Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Daisy 22 SG reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By jorge from USA on 2009-11-10 02:36:14

    Things I liked:lever to pump it is soooo soft not much power is needed to pump very accurate nice shiny wood stock and easy to load pellets slides just in perfectly
    Things I would have changed:the bolt on it kind of moves back and forth when pumping the rifle the lever is also kind of some cheapy plastic
    What others should know:good accuracy gun for hunting birds, rabbits and squirrel have never seen anything this cheap of price for such a good quality of gun
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By bosco49 from USA on 2011-05-18 16:17:01

    Things I liked:Gun looks nice.
    Things I would have changed:Can not get the gun sighted in. I've put 3 different scopes on it with no look.
    What others should know:I could not suggest anyone buying this gun, I would go up on quility.
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Rob from USA on 2011-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wood stock. The heft and feel. Accurate and reasonably powerful.
      Things I would have changed:Quality control.
      What others should know:This failed to hold air after pumping, within days of owning it. I could not hunt with it, as the hissing air and re-pumping is not very stealthy so it was of no use to me.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rob from USA on 2011-11-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The nice, hefty feel in the hands. Accuracy. Power. The scope. It does feel like a rifle should, the little extra weight of the hardwood stock and metal receiver are not difficult to carry, but help stabilize the rifle for accurate shooting. The scope is clear, has a good reticle and adjustments. I like how the scope rings were already mounted to the scope at the proper places (for me) so all I had to do was mount it to the rifle and do a quick sight-in. The scope mounts are a little higher than standard, and this helps tremendously on feeding pellets into the chamber with my fingers. I can shoot 3/4" groups at 20 yards with this gun with even a poor rifle rest. Very accurate for me with RWS Superpoint Extra pellets. This rifle seems well made for the money, and has all the power I need.
      Things I would have changed:It is difficult to get pellets to slide forward into the breach as the bolt is closed. I always have to point the gun downward and shake it until the pellet "falls" into the breach before closing the cocking bolt. It feels like there is some sort of lip or edge that tends to catch the pellet and prevent and easy slide forward.
      What others should know:Overall, I love this rifle. I chronograph a little over 540 feet per second velocity average, 12 inches from the muzzle. This is with 14.5 grain RWS Superpoint Extra pellets and the maximum 10 pumps. Not bad at all for a .22 air rifle, in my opinion.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Hellhound from USA on 2011-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wood stock, easy to pump and very accurate. Variable power, 2 pumps for the pellet trap in the basement and full power available for outdoor use.
      Things I would have changed:Replace plastic parts with metal, especially the pump lever. Offer it without the scope.
      What others should know:The receiver, bolt and pump lever are plastic. Pump this gun more than 7 times and you can see the pump lever flex.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By SteelSteed from USA on 2011-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the looks, feel and quietness of pumping. The wood really sets it apart from competitors in this price range. I have always stayed away from Daisy because it is generally assumed to be a low-level product but this gun was a pleasant surprise. Hard to find a .22 in a multi-pump.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Well worth the money.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2011-05-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is well made. Very accurate. Very eady to pump. Good looking. Nice plain wood stock with decent semigloss finish. Good crisp trigger althouth somewhat heavy. Not creepy betond a safe little margin. Shoots nearly as well as a PCP, But with the same charge pressure foe every same number of pumps. repeatable. It is light and handy, not an 8 pound boat anchor. Looks like a nice rifle, not like a plumbing contraption.
      Things I would have changed:I would offer it without the scope. Although for the price, I used the mounts on a BSA A/O SCOPE. The 4x "freebee" scope is nice, but you need a A/O scope to sight at shorter distances. I used the provided rings to mount a BSA A/O with target knobs. The scope rail works well, but I am hesitant to heavily tighten the scope mounts much, since the mount clamp wedges would bend the thin rail upward. In a bump, The rifle slid-dropped about a foot onto the rug, and the scope needed a 1/32" elevation shim after that.
      What others should know:I am routinely getting 1/2" Ct to Ct groups at 15 yards. I have "removed" 4 hole digging chipmunks so far at 50 feet. These are little targets to hit body high, head/or shoulders. The plastic pump handle is just fine. The Dasiy SG is VERY ACCURATE with the following: RWS Meister Kuglen 14.0 Superb. RWS Super H Point 14.2 Superb (chipmnuks instantly XXX) I expect the same with RWS Pointed pellets due to similar skirt design. NOTICE: CROSSMAN PREMIER ULTRA MAGNUM Domed Pellets 14.3 are VERY VERY BAD in the 22 SG. Yes, they start to group nice, then a Flyer, and back to the group. They are one big collection of fyers and finger dirty by way of graphite. They shoot a shotgun pattern from an SG. Do not kid yourself, the tinned 500 for 8 bucks CP domes are not the $22 boxed variety with the DIE NUMBER that pellets all in the box were swaged on, and are thus uniform. A .22 pellet should approach .218" in diameter. The canned CP's mic'd on my Starret digital fom .21355" to .21740" about 45 pellets in the tin were obviously undesized. But even after some sorting, I still had a good number of flyers in the groups. I have thrown out the Tinned CPs. CPs might work fine in a tight or choked barrel. THIS IS A GREAT RIFLE you will spend HUNDREDS more and have to get a heavy 8 1/2 pounder, and less ready gun before you will improve on Daisy 22 SG overall value, handiness, power to do a real job, and accuracy that will challenge many. Do clean it. Tom
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By bosco49 from USA on 2011-05-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Gun looks nice.
