Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Remington Genesis w/3-9x40 Scope reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Q from USA on 2009-10-31 17:31:53

    Things I liked:accurate, accurate, ACCURATE! stock feels awesome when shouldered, almost has a tactical feel to it. everything else i said in my previous review
    Things I would have changed:nothing. maybe a nickel plated version or a wooden stock. or a model without sights
    What others should know:got that barrel problem fixed so i figured i should write a better review. got my scope put on and dialed in, and this thing is a real laser gun. had a repair dot for a shoot-n-c target i was using as a bull, about 25-30 yards out and all 6 pellets fired were inside, completely covered by a quarter. probably capable of better accuracy cause though my poi didn't leave the bull, i was all over it. shot a bird that had to have been about 50 yards away and the pellet entered right where i was aiming. now that this gun is at full potential i'll never get rid of it. if you are having trouble eliminating barrel wobble there are plenty of ways to fix it if you do some searching on the net, don't let that stop you from getting this gun, its a BEAST!!!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By Clarence from USA on 2009-07-29 22:21:21

    Things I liked:Made in USA, Remington name, feels good, nice scope, well balanced. Nice one piece scope mount.
    Things I would have changed:Quality of this gun is inferior to my Gamo CFX, and even the $100 Crosman Quest we have.
    What others should know:I hate to write a review like this. Bought this gun for my Dad early in Dec 08 for Christmas. By the time we got around to shooting it, PA's return period was over. At their recomendation we sent it back to Crosman who was very cooperative. The problem? The barrel came loose in the breech. When we got it back, they had tightened a small set screw in the breech which quickly came loose again (3 or 4 shots). Sent it back again, this time we received a different rifle complete with a new scope. Now we're cooking, we thought. The barrel on this one does not latch consistantly. Sometimes there is a gap between the barrel and the receiver, sometimes not. It is always possible to close it all the way, but you have to check it every time. This may be the one in a million, as evidenced by the other reviews, but never the less, it is the one we got.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-07-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful gun, accurate when you have the correct pellets
      Things I would have changed:Terrible scope mounts.. knocked off roughly every 30 shots. I got rid of mine.
      What others should know:Gun works well with H&N sports silver point pellets
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Q from USA on 2009-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:accurate, accurate, ACCURATE! stock feels awesome when shouldered, almost has a tactical feel to it. everything else i said in my previous review
      Things I would have changed:nothing. maybe a nickel plated version or a wooden stock. or a model without sights
      What others should know:got that barrel problem fixed so i figured i should write a better review. got my scope put on and dialed in, and this thing is a real laser gun. had a repair dot for a shoot-n-c target i was using as a bull, about 25-30 yards out and all 6 pellets fired were inside, completely covered by a quarter. probably capable of better accuracy cause though my poi didn't leave the bull, i was all over it. shot a bird that had to have been about 50 yards away and the pellet entered right where i was aiming. now that this gun is at full potential i'll never get rid of it. if you are having trouble eliminating barrel wobble there are plenty of ways to fix it if you do some searching on the net, don't let that stop you from getting this gun, its a BEAST!!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Aaron from USA on 2009-09-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice feel to the stock. Adjustable cheek rest.
      Things I would have changed:Different scope, mine holds zero, but the screws come loose as I shoot. The gun is loud and vibrates allot for a springer. Its very pellet picky. Long break-in period. The mount that came with the rifle, didn't have a stop pin that would align with the hole on the rail.
      What others should know:This was my first adult air rifle. I bought it a few years ago when the Genesis first came out. Now I have had time to address the issues with this rifle, and use other air guns, so now I have something to compare it to. I was having major accuracy issues. The gun was also dieseling badly at the time, although I didn't know it. The scope mount was also sliding on the rail as I would shoot. I then found Pyramyd's website and learned what issues the rifle and myself were having. I replaced the scope mount with one that has a proper scope stop pin, and the sliding issues stopped. I also learned the proper hold and have had time to shoot the rifle enough to get it to stop dieseling. I went through almost 2 dozen different pellets before I found that this guns seems to like the Gamo Tomahawk. I don't like Gamo pellets, as they don't work well in any of my other airguns, but will stick with them for this one until I find something better. Overall its a good rifle and keeps getting better with use. It's hard to find a good pellet for it, but once you do you'll be happy with it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Q from USA on 2009-09-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:unique stock, adjustable trigger, it's not really that loud, adjustable cheek plate, fiber optic sights, awesome scope, accurate, not terribly hold sensitive, rubber grips, recoil is a bit on the light side
      Things I would have changed:i've had mine for about 3 years now so i don't know if they changed anything but my barrel doesn't lock tight enough to accurately use the scope, and even after tightening the screw and using loctite it still won't. that's the only thing i don't like, but with the sights dialed in i can hit crows at about 30 yards
      What others should know:this is great for in town shooting. i finally had someone else shoot it so i could stand by and see how loud it is and i can't believe i was ever wary about using it in town! mine likes cphp's and cfh's, but gamo rockets not so much. i've heard that using a bench rest with springers doesn't provide the best accuracy, but i tried the other day and got an 8 shot 1" group from about 10 yards. might have been better though because i was shooting quickly so the barrel might have heated up. it doesn't kick too hard either, if anything the barrel will just pull which ever way but its pretty minimal. i was going to sell this for money to get a gamo but its going to be hard to let go of it
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Clarence from USA on 2009-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Made in USA, Remington name, feels good, nice scope, well balanced. Nice one piece scope mount.
