Benjamin Marauder Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Robert from USA on 2014-06-25 20:32:06

Things I liked: I zeroed scope and and shot at a 15 yard target first two days. On third day, I took my .22 wood Marauder on my ranch hunting, I anchored 3 ground squirrels (all at 15 to 20 yards away). I found I had hit exactly where I had aimed. I then overlooked my canyon and saw a ground squirrel about 40 yards away in the top of an old hollowed-out oak tree. The wind was blowing hard from the north west. I sighted in 1" to the left of the squirrels upper shoulder and released the trigger. The ground squirrel dropped. When I reached the dispatched ground squirrel and saw the pellet had done its job exactly where I had anticipated. I then went down a trail I had made at the bottom of the canyon. Soon I saw two more ground squirrels. I took aim at the one on the left,and dispatched it too. I took squirrels to my meadow for the ravens to eat. This rifle is better than I expected. The wood stock with black cheek riser, is much more accurate than my .22 using cb shorts. Rifle handles like a shotgun.

Things I would have changed: Rifle shroud and air reservoir appears to be painted rather than blued. I suspect it is because shroud is aluminum. Better rifle gauge as mine doesn't work reliably, however Crosman is going to replace it. I am using only the gauge on Benjamin pump until the new gauge arrives Quick disconnect on Benjamin pump is giving me problems and Sun Power is sending me another. Kudos to both of them. Is this rifle accurate, quiet, well built, worth the money, heavy, does it have a great looking solid feeling beautiful wood grain stock like the picture? Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, and yes! Would I recommend this .22 cal in wood stock instead of a .22 powder burner for dispatching ground squirrels without breaking the sound barrier? Yes! Was the Benjamin pump easy to operate with very little sweat for a 64 year old weighing 167 lbs.(takes 2 to 2 1/2 pumps per shot). I see no need for a scuba tank. Would I recommend Pyramid Air with their good prices and excellent satisfaction policy? Yes!

What others should know: The following strings of 10 shots each from a single charge were mostly hole in hole and all 60 shots (6 strings)were able to be covered with a penny. Here are the 6 groups chronograph-ed with 1 full charge from Benjamin pump to 3000 psi. This with no adjustments to the rifle. Using Crosman Premiere 14.3 domes, here are the velocity of the 60 shots. String 1...860, 860, 865, 872, 866, 877, 864, 876, 882, 883: String 2... 881, 895, 893, 889, 880, 893, 902, 892, 891, 895: String 3... 896, 902, 898, 904, 900, 896, 902, 903, 902, 907: String 4... 907, 903, 900, 903, 902, 906, 901, 900, 892, 891: String 5... 888, 892, 889, 886, 884, 882, 879, 877, 873, 865: String 6... 865, 858, 855, 853, 847, 842, 838, 836, 830, 823. Don't lean against wall like a powder burner due to the free floating barrel. I canceled a pre-order of an NP2 due to delays and early reviews. Almost triple the money for .22 cal wood marauder. "Totally worth it to me." Awesome wood stock demands extra special care.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Joe from USA on 2015-07-30 00:56:37

Things I liked: It's a repeater. That's all.

Things I would have changed: My gun has poor accuracy. I have tried 14 different pellets in it and can't get a group smaller than 5 inches at 25 yards. My discovery can get dime sized groups. I have tried different scopes. Took it to a Crosman repair shop and they couldn't get it to shoot groups. They cleaned the barrel and adjusted the gun to 850 fps.. Still Can't get a good group. They suggest a new barrel but a gun less than 2 months old should not need a new barrel.

What others should know: My friends shoot Marauders and they have great accuracy. I think I have a lemon. My gun also had 2 pellets in the cartridge and has a notch in the stock to make power adjusting easy to get to that no one else seems to have

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Glen from USA on 2015-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well built. Quietest airgun I have owned. Decent accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Heavy gun. Lighter would be nice. Pump gets hard to pump at upper pressure.

    What others should know: Not as accurate as advertised but may be an ammo issue. Will experiment with various other pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2015-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I love the accuracy and the energy delivered to your target.

    Things I would have changed: Not much.Personally,I would like crosman to offer this gun with a standard single shot feed system,however i hand load my .25 M-rod just fine.Don't bother wasting your money on the cheap plastic air venturi single shot tray.You can load singly by hand just fine with some practice.

