Date: 30/3/2017 11:56
0

Weihrauch HW90 Breakbarrel Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By blake from USA on 2012-05-31 17:31:34

Things I liked: Heavy Magnum Force Power using jumbo-monster-jsb : ) I feel I could take down something raccoon size, perhaps bigger. Very Hard Cocking Effort, I weigh 225lbs. I used to bodybuild(14 years) and it is still a grunt. I like that too. Then trigger is awesome, field sights awesome. Sure you can get cheaper guns, but why? Step up men! This one is a keeper. Gorgeous top o the rack! I love my HW90.

Things I would have changed: Include a break for more neighborly backyard practice. The diagram in manual of cartoon man cocking gun easily should be removed...It's misleading. It takes man sized strength.

What others should know: In 1978 I purchased my first HW55. I waited quite a while for this gun since imports get tied up in customs. So if you love HW air guns it is well worth the wait. Make sure to use several layers of carpet and old blankets behind backstop to prevent any range errors. I use the kodiak heavies, and jsb jumbo monsters and blow through most any target. Takes down the heavy rolled steel with ease, and flattens lead into stars and flowers shapes inside out. It will rock your world. You will never need another magnum air rifle after this experience.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By kostadin from USA on 2015-08-09 22:19:31

Things I liked: I buy HW90 before 2 years. after 3 shoot is broken. after repair, I use couple time and after 20 shoots is broken again. it's terrible duality.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gregan from USA on 2017-01-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality of build; Great bluing quality: accuracy; easy to use safety; front sights combined with provided inserts

    Things I would have changed: nothing, it's phenomenal

    What others should know: No break in required, super accurate out of the box. Likes JSB's in .25 cal I couldn't be happier. I'll be 90 and still shooting this gun! Don't hesitate

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gregan from USA on 2017-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great Blueing and woodwork. Fit and finish are excellent. Fantastic accuracy straight out of the box - set up perfectly. (.25 cal)

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. Include front sight inserts maybe. Not a deal breaker though.

    What others should know: Heavy gun, but there's your quality. Tough to cock, but there's your power. Blows through 2 layers of three eighths inch backer board no worries. Be sure and be safe with this baby! I'd buy again in a heartbeat.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gregan from USA on 2017-01-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'm finding it hard to express just how awesome this rifle is. I went with .25cal, as I have a .177 and .22 from other makers already, and the larger cal was calling my name. This air rifle shoots (at least for me) very true, right out of the box. Yesterday I put 15 shots right through the center ring of a glow shot paper target, and today same thing (slightly less) at 10 or so yards in my basement.It loves .25 Exact King Heavys 33.95gr although Exact King 25.39gr seem to work well too. I'll be shopping for the 33.95gr from now on though. I bought both to start out to experiment with the new rifle. This rifle takes some cocking effort, but you probably knew that already. It's not enough to take away from shooting enjoyment. BTW this gun is powerful- The plywood, 2 layers I screwed to my basement panelling, has been slaughtered! I mean holes through! Of course it's a pretty big slug at .25. and exactly what I wanted in terms of power. To sum up, this air rifle is exactly what I wanted!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, easier cocking maybe, but then it wouldn't be the same rifle.

    What others should know: This is a beautiful - bluing and woodwork, fit and finish- piece of German craftsmanship. I'm very happy with my new air-gun, and if you take the plunge I bet you will be too. Shoot safely and responsibly!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gregan from USA on 2017-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'm loving my new rifle. Everything about it screams power! Heavy, difficult to cock.... So far it seems to like a heavier slug. JSB Exact King Heavys in .25 cal are magic. I can't shoot wrong with this rifle and this slug. Make a hole in the paper target, and put 15 more through the same hole. Cocking effort is huge, and it's a heavy beast, but when you can drive a pellet through an inch of plywood, who's keeping count? The accuracy is the biggest keeper quality it has. Just brilliant! Not for the faint hearted, but so, so, badass!!

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: Are you looking for a solid, accurate and supremely powerful rifle to be your number one, all with a German quality of fit and finish? Here's your ticket, yep, this is the one!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gregan from USA on 2017-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My HW90 arrived today. Fast shipping thanks, Pyramid. Right out of the box it seems very (surprisingly) accurate. .25 cal. Shooting JSB Exact, and Exact Heavy. Doesn't seem to favor either pellet. With only iron sights I'm making 1 inch groups at 10 yards (that's the width of my basement, not amazing distance I know). I'll be building muscles cocking this puppy. It's my first air rifle of this quality. Blueing is amazing, as is the fit and finish all the way around. I just can't believe the accuracy right out of the box.....

