IZH 61 multi shot air rifle reviews - page 7

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Walter from USA on 2012-11-08 11:10:49

Things I liked: Great 10 meter target rifle. This rifle has won many Gold Medals in the International Junior League. Wether young or old you will like this rifle. It is made to punch targets in same hole, not shoot game. However it is plenty enough for some such uses. Grooved for scope mount or use standard sights. extra clip and cleaning rod. Be careful not to double feed, as they are dificult to clear, you have to knock em out with the cleaning rod from the muzzle so be careful not to bugger the rifling. All IZH guns have hammer forged barrels as opposed to cut rifling, companies generally cannot afford the massive equipment to hammer forge, probably why these shoot so good. Just cheap ole Crosman wadcutters will follow each other, try some others too if you want one ragged hole. Pleasant to use, easy cock, not loud at all. Nice for basement in winter for everyone to share. Their Match pistol is a Olympic Medal winner too.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Justin webber from USA on 2015-07-14 12:19:07

Things I liked: I love the side lever action with magazine. The pull is light and it makes the gun very pleasant to shoot. the adjustable stock is very nice as well. the trigger pull is very light and has a clean break.

Things I would have changed: I thought that the globe sights were awful. I couldn't even adjust the rear sight enough to get a shot that wasn't a little below the sight. I think there may be a flaw with this Particular gun . I have worked with the gun throughout the last year trying to make it more accurate; using various lines and styles of pellets, mounting a nice scope, and cleaning regularly. I shot this from a rest and the very best groups i could get with a 5 shot magazine at 10 yards was with RWS supermags field line wad-cutters (9.3g), and these were slightly larger than an inch! I can shoot better groups standing with my sons Daisy Buck with open sights. Seriously.

What others should know: I don't recommend this gun for first time springer shooters because it seems to be very sensitive to hold and to have any real success with it you will have to upgrade the sights. It was my first "springer" apart from Daisy BB guns, and because i was unfamiliar with the gun i allowed myself to think that I just needed to work on my hold and position with it. after a couple thousand rounds i know better now and the gun was just a dud. If you're not 100% satisfied with it out of the box, save yourself the trouble and send it back. I gave one star overall because if you don't have accuracy, I have a cool looking prop.

Sort by:
  • Previous 12 ... 567
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JohnAZ from USA on 2008-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the feel of this rifle very much. It feels more like a firearm than an air rifle, and is great for a lefty because with the left hand on the pistol grip your right hand is able to cock the rifle without switching hand positions. Shoots one inch groups at 55 feet with iron sights, (and I'm only an average marksman).

    Things I would have changed: A longer butt stock would be nice.

    What others should know: It's a shame American makers can't build something of this quality for the price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By fiddler from USA on 2008-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is an engineering work of art. It is Fun!! and here's why: The stock and forearm fit the human right or left ( trigger placement is slightly better for left-hand shooting) and is like the Springfield XD when it comes up it is in sight position. The hold naturally is solid and sets up an accurate shot. Best shooter in my stable. Stock can be extended by moving the nut to the second position. The sight appearance to the shooter is like the famous Moisin-Nagant's sight picture - hard to beat for open sights. There is not a lot of weaving around when in shooting position. Easy to cock and load. If left hand shooting, there is no need to change grip between magazines. Shooting at its best.

    Things I would have changed: It is odd to push forward to release the auto feed lever. The index finger guide could be removed or lowered in height. With one more index on the magazine with the sixth hole blocked , the pellet plunger would not close and the gun not shoot - a nifty safety feature ( for the gun).

