Date: 7/2/2016 21:12

Benjamin Marauder Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Robert from USA on 2014-06-25 20:32:06

Things I liked: I zeroed scope and and shot at a 15 yard target first two days. On third day, I took my .22 wood Marauder on my ranch hunting, I anchored 3 ground squirrels (all at 15 to 20 yards away). I found I had hit exactly where I had aimed. I then overlooked my canyon and saw a ground squirrel about 40 yards away in the top of an old hollowed-out oak tree. The wind was blowing hard from the north west. I sighted in 1" to the left of the squirrels upper shoulder and released the trigger. The ground squirrel dropped. When I reached the dispatched ground squirrel and saw the pellet had done its job exactly where I had anticipated. I then went down a trail I had made at the bottom of the canyon. Soon I saw two more ground squirrels. I took aim at the one on the left,and dispatched it too. I took squirrels to my meadow for the ravens to eat. This rifle is better than I expected. The wood stock with black cheek riser, is much more accurate than my .22 using cb shorts. Rifle handles like a shotgun.

Things I would have changed: Rifle shroud and air reservoir appears to be painted rather than blued. I suspect it is because shroud is aluminum. Better rifle gauge as mine doesn't work reliably, however Crosman is going to replace it. I am using only the gauge on Benjamin pump until the new gauge arrives Quick disconnect on Benjamin pump is giving me problems and Sun Power is sending me another. Kudos to both of them. Is this rifle accurate, quiet, well built, worth the money, heavy, does it have a great looking solid feeling beautiful wood grain stock like the picture? Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, and yes! Would I recommend this .22 cal in wood stock instead of a .22 powder burner for dispatching ground squirrels without breaking the sound barrier? Yes! Was the Benjamin pump easy to operate with very little sweat for a 64 year old weighing 167 lbs.(takes 2 to 2 1/2 pumps per shot). I see no need for a scuba tank. Would I recommend Pyramid Air with their good prices and excellent satisfaction policy? Yes!

What others should know: The following strings of 10 shots each from a single charge were mostly hole in hole and all 60 shots (6 strings)were able to be covered with a penny. Here are the 6 groups chronograph-ed with 1 full charge from Benjamin pump to 3000 psi. This with no adjustments to the rifle. Using Crosman Premiere 14.3 domes, here are the velocity of the 60 shots. String 1...860, 860, 865, 872, 866, 877, 864, 876, 882, 883: String 2... 881, 895, 893, 889, 880, 893, 902, 892, 891, 895: String 3... 896, 902, 898, 904, 900, 896, 902, 903, 902, 907: String 4... 907, 903, 900, 903, 902, 906, 901, 900, 892, 891: String 5... 888, 892, 889, 886, 884, 882, 879, 877, 873, 865: String 6... 865, 858, 855, 853, 847, 842, 838, 836, 830, 823. Don't lean against wall like a powder burner due to the free floating barrel. I canceled a pre-order of an NP2 due to delays and early reviews. Almost triple the money for .22 cal wood marauder. "Totally worth it to me." Awesome wood stock demands extra special care.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:5.0

By James from USA on 2016-01-10 23:50:50

Things I liked: Very accurate, great trigger, compact.

Things I would have changed: Bolt not smooth.

What others should know: I can't give a full review yet. I am waiting for my third .25 cal Benjamin Marauder. The first gun had shipping damage. The second gun worked really well for about 4 or 5 mags then malfunctioned. I had to return it. My original gun arrived 7 Dec. The next one arrived Dec. 30th. Who knows when the 3rd and hopefully last one will get here.

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2016-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate, great trigger, compact.

    Things I would have changed: Bolt not smooth.

    What others should know: I can't give a full review yet. I am waiting for my third .25 cal Benjamin Marauder. The first gun had shipping damage. The second gun worked really well for about 4 or 5 mags then malfunctioned. I had to return it. My original gun arrived 7 Dec. The next one arrived Dec. 30th. Who knows when the 3rd and hopefully last one will get here.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Harry from USA on 2016-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I really like this gun. IMO the gun is very accurate, the quality of the fit and finish are good. The adjustable comb is a real plus. Love the factory trigger. Very smooth and adjustable. At first the shape of the trigger guard and the safety seemed strange, but now I like it. The gun is very quiet which was a primary selection criteria. Quiet enough to shoot indoors or without alerting the neighbors! The impact is louder than the shot. I also like the left hand bolt option! This gun has a lot of tuning capability, but I doubt that I will need it. Very happy right out of the box. Also for hunting, it doesn't have the hold sensitivity of my Trail NP.springer which gives me the confidence to take longer shots.