    Things I would have changed: nothing, no really it's perfect

    What others should know: Save your money folks, at least until you're ready to buy this beauty! Then don't hesitate.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By james from USA on 2016-11-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a update review after putting quite a few rounds through it now. My .22cal just keeps getting better the more it breaks in. The trigger is fantastic and I can shoot in the same hole every time. I have a few other high end breakbarrels including my TX200 and nothing comes close to the way my HW90 shoots. My .22 was regulated to 19fpe which seems at least for me this is the sweet spot for accuracy. The cocking has smoothed right out after time

    Things I would have changed: Of course the price. Mybe a walnut stock. Nothing else

    What others should know: This gun is worth every penny as far as I'm concerned. If your thinking of buying one or have a new one give this gun a chance with some break in time. The gun as a whole is nothing short of air rifle German perfection. Can't say enough about the fit and finish of this gun. My TX200 is beautiful and all but still doesn't shoot like the HW90 does. Very easy to adjust the trigger

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2016-09-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid well-built air rifle. After 200 rounds I'm shooting the center out of every target, many times in the same hole at 25 yards. Very few flyers. This is a tack driver. You won't be disappointed in this one.

    Things I would have changed: A little quieter would be nice but it's a magnum and I can deal with it. Cock it in one motion or you're shooting time will be cut short.

    What others should know: Make sure scope base is mounted with a lock pin. This is a beast and hits like a tank. I think you'll appreciate an etched-glass reticle the way this one slaps you. It could do serious damage to a less quality scope. If you're going to spend money for this one don't shy on the quality of the scope or you will be disappointed. I have a Gamo Stutzen with manlicher stock in .177 and a Hatsan 95 in .25 caliber. Great guns but nothing compared to this guy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2016-08-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A true magnum that will shoot all day in the same hole

    Things I would have changed: Offer in walnut

    What others should know: Smooth cocking but get in shape if you buy this one

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By William from USA on 2016-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I purchased this in .22 cal and have put less than 150 pellets through it. Will update as I get further into the break-in period. That said, I am impressed with the power and quality. I really like the way pellets fit perfectly into the breech. I recently bought a Diana 34 in .22 caliber and have found most pellets get shaved on the bottom when I close the barrel. Not so with the Weihrauch. Perfect each time. I also really like the smooth cocking and smooth shot cycle. From the first shot it has been consistent.

    Things I would have changed: This rifle is loud for plinking in the neighborhood. Not quite as loud as a .22 long rifle but close. It is much louder than any of my other air rifles (Diana 24D, Diana 34). Personally I'm not a huge fan of the iron sights. They are high quality but the black inserts are hard to see when shooting against dark targets or in low light. Finally the gun is very heavy. It feels like high quality but hefty.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2015-11-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.663 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's powerful and accurate.

    Things I would have changed: I would order a larger caliber - it's a little too powerful for .177 which is what I bought - that requires shooting heavier (10+ grain) pellets. This gun is powerful enough for a scope - it should at least be offered with one as an option. I would also offer it with the option of a synthetic stock to lessen the weight.

    What others should know: I'm told that I must NOT shoot any pellet lighter than 10 grains or, if I do, to "detune the RAM." Otherwise, it "will break scopes, melt piston seals and generally eat it self shooting light pellets at full power and pressure on ram. There are tools/fittings available to de-tuning the ram but I'd simply order this in .22 if I had it to do over. The cocking effort is 46 lbs. and not for weaklings

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By james from USA on 2015-11-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Gun is beautiful. Had a few seal issues but was fixed by PA. Really accurate. Hits hard. Not pellet fussy. Love this rifle. Thanks PA for taking care of the seal problem. Sweet looking rifle!!!!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The cocking effort on my rifle is not bad. To some of the people saying they need 2 hands to cock this gun is redicules. Something is wrong. I have many other rifles that cocking is way harder. I own the .22cal. Love it!!!!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fit and finish are what you would expect from a high end piece of equipment. Mine is a .25 and it hits like a sledge hammer. The steel spinners that swing up when hit at 30- 50 yards with my .22 air rifles, will flip all the way over, sometimes twice when hit with this rifle. Pretty good groups right out of the box. After about 500 shots, the groups have tightened up to about 3/4" c-c at 35 yards with several pellets stacking right next to each other and sometimes in the same hole. It seems to still keep getting better the more I shoot it.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice to have a one piece scope mount with stop pin holes that match the receiver in both spacing and dia. Weirauch makes one in a dampa-mount, but I've never found it for sale here in the U.S. I had make and add stop pins to a 11mm to weaver mount to get a scope to hold still and stay zero'd. I'd also like the pump and gauge Weirauch makes for this rifle to check and adjust when needed the pre-load charge in the gas ram.

    What others should know: Some say these are hard to cock. I find that it is more about technique than brute strength. I shoot mine while sitting most of the time, and if you can bring the barrel down in one smooth motion, it is not difficult to cock at all. I would like to have one of these in .22 as well!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2015-08-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Build quality, design, weight. Yes it's expensive, but so are others in it's category. Something about Weihrauch products gives the feeling of craftsmanship and longevity. The punch and power with the .22 is crazy, better have a good backstop. You will definitely build some arm muscles cocking it, so shooting targets for an hour will be work. It maintains the same amount of resistance through the full stroke, so make sure its fully cocked. Still I find it's worth the effort for what the rifle does.

