Date: 24/5/2017 9:42
0

Benjamin Marauder Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Robert from USA on 2014-06-25 19:32:06

Things I liked: I zeroed scope and and shot at a 15 yard target first two days. On third day, I took my .22 wood Marauder on my ranch hunting, I anchored 3 ground squirrels (all at 15 to 20 yards away). I found I had hit exactly where I had aimed. I then overlooked my canyon and saw a ground squirrel about 40 yards away in the top of an old hollowed-out oak tree. The wind was blowing hard from the north west. I sighted in 1" to the left of the squirrels upper shoulder and released the trigger. The ground squirrel dropped. When I reached the dispatched ground squirrel and saw the pellet had done its job exactly where I had anticipated. I then went down a trail I had made at the bottom of the canyon. Soon I saw two more ground squirrels. I took aim at the one on the left,and dispatched it too. I took squirrels to my meadow for the ravens to eat. This rifle is better than I expected. The wood stock with black cheek riser, is much more accurate than my .22 using cb shorts. Rifle handles like a shotgun.

Things I would have changed: Rifle shroud and air reservoir appears to be painted rather than blued. I suspect it is because shroud is aluminum. Better rifle gauge as mine doesn't work reliably, however Crosman is going to replace it. I am using only the gauge on Benjamin pump until the new gauge arrives Quick disconnect on Benjamin pump is giving me problems and Sun Power is sending me another. Kudos to both of them. Is this rifle accurate, quiet, well built, worth the money, heavy, does it have a great looking solid feeling beautiful wood grain stock like the picture? Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, and yes! Would I recommend this .22 cal in wood stock instead of a .22 powder burner for dispatching ground squirrels without breaking the sound barrier? Yes! Was the Benjamin pump easy to operate with very little sweat for a 64 year old weighing 167 lbs.(takes 2 to 2 1/2 pumps per shot). I see no need for a scuba tank. Would I recommend Pyramid Air with their good prices and excellent satisfaction policy? Yes!

What others should know: The following strings of 10 shots each from a single charge were mostly hole in hole and all 60 shots (6 strings)were able to be covered with a penny. Here are the 6 groups chronograph-ed with 1 full charge from Benjamin pump to 3000 psi. This with no adjustments to the rifle. Using Crosman Premiere 14.3 domes, here are the velocity of the 60 shots. String 1...860, 860, 865, 872, 866, 877, 864, 876, 882, 883: String 2... 881, 895, 893, 889, 880, 893, 902, 892, 891, 895: String 3... 896, 902, 898, 904, 900, 896, 902, 903, 902, 907: String 4... 907, 903, 900, 903, 902, 906, 901, 900, 892, 891: String 5... 888, 892, 889, 886, 884, 882, 879, 877, 873, 865: String 6... 865, 858, 855, 853, 847, 842, 838, 836, 830, 823. Don't lean against wall like a powder burner due to the free floating barrel. I canceled a pre-order of an NP2 due to delays and early reviews. Almost triple the money for .22 cal wood marauder. "Totally worth it to me." Awesome wood stock demands extra special care.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:5.0

By James from USA on 2016-01-10 22:50:50

Things I liked: Very accurate, great trigger, compact.

Things I would have changed: Bolt not smooth.

What others should know: I can't give a full review yet. I am waiting for my third .25 cal Benjamin Marauder. The first gun had shipping damage. The second gun worked really well for about 4 or 5 mags then malfunctioned. I had to return it. My original gun arrived 7 Dec. The next one arrived Dec. 30th. Who knows when the 3rd and hopefully last one will get here.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 67 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2017-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Relatively simple to get up and shooting. The accuracy is great, with only the occasional flyer; and the number of shots available per fill as set at the factory is very good at about 40. The adjustable comb is very nice to be able to get a good cheek weld with virtually any scope.

    Things I would have changed: The manometer on the underside of the forearm needs to be a bit bigger. The effort in cocking the bolt is a little excessive and has given me difficulty in cycling the magazine on numerous occasions. My main gripe resulting in the "3" overall is the lack of muzzle velocity from the factory relative to the claim of "up to 1000 fps". Yes, you might achieve 1000 fps with a lot of tinkering, but my chronograph suggests only about 840 fps average for the first 2-3 magazinesa as the gun comes "out of the box".

    What others should know: This is not a light airgun, and purchasers should heed the stated weight. That being said, the build quality is very good.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Todd from USA on 2017-04-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I can't rate as of now because I haven't shot it yet. The fit and finish is very good, the bolt will not retract all the way back to load a pellet much less insert the magazine, Why?

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Ethan from USA on 2017-03-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 22 cal. Ordered mine on late December 2016 so have had now for 2 + months. Build quality was good. Stock is plain but finished well for what it is. Adjustable cheek rest is plus/must, good overall. Gun is heavy but solid construction. I got mine with the CR 4-16X 40mm scope, pretty good.