      Things I would have changed:Can not get the gun sighted in. I've put 3 different scopes on it with no look.
      What others should know:I could not suggest anyone buying this gun, I would go up on quility.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Robert from USA on 2011-04-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Looks nice. Not too heavy.
      Things I would have changed:Don't send the scope with it because even though the scope is nice the guns scope rail is so crooked that when you put the scope on it's visibly not even close to lining up with the barel. The scope did fit just fine on another pellet gun we have so it has to be the gun. Also the gun is metal where it does need to be and plastic in parts that should be metal, like the pump and the cocking mechanism.
      What others should know:After around 75 shots it quit working and now has to go back to Daisy for repair. The trigger clicks but it won't let the air out so the pellet just stays in the gun. I have alway had a Benjamin Sheridan and NEVER had a problem in over 30 years; it was my fault for gpoing cheap on this Daisy. We'll probably have to throw this one in the trash. We'll see if Daisy stands behind their product.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pedro from USA on 2010-09-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Awesome rifle. I don't even use the scope and i ping targets across the yard. the customer service at pyramyd is AMAZING. they gained a repeat customer.
      Things I would have changed:plastic handle worries me, it feels flimsy at times. this would rock as a repeater.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Big Don from USA on 2010-08-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The trigger pull, weight, wood. rifle easy to handle. Bought it for light pest control works great for a rifle under $100.
      Things I would have changed:I put a Bug Buster scope on this rifle and the varmits didn't have a chance.
      What others should know:Kinda small for an adult, but my kids can easily learn from this rifle. You'll get use to loading the pellets after a while. Crosman pointed work great.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2010-05-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent teaching tool for younger shooters. Purchased for my 8yr old. Scope is great- can hit bullseye from 75 ft everytime. Have only used 15 grain spitzkugel pellets thus far but extremely accurate w/6 pumps. Remember folks, its an airgun for under $100 & at that price this gun cannot be beat, period!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By hanson from USA on 2010-05-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:like the looks and feel of the daisy gun,like mostly the handle style thats been around since 1972 from the 880, easy pump, great open sights,wood and strong receiver. this gun is a class all by its own, light weight, just a good looking airgun. thanks daisy.
      Things I would have changed:the only thing i would change on this gun would be the breech area so all diffrent pellets can easly go in the barrel. would love to see daisy make the 901 in .22 cal. call it the 922.
      What others should know:did check diffrent pellets and some pellets will go into barrel easly like crosmans .22 pointed pellet go in with no problem at least on mine,if i use pellets that dont go in easly i use a pocket knife and gently position pellet into barrel. also after making 3 to 10 pumps when handle is back into position make sure it locks into it by pushing handle into position,firmly with fingers.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Joel from USA on 2010-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Terrific carbine, despite the picky problems I outline below. Nice wood stock, easy pumping, lightweight. I was surprised at how short this rifle is (about 36 inches), handles like a nice carbine.
      Things I would have changed:This is pretty much the standard trigger on Daisy pump guns, and the trigger pull is heavy and rough - this will improve over time, from wearing-in, but I will definitely try to improve it myself (thereby voiding the warranty...). It is very hard to load wadcutter pellets (they hang up in the breech - round head pellets and pointed pellets load more easily). For wadcutters, I roll them into the loading trough, hold them in place loosely with my thumb, point the muzzle vertically at the floor, and let the pellet "fall" into the breech. If I try to use the bolt probe to seat them directly from the trough, the head gets chewed up trying to force past the breech lip. The front sight is a fiber element and is too large for open sight accuracy; the rear sight is a piece of spring steel on a loose plastic ramp (for elevation). My particular 22SG was shooting 6 inches left at 13m; I found out it was because the pellets were clipping the inside radius of the front sight block (it holds the front of the innner barrel centered in the outer shroud). That was easy to fix (by popping out the sight block and opening it up a tiny bit -- I used some sandpaper wrapped around a small dowel), and now it shoots great groups.
      What others should know:I find a lot of faults above with the Daisy 22SG, but I'm trying to be honest and fair. The real story here is that for less than $100 you can get a really nice .22 pumper with wooden furniture and a passable scope. I am amazed at how easily this pumps up. In my indoor range (13 meters), I can shoot Gamo match pellets very consistently with just 3 pumps. Loading is tough, especially with a scope mounted. The included mounts were too high for me, so I used Leapers AccuShot medium mounts. The included scope is a fixed-focus, 4-power, 32mm with adjustable windage and elevation... it's not terrific, but it is lightweight and works well in combination with this lower-powered pumper. The wood on my rifle actually has a nice grain, especially on the foregrips and is much darker than the picture on PA's website. This is a terrific deal. It's light and easy to carry; super easy to pump too. You can hit what you aim at all day long, and if needed, you can get a pretty decent punch out of the muzzle with 9 or 10 pumps. Accuracy is good at lower power (I haven't yet shot anything with more than 6 pumps), but I suspect this would benefit from a change to a heavier barrel. If the loading were smoother (and easier for adult sized fingers) I would have been scoring this 5-out-of-5 for overall (bearing in mind it is an inexpensive pumper with a Daisy trigger).
