Benjamin Marauder Air Rifle reviews - page 1



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Robert from USA on 2014-06-25 20:32:06

Things I liked:I zeroed scope and and shot at a 15 yard target first two days. On third day, I took my .22 wood Marauder on my ranch hunting, I anchored 3 ground squirrels (all at 15 to 20 yards away). I found I had hit exactly where I had aimed. I then overlooked my canyon and saw a ground squirrel about 40 yards away in the top of an old hollowed-out oak tree. The wind was blowing hard from the north west. I sighted in 1" to the left of the squirrels upper shoulder and released the trigger. The ground squirrel dropped. When I reached the dispatched ground squirrel and saw the pellet had done its job exactly where I had anticipated. I then went down a trail I had made at the bottom of the canyon. Soon I saw two more ground squirrels. I took aim at the one on the left,and dispatched it too. I took squirrels to my meadow for the ravens to eat. This rifle is better than I expected. The wood stock with black cheek riser, is much more accurate than my .22 using cb shorts. Rifle handles like a shotgun.
Things I would have changed:Rifle shroud and air reservoir appears to be painted rather than blued. I suspect it is because shroud is aluminum. Better rifle gauge as mine doesn't work reliably, however Crosman is going to replace it. I am using only the gauge on Benjamin pump until the new gauge arrives Quick disconnect on Benjamin pump is giving me problems and Sun Power is sending me another. Kudos to both of them. Is this rifle accurate, quiet, well built, worth the money, heavy, does it have a great looking solid feeling beautiful wood grain stock like the picture? Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, and yes! Would I recommend this .22 cal in wood stock instead of a .22 powder burner for dispatching ground squirrels without breaking the sound barrier? Yes! Was the Benjamin pump easy to operate with very little sweat for a 64 year old weighing 167 lbs.(takes 2 to 2 1/2 pumps per shot). I see no need for a scuba tank. Would I recommend Pyramid Air with their good prices and excellent satisfaction policy? Yes!
What others should know:The following strings of 10 shots each from a single charge were mostly hole in hole and all 60 shots (6 strings)were able to be covered with a penny. Here are the 6 groups chronograph-ed with 1 full charge from Benjamin pump to 3000 psi. This with no adjustments to the rifle. Using Crosman Premiere 14.3 domes, here are the velocity of the 60 shots. String 1...860, 860, 865, 872, 866, 877, 864, 876, 882, 883: String 2... 881, 895, 893, 889, 880, 893, 902, 892, 891, 895: String 3... 896, 902, 898, 904, 900, 896, 902, 903, 902, 907: String 4... 907, 903, 900, 903, 902, 906, 901, 900, 892, 891: String 5... 888, 892, 889, 886, 884, 882, 879, 877, 873, 865: String 6... 865, 858, 855, 853, 847, 842, 838, 836, 830, 823. Don't lean against wall like a powder burner due to the free floating barrel. I canceled a pre-order of an NP2 due to delays and early reviews. Almost triple the money for .22 cal wood marauder. "Totally worth it to me." Awesome wood stock demands extra special care.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

By Richard from USA on 2014-10-26 20:43:33

Things I liked:The Foster fitting on fill chamber. Fairly quiet considering. Pretty stock. Nice trigger pull. Accurate.
Things I would have changed:Lets change these comments to "Things I hate". The pellet clip or the gun's breech isn't manchined accurately causing some clips to not load and also jam. It takes a sharp rap on the bolt with your palm to chamber the pellet and a metal drift/hammer to remove a jammed clip. Out of 3 clips, one loads great, one is so-so and the other sucks. Also some iron sights
What others should know:I also own 2 Hatsan side levers and they work great! My Hatsan pump action is very problematic
Sort by:
  • 1234 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jaxworks from USA on 2015-06-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:There is a lot to like about this rifle. Fit and finish and incredible accuracy. I especially like that the magazine tells you when you are out of ammo. Hatsan does not and you can waste a charge or miss a kill. I bought the .25 cal and the knockdown power is something to see. Varmints are DRT (that's dead right there). The forestock could be a good bit smaller and dual rails for 11mm and Picatinny would also be a plus. Trigger as set from factory is excellent. Standard power settings are also very good.
    Things I would have changed:Dual rails for scope mounts...cut down that wide fore stock.
