Date: 28/6/2016 20:31
0

Benjamin Marauder Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Robert from USA on 2014-06-25 20:32:06

Things I liked: I zeroed scope and and shot at a 15 yard target first two days. On third day, I took my .22 wood Marauder on my ranch hunting, I anchored 3 ground squirrels (all at 15 to 20 yards away). I found I had hit exactly where I had aimed. I then overlooked my canyon and saw a ground squirrel about 40 yards away in the top of an old hollowed-out oak tree. The wind was blowing hard from the north west. I sighted in 1" to the left of the squirrels upper shoulder and released the trigger. The ground squirrel dropped. When I reached the dispatched ground squirrel and saw the pellet had done its job exactly where I had anticipated. I then went down a trail I had made at the bottom of the canyon. Soon I saw two more ground squirrels. I took aim at the one on the left,and dispatched it too. I took squirrels to my meadow for the ravens to eat. This rifle is better than I expected. The wood stock with black cheek riser, is much more accurate than my .22 using cb shorts. Rifle handles like a shotgun.

Things I would have changed: Rifle shroud and air reservoir appears to be painted rather than blued. I suspect it is because shroud is aluminum. Better rifle gauge as mine doesn't work reliably, however Crosman is going to replace it. I am using only the gauge on Benjamin pump until the new gauge arrives Quick disconnect on Benjamin pump is giving me problems and Sun Power is sending me another. Kudos to both of them. Is this rifle accurate, quiet, well built, worth the money, heavy, does it have a great looking solid feeling beautiful wood grain stock like the picture? Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes, and yes! Would I recommend this .22 cal in wood stock instead of a .22 powder burner for dispatching ground squirrels without breaking the sound barrier? Yes! Was the Benjamin pump easy to operate with very little sweat for a 64 year old weighing 167 lbs.(takes 2 to 2 1/2 pumps per shot). I see no need for a scuba tank. Would I recommend Pyramid Air with their good prices and excellent satisfaction policy? Yes!

What others should know: The following strings of 10 shots each from a single charge were mostly hole in hole and all 60 shots (6 strings)were able to be covered with a penny. Here are the 6 groups chronograph-ed with 1 full charge from Benjamin pump to 3000 psi. This with no adjustments to the rifle. Using Crosman Premiere 14.3 domes, here are the velocity of the 60 shots. String 1...860, 860, 865, 872, 866, 877, 864, 876, 882, 883: String 2... 881, 895, 893, 889, 880, 893, 902, 892, 891, 895: String 3... 896, 902, 898, 904, 900, 896, 902, 903, 902, 907: String 4... 907, 903, 900, 903, 902, 906, 901, 900, 892, 891: String 5... 888, 892, 889, 886, 884, 882, 879, 877, 873, 865: String 6... 865, 858, 855, 853, 847, 842, 838, 836, 830, 823. Don't lean against wall like a powder burner due to the free floating barrel. I canceled a pre-order of an NP2 due to delays and early reviews. Almost triple the money for .22 cal wood marauder. "Totally worth it to me." Awesome wood stock demands extra special care.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:5.0

By James from USA on 2016-01-10 23:50:50

Things I liked: Very accurate, great trigger, compact.

Things I would have changed: Bolt not smooth.

What others should know: I can't give a full review yet. I am waiting for my third .25 cal Benjamin Marauder. The first gun had shipping damage. The second gun worked really well for about 4 or 5 mags then malfunctioned. I had to return it. My original gun arrived 7 Dec. The next one arrived Dec. 30th. Who knows when the 3rd and hopefully last one will get here.