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2010-03-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wood Stock,Metal Receiver,Accurate with stock sights.(Havent tried scope)
      Things I would have changed:Quality Control.When first trying to pump,it did not want to open fully.When I forcefully pulled it open a piece of a screw fell out.Then it pumped but could hear the hissing of it losing air.Some pellgun oil fixed thatAnd yes it is a pain to load a pellet..It now pumps and fires good.Mine chronied at 530 FPS with 14 Gr RWS Meisterkugeln.
      What others should know:If they test fired these at daisy they would save us all some agravation.There are not many Multi-Pump .22's out there.Its a good overall gun once its given the once over.I would recommend to people willing to tinker,but would not recommend as a gift.A kid would get very frustrated,I know I did.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Jesse from USA on 2010-01-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price. It is a decent rifle for a backyard plinker, pest killer.
      Things I would have changed:The extremely cheap scope. The barrel was slightly bent so quality control could have been an issue.
      What others should know:It is a decent rifle for a backyard plinker and pest killer, or maybe a beginners rifle. It doesn't like the gamo round balls but likes crossman premiers, and the JSB exacts.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By G.Stover from USA on 2010-01-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought this pellet gun for my husband. It's the second one we've owned. We liked the first one very much. We like the daisy pellet gun product, that's why we bought another.
      Things I would have changed:We are disappointed in the scope that came with the gun. My husband is by no means a newbie to guns and scopes. He did everything he could to clear the scope to make it usable at the recommended 33 ft. target range and could not. When I wrote the company I was told it wasn't possible because everyone's eyes are different. Well, my husbands eyes are not bad for all the other scopes he has including the old one from the first Daisy he bought. So he put that one on the new pellet gun. I basically paid 95 dollars for the rifle and no scope. Buyer beware. Sorry Pyramid, all of this is 100% true. Call me if you think different. G. Stover
      What others should know:My suggestion to airgunners, buy the gun, not the scope.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ross from USA on 2010-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very Very Accurate. Easy to pump, wood stocks
      Things I would have changed:The pump arm is plastic and should be metal.
      What others should know:The pellets are very hard to load. There is a lip at the enterance to the chamber. I had to disassemble the rifle and very carefully file the lip down. Once I did that it loads perfect. Also the wood forearm stock on the left side was very discolored and did not match the other wood. I sent the wood stock back to Daisy and they replaced it no problem. Great Support from Daisy!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Tim from USA on 2010-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This a light and quiet rifle. I am new to shooting and find this to be accurate. I'm using RWS Superdome pellets. The price is quite reasonable.
      Things I would have changed:Sometimes it takes some fiddling to get the pellets in the chamber - this could be due to my lack of experience.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By james from USA on 2010-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Gun is light and well balanced. Very easy to pump. Owner's Manual is very clear and concise. Like the red fiber optic front sight. Price was very good and on-line transaction with Pyramid Air as well as shipping were great. I am using Crosman Pellgun oil for lubrication points noted in the Manual. Wood stock and forearm are very nice.
      Things I would have changed:I would have preferred a metal pump lever and bolt as others have noted since both are plastic although seem like they will last. I believe a narrower front sight would be easier to line up with the target above 25 yards.
      What others should know:I did not notice any problems loading pellets as some others have noted. I am using Crosman premiers--pointed and hollow point. Also did not notice any looseness with the stock/receiver, however, I have only had a gun a few weeks. Out of the box the gun shot 4-5" low and 3-4" to the left of target at about 12-15 yards. After adjusting for windage and elevation, accuracy and precision are now fine. I did not mount the scope so I can offer no comment about it although it would seem difficult to load pellets with the scope in place.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By gatebreaker from USA on 2009-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate. I was impressed by the scope and the fact that this gun is still made of wood and metal. I had this gun many years ago and its still built exactly the same. I missed it that much I had to buy another one!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing! Yes its hard to load at first but you get used to it and it would be nice if the pumping lever would be metal, however that would make it heavier.
      What others should know:Perfect if you have neighbors this gun is quiet and did I mention accurate. Its that good I had to write it twice!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jorge from USA on 2009-11-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:lever to pump it is soooo soft not much power is needed to pump very accurate nice shiny wood stock and easy to load pellets slides just in perfectly
      Things I would have changed:the bolt on it kind of moves back and forth when pumping the rifle the lever is also kind of some cheapy plastic
      What others should know:good accuracy gun for hunting birds, rabbits and squirrel have never seen anything this cheap of price for such a good quality of gun
    • 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top