Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Weihrauch HW90 Breakbarrel Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (17 reviews)
    5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
    (17 votes)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Rick from USA on 2012-02-24 09:35:33

    Things I liked:Quality! It says it all. This rifle costs more than some, but its performance pays the owner back in dividends. It's a class act from the beautiful wood on the stock to the tip of the blue steel barrel.
    Things I would have changed:Not a thing.
    What others should know:This is a heavy rifle. As an X range instructor for the police I'll give some advice. Strengthen up those forearms and upper arms. I do this by using both hands spaced apart on the rifle and holding it straight out from my body for as long as I can each day. Also, work on those chest muscles because with a cockig effort of 46 pounds you will need strength and endurance to shoot this baby more than three times.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By pelletgunlover from USA on 2014-06-16 17:47:28

    Things I liked:Extremely high quality air rifle equal to or better than some firearms, similar to a Swiss watch this rifle is very tight tolerance. Selectable front sights are awesome and add a user friendly customizable interface. I like the small lollipop sight personally! Mine is .20 and I haven't sighted it yet but will do so today!
    Things I would have changed:Unless I could buy it in Germany for 300Euro roughly $420.00, nothing!
    What others should know:DO NOT USE ALLOY, PLASTIC SABOT, OR ANY CHEAP PELLETS. I only recommend quality lead pellets. Do NOT dry fire! Also if you only buy one air rifle in your life it should be this one in your favourite calibre. Mine is .20 for now.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pelletgunlover from USA on 2014-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Extremely high quality air rifle equal to or better than some firearms, similar to a Swiss watch this rifle is very tight tolerance. Selectable front sights are awesome and add a user friendly customizable interface. I like the small lollipop sight personally! Mine is .20 and I haven't sighted it yet but will do so today!
      Things I would have changed:Unless I could buy it in Germany for 300Euro roughly $420.00, nothing!
      What others should know:DO NOT USE ALLOY, PLASTIC SABOT, OR ANY CHEAP PELLETS. I only recommend quality lead pellets. Do NOT dry fire! Also if you only buy one air rifle in your life it should be this one in your favourite calibre. Mine is .20 for now.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By michel from USA on 2014-02-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the triangle shape that weihrauch HW90 represents. what do i mean? I mean Accuracy, material, and shape, they all complete the triangle. It is accurate, well built and a classic good looking.
      Things I would have changed: get rid of my BSA Lightning XL SE.
      What others should know:buy any WEIHRAUCH air rifle and you are not gonna regret it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By martin from USA on 2014-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:heft feel n design are all exceptable.
      Things I would have changed:none
      What others should know:im only 5'5 130 pounds n I can shoot this rifle all day! idk what u other people r benching but its clearly not enough because u wine about cocking effort.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Will from USA on 2013-02-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything. I wasn't sure what to expect from the stock, but the grain is quite pretty and well defined. The stain is fairly dark which is ok by me, looks great next to the spectacular bluing on the action and barrel. While I like the open sites, and put about 30 rounds thru it tonight using them, they will be getting removed in favor of a scope for longer range shooting. I haven't had the chance to play with adjusting the trigger,.... and frankly, I'm not sure I will. Right out of the box it's nice and light and makes it very easy to shoot tight groups.
      Things I would have changed:Honestly, a muzzle brake or shrouded barrel to help with noise, it's pretty loud when shot from indoors. A Walnut stock option would be nice as well. None the less, this gun is the centerpiece of my air gun collection!
      What others should know:I got this gun in .22 cal, and it can't be stated enough, this is a heavy, hard cocking air gun. After about 20 shots thru this tonight I nearly tore the barrel off of my Gammo because I was so used to the heavy effort of the HW!! This is certainly NOT a child's gun. The plus side of the weight is that it counteracts the recoil of the guns action when fired, and it shoots really smooth and so far doesn't seem nearly as hold picky as my Gammo Bone Collector Bull whisper .177. The trigger is VERY light, I definitely like that, however.... I'm personally so used to a long heavy trigger pull on my other break barrels. This lead to a mishap tonight where as I was laying the gun on the rest I clicked safety OFF then immediately put my finger on the trigger before I had sighted target. As soon as my cheek hit the stock the gun went off!!! Impact was safe, still within an inch of the target, but lesson learned! Safety on/off with this gun is easy, (tho only operates when the gun is cocked) It's all done with the trigger finger, push the button in then pull the trigger to fire,.... your live and need to get back on safe? just reach around the trigger guard and squeeze the trigger in front of the guard to click back on safe.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By donald from USA on 2012-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.3333301544189453 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Absolute perfection in every aspect. Amazingly accurate, incredibly powerful, perfect balance, the wood and bluing is flawless, fit and function is as clean as it gets.