    Things I would have changed: The Barrel. Many have said same here on the reviews. 22 cal only shot well/ok with 5.53 21 grain H&N Baracudas. Just a little more QC on the barrel and it would be a 4 plus star gun. Shoots terrible with Crosman pellets which is a surprise, Crosman gun you know. JSBs were better but not good.

    What others should know: I changed my barrel out for the Marmot Militia barrel, Now very accurate with JSB 18s and 15.9 grain pellets. Happy with that :)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2017-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy with JSB Exact pellets. Quality of construction

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a little quieter. It's still pretty quiet.

    What others should know: I replaced the Crosspoint scope with the Hawke Sidewinder. This combination is unbelievable. It makes my Marauder a dead eye airgun. I am extremely impressed with this airgun. My decision to buy this model was influenced by Ted Biers (?) Ted's holdover. Glad I did. Now on to slaughtering sparrows, pigeons and maybe a turkey or two. The spring in the magazine sometimes will pop out the hole. No big deal. There is a repair video on You tube.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Darrell from USA on 2017-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power and accuracy are great! Price was pretty good too. Kind of funny, I paid just about the same price for this rifle as I did for my .20 Beeman R10 springer 25 years ago. The R10 is still going strong. Aside from the bluing worn off, my 40 year old Sheridan .20 Blue Streak shoots just as good as it did new. I am hoping the Mrod will hold up the same.

    Things I would have changed: More stock options. The 2x4 stock is way too thick in places it doesn't need to be. I am not a fan of plastic and have made walnut stocks for all my rifles. I have a nice figured Monte Carlo one in the works now.

    What others should know: It's heavy! With a scope and sling installed, mine weights in at just over 11 1/2 pounds.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joshua from USA on 2017-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feela solid good weight accurate and easy to turn the power up on. Definatly replaced my discovery.

    Things I would have changed: Better finish on the barrels. Scratches easy when you disconnect the pump and the metal hits.

    What others should know: Very accuate and great gun. Absolutely love mine.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2017-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: my first PCP, and i think i made the right choice. It is more accurate than i am-hopefully with more shooting time, i can get better. when i have it on the bipod and steady, im getting very tiny groups. good looking gun, i opted for the wood over the syn. stock. old school i guess.

    Things I would have changed: be nice if it had iron sights or an easy way to mount some.

    What others should know: my first one arrived with a broken stock, right behind the trigger the stock was broken in two. no signs of rough handling on any of the boxes. Pyramyd air made it right, no issues with that!

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2017-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: .177- This is my third Marauder and second gen 2. It likes the 10.5 Crosman brown box domes (what doesn't). 10/10 aspirin at 25yds. My factory tune is @ 960fps with 10.5 domes, and 1050 with the 7.9s. Curve is almost perfect with this tune. I may slow it down just it hair to get 50 shots. I get 40-45 shots (3000 psi fill) when the velocity starts to fall off. Shape of the stock is comfortable and not as bulky as the gen 1.

    Things I would have changed: Stock finish is not as nice as the gen 1. Mine had a few blemishes that were filled/touched-up with wood filler. Detail on the the fore end of the previous model was nice but is not present on this one. Air reservoir finish is rough and snags my cotton cleaning rag. Build quality not as nice as the 1st gen, sad because it's a really nice design and deserves a quality appearance.

    What others should know: UTG 4-16x44 (SCP3-U416AOIEW) scope has 1/4" clearance over barrel shroud with medium rings. All of my Marauders suffer from a moisture issue causing corrosion around the aluminum gauge boss inside the air tube--trapped moisture will ultimately corrode around the o-rings and leak. This is drastically aggravated by use of a manual pump. Marauders are fun to shoot but can get expensive to operate, as PCPs are best paired with a reliable, dry, air source... a good 97 Cu Ft fiber bottle is around $800 fully setup but totally worth if if you have a source for 4k air nearby.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Virginia from USA on 2016-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like that the gun is quiet, that it shoots with air pressure, and that overall it is fairly accurate and this is especially true for shorter distances. A great gun and easy to use.

    Things I would have changed: Extra cost of having an air tank makes the gun more expensive. I don't like that you encourage buyers to purchase the hand pump as this is not as useful and deemed a wasted expense.

    What others should know: A fantastic gun overall and great at 30 -35 yards. Shoots high at further distances so you just need to adjust. Definitely need a good scope and recommend getting the air tank to pressurize the gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gerald from USA on 2016-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good looking stock, i've kept it charged at at 2500 psi for a week and no leakage. still working on getting my scope sighted in, but the shot groups are very small and consistent.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe some small iron sights so you dont have to rely on a scope.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JAMES from USA on 2016-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice, very accurate , I agree with other 5 star reviews, Fantastic as is for hunting Great entry level PCP for competition,

    Things I would have changed: Add a custom model options, such as hardened competition barrels and custom stocks.