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Antonio from USA on 2016-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I purchased the Gen Marauder 22 with wood stock. First PCP purchase as a package with Benjamin 3 stage pump and extra magazine. I have a 4-12 x 40 Bushnell banner on the rifle WITH BKL standard rings. These rings should accomadate 44 and possibly 50mm objective scopes. Great deal during 20th anniversary sale plus bundled discount. All items came to under $530 with free shipping. THANKS PA! My rifle is extremely accurate out of the box with CP 14.3 great RN pellets. I got lucky with the tune and the barrel, I guess. Sighted in at 25 yds. I can group 30+ shots at 40 yards within 1/2 to 3/4 inch. Drop at 40 yds is approximately 3/8 inch. Pressure for the shot string is from 2900 to 2000 psi. Have not chrony'd the velocity, but they smack my metal target with more than enough accuracy and power for my use. Lightened the trigger it was very good out of the box and excellent now. The gun deserves a better scope with mil dot reticle. Will test groups at 50 and 75 yards. Gun is up to it.

    Things I would have changed: I shoot the gun sitting from shooting sticks and it is on the heavy side. Much heavier than my R7 and even my HW50S. I may purchase the synthetic stock $55 to reduce weight by one pound.

    What others should know: The Benjamin 3 stage pump works fine for filling the reservoir to 2900 psi. I pump slow and deliberate as shown in videos on the PA site. I'm in reasonable shape and weight 180 lbs. I rarely take more than 30 shots per critter shooting outing. One fill can last 2 or 3 outings for me. I use the two spring guns for target in the yard. The Mrod is not a casual target or plinking gun but it excels at smacking the critters.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2016-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is incredible! This is my first PCP gun after years of shooting RWS springers and the accuracy for me of the Marauder is so much better than the RWS 34 and 48. I just never could be consistently on target having to use the artillery hold with the spring system. I also was using open sights on the RWS models so that no doubt contributed to my inconsistent shooting. They are great, well crafted rifles, but this Marauder is just a whole different animal and I love it. I got the .22 model in the Ultimate bundle and I feel the value is outstanding. My main goal was the quiet factor, and it is very quiet. But it's the accuracy that stuns me! Even way back in the day as a young man with my ol' Sheridan Blue Streak I was never so on-target as I have been with this rifle. This thing hits just as hard as my RWS 48 and just so much more consistently! I am very happy with the gun and with PA.

    Things I would have changed: Not much, maybe having an option on pellet selection in the Ultimate bundle, hollow points came with it and I'm not a big fan of them. That's just my opinion though, and pretty nitpicky. It's a great deal!

    What others should know: The Benjamin pump is not a big issue. I'm 55 and it's very manageable pumping it up to 3000 psi. In fact, the pumping has toned up my upper body which is a nice bonus! It's a workout, but very well worth it. It seems to be quality, but it's still new!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jan from USA on 2016-05-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to use, quiet, powerful and very accurate. Does not take long to fill from tank and quick to reload.

    Things I would have changed: The large overall size of the gun

    What others should know: When I first took the rifle out of the box I thought wow this thing is huge. Gigantic, thought it was a 50 cal sniper rifle. Almost sent it back without firing it because of its bulk. Then started using it and sighting it in. Amazed by its power, quiet and accurate. Guess I'll be keeping this one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Johnny Lightening from USA on 2016-05-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent FPE in the .25! Remarkably priced PCP that is super fun to shoot. Accuracy... I can hit a bottle caps @ 50yds! You can use any scope you like because there is no recoil. Sweet trigger...This is an entry level priced PCP although it is not an entry level quality! .

    Things I would have changed: I purchased the 10 for 10 and my chrono numbers were around 10% less than the advertised velocities. It does get 39+ FPE with the Benjamin doomed pellets though. I only gave 4 stars on accuracy because I have an RWS 460 magnum .22 that is just a little more accurate out to 40 yds. I is an equally priced springer. It does have recoil and the trigger is not as sweet as the M-Rod and no where near the energy, however, it shoots flatter on the 10 to 40 yds range. The Marauder is very accurate though and crazy easy to shoot.

    What others should know: Use the tuning that is set from the factory until you fully understand the tuning process. Mine shoots most accurate from around 2600 psi down to 1900. If it's good @ 60 yds you will be 2" high from 20 yds to 45 yds. Use a milidot scope and use the dot above the center one to hold the muzzle lower at the distances that fall in the high range.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chuck from USA on 2016-05-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Rating excellent all around. After sighting in I was able to consistently shoot 1 inch groups at 35 and 40 yards. If you miss with the Marauder, it is not the gun. Not inexpensive to get involved, but once you make the initial purchase it gets affordable.