    Things I would have changed: This gun is heavy! I like the traditional wood stock, but in retrospect, the synthetic version would have been a little lighter. For hunting in the field, I would definitely go with the synthetic and a shoulder sling. I believe that the stock could be slimmed down considerably, especially the forearm, for some weight saving.

    What others should know: This is my first PCP. I really like the repeater capability -- to get off a second shot when needed without taking the time to pump, or break barrel and reload. When I first got it, the variability of my shots made me wonder about the accuracy, since some have criticized the 22 barrels. Too many unknowns - pellet sensitivity, pressure, my shooting ability, scope. I got a clamped shooting rest to see what the gun was capable of and the accuracy improved dramatically! Although there were a couple of contenders, nothing in the pellet sampler pack could improve over the good old CP Domes, 4 of 5 were 0.16" center to center at my sight distance of 20yds. That is a squirrels eyeball at 20 yds if I can hold still. I am happy with the CP Domes out of the can.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2015-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have been shooting an benjamin np xl 1100 for 2 years with all the mods. and it shoots sweet but the Marauder in .25 cal is just an animal a sub 1 inch group at 50 yards without even a trying great gun

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ricky from USA on 2015-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well built and powerful gun. With paper target on wooden fence, sone of the ,22 cal pellets went completely thru fence which looked to be about 1/2 or 5/8 " thick. More accurate than my other pellet rifle. Only used tha pellets thus far that came in the combo package from Pyramid Air. Got groups approx 11/2" at 30 yards without bench. I've read other reviews that got better using bench.

    What others should know: Very knowledgeable, courteous, and professional staff at Pyramid Air. Would highly recommend buying from them. Rifle has the look and fell of a gun that shoots bullets. Definetely not a toy. By the way, I feel like I got a great deal with combo package especially with extra 10% off.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2015-12-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Extremely accurate right out of the box. Fit and finish were excellent. Very nice product. I purchased the combo with scope, rings, extra magazine, and pellets included.

    Things I would have changed: Can't think of anything. Very pleased the way it is.

    What others should know: I looked this over many times and waited quite a while before ordering (over a year). I wasn't sure I wanted to spend this much on an air rifle and I considered lower cost options such as the Discovery. I can honestly say that I have no reservations about my final decision and probably should have done it sooner. You will not be disappointed, this is a fantastic rifle. It puts a smile on my face every time I take it out.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ANTHONY from USA on 2015-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have had my .25 Gen1 for 2yrs I think. Out of all my firearms this air rifle is my favorite. Accuracy beyond anything I ever imagined in an air rifle. I brought it for pest control and it has exceeded my expectations. Zeroed in at 37 yards I can consistently get dime sized groupings on paper. From 12yds to 40yds the head shots drop the destructive tree rats immediately. Only one misplaced shot out too many to remember didn't hit the skull. That one hit along the spine and was a quick kill. Still has factory tune and I'm killing pest down to 1000psi as read on gun gauge. Pest control gun for the house so weight has been an excellent stabilizer. Easy to maintain and beautiful.

    Things I would have changed: Pressure gauge is crap. Something came loose and is floating behind glass. Wish it were better quality. Safety took some getting use to. Wish it were in a different place. Port hole for velocity adjustments should have been drilled into stock so you don't have to remove it.

    What others should know: This thing is a laser once dialed in. Bipod is a must if killing pest at home in a residential neighborhood. Not much room for error. Lethal on squirrels down to 1000psi (25yds). SCBA 4500psi tank seems to last forever but get hand pump as backup. Mine loves the benjamin domes 28gr. I fill to 3000psi per gun guage and can shoot 3 to 3 1/2 with good results. Chrony avg around mid 700's for 1st two mags and slowly tapers down thereafter. I love this air rifle and plan on getting the syn version someday.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2015-10-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate out of the box. Dime size shot group with 24 shots at 25 yards using UTG 4X16X44 scope. It is quieter than my Beeman Sportsman R2 .22 cal.

