Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Benjamin Marauder Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (9 reviews)
    5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
    (9 votes)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2014-05-20 21:26:04

    Things I liked:This rifle is so quiet it sounds like a stapler When going off. i tried 20 different pellets and so far the JSB exact 18.13 are the most accurate for me. My best 5 shot group at 50 yards so far measured 5/16 of an inch.
    Things I would have changed:The guage on the gun reads about 500lbs. more then my Hill pump guage reads and I believe the Hill pump guage is pretty accurate.
    What others should know:I adjusted the velocity to 900fps and I also separate my pellets by weight . I put a few drops of ballistol into the pellet tins as a lubricant to keep the leading out of the barrel.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By David from USA on 2014-07-06 00:22:30

    Things I liked:Accuracy out of the box was excellent when paired with a Hawke scope purchased at the same time as this airgun. My 10 shot groups was less than half an inch at 50 yards. I used a scuba tank to maintain the press a 2 bar throughout the shooting. Recharging on average every 30 shots.
    Things I would have changed:Perhaps place a harder finish on the wood stock.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2014-07-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy out of the box was excellent when paired with a Hawke scope purchased at the same time as this airgun. My 10 shot groups was less than half an inch at 50 yards. I used a scuba tank to maintain the press a 2 bar throughout the shooting. Recharging on average every 30 shots.
      Things I would have changed:Perhaps place a harder finish on the wood stock.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Wayne from USA on 2014-06-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate and fun. Just got it and had a big group of friends over the day after it arrived. They all wanted to shoot it and loved it. Very quiet. Love the stock, it is beautiful.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-06-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I zeroed scope and and shot at a 15 yard target first two days. On third day, I took my .22 wood Marauder on my ranch hunting, I anchored 3 ground squirrels (all at 15 to 20 yards away). I found I had hit exactly where I had aimed. I then overlooked my canyon and saw a ground squirrel about 40 yards away in the top of an old hollowed-out oak tree. The wind was blowing hard from the north west. I sighted in 1" to the left of the squirrels upper shoulder and released the trigger. The ground squirrel dropped. When I reached the dispatched ground squirrel and saw the pellet had done its job exactly where I had anticipated. I then went down a trail I had made at the bottom of the canyon. Soon I saw two more ground squirrels. I took aim at the one on the left,and dispatched it too. I took squirrels to my meadow for the ravens to eat. This rifle is better than I expected. The wood stock with black cheek riser, is much more accurate than my .22 using cb shorts. Rifle handles like a shotgun.
      Things I would have changed:Rifle shroud and air reservoir appears to be painted rather than blued. I suspect it is because shroud is aluminum. Better rifle gauge as mine doesn't work reliably, however Crosman is going to replace it. I am using only the gauge on Benjamin pump until the new gauge arrives Quick disconnect on Benjamin pump is giving me problems and Sun Power is sending me another. Kudos to both of them. Is this rifle accurate, quiet, well built, worth the money, heavy, does it have a great looking solid feeling beautiful wood grain stock like the picture? Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, and yes! Would I recommend this .22 cal in wood stock instead of a .22 powder burner for dispatching ground squirrels without breaking the sound barrier? Yes! Was the Benjamin pump easy to operate with very little sweat for a 64 year old weighing 167 lbs.(takes 2 to 2 1/2 pumps per shot). I see no need for a scuba tank. Would I recommend Pyramid Air with their good prices and excellent satisfaction policy? Yes!
      What others should know:The following strings of 10 shots each from a single charge were mostly hole in hole and all 60 shots (6 strings)were able to be covered with a penny. Here are the 6 groups chronograph-ed with 1 full charge from Benjamin pump to 3000 psi. This with no adjustments to the rifle. Using Crosman Premiere 14.3 domes, here are the velocity of the 60 shots. String 1...860, 860, 865, 872, 866, 877, 864, 876, 882, 883: String 2... 881, 895, 893, 889, 880, 893, 902, 892, 891, 895: String 3... 896, 902, 898, 904, 900, 896, 902, 903, 902, 907: String 4... 907, 903, 900, 903, 902, 906, 901, 900, 892, 891: String 5... 888, 892, 889, 886, 884, 882, 879, 877, 873, 865: String 6... 865, 858, 855, 853, 847, 842, 838, 836, 830, 823. Don't lean against wall like a powder burner due to the free floating barrel. I canceled a pre-order of an NP2 due to delays and early reviews. Almost triple the money for .22 cal wood marauder. "Totally worth it to me." Awesome wood stock demands extra special care.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Krzysztof from USA on 2014-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Recently purchased the .25 cal 2013 Wood stock w/ comb and got the Ultimate Bundle with Hawke scope. I was a bit skeptical since I was toying with either going with a .177 or .22. But in the end decided that the .25 has a Green Mountain barrel and was worth extra as well as I could target shoot, small game and pest control all in one without wanting more power or more accuracy, trade off a few less shots increased cost of pellets. I typically get 20 shots before having to recharge using JSB Kings or Benjamin pellets from 3000 to 2000 psi. Both have shot extremely well are dead on target @ 50 yards I am shooting a quarter size group with factory settings. I did not have a chance to Chrony the air rifle yet. However plan to do it soon. Having the adjustable comb makes it great when target shooting or offhand. The fit and finish for my rifle for the stock and components have been excellent. Wood in great condition and smooth no edges.