    What others should know: Our organization rents a tank to refill. Everyone kicks in about $10 to $20 every 3-4 months.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2016-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything I have read about this rifle being very accurate is true. I really like this gun. Build quality is superb. I bought an extra magazine for this and shoot 16 rounds of .25 cal at a time before refilling it to 3000 psi. No drop in POI during this string of shots. I don.t consider it to be very difficult to hand pump from 2000 to 3000 psi. I also have a .22 cal Benjamin Discovery. This beats it hands down in every way.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing comes to mind yet.

    What others should know: This is a heavy air rifle. You will want a sling for it if you plan on hunting with it. I have a bipod for it and it works great with the extra weight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-05-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feel, price and quality.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice to have a replaceable tank that you can change in the field.

    What others should know: If you weigh less them 160 pounds it is extremely difficult to hand pump from 2000 to 3000 pounds.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2016-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have a synrod in 22 Cal love it. So I bought the mrod. In 25 Cal and love it even more. Very accurate I'm putting 6 out of 8 hole in hole at 50 yds all day long so accurate all most boring. But gotta love it

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Extremely quiet, any thing out to a 100 yds good buy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jacob from USA on 2016-04-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I want to add my 2 cents. The Benjamin Marauder .22 caliber is amazing. I have had it for 5 months and I am making fantastic shots with it. I am using Crosman hollow points and dome pellets. I have hunted game out to 75 yards. After 2 days of shooting it; I sold my FWB 124 air rifle because I knew I would not shoot it again. The power is amazing.The scope that came with it in the bundle is great also.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the company would test fire at least 5 kinds of pellets to save me the trouble of experimenting.

    What others should know: The gun is heavy; but the real nightmare is finding someone to fill up your scuba tank to 4500 psi. I have to travel 55 miles to fill mine up; but a scuba tank is a lot better than a handpump. Dive shops are afraid to touch a carbon tank.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By bobby from USA on 2016-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is my first CPC and after putting about 500 rounds through the marauder .22 I have to say. AWESOME! !!!!!

    Things I would have changed: I wouldn't change a thing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2016-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: If you do your part the rifle will shoot 1/2" groups consistently at 45-50yds with cross an premier 7.9g pellets. I'm very pleased.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By tom from USA on 2016-03-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My first PCP, very impressed. Very low noise, noise of pellet hitting cardboard target carries farther than report of rifle. Zero recoil,love it. Accuracy much better than gas piston breakbarrel and a lot more fun to shoot. Haven't even started on tuning to maximize efficiency/accuracy for longer distance (50-100 yds). The weight is nice on the bench rest ,but I don't carry it around all day.

    Things I would have changed: Immediately made a wood cheekpiece from California redwood, wish manufacturer made one from original material.

    What others should know: A lot of talk on forums regarding accuracy of .22 cal as opposed to .25 cal ,but I am very satisfied with the performance of this rifle. There are some brands of ammo mine just won't shoot well,but some of the match ( dimension control) products produce spectacular results on my range.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By james from USA on 2016-03-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What's not to like ? I've had a .177 for quite a while and both it and the new .25 keep me smiling. Both amazing guns! The .177 is finicky on pellet selection but the 25 cal seems to be quite happy with all that's asked to digest.

    Things I would have changed: A different scope mounting system would be nice

    What others should know: Not near as much fun to hand pump as a Discovery @2000 lbs. but the fun meter is full max when the shooting starts. Double check backstop especially if in town and using the 25 cal.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2016-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate and powerful. I'm able to make long range shots that my spring piston couldn't.

    Things I would have changed: I would have liked to have had a better finish on the metal but over all I love it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jared from USA on 2016-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate Quiet Easily dispatches the Stupid Pigeons who have been pooping everywhere. Nice looking hardwood stock

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Added a Tasco .22 Rimfire 1x30mm 5 MOA Red Dot Riflescope. Perfect for my old eyes.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tim from USA on 2016-02-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love this rifle for accuracy and price it can not be beat.