      Things I would have changed:Quality of this gun is inferior to my Gamo CFX, and even the $100 Crosman Quest we have.
      What others should know:I hate to write a review like this. Bought this gun for my Dad early in Dec 08 for Christmas. By the time we got around to shooting it, PA's return period was over. At their recomendation we sent it back to Crosman who was very cooperative. The problem? The barrel came loose in the breech. When we got it back, they had tightened a small set screw in the breech which quickly came loose again (3 or 4 shots). Sent it back again, this time we received a different rifle complete with a new scope. Now we're cooking, we thought. The barrel on this one does not latch consistantly. Sometimes there is a gap between the barrel and the receiver, sometimes not. It is always possible to close it all the way, but you have to check it every time. This may be the one in a million, as evidenced by the other reviews, but never the less, it is the one we got.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Joe from USA on 2009-07-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Thumb hole stock stock sights Scope
      Things I would have changed:Better trigger! It would be nice to be able to remove the front and rear sights when using the scope. Needs smoother action...lots of scraping and grinding, but is improving with use.
      What others should know:I burned up 300 pellets just trying to sight in this thing. It is very fussy about the brand of pellets. I finally found some Beeman Crow Magnum pellets that it likes a lot. Now I get 1/4" groups at 20 yards. Before that, using BSA and Crossman pellets, I was lucky to get a 5 or 6 inch group. The trigger pull is massive. It has a ton of creep and takes a ton of pull. It is getting better as I use it, but even after 500 shots or so, it still must take at least 6 pounds of pull with what feels like an 8th inch of creep. With a decent trigger it would be a lot easier to shoot. Every so often there is a flier, and I know it as soon as I pull the trigger because it sounds different. I'm hoping it wil go away with continued wear. Wish I'd bought another Beeman.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By adwar from USA on 2007-12-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:powerful,and trustworthy. the stock sights are accurate as is the scope only 5 shots to center it.lasted me over three years and counting(over 3,000 shots)
      Things I would have changed:the cocking effort is really soft,although thats more of a pet peeve to me
      What others should know:this is a great gun it has lasted me over 3 years(and im pretty rough on guns) i once left it outside accidentally for 2 weeks and there was nothing wrong with it the scope was even still on.It is deffinitally worth the money, i have shot over 120 varmits and squirrels, and it still shootin strong
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Joe from USA on 2007-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The look of the stock is really cool. Ballances well. Shoots fast and hard. The trigger is good.
      Things I would have changed:More quality control is needed. The setscrew that holds the barrel in place and the pivot bolt kept working lose until I put threadlock on them. The rear sight spring is way too soft. Its also extreamly hold sensitive.
      What others should know:My rifle came through with the Centerpoint 3-9x40 AO, which I found to be very good; and it also came with a one peice mount that works very well with its built in lock pin. The rifle was spring noise loud but has been getting better with use. When fed a pellet that it likes and I do my part with a loose hold the gun seems to be accurate. I'm getting about 12 to 13 Ft Lbs of energy with most pellets, and mine prefers the RWS Superpoint Extra. Overall I like the rifle for its looks and name, but there are many other choices in this power and price range, that could do better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By mike from USA on 2007-11-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Real nice power, love the stock and trigger assembly. Has significant recoil and is rather loud.
      Things I would have changed:Real nice power, love the stock and trigger assembly. Has significant recoil and is rather loud.Plastic sights make the awesome rifle a little cheap for $200. a little nudge and you are back to paper target to sight it in again. Seriously inconvenient. Also the scope was never able to be sighted in as it is so far off, you cant compensate for it. I lost the receipt or I would have returned it and bought a pro level gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By RICHARD from USA on 2007-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The look and feel of this rifle is very nice. It seems to be very accurate. It's great that it's made in the USA.
      Things I would have changed:I'm fairly new to air rifle shooting and unless I had other rifles to compare can't think of anything to change.
      What others should know:Don't ever shoot your rifle close to a crank out double pane window. The concussion from the rifle cracked the inside pane of glass. (My wife was not happy)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By kill devil from USA on 2007-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the fiber optic iron sights,the recoil pad, the accuracy ,and the cheek piece
      Things I would have changed:a better scope,mine never sighted in . the weight is too much to hold unless using a bench or something to rest it on.
      What others should know:very powerful, will go through particle board and plywood. easily kills small game (squirrels)
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top