      Things I would have changed:Wouldn't have it any other way.
      What others should know:This is a hard rifle to charge, which is fine because I figure that after a couple of months of shooting that my arms will be as perfect as this amazing rifle. Also, it looks a little lonely by itself ;)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By blake from USA on 2012-05-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.3333301544189453 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Heavy Magnum Force Power using jumbo-monster-jsb : ) I feel I could take down something raccoon size, perhaps bigger. Very Hard Cocking Effort, I weigh 225lbs. I used to bodybuild(14 years) and it is still a grunt. I like that too. Then trigger is awesome, field sights awesome. Sure you can get cheaper guns, but why? Step up men! This one is a keeper. Gorgeous top o the rack! I love my HW90.
      Things I would have changed:Include a break for more neighborly backyard practice. The diagram in manual of cartoon man cocking gun easily should be removed...It's misleading. It takes man sized strength.
      What others should know:In 1978 I purchased my first HW55. I waited quite a while for this gun since imports get tied up in customs. So if you love HW air guns it is well worth the wait. Make sure to use several layers of carpet and old blankets behind backstop to prevent any range errors. I use the kodiak heavies, and jsb jumbo monsters and blow through most any target. Takes down the heavy rolled steel with ease, and flattens lead into stars and flowers shapes inside out. It will rock your world. You will never need another magnum air rifle after this experience.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2012-02-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality! It says it all. This rifle costs more than some, but its performance pays the owner back in dividends. It's a class act from the beautiful wood on the stock to the tip of the blue steel barrel.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing.
      What others should know:This is a heavy rifle. As an X range instructor for the police I'll give some advice. Strengthen up those forearms and upper arms. I do this by using both hands spaced apart on the rifle and holding it straight out from my body for as long as I can each day. Also, work on those chest muscles because with a cockig effort of 46 pounds you will need strength and endurance to shoot this baby more than three times.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2012-02-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, quality of material used to manufacture, wood used, open sights. This is one awesome rifle!
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing.
      What others should know:It is heavy. As an X range instructor for a police department I'll recommend what I did for the people I out through the courses. Build up those arm and forearm muscles! I take my rifle each day, using two hands spaced apart, and hold the rifle straight out in front of me for as long as I can.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2012-02-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, trigger pull, stock and forearm and saftey. Very well made rifle that will last years. A quality airgun that you can be proud of. I am especially happy with the fact I can cock this gun and leave it like that as I'm walking through the woods hunting, never concerned with spring damage.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Better have some strength in your arms because this is a heavy gun and takes a lot of effort to cock it. I've got a RWS 54 Air King in 22 caliber and both are very heavy guns. It's worth the effort in both cases. I would say the RWS is better looking cosmetically; bluing and wood color. You cannot lose either way. Hats off to Pyramyd Air for great service.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Glenn from USA on 2011-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is "solid as a rock" built with quality materials and fashioned with old world workmanship. It yearns to be taken on the hunt and is certainly capable of delivering the prey. This is not a target rifle, it is a HUNTING rifle. I chronographed all of the .22cal 18 grain pellets Pyramyd Air had to offer. The highest standard deviation was a 4 and the lowest was a 2. This is a testament to the outstanding quality of the Theoben “gas ram system” used in this rifle. I mounted the Leapers 5th Gen 3-9x40 AO Mil-Dot Rifle Scope with R/G, 1" Tube using the Leapers Accushot 1-Pc mount. This combination has proven to be deadly to 12 doves at 35yds., 4 at 50yds and 1 at 75yds.
      Things I would have changed:I would like the switch for returning the trigger to safe moved. It's just to easy to hit by accident.
