Crosman 2240 reviews - page 14

Pre-order


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By robert from USA on 2013-11-20 20:39:15

Things I liked:as soon as my 2240 arrived I cleaned the bore and its the first gun ive bought new that wasn't real dirty inside. first few shots were bad, new gun , new to me. after 2 powerjets ans several pellets, a few sight adjustments I was getting dime size groups at 15 yards, stepped out to 20 and still good. fine gun right out of the package. it hits with power too. need to break the crony out.
Things I would have changed:mabe the plastic breech and a touch lighter trigger pull but not a deal breaker
What others should know:its a quality pistol for the money. I got a new gamo pt-80 and it worked for 2 days . I got the 2240 to take its place. the difference was like night and day. id say if your wanting power and accuracy in a low priced pistol, id have to tell you buy a 2240. like always pyramid air was courteous on the phone and delivery time was fast too. I prefer p.a. when I order a gun online p.a. gives me fast service and explains what I ask very well
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:3.0

By gary from USA on 2015-06-06 03:33:45

Things I liked:Can't find anything i like about it .
Things I would have changed:Power bolt and the person in charge of quality control
What others should know:Quality control for this pistol is piss poor . When I received my 2240 the front sight was all messed up and it leaks co2 so bad you only get about 20 shots . What a peace of crap .
Sort by:
  • « Previous 12 ... 131415 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Alvin from USA on 2008-10-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The size and weight is similar to my Ruger bull barrel 22 target pistol. The larger 22 pellets are easy to load. It is a great plinker.
    Things I would have changed:Crosman Quality control is poor. It took one month to get the problems of assembly ironed out (almost). Barrel sight alignment has 1 to 2 degree twist error (2 pistols received). First pistol had the rear sight also twisted 5 degrees for a total of 7 degree miss-alignment; and was returned to Crosman. Second pistol is usable but rear sight notch depth should be reduced to minimize angulation error visualized.
    What others should know:Noise is comparable to 22 inch barreled 22 rifle firing BB or CB caps. This "pop" makes it a bit rough for backyard shooting in the city. So far no good citizens are complaining about perception of a siege! The Crosman 1377 considerably quieter.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By james from USA on 2008-09-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:everything this pistol does what they claim and more
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:buy pleanty of co2 and pellets if you purchase this gun you will need it . you will spend hours shooting
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Arnold from USA on 2008-08-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good balance. Smooth bolt action. Easy loading. Clear sights. Crisp trigger pull. Metal grip frame. The 2240 was accurate with groups inside 1/2 inch at 5 meters, which may be due to my hold. At Pyramyd's price, this is one of life's great values!
    Things I would have changed:As other reviewers have already pointed out, numerous aftermarket parts are available for this base pistol, from a steel breech and different sights to longer barrels. But one caution is that if you do change the breech, you will need to use a scope or add a different rear sight - which may or may not be compatible with the height of the standard front sight. I plan to leave mine as is for now.
    What others should know:Testing over a chronograph at 68 degrees F, Crosman HPs gave an average velocity of 440 FPS. RWS Hobby pellets registered an average of 470 FPS. Velocities for both types of pellets were consistent within 3 FPS.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By David from USA on 2008-07-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great basic platform so much can be done to this gun to improve it and make it unique. Keep it simple or load it up with options. It is an accurate pistol with decent velocity. Add a longer barrel and get more punch. Dress it up with wood grips. Crosman's Custom Shop can add the upgrades or get them from many other sources, the aftermarket support this gun has is unequaled.
    Things I would have changed:I bought mine with the Williams notched rear sight and the pin on the muzzle brake was much smaller than the notch when sighting it. I would have liked a closer tolerance. I got used to it but it could be done better. Get it with the longer steel breech so you can mount a scope.
    What others should know:I bought my first one in .177 liked it so much I'm getting another in .22. Just a sweet little pistol.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Andrew from USA on 2008-07-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Powerful and Accurate. Great for small game at close range. Actually I had Crosman build mine with the 10 inch barrel and it does have power! I kind of wish I had just got the basic 2240 version for size and weight balance.
    Things I would have changed:I wish someone would come out with a .22 CO2 multi-shot air pistol. Daisy had one but it was discontinued.
    What others should know:This is a great pistol. Bottom line: Buy it!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Timothy from USA on 2008-07-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very accurate, nice clean holes with most wad cutter pellets. Super crisp trigger for any pistol. For this price though a complete steal. Nice wieght and balance. Sights are dead on once adjusted. The quality far exceeds the price.
    Things I would have changed:Include scope mounts or make it an option.