    What others should know: This was worth the six month wait. I am losing sight in right eye so changing to left hand shooting. This design made the transition easy. Be careful, with three holes showing in the magazine, you could pull the trigger on no pellet.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2008-08-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This little rifle is the best kept secret on the planet if you're an airgun enthusiast. I just received mine from Pyramyd last week and have only had a chance to shoot it a little bit. But my first impressions are; solid contruction, very nice adjustable trigger, fairly accurate right out of the box. The design of the gun is unique and nicely detailed especially considering the price. It comes with a spare mainspring, an extra magazine, and a cleaning rod. The box it came in is printed in Russian and there is an official document inside that says the gun "complies with the criminalistical requirements of the Internal Affairs Ministry of Russia"! Guess it had to pass the KGB smell test first. No doubt we couldn't get our hands on one of these when Reagan was in office.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the adjustable stock had a little more rearward travel. The rifle is a bit too short for me. It does not have a safety and the trigger can be adjusted for a light pull not a good combination. The owner's manual could be a lot better especially regarding how to install and release the magazine. The rear sight is crude although adjustable. I wish it had thumbwheels for windage and elevation. Increase the price by $10 and add the safety and a decent rear sight.

    What others should know: Pellets fit somewhat loosely in the magazine make sure none fall out when inserting the magazine. The lack of a safety means not good for kids. Which is OK because adults won't be able to put it down. This is an astonishing value in an airgun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Saint Craig from USA on 2007-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Five shot magazine. Adjustable stock length. Incredible accuracy. Lightweight. Very balanced.

    Things I would have changed: Crappy rear sight. Longer rear rail to accommodate mounting a scope.

    What others should know: I removed my rear sight, and fitted in the Dovetail a beeman sport aperture sight. http://www.pyramydair.com/cgi-bin/accessory.pl?accessory_id=717 and I have problems now once stock length is adjusted for me and the gun is sighted in of placing 10 shots (freehand) into a target within a quarter sized pattern at 110 feet. Nice air gun. Just needs a better rear sight.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brian from USA on 2007-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: What a great Rifle/Pistol/futuristic piece of engineering!!! Love the adjustable stock. Very accurate shooting, once the sights are adjusted properly and the adjustable trigger is simply heaven! I have mine set on the lightest setting and it truly helps with target practice.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it had some of the Tru-Glo sights, and wish it did not make such a loud noise when fired, but overall a great, fun rifle for the money and well worth it! Would also like to see a laser attachment available to match the futuristic look of this piece, I added one to mine and simply love it!

    What others should know: Be careful if using the lightest trigger setting, doesn't take much pressure at all. (Found this out after putting a few tiny holes through the plaster walls downstairs!)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wetsel from USA on 2007-12-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought this rifle on Tom Gaylords highly rated review. What can I say, this gun is fabulous. This rifle is so fun to shoot. I promise you, you will not believe how accurate this rifle is. Bulls eye after Bull's eye. The rifle fires very smooth and quiet. Want to shoot out your window and be quiet and have loads of fun? What to really practice your shooting skills? Want to just have a blast? Want a rifle that you will be proud to have in your arsenal? Want a gun that is quoted as having the accuracy of an Olympic 10 meter match rifle costing $2000.00 or more. Then this little rifle is for you. A must have gun for less than $100.00.

    Things I would have changed: The manual for this gun is basically the weakest link of the rifle. The gun does not have a safety. Otherwise it would be perfect for young shooters as well as adults.

    What others should know: Do not let the price of this gun fool you. It really is a great quality rifle and really does have tremendous accuracy. The stock is a little short for a long armed guy like myself, but I bought a limbsaver recoil pad and it feels perfect in my shoulder. Remember that after 5 shoots have been fired, their will be three empty slots showing on the clip. (Three holes you are out!) Be careful, because everyone has told me that after buying this gun, you will be drooling for the Izh 46 match pistol. Good Shooting! PS- Clean the barrel when you first receive the gun, it has a lot of oil and will deisel. When you place your order, order extra clips. You can fire pellets very quickly with this rifle. The cocking is a piece of cake.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rick from USA on 2007-11-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The IZH 61 is compact and light. It's very accurate. It's a five shot so you aren't constantly loading single pellets. It has adequate power for plinking and general target practice; maybe even small pest control. It's a side lever and doesn't take a lot of effort to cock.

    Things I would have changed: The manufacturer should provide a good manual. It's always nice to know crtiical information on how your new airgun works and the type of ammo that works best in it. I would suggest anyone buying this, or any other air gun from Pyramyd, to read Pyramyd's suggestions for ammo for each gun.