      What others should know:The cocking force of this rifle requires alot of strength. I need to use both hands - that's right - both hands. This is not the rifle I would choose for a day of target shooting. It is my rifle of choice when I'm hunting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2011-10-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I'm using the HW90 for target practice from the sitting position(25') until i get used to this powerhouse, accuracy is very good. It comes w/iron sights, the finish, the power plant and trigger combination work well for me, This airgun is beast like, but with plenty of quality and weight. The safety button is right in front of the trigger guard and is easy to use and away from the trigger. This gives me a little confidence when cocking such a powerful gun as this.
      Things I would have changed:Have an ambidextrous stock choice for us left eyed people.
      What others should know:After shooting this gun for an hour (100 pellets) or so my arm did start getting tired. It is harder to cock than my the other break barrels, smooth and well made i say,
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rytchyunder from USA on 2011-04-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The power (over 20 foot pounds with several pellets), the open sights, the accuracy (with the right pellets), the fit and finish, and the safety system
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, but smaller/weaker individuals should be aware that the cocking effort is close to 50 lbs.
      What others should know:This is absolutely the best value for your money in a .25 break barrel. In many ways it's a poor-man's Theoben in that you get all of the power and reliability of a Theoben-built gas ram for a little more than half the price of a comparable Theoben.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2010-02-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautifully made and smooth operation. This is a very accurate and solid shooter in .25 cal. Workmanship far exceeds any of the Crosman guns I have, (not pinging Crosman here!). But you get what you pay for...
      Things I would have changed:Phew, this thing is heavy. Great for accuracy as it is it's own solid base. I don't know how much the stock adds to the weight, but might take if off at some point and see about a lighter version...
      What others should know:As several others have stated, this is not for small people. Cocking this thing is not something the average person will be able to do all day long... But boy, does this thing shoot!!!!! Love It!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jim from USA on 2009-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The very first thing one notices is that the gun is solidly constructed and very tight in tolerances. The trigger pull is wonderful and does not in the slightest interfere with the shot about to be made. I have the 25 caliber. Since the gun is so heavy, might as well go for the heavy hitter. The gas ram I have ran out of steam after a while so I did a little fiddling with the seals, adding some sealantto the seal grovves and have had no leakage since. The gun gets shots off with a snap and is very accurate although not as accurate as my RWS 22 caliber 350 Magnum. The 25 caliber pellets hit hard especially the Webley Mosquito which is almost too light for the gun. They are very fast out the barrel -chronoed at 726 ft/sec. Even the heavy Kodiaks are chronoing at 590+ ft/sec.The gun is easy to point and hold for shots as the inertia of the mass is stabilizing. A real fun gun to shoot with a strong cocking action - not for the weak of arm.
      Things I would have changed:This gun if made lighter would be the only way I can see that would make it better.
      What others should know:This gun is for serious hunting as is not light to carry around or cock.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2009-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:WOW!! It's hard not to notice German Engineering with this Air Rifle. It's vary solid and handels well. Good job to the guys across the pond. After cleaning barrel & stock parts I installed Beeman one pice mount and scope on my .25cal. I decided to try Diana magnums 20gr which shoot vary good at 710-715fps which comes to 22ft lbs . The best part is 3/4"ctc group's inside my basement at 20 yards.The manual says you wil go through break in period befor cocking, piston stroke& trigger get smoother. Looking forward to that . But for now, right out of box I could not be happier.
      Things I would have changed:With this Air Rifle Nothing. But would like to see nicer stock on a steped up version of this gun.
      What others should know:Gun is heavy, Not for smaller frame person, but if your looking for a small game hunting rifle and don't mind the weight ,give this one a try.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By stephan from USA on 2009-03-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Have one for 5 years now and find it the best gun on the market.With the service hw-pump i can adjust it from 0 to 32 joules in few minutes.Groups well with FTT and Kodiaks-10-15 mm groups at 40yds.Takes jack rabbits with ease within the 80 yds range.Solid,heavy piece of german metal craftmanship.
      Things I would have changed:i will buy one more
      What others should know:no metal springs,no troubles with sophisticated pcps but hw90
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ARSH from USA on 2009-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:ARSH from pakistan its really powerful hunting airgun
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:its not a toy its a airgun for mans
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top