    What others should know:The plastic breech to me isn't an issue. Believe me when I say I like metal parts. In this case however the entire pistol is metal except for the breech and grips. I do not believe either of these plastic parts would fail due to normal use. The windage adjustment is a bit tricky but holds fast and has stayed accurate. The pistol is pretty loud so be aware of where your shooting. This pistol is by far worth what it costs.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Bob from USA on 2008-07-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Hard hitter, fun gun. This is one great pistol. I would imagine this is the best air pistol made for the money. Hard to put this gun down. It's noisy, but I live out in the country, so no bother to me. I get lots of high power shots out of each cartridge, too. This is the gun to have and start people out with. Can't be beat for value, hard hitting, and getting the job done.
    Things I would have changed:Make it with a steel breech to start with, or at least an option when buying. A great trigger would be helpful, but, you can do most of that yourself, especially by changing out the trigger spring. I have mine very light, indeed.
    What others should know:Get plenty of CO2, and pellets. You are gonna need them. Try as many different pellets you can. I find mine shoots them all very good. It does have some favorites, tho. I'd have to look in my notebook and look at target notes to find the best ones for my guns. I have found one thing, most of the time RWS pellets are superaccurate, and the Diabolo type made by any of the MFG"S are fine and accurate.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Kurt from USA on 2008-06-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Every little detail. This gun is dead on accurate. It takes several types of pellets which is great. I buy tons of Beeman , RWS , and Crosman pellets. I like that no matter what ,wadcutters, H-Points, Predators, Super points and the list goes on , that this pistol fires them well. I'm sick of pellet pistols that can't / won't take various pellets like this gem does. It gives you the advantage of buying MANY types of pellets, thus helping you choose what works best for your likes and dislikes. My Father had me shooting his .22 cal Crosman pistol with him when I was a teen 30 plus years ago. The gun was high quality then , and still is. I wish I knew where his was because I'm sure it's a collectors item even though I wouln't sell it because he is no longer with us.
    Things I would have changed:Not one single thing. Why pay twice as much for one of the other brands that cost twice as much? I wish Crosman would produce 2-3 more styles of .22 cal pistols. .177 are a dime a dozen . 22 are far more fun to shoot.
    What others should know:Put one drop of oil on the tip of every 2nd CO2 cartridge as well as one on the exhaust port and your gun will stay in great condition for years. Also use a Beeman brand silicone cloth to wipe your pistol down with after each use.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jason from USA on 2008-06-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Excellent base platform for customizations, lightweight, packs a nice little punch.
    Things I would have changed:Tighter barrel to breech fit.
    What others should know:Most complaints people have about this base model is the plastic breech and grips. Guess what? You can order it from Crosman with the extras added for a price. This particular model is just that - the BASE model. The beauty is that it leaves just about everything open to your imagination and modification needs. If you're already thinking of getting a longer barrel (good idea if you want more power and accuracy), look into getting the 2250 model instead. It's basically the same platform but with a longer barrel, giving it more power and better accuracy. Grips are interchangable as well with the 2240 so you can turn it into a pistol if that's what you're after. I for one don't mind the plastic breech - it does what it's supposed to do. I love using open sights on pistols. If I wanted a steel breech, there's quite a few aftermarket ones available out there, as well as the option to order one from Crosman. She shoots quite well out of box, but barrel to breech fit could be tighter, for better accuracy. I left this one as is and didn't do any major modifications to it. With the short barrel you won't want to add extra power with customized valves, ports, etc; there'd be lots of Co2 waste and it would snow every time you took a shot. The one thing you do want to look in to is how to properly manage the current Co2 output in a more efficient manner so there's less waste and there's quite a few easy ways to do this. All in all, this is an accurate, fun and affordable pistol whether or not you're going to make modifications to it. Spend a little time researching and applying better Co2 management applications and you've got yourself a sweet little plinker capable of taking out paper and small pests within a short range.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By eyesoremirage1 from USA on 2008-06-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have owned one of these great pistols for 15 years and I have never had a bit of problems with it. It's solid accurate and just all around good pistol. I have never went hunting for it, but I have literally shattered the so calle iron targets that came with my crosman pellet trap. It burns through quarter inch plywood backing my targets like it was another piece of paper.
    Things I would have changed:THe front sight can be shifted quite easily, and the platic parts on my gun has all been replaced with parts I have either made or ordered from crosman.
