Diana RWS LP8 reviews - page 4

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By EROL from USA on 2010-04-05 07:37:48

Things I liked: Perfect gun. Excellent and consistant accuracy. Gives you pleasure to shoot exactly where you aim. Fiber optic sights are great to aim. Professional. I am fully satisfied with power, accuracy, everything.

Things I would have changed: I would include a cocking assist handle to avoid arm from getting tired.

What others should know: I have some add ons-even though not necessary, just to have more fun. Scope is not actually necessary. But items below fit to LP8. 1. Cocking assist handle (actually made for browning pistol and exactly fits diana LP8) This handle enables you to be able to cock the gun without getting tired. (Check Umarex if not available in PYRAMYDAIR) 2. A scope : UTG 5th Gen 6x32AO Bug Buster Compact Rifle Scope, Gen 2, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings 3. UTG 11mm to Weaver Adapter, Adjustable 4. UTG Premium 1" Rings, Medium, Weaver Mount, See-Thru 5. RWS Meisterkugeln Standard .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter Pellets (I used other types of pellets as well. But. I have best results with these pellets. 6. RWS Rifle Shooter's Kit, .177 Caliber - for maintenance 7. Crosman Airgun Ammo Pouch, Holds 500 Pellets 8. Gamo Cone Pellet Trap (good for safe indoor shooting) And, I like shopping from Pyramydair because of its customer oriented perfect customer service.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By TK101 from USA on 2014-05-05 20:43:29

Things I liked: I like the feel,it points well, very nice gun--accurate...when it was working.

Things I would have changed: I own a few RWS systems, I love my model 52 in .22 cal.

What others should know: The newest one I have is a LP8 pistol which FAILED AFTER AROUND 400 SHOTS. I have never had an RWS system fail--my mod. 52 is 30 yrs old and still does the job and never had a problem. This is a surprise to me. Disappointing---for this kind of money, I expected this pistol to last as long as my 52--not happening.

Sort by:
  • Previous 1234
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Peter Dude from USA on 2009-09-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: EVERTHING! GREAT PISTOL. YOU CAN USE THIS PISTOL TO GET RID OF PESTS ! POWERFUL! ACCURATE. HANDY TO CARRY AROUND. I LOVE THIS GUN.

    Things I would have changed: N O T H I N G

    What others should know: I checked the speed - 700 to 800fps - depends what MFG pellets you use. USE RWS PELLETS - THEY DELIEVER THE HIGHEST fps!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Harold from USA on 2009-08-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Like all RWS guns, very sturdy mechanics. This gun is pretty heavy which makes it stable in your hands. I love the fiber optic sights. The cocking effort is minimal for the power it produces. I like the safety feature also, when you break the barrel and then break it back to shoot, the safety is enabled. I do not own a chrony yet, but I would guess it shoots between 600 - 700 fps...great gun

    Things I would have changed: I maybe would have added a globe over the front sight to protect it...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Russell from USA on 2009-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The fiber optic sights work very well. They were dead on out of the box at 20 meters using RWS 8.3gr Superdome pellets. The safety works easily and can be re-engaded if necessary. The break barrel action works smoothly and is easy to load. The pistol has a good, solid feel to it.

    Things I would have changed: A lighter trigger pull would be nice, but I have been spoiled by the Beeman P3. There is nothing wrong with the trigger on the LP8.

    What others should know: So far I have done all of my shooting off hand, plinking soda cans. I have found that follow through is very important with this pistol. Keep the front sight on the target, and you will hit it, and hit it hard.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Okcrawler from USA on 2009-07-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The top scope rail was what sold me on this model. Good speed for a pistol. Accuracy is good, but you must find the right pellets. Overall performance and finish (minus below) is good.

    Things I would have changed: Front sight mount was loose when it arrived. Trigger is pretty stiff although it does break crisp.

    What others should know: Velocity: 9.3gr = 519fps, 7.2gr = 545fps, 7.0gr = 586 fps. I've not tried any super light pellets, however nearly 600fps with a 7gr pellet is cooking pretty good out of a pistol. Point of aim for freehand and bench rest are very different. I believe this is due to the mass in the spring piston system. You must sight this in as you plan to shoot.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By VLADIMIR from USA on 2009-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Additions like ambi grips, scope rail, and ambi safety are what I was looking for.

    Things I would have changed: I'd protect the front sight with a globe.

    What others should know: The reason for inacuracy in your shooting technique. NEVER rest a spring-piston gun on anything solid. Sand bag is no exception!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By russ watts from USA on 2009-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: A most sinister-looking air gun! Break-barrel action feels very clean and solid - imparting the kind of satisfaction the Germans are noted for in all of their manufacture of goods. Convenience of a break-barrel in a pistol is an idea that obviously not all manufacturers are willing to stick their necks out for. Credit RWS for not only bringing a new brand of fun to the hobby, but continuing its effort towards its evolution, as here we now have scope cabability entered into the arena.

    Things I would have changed: Front plastic sight should be slimmed down - it is too thick and puts too much guesswork into aiming. A hooded, more precise, thin metal front sight as an accessory would prompt an instant purchase from me.

    What others should know: It hits reasonably hard, though I expect a little more sting as it breaks in. I have a lot more experimentation to do with this LP8, including trials of different pellets and usage of a scope. It's base-level performance using RWS Superdome isn't bad, but I know through the process of experimentation, I can realize noticeable improvement.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Mark from USA on 2009-06-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very well made. Exceptional safety as far as placement, [both sides] and the ability to re-engage even when cocked. The addition of the dovetail for scope or red dot mounting. The dovetail also has an additional dovetail, a step down, that allows for the use of wider mounts, usually reserved for firearms.

    Things I would have changed: I have difficulty believing the advertised 700 fps. I have not had chance to "chrony" it yet, but the sound of the pellet striking the trap at 25 yds. is not consistent with the advertised speed. Also, RWS could have used "trick pellets", PBS or other ultralights that are notoriously inaccurate.

    What others should know: I'm having some difficulty getting tight groupings at 25 yds. using a bench and sandbag. I have mounted a Bushnell 2-6X32 and a Barska 2X30 red dot, and have tried seven different brands and weights of pellets. So far, the best grouping has been about 3 in. with Cabela's .177 hollow points, [the 7.9 gr.]. I know it's a pistol, not a rifle, but I've had groups half the size with other air pistols. Probably I just not found the best pellet match for this pistol. Could be that this air pistol is not fully "broken in" as yet , though I have gone through over 1000 pellets to date. I'll keep trying different brands of pellets until I find one that this air pistol "likes". (Helps keep Pyramid's profits up in this economic slowdown).

  • Previous 1234
Navigation