Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin Marauder Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2014-06-25 20:32:06

    Things I liked:I zeroed scope and and shot at a 15 yard target first two days. On third day, I took my .22 wood Marauder on my ranch hunting, I anchored 3 ground squirrels (all at 15 to 20 yards away). I found I had hit exactly where I had aimed. I then overlooked my canyon and saw a ground squirrel about 40 yards away in the top of an old hollowed-out oak tree. The wind was blowing hard from the north west. I sighted in 1" to the left of the squirrels upper shoulder and released the trigger. The ground squirrel dropped. When I reached the dispatched ground squirrel and saw the pellet had done its job exactly where I had anticipated. I then went down a trail I had made at the bottom of the canyon. Soon I saw two more ground squirrels. I took aim at the one on the left,and dispatched it too. I took squirrels to my meadow for the ravens to eat. This rifle is better than I expected. The wood stock with black cheek riser, is much more accurate than my .22 using cb shorts. Rifle handles like a shotgun.
    Things I would have changed:Rifle shroud and air reservoir appears to be painted rather than blued. I suspect it is because shroud is aluminum. Better rifle gauge as mine doesn't work reliably, however Crosman is going to replace it. I am using only the gauge on Benjamin pump until the new gauge arrives Quick disconnect on Benjamin pump is giving me problems and Sun Power is sending me another. Kudos to both of them. Is this rifle accurate, quiet, well built, worth the money, heavy, does it have a great looking solid feeling beautiful wood grain stock like the picture? Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, and yes! Would I recommend this .22 cal in wood stock instead of a .22 powder burner for dispatching ground squirrels without breaking the sound barrier? Yes! Was the Benjamin pump easy to operate with very little sweat for a 64 year old weighing 167 lbs.(takes 2 to 2 1/2 pumps per shot). I see no need for a scuba tank. Would I recommend Pyramid Air with their good prices and excellent satisfaction policy? Yes!
    What others should know:The following strings of 10 shots each from a single charge were mostly hole in hole and all 60 shots (6 strings)were able to be covered with a penny. Here are the 6 groups chronograph-ed with 1 full charge from Benjamin pump to 3000 psi. This with no adjustments to the rifle. Using Crosman Premiere 14.3 domes, here are the velocity of the 60 shots. String 1...860, 860, 865, 872, 866, 877, 864, 876, 882, 883: String 2... 881, 895, 893, 889, 880, 893, 902, 892, 891, 895: String 3... 896, 902, 898, 904, 900, 896, 902, 903, 902, 907: String 4... 907, 903, 900, 903, 902, 906, 901, 900, 892, 891: String 5... 888, 892, 889, 886, 884, 882, 879, 877, 873, 865: String 6... 865, 858, 855, 853, 847, 842, 838, 836, 830, 823. Don't lean against wall like a powder burner due to the free floating barrel. I canceled a pre-order of an NP2 due to delays and early reviews. Almost triple the money for .22 cal wood marauder. "Totally worth it to me." Awesome wood stock demands extra special care.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    By Richard from USA on 2014-10-26 20:43:33

    Things I liked:The Foster fitting on fill chamber. Fairly quiet considering. Pretty stock. Nice trigger pull. Accurate.
    Things I would have changed:Lets change these comments to "Things I hate". The pellet clip or the gun's breech isn't manchined accurately causing some clips to not load and also jam. It takes a sharp rap on the bolt with your palm to chamber the pellet and a metal drift/hammer to remove a jammed clip. Out of 3 clips, one loads great, one is so-so and the other sucks. Also some iron sights
    What others should know:I also own 2 Hatsan side levers and they work great! My Hatsan pump action is very problematic
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steve from USA on 2014-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Love the look and feel. Fantastic power! Great accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:I HATE the bolt action...it's SO hard and sticky despite giving it a bit of MOLY. The barrel shield's finish is JUNK! As I was disconnecting the knurled fill chuck, it merely slid past the barrel and ended up scratching it all the way through the VERY THIN layer of PAINT!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Craig from USA on 2014-12-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, quality, quiet, adjustable cheek rest and ten shot repeater.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:I have the .177 and it likes the JSB Exact Heavy the best. I bought the ultimate package and I`m glad I did. The scope and the hand pump are both excellent. I`ve had a TX200 for about three years but after shooting this it will be up for sale shortly. For pest control and casual plinking I see no need for a scuba tank.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2014-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:1. 25 cal Green Mountain barrel. This barrel makes the gun really shine in the accuracy department. 2. Match grade trigger 3. Accuracy and precision 4. Price for performance - you get a lot of gun for the price 5. Pumping with a hand pump is very doable especially if topping off after 16-24 shots - I'm 5'9" and 160 lbs. 6. No stress about choosing a scope able to handle severe recoil - virtually recoilless shooting 7. This is a genuine hunting rifle - hits very hard and the smack of the pellet on prey/targets will put a smile on your face
      Things I would have changed:Include two 8-round magazines instead of one. I ended up purchasing a separate one a few days later.