    What others should know:Not quite as quiet as the Hatsan at44-10 QE but still very quiet and the magazine and workmanship make a better choice.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By al from USA on 2015-06-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Out of the box it was damn close to the power wanted it is just an overall clean straight shooter and it drives them home you beeter bet it's a great gun for the money and in the hand feels just like my competition winchester which I loved
    Things I would have changed:Absolutely nothing well made the price
    What others should know:If you can hold the weight you have nothin to worry about this rifle is for you Oh and it's quiet
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Kevin from USA on 2015-05-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Straight out of the box this is an amazing air rifle! I regret taking so long in transitioning over to PCP. I am 18 for 18 on the fuzzy tailed devils in my backyard. This rifle does not wound them it kills them. The accuracy is amazing, I haven't found a pellet this gun doesn't like. Poly Mags are the best, but you have to load them with a single shot tray. Crow Mags are close behind and load with the mag fine. Out of the box no adjustment I can find no sweet spot, its steady between 2000&3000 psi. Velocity, wow! 2000 psi through 3000 psi I get 775 fps average w/ crow mags and 815 fps average with poly mags. You have to be careful with whats behind your target because pellets melt right on through your target.
    Things I would have changed:Not much, I am old school and would like to see the adjustable comb made of wood to match stock. I never have liked the synthetic stocks. I know syn stocks have there place, I'm just old school. And the mag I wish it was able to load the poly mags in it.
    What others should know:Pyramyds phone sales dept was great. I think it was Gregg, he had a lot of knowledge and was a big help in getting me started in the PCP field. Took his time and answered all my questions and made me fill comfortable in purchasing a PCP. BITE the pellet and throw your spring guns in the dumpster and buy a Marauder PCP there amazing.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Adin from USA on 2015-05-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Design !Accuracy! While waiting on my Scope rings I have taken out 2 crows from about 30-35 yards! No joke! Powerful with capability to adjust power! Wood stock fits just right. Honestly only people that would have problem with this gun are those that where unlucky and they got one with factory error or something. I spent 2 months of research and trust me if you willing to spend 500$ plus $130 to $160 for the scope, (don't forget the pump and the pellets) you will not regret it I promise you!
    Things I would have changed:I would include little bag of tools that are necessary for the adjustments and 3/8 11mm Scope ring adapter.
    What others should know:Get the Bundle package with the scope.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By scott from USA on 2015-05-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I'm impressed, quality gun, well made. my first pcp airgun, it's more than I expected! real gun feel! mine turns out to be a tack driver right out of the box using jsb exact king .25 diabolo. this gun is quiet shooting and hard hitting, a great gun for urban back yards!
    Things I would have changed:nothing... other than maybe another larger caliber offering, like .30 cal.
    What others should know:I shopped around a bit and found the best deal at Pyramid air mall. with their ultimate bundle it's the best deal going! and good service also! I am very pleased with everything and will be a returning customer to Pyramid Air Mall.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Lonnie from USA on 2015-04-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These pellets shoot very well out of my M-Rod. I haven't found any damaged pellets in the tin so far. They group at around 3/4 inch and probably would do better in the hands of a more steady shooter. They seem to hit very hard on target. They also hit at point of aim at 30 yards when shot through my M-Rod sighted in with JSB Diabolo Exact Kings 25.39 grain pellets.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing so far.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Lonnie from USA on 2015-04-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This rifle is awesome. First two shots were touching at 20 yards. Took 10 shots to zero then was shooting 3/4 inch groups at 20 and 30 yard. The groups would be smaller if I did my job better aiming and shooting the rifle. It is quiet as well, the pellets striking the target are louder than the shot sending them downrange. This thing has been punching through multiple layers of weathered plywood with ease. I have been shooting the JSB Diabolo Exact King 25.39 grain pellets and even a magazine loaded with pellets with bent skirts group at 3/4 inch. I just tried the H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme Hollow Point 28.4 grain pellets and found they hit at point of aim at 30 yards. They grouped just as well as the JSB Pellets so it seems this rifle likes them as well. It is .25 caliber. I have no regrets in purchasing this rifle which I bought as a package deal.
    Things I would have changed:I would change nothing so far except I wish I had an air tank to fill from or an electric compressor. The hand pump is work out but very doable for a guy my size.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By kerry from USA on 2015-04-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The wood stock quality of the gun and how quiet it is considering the power. I HAD bought this gun from another dealer and got 2 bad ones. so I opted for this Pyramyd and their 10 for 10. This is where Pyramyd Air provides a 10 point test on the gun before shipping. This is my first PCP and it is a beast. I have the top 5 pellets for it. Get the polymag if you want to shoot through almost anything. once I got the scop. WOW, and WOW (Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Accushot Rifle Scope) I can put pellet behind pellet dead aim in the same hole at 10 yards all day. I know that is not far but It is so consistent. I do not want to shoot it in the backyard as this thing will go through the fence, I will sight it in for longer range when I get a chance.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing, since my 1 possible item of suggesting an iron sight would not work with this setup, The barrel is shrouded so it could not work mounted there at it screws in and the magazine is too high for the initial sight to be mounted
    What others should know:Go with the Hill Pump, it is about $85 more than most pumps but well worth it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Don from USA on 2015-03-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Received my wood stock version model BP2264 M-Rod .22. I had the 10 shot test from PA. The chronograph looked good (went from 887 to 895 and back to 880 in the 10 shots starting at 3000psi). I mounted a Leupold VX-2 3X9-33 Ultralight EFR scope. I started at 10 yds the first shot was about 3" low and right on the vertical. I put the rifle in my gun rest and sighted on the target then moved my vertical till the cross hairs centered on the bullet hole. Next shot was high so I adjusted the scope down. The third shot was dead center. I moved the target to 22yds and took two shots in same hole adjusted the scope. As I was about to shoot again a fly landed on the target so I took a crack at it, nothing left but fly guts around the hole. My wife came out and took a shot at a new target and hit about 1/16 off center at the 22 yds. This was unbelievable all these shots were with Crosman premium pointed 14.3grain pellets. Have 250 plus shots now with no bolt or magazine or other problem.