    What others should know: For the money the consumer is getting his or her bucks worth in this gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2007-10-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Where do I start? This gun is incredibly accurate. One hole groups sitting and standing from 20 feet are commonplace including one 10 shot group within .4 CTC with iron sights. I don't see what the big deal is with the looks. It looks to me like a combination of sniper rifle, assault rifle, and target rifle and a bit of a space gun with the best of each. Why not? It looks cool. The stock is also very ergonomic and lines up the sights very naturally. The whole thing radiates solidity and quality, and the price is amazing. The low power makes it perfect for indoor apartment shooting which you could not do at higher power.

    Things I would have changed: Stock is a little short at full extension although perhaps that's because I'm 6'2". But the stock is rock steady when extended. The scope rail is a little short but it fits a red dot scope easily enough as well as the Leapers Bug Buster that I plan on getting. A more detailed manual with maintenance instructions would be nice. So would a safety.

    What others should know: This gun, like most springers, needs the artillery hold which basically is a loose hold with the foreend supported on the flat of the hand. For more interesting details see the Pyramidair blog. Crosman Premier Lights work very well with this gun and seat properly in the clip--much more than Gamo Match. But perhaps there is an even better pellet out there. Fantastic deal and great gun. If it was better in the all metal configuration, I don't need to know.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2007-10-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The looks are very original. Accuracy is superb, I can easily hit a 12 gram co2 cartridge at 35 ft with open sights! It is extremely easily to cock (around ten pounds of force) and shoot (one pound trigger). The trigger is very good, you can fully adjust it to how you like it (I left mine how it was when I first got it though). It is one of the lightest air rifles out there! You can also add a scope if you wish to! The barrel is indeed one of the best you can find out there, it is hammer-forged and rifled (and the Russians do know something about barrels). It is built to last, nothing on mine has broken since I have bought it (it's been around a year since I bought it). I still cannot emphasize on how accurate it is, I'm in my schools rifle team and we use the Daisy Avanti air rifle but if I could (or had a choice), I would instantly chose the IZH-61 over the Avanti anyday (yeah, its that good!!). This rifle is very customizable from the barrel to the sights to the length of the stock! My friend hit a quarter at 26 feet the FIRST time he shot this rifle. Again accuracy is by far the best thing about this rifle

    Things I would have changed: I would change all the plastic this rifle has (the stock, body, grip is made up of plastic) and change it for wood. The stock isn't the most comfortable out there and it is a little wobbly when fully extended. It is very tedious to maintain (oil, cleaning, etc). One major thing that I would change is to make the whole rifle left-handed (I'am left-handed). Also the magazine is very easy to lose especially when you eject it (it goes flying if you don't catch it) and you tend to get jams when you are not using match pellets, and the pellets do tend to fall out when you load it. The last thing is that I would increase the velocity to around 600 fps (mine is at 478 fps average with Crosman Premier) so it is more versatile.

    What others should know: Clean the barrel with the barrel rod it comes with the first time you get it. DO NOT use any other type of cleaning rod since the barrel is hammer-forged and you risk damaging the rifling that it has. Try to use only Premier Match pellets because those fit perfectly with the magazine and you will not have any jams if you do. They also seat better in the magazine, plus that is what the rifle was made for [accuracy], so feed it its favorite pellet and you'll hit the bulls eye everytime. Clean it every three months and don't forget to oil it!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jack from USA on 2007-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Best 20 yard soda can killer for the buck. Shoots five on a nickle at 10 yds with open sights.

    Things I would have changed: Rear stock a little wobbly fully extended.

    What others should know: A scope would be a bit of "over Kill" but then don't we all. Try 7 gr hobby ammo, and seat them in the mag. If you don't have one, get one or two. Hours of backyard plinking at a very low price

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By kent from USA on 2007-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: adjustable stock, 5 shot capability, side cocking, NOT barrel break! easy adjusting sights, 3 way adjustable trigger... ACCurate !!!!

    Things I would have changed: need some sort of clip retainer. If it pops free outdoors, you're all done. the is a spare clip but you can't load singlly. got to have that clip. I might put a string on mine!!

    What others should know: the kid down the block wont have one as cool.

  • Previous 12 ... 567
Navigation