      What others should know:I own several Gamo break-barrels, Daisy multi-pumps, and two Benjamin 392's. This is my first PCP. Looking back, I could have saved myself at least half a grand had I just went PCP from the beginning. This is by far the best in my arsenal when shooting past 30 yards. This gun breeds confidence in each shot. I already was able to take down 3 pest squirrels in my yard from ranges of 15 to 40 yards with ease. One shot, one humane kill. As far as ammo is concerned, I initially shot Benjamin domes and then went for the JSB Exact Kings. The JSB's and Air Arms ammo are the most accurate in my gun. However, these three seem to work well with the Green Mountain barrels based on a multitude of reviews. Lastly, if you're on the fence about whether to buy a cheaper gun in order to save money but are considering a PCP, just save your money for a PCP - it'll be more cost-effective in the end. Lesson learned.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Randell from USA on 2014-12-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:So far I really like this gun, and everyone else has been impressed too. Out of the box it was shooting 7.5gr wadcutters right at mach. Could hear a faint crack sometimes. They weren't grouping at all. I slowed it down to 1000fps, and they still wouldn't group. Changed to hollow points, and it shoots one hole. I'm thinking the flat nosed pellets probably like to be well below mach, so I will stick to rounder nosed pellets so I can stay up around 1000fps for a flatter trajectory and easier field target. The stock feels good and looks good. Haven't had a need to adjust the trigger. It's quiet too.
      Things I would have changed:Still pings a bit. The shooter hears it, but you hardly notice it standing 5 feet away. I saw on youtube where someone put vinyl pipe sections in the tank to reduce the resonance. Might try that if I ever have it apart. Definitely youtube this gun. Lots of tips there.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bryan from USA on 2014-12-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:almost Everything ... the wood stock was excellent the accuracy was excellent and the quietest air rifle I own. out of the box the .25 pellets hit my spinner targets so hard that it spooned the steel spinner ....lol
      Things I would have changed:the trigger surface could be shaped a bit nicer. and it would be great to have a larger air reservoir.
      What others should know:the best PCP for the money... if you are under 150 lbs the hand pump will be hard for you to use. I use the hand pump for now but i will be getting a tank to fill soon. Just buy it you wont be disappointed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By charles from USA on 2014-12-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:2 mrod 25 2nd gen 1shoebox compressor old type realistic sub for rimfire 1st airgun I can say that about with kodiak match sub 2 minutes of angle at 75 yards. The best names in american airguns field servicable good stuff
      Things I would have changed:Loaded indicator,or cocking indicator,or auto safety to eliminate doubling
      What others should know:Russians only copy the very best designs. Soo if you wonder how good it really is check out edgun website and see morona theft the most sincere form of flattery. Traplines,canoes snomos. Foot. Get pistol my next move.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Harold from USA on 2014-11-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:.25cal. Every thing about this gun is great! the trigger is perfect the accuracy is second to none. Very powerful and quite. The clips have worked flawlessly for me. Bundle and save.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:At 50yrds a dime will cover 8 shots with JSB Kings 25.39gr and Baracuda Hunter 27.47gr with the same point of impact. My bird and pest population has been reduced greatly. I use this gun for hunting around my farm and others for pest control and it will take out large critters with ease with a well placed shot. I have opened up my air valve and tuned it a little to get the most out of it, and i like to keep my psi up so i fill after 8 shots for this reason and if i choose to use the hand pump it only takes about 55 or 60 pumps.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Roger from USA on 2014-11-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:.22 accurate, powerful, inexpensive, backyard friendly, can't go wrong. some reviews say not accurate, mine is spot on with the right pellet, JBS EXACT jumbo heavy, H&N field target, H&N baracuda match, AA Diabolo field heavy and beeman crow magnun for hunting, off the shelf crosman premier and discovery work good too.
      Things I would have changed:front swivel studs is round for my Harris bipod, had to modify to fit.