    Things I would have changed:I pumped the gun up from the 2500psi left from the 10 shot test to 3000psi. The pump gauge read about 2000 psi at the beginning and 2500 after pumping about 55 pumps. I figure the pump gauge is off and the gun gauge is correct but don't know for sure. The gauges should be tested. The trigger could be adjusted a lot better from the factory. The design seems very good the parts quality also seems good the quality control could easily be better.
    What others should know:Do a visual check, I found the screw holding the trigger guard was loose about three turns. Then noticed the protective plastic on the air gauge would not peal off of one side. I removed the stock and removed the plastic put the stock back on and found it was bound against the gauge. I then sanded the stock until I could get a piece of paper between the stock and gauge. After reading all the issues with the magazine I ordered an extra one. I sat down and read the instructions and played with the magazine until I had it figured out. No hard force should be needed or it could be damaged. Same goes for the bolt and rest of gun. Boy am I glad I started with those Crosman pellets they are the best so far. A few others are almost as good. Some are so bad 6 groups at 34yds, I may have returned the rifle. I have tried about 10 different pellets so far and still looking for one that will shoot minus dime size groups at 34yds my longest range in the back yard.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Big Steve 244 from USA on 2015-03-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a really decent air rifle. I can see why it's the most popular choice amongst new airgunners. It's not my first nice air rifle but it may become my second favorite.
    Things I would have changed:Possibly make the adjustable cheek piece easier to raise and lower.
    What others should know:If you don't have a nice PCP air rifle yet, the Marauder is likely the best choice for your first one. You won't be disappointed.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Clay from USA on 2015-03-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Quiet, accurate, powerful, no recoil. Solid, nicely finished piece of hardware. The 10-shot magazines are much preferable to hand loading single pellets for every shot.
    Things I would have changed:Package with 3 magazines, the number of good shots you can get on one charge.
    What others should know:I'm a novice to airguns (5 months) and this is my first PCP after 2 gas piston break-barrels and a steel spring-piston side-lever. The overwhelming first impression after those other rifles is the relative quietness and the lack of any recoil. Thirty good shots will drop the charge from 3000 to 2000 psi. Sixty to 75 pumps with the bundled Benjamin hand pump bring it back up to 3000 psi. Pumping is not overly hard since you're solely using your body weight over the last 3 inches of stroke. That said, it takes virtually all of my 140 pounds to get those last 3 inches.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Daniel from USA on 2015-02-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Gun is awesome, the feel of the wood is excellent trigger pull is good. This gun shoots at far distances with no problems what so ever. And very quiet for the power it has.
    Things I would have changed:I would say the only thing I didn't like is that there really isn't anything else that the gun brings besides a mag considering the price I would of liked to receive some more extras maybe a extra mag. Or a sling. Pretty much what you see is what you get. I opted to buy the pump since anything else is way over the budget and needs too much up keep to be refilling at a scuba shop. Wish they would include a male fitting though
    What others should know:Capable of taking down some bigger game with good shot placement with the .25 I would recommend a "de-bouncer" to get more shots out of one fill Ted holdover from YouTube explains how to install and I belive it is only about 35$
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Rick Householder from USA on 2015-02-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Benjamin Marauder is a wonderful gun. It is well worth the price, for the accuracy, power, and quality. It feels like a true firearm in your hands, instead of something cheap. The magazine is great, and it is nice to see how many shots you have left. The adjustments allow you to customize the rifle to your shooting style. Power is wonderful, and compliments the accuracy. The pre-installed sling studs are a nice addition, and I wish the Discovery had it as well.
    Things I would have changed:I wish there were more than one magazine included. It would be a nice touch. It is hard to tell if you have already loaded the rifle, with the magazine, unless you are keeping good a shot count. A lock to prevent double-loading would be nice.
