Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Diana RWS 54 Air King reviews - page 3



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    6 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Adam from USA on 2010-10-13 22:24:13

    Things I liked:I bought the .177 version. Absolute accuracy. I can't miss be it 10 yards or 70. A true point & shoot. Perfect fit for my size. This rifle's dynamics were crafted perfectly: There's no kick whatsoever.
    Things I would have changed:These are the only two things I can think of possibly improving... 1. This isn't very loud as is, but I'd love a more silent version. 2. It really beats the heck out of scopes. I'd love to convert it so the scope mounting is attached to the stock and riding over where the current mounting is. The scope would never feel a thing.
    What others should know:This is truly an ADULT rifle. It's long, heavy, and takes a fair amount of cocking effort. Perfect for my build. I have a 4-12x40ao Hawke scope, Leapers Space Age 1" Rings (low), on the recommended UTG Scope Mount Base. Setup is perfect! Best pellets I've found are Air Arms Field Heavy and JSB Diabolo Exact Heavy. Have not yet had the opportunity to hunt critters but let me put it in perspective: At 70 yards I placed soda cans filled with water. Each shot not only penetrated completely through both sides with little to no deflection from the water, but made the cans jump between 1 1/2 to 2 feet in the air. And since there's no kick you get to watch the impact in the scope.
    2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Victor from USA on 2010-06-13 19:08:51