      What others should know:get a bipod you'll never take it off.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Aaron from USA on 2014-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The wood stock feels great in my hands. I amount of shots i get. Accuracy. The look.
      Things I would have changed:Make the clips metal. I haven't had any problems with my clips, i still use the clip from my original marauder, it just feels cheap.
      What others should know:I purchased this rifle thinking it would be a upgrade from my original marauder, the only thing that i can really tell that's any different is the stock. Which is nice, but other then that, i cant tell a difference. Both are quiet, both can put pellets into the same hole at 35 yards. I would consider this to be more of a plinking rifle then a hunting rifle, even though it is a capable hunter. Where as I would consider my hatsan bt65 to be more or a hunter then a plinker.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2014-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quiet. Great tripper. Very accurate rifle. Very fun to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:Crossman needs to supply silicone lube with this rifle. I doesn't work very well without it.
      What others should know:This is a very accurate fun shooting rifle. If you shoot it a lot you really need a carbon tank system for air supply.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Richard from USA on 2014-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Foster fitting on fill chamber. Fairly quiet considering. Pretty stock. Nice trigger pull. Accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Lets change these comments to "Things I hate". The pellet clip or the gun's breech isn't manchined accurately causing some clips to not load and also jam. It takes a sharp rap on the bolt with your palm to chamber the pellet and a metal drift/hammer to remove a jammed clip. Out of 3 clips, one loads great, one is so-so and the other sucks. Also some iron sights
      What others should know:I also own 2 Hatsan side levers and they work great! My Hatsan pump action is very problematic
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2014-10-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful stock but too short of a butt. (My sleeve length is 33 to 34). Fairly quiet considering.
      Things I would have changed:The "plastic" pellet clips are mickey mouse and a PITA! I own 3 of them. Some line up and load pellets like they're made to (along with a slap/push with the palm of your hand) and some don't. Hatsan has a much better arrangement. Also mount some sights.
      What others should know:I have the .25. Shoots fairly hard
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Curt from USA on 2014-10-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Craftsmanship is excellent. Accuracy is spot on...only deviations are mine. So far, it has been a real joy to own. I am still amazed at how quiet it is when shooting.
      Things I would have changed:The textured finish at the end of the barrel easily scratches surfaces it contacts.
      What others should know:This is my first PCP, and it will be quite a while before I would move to anything else.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Geno from USA on 2014-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I read the reviews about the guns accuracy and trigger etc.....all true....5 shots to sight in the scope and then....same hole after same hole after same hole.........my chipmunk population is not thrilled but I just love this gun!!
      What others should know:if you can afford it buy a carbon or scuba tank......pumping it up by hand is somewhat of a hassle......I fill it to 2700psi and pump it back up when it gets down to 2000psi.....lots easier than letting it run out
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2014-10-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything, this gun is hard hitting and accurate. At twenty yards the groups are no bigger than my fingernail.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:After i added a scope and bipod it was a little heavy, but you get use to it and once you see how accurate it is you forget about the weight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ahkell from USA on 2014-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have reviewed this pellet rifle before. I have the .22 wood. Yes, is really an excellent air rifle. I get consistent headshots on gray squirrels at 40 yards with positive and negative degrees of angle which as a lot of you know ain't easy. So, yes, it is a very accurate air rifle. Today I read the answer to a question on the Pyramid website about the costs involved in running an accurate PCP repeating rifle. The answer given by BB Peletier was that a $500.00 PCP repeater is going to shoot "rings around" a $189.00 Ruger 10/22 unless the 10/22 was tuned up and "tricked out". Scoped, new stock etc. Well, since the Marauder, a fine air rifle, doesn't have iron sights, I am pretty sure one needs a decent scope+ rings before it "shoots rings"around anything, right? Then there is the fact that from a solid position, I can make the same consistent head shots with my 10/22 at 100+ yards, and at 50-75 yards consistent head shots with my CZ bolt action .22 and subsonic ammo as quietly as I can
      Things I would have changed:with my Marauder, and neither of those .22 firearms are tricked out, unless tricked out means a mounted Leapers scope. So I really have to take umbrage with BB Peletier's comparison. I like shooting air guns. But there is really no fair way to compare an air rifle, or any kind of air gun at all, with a firearm. The affordable/ entry level hunting rifles,Savage Axis, Remington 770 etc.in .30-06, will all throw a 150+ gr. expanding spire point boat tail bullet downrange with pretty good accuracy to 600 yards, and with a BTHP VLD out to 800 yards with a muzzle velocity of 2800+ fps. No air gun can do that, and I am not aware of any air gun that can ethically drop a deer outside of and air guns can, (without getting one thrown in jail!), such as legally and unobtrusively taking out that murder of crows causing trouble in suburbia.
