shooting from a rest.
    What others should know:Yes. Go get one. I have been a powder burner for years when recently my adult son started talking to me about air rifles. I wasn't interested since I thought of a BB gun from my childhood, but then I started reading and was blown away with the velocity and accuracy of contemporary air guns. I saw consistently good reviews for the Hatsan 95 and decided for $150, it was hard to go too wrong. If you're just getting into airguns, or are looking for a dependable, accurate, low-cost but decent-power rifle, I don't see how you can go wrong with the Hatsan 95.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Toby from USA on 2014-07-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Knock down power almost unmatched for its price. Pretty accurate out of the box but like everything will need broke in. Cocking effort isnt to bad for me but if you have a smaller frame could be a deferent story. Very accurate at 20 yards even with the scope it comes with. The trigger is smooth and very predictable. Wood is of a high quality with finely machined checkering. Best gun on the market for under 200 dollars.
    Things I would have changed:The scope is terrible and made in china so chuck it as soon as you see it. I reccomend upgradeing to a Hawke or a Leapers scope you will be able to find one under 100 dollars easy. Trigger guard made of metal only thing thats not on the gun. Screws come loose due to recoil thread locker or even super glue can fix this. The negatives are all easily fixed.
    What others should know:Rws ammo is very good in the gun and deep seating a bit doesnt hurt either. Artillery hold is very important when shooting this gun. Recoil is a beast learn to tame it. Pop can shooting has never been this fun. If your a novice it can be great to start out on. If you are an expert you should already have one. ;)
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Kentucky Airgunner from USA on 2014-07-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Can you say power? I mean total, unadulterated, awesome POWER! WOW, what a gun this is. I bought the Hatsan 95 in .25 caliber and it is the cats' meow. Beautiful walnut stock, smooth trigger action, easy to cock, dead-eye adjustable open sights and shoots like a dream rifle should.
    Things I would have changed:Weaver/Picatinny rail instead of dove-tail for scope.
    What others should know:I have never been a fan of the dove-tail scope mount and put on a dove-tail to Weaver adapter. I upgraded the scope to a Leapers UTG 3-9x40 Varmint/Predator Hunting scope. This rifle has some serious knock-down power and shoots accurately at 50+yds. Be sure to use cleaning patches to clean the bore out-of-box then shoot 25-50 pellets to season it before attempting to sight it in. The artillery hold or a shooting rest is a must for shooting this rifle accurately. I get half-inch 5-shot groups at 35yds using the open sights with the artillery hold. The Hatsan 95 is truly the best-kept-secret in air rifles. I recommend purchasing one (or more) before the price goes up, as I'm sure it will whenever Hatsan realizes just how much of a gem this rifle is.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Mike from USA on 2014-07-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Just got another hatsan 95 this time in .22 caliber. It shooting well using the front sights out of the box. Lots of power little recoil and quality is great.
    Things I would have changed:nothing.
    What others should know:after about 250 shots I'd start looking for a pellet it likes,takes a while for the dieseling to ease up so get a cheap tin of lead pellets to break it it.The scope can be adjusted any way you like so don't give up on the scope so easily.
  • 12345 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top