    Things I liked:awesome power, accuracy, and build quality
    Things I would have changed:a lighter trigger pull
    What others should know:it's a bit heavy - and does take some strength to compress the spring - comes with the territory I guess, if you want power
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jim from USA on 2008-10-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Side Lever. Fun to shoot. High Velocity. Accurate in the limited firing I have done. The recoil aspect, is there really any recoil in an air rifle? I have the RWS 300R and there is no noticeable recoil. But, there is a jump. And this rifle compensates for this jump with remarkable efficiency. After firing this rifle for awhile, I switched to my RWS 45. The first shot startled me, I was surprised how much I jumped when I fired the RWS 45. Back to the RWS 54, the loading port was easy to place a pellet even for someone with large fingers such as myself. I always wanted a Side-lever, and this one fits the bill for a seemingly reliable and robust rifle. It's made in Germany, usually for me a sign of quality.
      Things I would have changed:Everything. I am disappointed, with clarifications. The rifle, like myself, is large, but the gun seems to be larger still. I am 6'2" and 275 lbs, with hands proportionate for my size. Yet the rifle is almost more than I can comfortably handle. I would think that German Engineers could have made it more sleek. Oh, and the German Engineering part, I was surprised to see that the trigger moves as the action does. This places the trigger forward in the trigger guard and it moves rearward when fired. If in 1911, Colt was able to design a Semi-Automatic handgun with the trigger in front of the magazine and the sear in back of the magazine, I would think that in the 21st Century, RWS could design (or have designed) an Air Rifle with a stationary trigger capable of matching with a sliding action when the action is in its firing position. Combined with an overly thick wrist on the stock and the trigger is an uncomfortable reach. The trigger is synthetic, yet it is rounded in shape, seemingly made for ease of manufacture and not for performance. The trigger has creep while being pulled, but releases well without undue effort. The Stock has the appearance of being mechanically shaped, with the leading edge of the cheekpiece having a squared angle rather than a graceful curve. I am not pleased with the color of the stock, although it is uniformly applied and without flaw. The leading edge of the stock, underneath the barrel, seems to be pointlessly large, tapering at this point may have produced some elegance in the air rifle. The rear sight has a roll pin that falls out as the rifle is fired. Shame, shame, shame. The sight radius is too short. (I use open sights rather than a Scope). And, drum roll please, I am aghast at this one. My $631 RWS 54 (I bought an returned one for $540) uses a BARREL SLEEVE over an inner barrel. I never expected to see this. I would have imagined that the barrel was one piece as with almost all Air Rifles except some Daisy Models. This is actually repulsive to me. This rifle's accuracy is sensitive to the ammunition used. Good grouping with some, extremely bad and way off center (elevation and windage wise) with others. My RWS 45 fires the same ammo that shows the great variances in the RWS 54 without much difference in point of impact. Interesting. Oh, how about writing a user's manual that is actually for just this gun? Do I need information on Break Barrel Rifles and Side-Cocking Rifles, it is too much to ask for a simplified instruction manual for JUST THIS GUN?
      What others should know:Considering a Christmas Present for a loved one? Although this is a nice rifle, consider the RWS 46 Stutzen, similar to the RWS 300R. The RWS 46 Stutzen is an underlever that has a loading port for placing the pellet. Seems more elegant than this rifle. So far, and this is my second big purchase with Pyramid Air Guns, everything has gone fine and the communications are excellent.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mary from USA on 2008-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:beautiful and flawless etching of Diana on the reciever, over all detail superb, it is recoil-less, very easy to shoot accurately quickly, just a beginner I got groupings of 1/2 inch at 20 yards while sighting-in using Beeman Kodiaks .22 - best I've ever shot, its made in Germany - nice to have something not from China, I find it easy to cock, I am very, very happy with it.
      Things I would have changed:offer a model with no sights - I only use scopes
      What others should know:I understand an improved scope mounting rail is in the works for 2008, however I have had no problems. I mounted a Leapers full size SWAT 3-12 X 44 30mm with a Leapers one piece high profile with the scope stop hanging over the front edge as mentioned in the articles - so far outstanding service. Some have mentioned they don't like the 'feel' of this rifle and I've realized it probably because of the nature of the sliding rail system making it recoil-less. At first I thought something was loose - but no,,,designed that way. For me, a very small price to pay for having such superb accuracy easily with no recoil. I am in love with this rifle. It is heavy with a full size scope, a shoulder sling is in my future for this one.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By E from USA on 2008-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, stock, safety position.
      Things I would have changed:Sights and trigger could be a bit better.
      What others should know:This is a heavy rifle but boy it sure can shoot. I've got 25-30 squirrels so far (.22 cal). Seems to particularly like RWS HP and Dome pellets, both of which have proven lethal to small game. I have yet to mount a scope but have no problems out to 30 yards with iron sights. If you're hunting the .22 eclipses the .177!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2007-11-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've had my '54' for two years plus now and have never regretted spending the extra money. This is one fine piece of airgun workmanship. The wood is of the highest quality. The steel has a deep beautiful bluing that you won't have to worry about coming off. The mechanism works flawlessly. I love the power this airgun posses. I also appreciate the fact it has no recoil. I think every serious airgun enthusiast and collector should own one of these. I've shot probably one-hundred rounds through my '54'. Now that's not a lot to some people but it's enough for me to know the gun is worth the money I paid for it.
      Things I would have changed:You don't mess with perfection!!
      What others should know:If you have taxes coming back this year then set them to one side and buy this airgun!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By timmyj1959 from USA on 2007-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked: No recoil at all!! Super smooth shooter freehand or from a bench rest!! Not hold sensative like other springers. A very impresive looking gun!As with all my RWS guns Nearly PERFECT!!
      Things I would have changed: Nothing! This is where everyone complains about plastic triggers, well folks, this is 2007 DEAL WITH IT !! My GLOCK is mostly plastic !!
      What others should know:This is a serious hunting air gun and not LIGHTWEIGHT!!If you are like me and go on longer hunting adventures you will want to invest in a nice sling. My hats off to Pyramiair!! P.S. It is doing an HONEST 20 + ft. lbs.!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Arthur from USA on 2007-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy and sidelever cocking. Shoots a wide verity of pellets very accurately (8 grs. or heavier in .177)
      Things I would have changed:Trigger pull would not adjust to less than 9 lbs. This is a nice rifle, it needs a better trigger. An adjustable cheekpiece would be nice.
      What others should know:Nicely finished. No felt recoil, stock remains motionless when discharged. Superb accuracy. Leapers 3-9 X 32 AO scope with a Leapers Accushot 1 piece mount using recoil pin in rear stop hole on rail with a .048" shim under rear end of mount to zero scope. Nothing has moved or loosened in 400 shots.
    • « Previous 123
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top