    What others should know:Pumping this with a hand pump is work. I take rests for the pump to cool down, as well as for myself. I knew this getting a .25 but thought I would throw that out their. The Marauder is a good hunting rifle. If that is all you are using it for (like me), hand pumping is fine, but if you plan on shooting a lot, a tank may be helpful. I am amazed how quiet this rifle is. It still spooks game, but is a lot better than the Discovery. Love this rifle!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Gerardo from USA on 2015-02-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I love the feel of the Woodstock. The grip allows me to really hold the rifle very steady.
    Things I would have changed:The illustrations in "booklet" on how to load the magazine.
    What others should know:Great shooter "out of the box." I have not have the opportunity to zero my scope, but just going outside and taking plinking shots at a few objects lets me know that I am in for a ride of my life with PCP air guns. I wish I would have had these when I was growing up in the late 70's early 80's. I wish I was young to have more time to play with this..enjoy the Marauder
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By John from USA on 2015-01-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I order a .25 caliber Marauder, but unfortunately the first one would leak all of the air out in less than 48 hours; so I returned it for another .25 caliber Marauder. The second one has a gorgeous stock, doesn't leak, and the first time I shot it, got a 3/8 inch, eight shot group at ten yards shooting off handed. This was with the H&N Field Target Trophy 19.91 grain pellets. The second rifle is perfect, and Pyramyd is a great vender.
    Things I would have changed:I would have been nice if the first Marauder hadn't leaked.
    What others should know:Pyramyd provided great service and support, and the first Marauder was quickly returned and the replacement was great!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By korey from USA on 2015-01-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I really enjoy this marauder 2.0 or synrod. The gun now comes with the much needed depinger and adjustable comb for high rise scope mounts. It is very accurate even without cleaning straight from the box. I get an average of 16 shots at full power.43fpe..great starter into the world of pcp airguns.
    Things I would have changed:Factory fill gauge is a bit off and that's about it.
    What others should know:If you are looking to do some serious plinking or long range pellet shooting (100 yrds) I'd be happy to own this rifle. Not to bad of a hunting gun as well...just remember to buy a fill tank because you'll soon be addicted to shooting this rifle.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Lionel J from USA on 2015-01-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very accurate. By playing with the tuning, you can tune for high power and less shots per fill or a little lower power and increase the number of shots per fill. I can average 40 good shot at 750 fps with an additional 20 if I will accept the lower velocity from number 40 to number 60. My .25 Marauder seems to prefer fills of 2500 to 26125 psi. This fill level is also much less work when using the hand pump.
    Things I would have changed:Better finish on the shroud. It will scratch easily. Access hole in the stock for adjusting the metering screw so you don't have to remove the stock.
    What others should know:The Marauder is a great air gun. It far out shines the Discovery I had before. I bought the wood stocked model just because I prefer the wood stock. With the Centerpoint 4 x 16x scope attached, it weighs 9.5 pounds but holds steady when shooting offhand.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By william from USA on 2015-01-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Loved the look, the feel, amazingly quiet, magazine worked well..... but the .22 was inaccurate. I shot that thing for 6 hours and 500 pellets (2 different kinds of ammo), shot it clean, dirty, all pressures. Nothing made it group better than 5 inches @ 25yds!!! I sent it back for a .25 cal and all I can say is WOW!!!! This gun groups 3/8 at 25yds right out of the box. I'm sorry to give the .22 a bad review but it Sucked! The .25 makes up for all the .22's suckiness.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing on the .25 Marauder.
    What others should know:Skip the marauder .22 and buy the .25 if accuracy is what your looking for.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By John from USA on 2015-01-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a beefy air rifle. Quality is excellent. It shoots extremely accurate. I got a super package deal from you guys and received it very timely. I love this airgun.
    Things I would have changed:Larger air reservoir. I get this weapon hopping and next thing I having to recharge it. Got a 100 cubic foot cylinder so no problem. The strap is a little long. No big deal.
    What others should know:I zeroed the Center Point 8x32 scope in about 12 shots. My shot patter was less than a dime with 16 shots in the bullseye at 25 yards.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Freddy from USA on 2015-01-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like the very competitive price point of this rifle. I also like the fact that its power level is adjustable. It has many of the features found on other PCP air guns, that are twice the price.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:This is my second Marauder, the first one is the 25Cal. I was hesitant on buying the .177 after hearing about accuracy issues with the .177 and .22 cal. Since I do gunsmith work, I was prepared to buy a Lothar Walther and replace the factory one. I received the rifle and tried Jsb 10.3gr pellets. The Jsb's shot tight little groups at 25yds. I'm glad I tried the JSB's, because had I only tried the Crosman Premiers, I would be buying a new barrel. This Marauder will shoot the 10.3 Jsb's at 950 fps. At this factory power level, the lighter pellets I tried were overpowered and de-stabilize. Both the .25 and .177 I own, perform their best with Jsb pellets. When money permits, I'll be buying a .22 Marauder.
  • 1234 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top