    Things I would have changed: Better finish on metal and wood parts. Cheaper price if possible I really do not have anything to compare it to because the most I have spent on a air rifle prior to this is $80.

    What others should know: I use the Hill pump to fill from 2000 to 3000 with no problem. I am 53 YOA, 6', 250lbs.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2015-10-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Extremely accurate out of box. Dime size shot group on 24 pellets at 25 yards using UTG 4X16X44 scope. Rifle is quitter than my Beeman Sportsman R2 .22 cal.

    Things I would have changed: Better finis on barrel, air tube, and stock. Clean the barrel it did have heavy grease I assume. That is the only thing I did prior to shooting. If possible I would reduce the price but I have never paid anywhere near this price for an Air Rifle so I do not have anything to compare it to. Prior to this purchase my max was $80.

    What others should know: My stock had a few scuff marks on butt and forearm/air tube rest. I also purchased the Hill pump and found it to be no problem filling rifle to 3000 psi. I am 6', 200 lbs, and 53 YOA. I have not done any tunning or checked my shot string yet.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By RODGER from USA on 2015-09-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like that mine is a .25 caliber. I.like. the adjustable cheek comb. I like that the pressure gauge is on the bottom of the stock instead of the front of the air tube. I love the trigger on this gun, it is very smooth with no creep and light . I love the accuracy of this gun. I like the value for the money..

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see the gun made lighter without sacrificing quality. The wood stock version weights 10 lbs. with scope. the instruction manual needs to be clearer on loading the magazine.

    What others should know: There are many great forums online telling how to adjust this gun and how to customize it. You will probably have to order the 25 caliber pellets online as most sporting goods stores and discount stores do not offer them.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By keith from USA on 2015-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Shot fantastic and accurate right out of the box plus the weight of the marauder seems balanced to me.

    Things I would have changed: I have had the gun for three weeks and can not see any thing to change.

    What others should know: I brought extra clips for my 25 caliber gun as it only shots eight pellets per clip, plus the degassing tool does not come with the marauder any more so do not forget to order it with gun!!!!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By cody from USA on 2015-09-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy is great. I like the wood stock. The knock down power is awesome.

    Things I would have changed: Well price LOL. I know everyone wants everything free of cheap. I would like to see a easy way to add accessories like flashlight. You have to mount a weaver rail to the sling mount. I don't like this.

    What others should know: I have had the marauder .25 for a couple weeks now. The accuracy is amazing. So is the power. The finish on the metal barrel is crap! It arrived with some scratches on it! And seems to scratch very easily. Other then that I love the gun. Pumping it up isn't that bad. But can wear me out if I don't pace myself. I will probably get a tank for refilling. Not a necessity but would be nice to have.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Glen from USA on 2015-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well built. Quietest airgun I have owned. Decent accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Heavy gun. Lighter would be nice. Pump gets hard to pump at upper pressure.

    What others should know: Not as accurate as advertised but may be an ammo issue. Will experiment with various other pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2015-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I love the accuracy and the energy delivered to your target.

    Things I would have changed: Not much.Personally,I would like crosman to offer this gun with a standard single shot feed system,however i hand load my .25 M-rod just fine.Don't bother wasting your money on the cheap plastic air venturi single shot tray.You can load singly by hand just fine with some practice.

    What others should know: Pumping this gun up from the factory's 600 p.s.i. blows,I'm not gonna' lie.However,pumping from 2000 to 3000 p.s.i. is not nearly as bad.Hit big pests in the fuse box for best and instant results.My only regret I have with this purchase is that i waited so long to do it.If you're like me and on the fence about getting into pcp guns.....DO IT!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2015-08-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well I first got a 22 caliber really liked the rifle but it shot not so good in the accuracy department. Prayamid Air was great to deal with sent a shipping label for a return talked to customer Service and ended up with a 25 caliber. It shoots really well. Green Mountain makes great barrels.

    Things I would have changed: Make the gun lighter it's a bit heavy. Get green mountain to make the 22 caliber barrels

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Joe from USA on 2015-07-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's a repeater. That's all.