      What others should know:Anyway, I am not trolling or trying to advocate ONLY this or ONLY that. I just do not think that one can compare compressed air to smokeless powder. Each propellant has its uses and I enjoy shooting both very much as I am sure most of us shooters do.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-09-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Hard hitting, Accurate, Reversible bolt (LEFT HAND).
      Things I would have changed:Crossman needs to supply silicone lube tube with purchase of rifle.
      What others should know:Make sure you keep your bolt and breach lubed with silicone. The bolt probe literally pulled out the O ring in the breach. On the 4th magazine fired. Rifle sitting there....Can't fire it. Had to order Number 5 O rings Buna-N thru Amazon. Waiting...........
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2014-09-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For the money... Hard to beat this deal. I like to squirrel hunt so this gun in the 25 caliber is perfect. Hard hitting and very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:the weight, this gun is heavy.
      What others should know:no
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Alan from USA on 2014-09-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:When buying a gun, accuracy is one of the most important factors of that gun. The Marauder has that in abundance. It is a pleasure to hit what you are aiming at all times, with very small groups.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:when buying this or any air rifle, buy it from Pyramyd Air. They stand behind their products. My first Marauder had a slight air leak. I called customer support and they sent me a return ticket and a new gun. No arguments! So very pleasant to deal with,I wish all companies were this way.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2014-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:First off, I would like to take this opportunity to say THANK YOU to Pyramid Air & Tyler Patner (especially) for their (his) Outstanding customer service, knowledge & open willingness to share that knowledge, friendliness and just plain ole fashion GREAT Customer Service !!...a genuinely & Sorely LACKING commodity in todays world of high tech & "faceless" (re:disrespectful in Most cases)"on-line buying"... all I can say is, PA - "your" a breath of fresh air in todays market place..PLEASE, DO NOT LOSE THAT QUALITY!!..and it's GREAT to not Only be able to actually converse with REAL people, but with people who actually have personal experience in the field(Tyler,for one)and who actually, care about their customers & potential customers. I have purchased several air rifles thus far from PA,& my latest is the "NEW" Mrod in .25cal..and for the price point, it's One Fantastic PCP that serves the caliber justly. It's well designed, balanced & deadly accurate & can be filled with an air pump.
      Things I would have changed:Have had it since this past June(2014) and have run approximately 1300 rounds through it so far, and not a single "quirk" in it, just keeps getting better and better. How about an offering in .30cal - THAT!!..would be Great! There is Nothing that I would change that I can think of. Benjamin has done a great job in the redesigning efforts that they have done since the introduction of the Mrod, initially and have done well to make a great & REASONABLY priced PCP even better. The ONLY thing that they might focus on, would be to get a "handle" on the Quality Control of the barrels for the .177 & .22 caliber versions... they tend to be somewhat "hit or miss" in their accuracy (no pun intended). The "Green Mountain" barrels on the .25 cals. are Fantastically accurate.. especially at this price point, and Easily compare with the higher priced Weihrauch 100's, Air Arms, FX's, etc. Benjamin could possibly consider utilizing Green Mountain for their .177 & .22 cal. barrels as well.
      What others should know:If you looking for a Very Reasonably priced PCP,& something with more (adjustable) power (& larger caliber) than what the entry level Benjamin Discovery can provide, then look no further,nor hesitate to purchase a Marauder. However, keep One thing in mind.. that the designed purpose for both .25 cal and PCP's in general,is as a HUNTING ONLY rifle, unless of course your wanting a PCP for competition FTT usage, then of course, it would strictly be .177 cal. @ 500 fps, like a Steyr & such and Tyler Patner at PA would be the "man" to speak with in that arena, for sure. If your wanting a .25 cal. that can "reach" out there, and "touch something" with authority, than a PCP is the ONLY way to truly justify the caliber.. as MOST ALL Springers in .25 caliber just do NOT have what it takes to Really do the caliber any justice. Springers, for the most part..in .25 cal are only good within 40 yrds, beyond that.. it gets "iffy" for hunting any "sizable" game. Mrods are WELL Worth their price pt.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top