    What others should know: Pyramid has great service first gun arrive, shock broken in have by carrier damage stock., quickly replaced Purchase the 20 shot service, Use high quality pellets to consistency same hole / side by side , shoots fine with Crossman hollow points side size wide pattern. 10 meters.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2016-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love the power, look, and feel of this pcp. It is my go to choice for varmints. Haven't had an opportunity for any medium to large varmints yet. Squirrels not an issue.

    Things I would have changed: Absolutely nothing.

    What others should know: This thing is amazing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By brian from USA on 2016-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything, this rifle is great in .25cal!!! Go to the marauder forum and look into the SSG mod, get a better depinger and drill out the air stripper. You can't buy a better more accurate air rifle for small game or target shooting. With JSB Kings you can drill a ragged hole at 50 yards after some worth while tuning. The poly mags works great up to 50yards as well and drop racoons with ease.

    Things I would have changed: If I were to change anything I would have gun come with a better depinger and larger holes in the air stripper, also have it come with 2 magazines instead of just 1.

    What others should know: The marauder forum has a wealth of knowledge on this gun and 95% of the ammo the play around with and accessories they use are on pyramid air.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By alfonso from USA on 2016-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love my Marauder .25 cal. So I bought the Marauder .22 for more shots per fill reason. It does pellet on pellet at 50 feet on the Crossman Premier dome. I haven't tried 30-50 yard accuracy yet. So far I'm happy with the wood grain, trigger .

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2016-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I love that the safety doesn't automatically engage every time i cycle the bolt. It is extremely quite!! LOVE IT!!

    Things I would have changed: I wish I was able to see how many rounds were left in magazine more easily. It's difficult to turn look backwards into the mag to see what is left. My eyes aren't the greatest.

    What others should know: First off, after purchasing this gun I sold ALL of my spring loaded break barrel guns ASAP! I will only shoot PCP from now on. Quite, accurate, powerful, no recoil and quick follow up shots with out having to break a barrel over to re cock. The Marauder should be the first PCP anyone buys and then branch out from there.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alfred from USA on 2016-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A bit heavy, and filling it with air is a bit challenging, but overall I found this to be a very accurate gun, and well worth the money spent.

    Things I would have changed: Still evaluating the gun, so it's a but early to suggest any changes right now.

    What others should know: Be prepared for a heavy gun, at almost 9 pounds, it's about the same weight as a WWll Garand rifle

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I purchased the .22 cal. Marauder rifle two weeks ago. I am very pleased with the initial bench rest accuracy. I was very concerned over some of the poor reviews on accuracy of the .22 Crossman barrels. At a measured 50 yds. I am getting .5 -.6 inch CTC 3 to 5 shot groupings using JSB 18.1 gr pellets. With an installed FFH (free floating hammer) and 4 turns CW on the hammer spring I get about half the hammer/spring noise and 35+ shots going from 2950 psi to 2000 psi. Muzzle noise I would describe as about half that of a Daisy BB gun. The wood stock is attractive and nicely finished. I feel that it results in no reservoir "ping" noise. I will report later on velocities-shot count before and after installing a Lane Regulator once I get a chrono.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing jumps out. I am very satisfied with my rifle.

    What others should know: I bought a Hill 4 pump and find it not that bad for a 73 year old at 200 lbs.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By RICHARD from USA on 2016-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent rifle with good power. Fun to shoot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Smaug from USA on 2016-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Quiet, easy to fill with a hand pump, reliable, affordable magazines, an easy and logical step up from springers. Male Foster fitting right on the end of the cylinder. Pressure gauge doesn't require me to put my head in front of the barrel.

    Things I would have changed: A more accurate barrel. Don't get me wrong, it'll easily outshoot any springer, but doesn't quite hang with the Lothar Walther-barreled guns for accuracy. (but it's not priced like them either) Pellets hang up on the magazine when loading it. Make a bullpup version, please.

    What others should know: I have a 1st generation .177 Marauder. The pistol grip area of the stock was canted a bit too far forward for my taste, but they appear to have addressed that in this latest one. Refilling it is a simple matter of unscrewing the end cap and plugging in the hose from your pump or air tank. No adapters needed. This is a brilliant gun, if you want PCP power and accuracy, but without having to commit to a lot of support gear. All you need is a good hand pump. Shooting from 2500 down to 2000 psi gives over 30 full power shots. (3 magazines) Pumping it up that 500 psi is no biggy. (as it is for 3000-4500 psi airguns) The trigger is good; I still shoot it stock. Two stage and very predictable. Mine likes Crosman Premier Heavy pellets the best; I lube them with Whiscombe Honey. It also shoots JSB Heavies well, and at short range, RWS SuperMag are devastating on pests. When I bought this gun, I knew I wanted a quality PCP, but didn't want to spend near $1k. This was just the ticket.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stikks from USA on 2016-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate. Solid Build. Quiet. A great entry into PCP rifles. Very impressed. Dime sized groups out to 35 yards no problem.

    Things I would have changed: Plastic magazines. No issues, but feel cheap compared to the quality of the gun.

    What others should know: You won't regret buying this rifle. Fantastic. .

  • 123 ... 67 Next
Navigation