    What others should know:put a drop of pellgun oil on the end of the CO2 cartrige about every 5th one. It will last forever if you do that.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By mmjurczak from USA on 2008-05-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good hefty feel, and very well suited design as a target pistol. Drives RWS hyper velocity pellets into plywood at 10m. Nice loud report makes the pistol feel like an authentic .22 match pistol. Very accurate, can easily be counted on to hit what I'm aiming at around 15m. Great fun to shoot, and couldn't be happier with my purchase, especially considering the price and receiving it next day from Pyramid.
    Things I would have changed:The plastic grips are rather flimsy, grip design is ok but the mounting is weak. Plastic front sight is also not the best, but not a major issue considering the price. Could use a spring to return the bolt, and some sort of magazine would always be a plus...
    What others should know:Pretty loud piece. Went plinking with it in my yard and it drew some attention due to the noise. CO2 will leak after prolonged storage, at least with mine.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Steven from USA on 2008-05-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Excellent pistol.Alot of power.With a Skenco . 22 Hyper-velocity it will go through three metal coffee lids .lined up.And an RWS Extra point .22 pellet is very good velocity at 15-20 feet.Great POWER!!Very good pistol by Crosman.
    Things I would have changed:nothing
    What others should know:Very loud .Almost like my deringer shooting .22 shorts. Use an insulated shed or other indoor shooting area in close neighborhoods.Neighbors might complain.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Blimp01 from USA on 2008-04-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Powerful, Accurate, Fun, Loud, CO2 Lasts 40-60 shots, Metal.
    Things I would have changed:Plastic Grips should be wood or metal. There should be a dot on the front site (or the fiber optic)
    What others should know:You can buy the 459MTC to mount a scope/site/red dot site.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Kevin from USA on 2008-04-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Excellent base pistol for custom modifications. This was my second purchase and will be upgrading to a .25 cal pistol.
    Things I would have changed:First thing to go is that plastic breech. It just does not hold up for consistent shot placement!
    What others should know:Once you get the modification bug, you may get hooked...
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Duane from USA on 2008-03-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:price, easy to sight in, bolt feels like good craftsmenship...
    Things I would have changed:nicer grips, maybe wood and white dots on sights would be nice, more than that would warrant a jump in price and defeat the purpose of this bargain.
    What others should know:just got the gun and put almost 90 gamo match pellets through it on 2 co cartridges with good accuracy at an 25' indoor range, not as loud as a .22 rimfire but definately makes its presence known. Great bargain for the price. Looking forward to seeing performance as it breaks in more. Hope this review helps anyone having a tough time deciding on this bad ass deal.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Derek Vinyard from USA on 2008-03-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Powerful and modular. It's very powerful and accurate out of the box, but if you wish it to be more you can easily order parts and modify it. If you can't hit targets right out of the box with this gun, then adjust your sights or find a new hobby.
    Things I would have changed:There is nothing wrong with this gun for people that practice. The single shot brings lots of power and time for you to think about your next shot. Semi would ruin the abilities of the shooter.
    What others should know:It is extremely powerful and very adaptable. When it comes to accuracy, this gun is not the weaker link, you are...
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By j taylor from USA on 2008-03-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:great little gun very accurate right out of box
    Things I would have changed:dont like plastic breech
    What others should know:as said by other people this gun is loud by airgun standards
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff from USA on 2008-03-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:First of all this gun is very powerful, and accurate. The trigger is not bad at all, and becomes even better with a trigger shoe from crosman. It is well built and well worth the money. check out the custom grips from crosman.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:This is a real bargain, A must have.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Clint from USA on 2008-03-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Great Pistol! I use it at night for killing rats, during the day for ground squirrels. Does the job very well. Very powerful and accurate. Lasts a good 25-30 shots on a co2 cartridge before loosing power. Great pistol!
    Things I would have changed:Doesn't have a fiberoptic thingy on the front for the sites, hard to see at night.
    What others should know:Fun to shoot, great pistol!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By J from USA on 2008-02-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Everything. This gun is a steal at this price... I agree with the other review, I would pay gladly double for this gun after shooting it.. Nice knockdown power for a pellet gun.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Beginner or Pro, Buy this Gun at this price, You wont be disappointed
  • « Previous 12 ... 131415 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top