    Things I would have changed: Provide a sling attachment (not on the barrel) that can be used for off-hand.

    What others should know: Currently have a Simmons 6x21 44mag mildot sidefocus scope mounted to a Leapers one piece. Have installed approx .008 of brass shim in the rear ring; scope didn't max out elevation but was close. Scope is holding zero, only about 200 rounds so far. Scope mounts low enough to maintain cheek weld (for me). I find the sound and recoil to be better than my HW50 (yes, comparing different powerplants).

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By kostadin from USA on 2015-08-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.06 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I buy HW90 before 2 years. after 3 shoot is broken. after repair, I use couple time and after 20 shoots is broken again. it's terrible duality.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Guy from USA on 2015-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The HW-90 is an air rifle that just screams quality. My particular rifle weighed in at 9lbs, 4oz and feels very solid in the hand. All of the external components are wood and metal, a very welcome change in a world seemingly dominated by flimsy plastics. I will say that the rifle is quite overpowered from the factory but aside from that, this air rifle is hard to beat. The trigger is very crisp and predictable and the resettable safety is one of the nicest I've ever used. The weight of the rifle makes for very steady offhand shooting.

    Things I would have changed: Make available the necessary accessories to adjust the gas piston pressure! The air rifle arrives from the factory way overpowered and needs adjusted for an optimum shooting experience. It would be really nice to be able to obtain the proper pump or even just the valve adapter from PA, instead of trying to locate what I need through European websites. This is the primary reason I gave the rifle an overall rating of 4. The sights could also use some refinement. I appreciate the various front sight options included but there is definitely some room for improvement. Both front sight posts are relatively thick for any sort of precision shooting and the all black, notched sights aren't the most ideal for accurate low light shooting. A high quality fiber optic option would be an amazing upgrade. An optional ghost ring rear sight would also be nice. Gaining a proper (accurate) sight picture is much more natural using ring and post sights.

    What others should know: Firstly, do yourself and your compression cylinder seals a favor and tune the piston pressure down a bit!The rifle arrived very overpowered, sounding more like a rimfire when it was fired than an air rifle. Every shot produced smoke in the barrel and smelled like burned oil. The rifle was pretty wildly inaccurate at any distance beyond 30 feet, to the point of being pretty frustrating. As a last resort I bled some of the pressure from the piston and voila! The rifle is a tack driver and the rifle stopped smoking immediately. The rifle doesn't seem to be hold sensitive at all now, with no noticeable point of impact shift over a variety of shooting stances. As of right now, I have no idea how much pressure is in my gas piston and no way of adjusting it on my own. I purchased a high pressure shock pump, which should work for adjusting the pressure but the included adapter and the HW-90 have incompatible threads. I am currently waiting for an adapter to arrive from an EU distributor.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tim from USA on 2015-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The POWER! With a 21 grain pellet it went through both sides of a large Pedigree can (1 pound 6 ounce can) and still buried itself in the 3/4" plywood behind.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: It is a bit heavy at almost 9 pounds and it needs all of 46lbs to cock it. And DO NOT but this for a "silly kid" - someone could get hurt very bad - it's close to a real rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ed from USA on 2014-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Machined parts match perfectly, well build outstanding walnut stock. Is a rifle that can be handled down for generations if well taken care off.

    Things I would have changed: Not much just wish didn't have to use a drop barrel adapter.

    What others should know: Rifle is well worth the money in my book, shoots straight. No plastic parts!!! Have not got to shoot it a lot yet as am going threw cataract surgery. What I have been able to do is get it sighted in with little trouble. Rifle also does not have much of a kick. So far does not seem to be to pellet pickie. Will update later when I have a chance to shoot it more.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pelletgunlover from USA on 2014-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.764 ratings

    Things I liked: Extremely high quality air rifle equal to or better than some firearms, similar to a Swiss watch this rifle is very tight tolerance. Selectable front sights are awesome and add a user friendly customizable interface. I like the small lollipop sight personally! Mine is .20 and I haven't sighted it yet but will do so today!

    Things I would have changed: Unless I could buy it in Germany for 300Euro roughly $420.00, nothing!

    What others should know: DO NOT USE ALLOY, PLASTIC SABOT, OR ANY CHEAP PELLETS. I only recommend quality lead pellets. Do NOT dry fire! Also if you only buy one air rifle in your life it should be this one in your favourite calibre. Mine is .20 for now.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michel from USA on 2014-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the triangle shape that weihrauch HW90 represents. what do i mean? I mean Accuracy, material, and shape, they all complete the triangle. It is accurate, well built and a classic good looking.

    Things I would have changed: get rid of my BSA Lightning XL SE.

    What others should know: buy any WEIHRAUCH air rifle and you are not gonna regret it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By martin from USA on 2014-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.846 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: heft feel n design are all exceptable.

    Things I would have changed: none

    What others should know: im only 5'5 130 pounds n I can shoot this rifle all day! idk what u other people r benching but its clearly not enough because u wine about cocking effort.

  • 12 Next
Navigation