      Things I would have changed:Overall the gun is a bit heavier than expected, Synthetic stock would be nice for use in the woods since its 1 lbs. lighter. The PSI/BAR gauge on the gun is useless off at least 200-300 psi, use the air pump gauge instead. The trigger itself has a rough edge some light sand paper to smooth it out would be helpful.
      What others should know:I picked up my order from Pyramyd Air locally. Excellent Customer service. Order was correct and everything well packaged.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2014-06-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy and overall look and feel of it is great. These rifles are tack drivers and a pleasure to own. They are easy to use and adjust without any complicated procedure. No special hold just aim squeeze and pound bulls eyes or game at will. Great rifle and I love everything about them. Wish I could own them all.
      Things I would have changed:One thing only. On the new gen 2, I would have liked to see the comb made from matching wood not plastic. Other than that wouldn't change a thing.
      What others should know:You should know if you buy one you'll be hooked. I now own four of them. A gen 1 in .22 and .25 and a gen 2 wood in .22 and .25. So don't wait order one from pyramyd air and start your addiction today!!!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2014-06-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love this gun I owned a couple of break barrels that are good and fun to shoot but the Marauder is the best air rifle I have.I put a leapers 3x9x40 on it and its very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing its a great piece of work.
      What others should know:I sighted the scope in at 35 yds not because I didn't have confidence it would be accurate any farther but I sighted it in, in my back yard any farther and my neighbors may have complained.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Bill from USA on 2014-05-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:In simple terms, this is a quality, valued packed PCP air rifle! I purchased the 22 caliber wood stock model and mounted a Nikon 3-9x40AO Rimfire scope using high mount rings. The high mount rings provide clearance to install the pellet magazine in the breech area. Overall length(butt plate to muzzle) is 43.75”. If you intend to store/transport you rifle in a case, look for ones that are at least 46” externally. The wood stock model is stable and heavy (8+ lbs with scope). You will want to shoot this rifle from a rest. If you plan to shoot off hand, you should consider the synthetic stock model. This rifle is made for the target shooter. I consistently can hit 1.5” groups at 50 yards using Grosman Premier domed pellets. With higher quality pellets I believe I could improve on this. With a starting pressure of ~2700 PSI, I get 40 shots without a drop in elevation @ 50 yards. Pressure at this point decreased to ~1500 PSI. At shorter ranges one should be able to get more shots.
      Things I would have changed:It takes a fair amount of force to pull the bolt back. I am not always sure if I have succesfully set the bolt & trigger until I release the bolt handle. I try to grab the handle as close to the bolt as I can when pulling to maximize the rearward force. I'm hoping the cocking force will decrease as the rifles wears in. The bolt comes adequately lubricated from the factory.
      What others should know:As configured from the factory, trigger travel (1st stage until it engages) is about .5 in. Once engaged, the trigger release is crisp. I measured about 3.5 lbs for the trigger pull. These properties are adjustable if they do not match your needs. Loading the magazine is easy (watch the video with the listing). I like the index counter on the magazine. It can be viewed on right side of the receiver and displays the pellet number currently in the breech. There are a series of baffles around the rifle barrel that muffle the noise when a pellet is fired. When I used a jag to push a cleaning patch through from the breech end, it was caught and trapped in one of the baffles. Fortunately, there is a threaded cap over the sleeved barrel, so the baffles can be removed to recover the errant cleaning patch. I recommend using a loop to hold a patch rather than jag when cleaning the bore.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-05-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is so quiet it sounds like a stapler When going off. i tried 20 different pellets and so far the JSB exact 18.13 are the most accurate for me. My best 5 shot group at 50 yards so far measured 5/16 of an inch.
      Things I would have changed:The guage on the gun reads about 500lbs. more then my Hill pump guage reads and I believe the Hill pump guage is pretty accurate.
      What others should know:I adjusted the velocity to 900fps and I also separate my pellets by weight . I put a few drops of ballistol into the pellet tins as a lubricant to keep the leading out of the barrel.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chris from USA on 2014-05-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:2014 marauder .22 using JSB Exacts 18.13 Pyramidair great support and delivery. Packaged very well. 10 for $10 put my mind at ease knowing the gun works properly and no issues I have been using a Crosman Storm XT .177 for 7 years and really enjoy it. Recently switched to Gamo Big Cat .177 and not overly impressed. I like the Crosman a lot more. Now using the Marauder...leaps and bounds holy crap. I don't know how the 2014 compares to previous models but it is very high quality. I felt the price range is just right for me compared to AA rifles but now that I have seen and shot it, I know I made the right choice. My first time using a PCP and anything bigger than .177 and I am very impressed. Very accurate, great trigger, amazing quality, affordable price, powerful, solid customer service.
      Things I would have changed:Add some iron sights and change the dovetail mount to weaver. Minor things, not issues just would be nice.
      What others should know:Get the 10 for $10 its a $10 assurance that the gun you buy will not be that 1 out of 1000 lemon!
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top