    Things I would have changed: My gun has poor accuracy. I have tried 14 different pellets in it and can't get a group smaller than 5 inches at 25 yards. My discovery can get dime sized groups. I have tried different scopes. Took it to a Crosman repair shop and they couldn't get it to shoot groups. They cleaned the barrel and adjusted the gun to 850 fps.. Still Can't get a good group. They suggest a new barrel but a gun less than 2 months old should not need a new barrel.

    What others should know: My friends shoot Marauders and they have great accuracy. I think I have a lemon. My gun also had 2 pellets in the cartridge and has a notch in the stock to make power adjusting easy to get to that no one else seems to have

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2015-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: In .25 cal this round hits like no other, is EXTREMELY accurate, little/ no maintenance, whisper quiet (can only hear the hammer fall "click") and is excellent value for the money!

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice to have iron sights on a rifle with this much to offer. It's hard to say that I would change anything else.

    What others should know: This is a PCP and using a pump to fill it has side effects. These side effects include weight loss, muscle gain, tone and ripped shoulders--it's worth the money (if you have it) to get a tank. You'll never have more enjoyment than shooting your new Benjamin

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Jonathan Mather from USA on 2015-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice wood stock for a hardwood one. Nice fit and finish to the metal work. Adjustable cheek piece is nice but not ideal on a hunting rifle, and would have been nice to be in the same wood as the stock as opposed to plastic. All metal trigger is nice, with a crisp let off, but oddly shaped. The safety is effective but I’m never comfortable putting my finger into the trigger guard to engage or disengage one—this is a disturbing trend on many brands of air rifles. Very silent report in .22 caliber. Factory installed sling swivel studs are nice to see.All said and done an amazing domestic package with a nice price point.

    Things I would have changed: The afore mentioned cheek piece and safety location. The rifle is no lightweight either.

    What others should know: My rifle was very pellet specific, it seemed to group copper coated ones best. I ordered a second magazine; one of the two (I don’t know if it was the extra or the one that came with the rifle) delivered much better groups than the other. The accuracy from this example was not acceptable to me and I returned the rifle. Pyramid Air is a great place to deal with their staff is amazing.

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Eugene from USA on 2015-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Like the heft and feel.

    Things I would have changed: Put a barrel on that likes pellets.

    What others should know: This riddle in .177 is not very accurate. The way it is adjusted it would indicate that this gun was a returned item.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By steven from USA on 2015-07-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: One of the very few air rifles that are fully ambidextrous. Feels solidly built and shoulders very well. I get plenty of shots per fill and it is very quiet. It also has a great trigger that is fully adjustable.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy with the 22 caliber is very bad, was getting 2-3 inch groups at 30 yards using quality pellets, tried 4 different brands of quality pellets and could not get decent groups with any of them. Also the bolt was very tight and I almost double loaded several times. Since I could not get it to group at all I sent it back. Pyramyd air was great and sent me a replacement with no hassle. After reading many posts about the accuracy issues with the 22 caliber, and the bad experience i had, I decided to go with the 25 caliber marauder. This one shoots much better and I am getting great groups but the pressure gauge readings are way off. I could not get crosman to send me a replacement gauge and although Pyramyd air offered to replace the rifle I decided to keep this one because it is grouping very well. My only complaint is that pyramyd air said they would send me a replacement gauge and its been over a month and I have not received it.

    What others should know: Quality control at crosman needs improvement. The accuracy issues with the 22 caliber has been an ongoing issue for a long, long time, some shoot great, others shoot very poorly, and when you buy one you never know which you will receive. Also, the inacurate pressure gauges seams to be a common problem as well, at least the gauge issue is an easy fix. Because of the issues with the 22 caliber marauder, I recommend going with the 25 caliber, your odds are much better that you will receive a great shooter. Mine is very accurate, powerful, and fun to shoot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cliff from USA on 2015-07-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: you can shoot several times without recharging but if you turn it up it will use more air. It is a bit difficult for me to get 3000 lbs in it but I can do it. I bought the bundle and its a good deal it came with the Benjamin pump, and Benjamin pellets the pellets are just Ok it dose matter what pellets you use I found the H&N field target trophy pellets work the best for me.I turned mine back to factory settings I think it works best for me .

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: its very quiet and fun to shoot I have the 22 cal.

  • 12345 Next
Navigation