    What others should know: Pumping this gun up from the factory's 600 p.s.i. blows,I'm not gonna' lie.However,pumping from 2000 to 3000 p.s.i. is not nearly as bad.Hit big pests in the fuse box for best and instant results.My only regret I have with this purchase is that i waited so long to do it.If you're like me and on the fence about getting into pcp guns.....DO IT!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2015-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well I first got a 22 caliber really liked the rifle but it shot not so good in the accuracy department. Prayamid Air was great to deal with sent a shipping label for a return talked to customer Service and ended up with a 25 caliber. It shoots really well. Green Mountain makes great barrels.

    Things I would have changed: Make the gun lighter it's a bit heavy. Get green mountain to make the 22 caliber barrels

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Joe from USA on 2015-07-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's a repeater. That's all.

    Things I would have changed: My gun has poor accuracy. I have tried 14 different pellets in it and can't get a group smaller than 5 inches at 25 yards. My discovery can get dime sized groups. I have tried different scopes. Took it to a Crosman repair shop and they couldn't get it to shoot groups. They cleaned the barrel and adjusted the gun to 850 fps.. Still Can't get a good group. They suggest a new barrel but a gun less than 2 months old should not need a new barrel.

    What others should know: My friends shoot Marauders and they have great accuracy. I think I have a lemon. My gun also had 2 pellets in the cartridge and has a notch in the stock to make power adjusting easy to get to that no one else seems to have

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2015-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: In .25 cal this round hits like no other, is EXTREMELY accurate, little/ no maintenance, whisper quiet (can only hear the hammer fall "click") and is excellent value for the money!

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice to have iron sights on a rifle with this much to offer. It's hard to say that I would change anything else.

    What others should know: This is a PCP and using a pump to fill it has side effects. These side effects include weight loss, muscle gain, tone and ripped shoulders--it's worth the money (if you have it) to get a tank. You'll never have more enjoyment than shooting your new Benjamin

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Jonathan Mather from USA on 2015-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice wood stock for a hardwood one. Nice fit and finish to the metal work. Adjustable cheek piece is nice but not ideal on a hunting rifle, and would have been nice to be in the same wood as the stock as opposed to plastic. All metal trigger is nice, with a crisp let off, but oddly shaped. The safety is effective but I’m never comfortable putting my finger into the trigger guard to engage or disengage one—this is a disturbing trend on many brands of air rifles. Very silent report in .22 caliber. Factory installed sling swivel studs are nice to see.All said and done an amazing domestic package with a nice price point.

    Things I would have changed: The afore mentioned cheek piece and safety location. The rifle is no lightweight either.

    What others should know: My rifle was very pellet specific, it seemed to group copper coated ones best. I ordered a second magazine; one of the two (I don’t know if it was the extra or the one that came with the rifle) delivered much better groups than the other. The accuracy from this example was not acceptable to me and I returned the rifle. Pyramid Air is a great place to deal with their staff is amazing.

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Eugene from USA on 2015-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Like the heft and feel.

    Things I would have changed: Put a barrel on that likes pellets.

    What others should know: This riddle in .177 is not very accurate. The way it is adjusted it would indicate that this gun was a returned item.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By steven from USA on 2015-07-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: One of the very few air rifles that are fully ambidextrous. Feels solidly built and shoulders very well. I get plenty of shots per fill and it is very quiet. It also has a great trigger that is fully adjustable.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy with the 22 caliber is very bad, was getting 2-3 inch groups at 30 yards using quality pellets, tried 4 different brands of quality pellets and could not get decent groups with any of them. Also the bolt was very tight and I almost double loaded several times. Since I could not get it to group at all I sent it back. Pyramyd air was great and sent me a replacement with no hassle. After reading many posts about the accuracy issues with the 22 caliber, and the bad experience i had, I decided to go with the 25 caliber marauder. This one shoots much better and I am getting great groups but the pressure gauge readings are way off. I could not get crosman to send me a replacement gauge and although Pyramyd air offered to replace the rifle I decided to keep this one because it is grouping very well. My only complaint is that pyramyd air said they would send me a replacement gauge and its been over a month and I have not received it.

    What others should know: Quality control at crosman needs improvement. The accuracy issues with the 22 caliber has been an ongoing issue for a long, long time, some shoot great, others shoot very poorly, and when you buy one you never know which you will receive. Also, the inacurate pressure gauges seams to be a common problem as well, at least the gauge issue is an easy fix. Because of the issues with the 22 caliber marauder, I recommend going with the 25 caliber, your odds are much better that you will receive a great shooter. Mine is very accurate, powerful, and fun to shoot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cliff from USA on 2015-07-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: you can shoot several times without recharging but if you turn it up it will use more air. It is a bit difficult for me to get 3000 lbs in it but I can do it. I bought the bundle and its a good deal it came with the Benjamin pump, and Benjamin pellets the pellets are just Ok it dose matter what pellets you use I found the H&N field target trophy pellets work the best for me.I turned mine back to factory settings I think it works best for me .