    Things I would have changed: Wish it was a bit more efficient.

    What others should know: Expect 2 mags on a 3100 fill with a curve of 850-860-850 with JSB Kings. It can also be low power tuned for 35fpe and 24 shots.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The out -of the-box accuracy makes this rifle a real pleasure to shoot. The adjustable comb is a real plus, and the two-stage adjustable trigger is very predictable and crisp. It's came almost perfect (for me) from the factory and that is saying something.

    Things I would have changed: I don't know if Benjamin could improve the overall package much at this price point, but if I had to find something to nit-pick, it would have to be the finish on the shroud and air chamber. However, I am glad that they "cheaped out" on aesthetics and not the mechanical workings and internals of the rifle. A nice deeply blued shroud and air chamber doesn't do anything to help put lead through skull-bones and I can live with that.

    What others should know: This is my first PCP rifle and I couldn't be happier with it. I've had it for about two weeks now and am on my second tin of JSB Diabolo Pellets. As I mentioned above, I'm more than happy with the accuracy from these pellets but I will soon be testing others. I topped the rifle with a Leapers UTG 4-16x44 AO Accushot SWAT Rifle Scope and Leapers 30mm Rings, High, 3/8" Dovetail. In retrospect, I probably should have went with medium rings. 5 shot groups at 25 yards are coming in consistently at 3/8" and are almost boring to shoot. (I did say ALMOST!) Smacking paintballs off of golf tees at 50 is a little more challenging but totally common when I do my part. I did invest in the 20 for 20 service offered by Pyramyd Air, not so much for the scope mounting, but for peace of mind. I'm sure the return service is great and all but I'll gladly let them leak check and find any potential problems with the rifle to keep me from having to return for an exchange, and they chrony the rifle too.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Julian from USA on 2016-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The accuracy. Way better than the springer I had before.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing so far.

    What others should know: It feels a bit heavy, but not too much.i just recently got mine but so far the experience has been a good one.

  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2016-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate, great trigger, compact.

    Things I would have changed: Bolt not smooth.

    What others should know: I can't give a full review yet. I am waiting for my third .25 cal Benjamin Marauder. The first gun had shipping damage. The second gun worked really well for about 4 or 5 mags then malfunctioned. I had to return it. My original gun arrived 7 Dec. The next one arrived Dec. 30th. Who knows when the 3rd and hopefully last one will get here.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Harry from USA on 2016-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I really like this gun. IMO the gun is very accurate, the quality of the fit and finish are good. The adjustable comb is a real plus. Love the factory trigger. Very smooth and adjustable. At first the shape of the trigger guard and the safety seemed strange, but now I like it. The gun is very quiet which was a primary selection criteria. Quiet enough to shoot indoors or without alerting the neighbors! The impact is louder than the shot. I also like the left hand bolt option! This gun has a lot of tuning capability, but I doubt that I will need it. Very happy right out of the box. Also for hunting, it doesn't have the hold sensitivity of my Trail NP.springer which gives me the confidence to take longer shots.

    Things I would have changed: This gun is heavy! I like the traditional wood stock, but in retrospect, the synthetic version would have been a little lighter. For hunting in the field, I would definitely go with the synthetic and a shoulder sling. I believe that the stock could be slimmed down considerably, especially the forearm, for some weight saving.

    What others should know: This is my first PCP. I really like the repeater capability -- to get off a second shot when needed without taking the time to pump, or break barrel and reload. When I first got it, the variability of my shots made me wonder about the accuracy, since some have criticized the 22 barrels. Too many unknowns - pellet sensitivity, pressure, my shooting ability, scope. I got a clamped shooting rest to see what the gun was capable of and the accuracy improved dramatically! Although there were a couple of contenders, nothing in the pellet sampler pack could improve over the good old CP Domes, 4 of 5 were 0.16" center to center at my sight distance of 20yds. That is a squirrels eyeball at 20 yds if I can hold still. I am happy with the CP Domes out of the can.

  • 12345 Next
Navigation