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: its very quiet and fun to shoot I have the 22 cal.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By al from USA on 2015-07-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought the gun about a month ago sighted it in at 50 put right about 600 rounds through it tuned it just a little bit I get two full mags out of it dead accurate at 50 perfect at 25 with a 1.5 hold under haven't cleaned it it's still going clean straight and on target

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a bigger air tube

    What others should know: I don't know about all of them but mine really likes h&n Baracuda hunter extreme .25cal and skenco ultramag metal tip .25cal I have some .25cal h&n grizzly pellets they shoot ok under I'd say 30yds all around worth the money I have the .25cal jsb match Diablo exact kings siting on my desk and have yet to shoot a single one

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jaxworks from USA on 2015-06-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: There is a lot to like about this rifle. Fit and finish and incredible accuracy. I especially like that the magazine tells you when you are out of ammo. Hatsan does not and you can waste a charge or miss a kill. I bought the .25 cal and the knockdown power is something to see. Varmints are DRT (that's dead right there). The forestock could be a good bit smaller and dual rails for 11mm and Picatinny would also be a plus. Trigger as set from factory is excellent. Standard power settings are also very good.

    Things I would have changed: Dual rails for scope mounts...cut down that wide fore stock.

    What others should know: Not quite as quiet as the Hatsan at44-10 QE but still very quiet and the magazine and workmanship make a better choice.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By al from USA on 2015-06-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Out of the box it was damn close to the power wanted it is just an overall clean straight shooter and it drives them home you beeter bet it's a great gun for the money and in the hand feels just like my competition winchester which I loved

    Things I would have changed: Absolutely nothing well made the price

    What others should know: If you can hold the weight you have nothin to worry about this rifle is for you Oh and it's quiet

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2015-05-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Straight out of the box this is an amazing air rifle! I regret taking so long in transitioning over to PCP. I am 18 for 18 on the fuzzy tailed devils in my backyard. This rifle does not wound them it kills them. The accuracy is amazing, I haven't found a pellet this gun doesn't like. Poly Mags are the best, but you have to load them with a single shot tray. Crow Mags are close behind and load with the mag fine. Out of the box no adjustment I can find no sweet spot, its steady between 2000&3000 psi. Velocity, wow! 2000 psi through 3000 psi I get 775 fps average w/ crow mags and 815 fps average with poly mags. You have to be careful with whats behind your target because pellets melt right on through your target.

    Things I would have changed: Not much, I am old school and would like to see the adjustable comb made of wood to match stock. I never have liked the synthetic stocks. I know syn stocks have there place, I'm just old school. And the mag I wish it was able to load the poly mags in it.

    What others should know: Pyramyds phone sales dept was great. I think it was Gregg, he had a lot of knowledge and was a big help in getting me started in the PCP field. Took his time and answered all my questions and made me fill comfortable in purchasing a PCP. BITE the pellet and throw your spring guns in the dumpster and buy a Marauder PCP there amazing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Adin from USA on 2015-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Design !Accuracy! While waiting on my Scope rings I have taken out 2 crows from about 30-35 yards! No joke! Powerful with capability to adjust power! Wood stock fits just right. Honestly only people that would have problem with this gun are those that where unlucky and they got one with factory error or something. I spent 2 months of research and trust me if you willing to spend 500$ plus $130 to $160 for the scope, (don't forget the pump and the pellets) you will not regret it I promise you!

    Things I would have changed: I would include little bag of tools that are necessary for the adjustments and 3/8 11mm Scope ring adapter.

    What others should know: Get the Bundle package with the scope.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By scott from USA on 2015-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'm impressed, quality gun, well made. my first pcp airgun, it's more than I expected! real gun feel! mine turns out to be a tack driver right out of the box using jsb exact king .25 diabolo. this gun is quiet shooting and hard hitting, a great gun for urban back yards!

    Things I would have changed: nothing... other than maybe another larger caliber offering, like .30 cal.

    What others should know: I shopped around a bit and found the best deal at Pyramid air mall. with their ultimate bundle it's the best deal going! and good service also! I am very pleased with everything and will be a returning customer to Pyramid Air Mall.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lonnie from USA on 2015-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: These pellets shoot very well out of my M-Rod. I haven't found any damaged pellets in the tin so far. They group at around 3/4 inch and probably would do better in the hands of a more steady shooter. They seem to hit very hard on target. They also hit at point of aim at 30 yards when shot through my M-Rod sighted in with JSB Diabolo Exact Kings 25.39 grain pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing so far.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lonnie from USA on 2015-04-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is awesome. First two shots were touching at 20 yards. Took 10 shots to zero then was shooting 3/4 inch groups at 20 and 30 yard. The groups would be smaller if I did my job better aiming and shooting the rifle. It is quiet as well, the pellets striking the target are louder than the shot sending them downrange. This thing has been punching through multiple layers of weathered plywood with ease. I have been shooting the JSB Diabolo Exact King 25.39 grain pellets and even a magazine loaded with pellets with bent skirts group at 3/4 inch. I just tried the H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme Hollow Point 28.4 grain pellets and found they hit at point of aim at 30 yards. They grouped just as well as the JSB Pellets so it seems this rifle likes them as well. It is .25 caliber. I have no regrets in purchasing this rifle which I bought as a package deal.

    Things I would have changed: I would change nothing so far except I wish I had an air tank to fill from or an electric compressor. The hand pump is work out but very doable for a guy my size.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kerry from USA on 2015-04-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The wood stock quality of the gun and how quiet it is considering the power. I HAD bought this gun from another dealer and got 2 bad ones. so I opted for this Pyramyd and their 10 for 10. This is where Pyramyd Air provides a 10 point test on the gun before shipping. This is my first PCP and it is a beast. I have the top 5 pellets for it. Get the polymag if you want to shoot through almost anything. once I got the scop. WOW, and WOW (Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Accushot Rifle Scope) I can put pellet behind pellet dead aim in the same hole at 10 yards all day. I know that is not far but It is so consistent. I do not want to shoot it in the backyard as this thing will go through the fence, I will sight it in for longer range when I get a chance.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, since my 1 possible item of suggesting an iron sight would not work with this setup, The barrel is shrouded so it could not work mounted there at it screws in and the magazine is too high for the initial sight to be mounted

    What others should know: Go with the Hill Pump, it is about $85 more than most pumps but well worth it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Don from USA on 2015-03-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Received my wood stock version model BP2264 M-Rod .22. I had the 10 shot test from PA. The chronograph looked good (went from 887 to 895 and back to 880 in the 10 shots starting at 3000psi). I mounted a Leupold VX-2 3X9-33 Ultralight EFR scope. I started at 10 yds the first shot was about 3" low and right on the vertical. I put the rifle in my gun rest and sighted on the target then moved my vertical till the cross hairs centered on the bullet hole. Next shot was high so I adjusted the scope down. The third shot was dead center. I moved the target to 22yds and took two shots in same hole adjusted the scope. As I was about to shoot again a fly landed on the target so I took a crack at it, nothing left but fly guts around the hole. My wife came out and took a shot at a new target and hit about 1/16 off center at the 22 yds. This was unbelievable all these shots were with Crosman premium pointed 14.3grain pellets. Have 250 plus shots now with no bolt or magazine or other problem.

    Things I would have changed: I pumped the gun up from the 2500psi left from the 10 shot test to 3000psi. The pump gauge read about 2000 psi at the beginning and 2500 after pumping about 55 pumps. I figure the pump gauge is off and the gun gauge is correct but don't know for sure. The gauges should be tested. The trigger could be adjusted a lot better from the factory. The design seems very good the parts quality also seems good the quality control could easily be better.

    What others should know: Do a visual check, I found the screw holding the trigger guard was loose about three turns. Then noticed the protective plastic on the air gauge would not peal off of one side. I removed the stock and removed the plastic put the stock back on and found it was bound against the gauge. I then sanded the stock until I could get a piece of paper between the stock and gauge. After reading all the issues with the magazine I ordered an extra one. I sat down and read the instructions and played with the magazine until I had it figured out. No hard force should be needed or it could be damaged. Same goes for the bolt and rest of gun. Boy am I glad I started with those Crosman pellets they are the best so far. A few others are almost as good. Some are so bad 6 groups at 34yds, I may have returned the rifle. I have tried about 10 different pellets so far and still looking for one that will shoot minus dime size groups at 34yds my longest range in the back yard.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Big Steve 244 from USA on 2015-03-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a really decent air rifle. I can see why it's the most popular choice amongst new airgunners. It's not my first nice air rifle but it may become my second favorite.

    Things I would have changed: Possibly make the adjustable cheek piece easier to raise and lower.

    What others should know: If you don't have a nice PCP air rifle yet, the Marauder is likely the best choice for your first one. You won't be disappointed.

  • 1234 Next
Navigation