Date: 14/10/2019 20:10
0

Gamo Urban PCP. 600054. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (39 reviews)
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By BRUCE from USA on 2017-06-01 13:53:44

Things I liked: This is an amazing gun for the price. I live out west where there is an over abundance of ground squirrels and 200 shot days are the norm. I just wanted a good shooting "beater" to drag along on those days that were apt to change the appearance of my favorite walnut stocked PCP beauty that cost a $1,000 more from a "10" to a 6 or 7. After sighting in, I can honestly say I don't think this gun has ever missed a squirrel (the guy holding the gun has missed a few though). I shoot a lot at 50+ yards. Hands down, I don't think there is a better value out there in the PCP world for predator control.

Things I would have changed: I would like to see an improvement on the bolt design, but would not change anything that adds to the price. Would I like a better trigger, larger reservoir, shrouded barrel, finer action, etc.? Sure, but those guns are readily available. They just cost more.

What others should know: Cycling the bolt can be tricky until you get used to it. You have to make sure you hear or feel the audible click of the hammer being latched when it is cocked because the next pellet will load without the hammer latching. If you push the bolt forward before the hammer is fully set, a pellet is loaded but the gun will not fire. Then when you try again to cock the gun, another pellet is loaded into the chamber and the bolt wont completely close. To clear, you must remove the magazine and drop a rod down the barrel to remove the two pellets. Most shooters will catch on real quick. Just know that when you hand it off to your buddy to try, it is best to have a rod handy to extract the double load.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Justin from USA on 2018-07-03 18:17:07

Things I liked: Synthetic stock, hard to say much as I have not shot it yet.

Things I would have changed: Gamo needs to do a better job including fill probe when shipping gun.

What others should know: Gun shipped without fill probe, owners manual shows it should come with one. Pyramyd air did not have one to supply, Gamo did not follow up on request for replacement. Bought the gun in May, still have not shot it in July because I have no way to fill tank. Probes are readily available on multiple UK websites, just takes 2+ weeks to ship to US.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dennis from USA on 2019-06-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate, quiet, easy to carry

    Things I would have changed: Lighter trigger.

    What others should know: After much thought I decided to try a Gamo air gun. I have only had one in the past and did not really care for it, however the Urban caught my eye and since it was in my price range I decided to try it, and I am very glad I did. It lives up to its name. Very Quiet, easy to shoot and not pellet fussy. I found several pellets that are very accurate in this gun. Granted I never shoot over 40 yds so can't attest to its accuracy over that but under 40 yds it's deadly. Overall I am very happy and satisfied with this rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jon from USA on 2019-06-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Being able to switch bolt for the left handers. Accuracy and light weight .

    Things I would have changed: Metal trigger group . Extra mag should mandatory not only with this rifle but all handguns alike.

    What others should know: So comforting to carry because of weight and balance. A shout out to the team at Pyramyd Air...and the financing options they offer. Never had ANY problems with them they are on top of their A-Game.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2019-05-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Accurate, quiet, nice size & weight, nice adjustable trigger, decent shot count from a fill, I like the grip size and angle, fun to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: The single shot magazine- Maybe not the best design

    What others should know: What is the green band on the stock about..? I went with a single piece offset mount and compact UTG Bugbuster scope-good combo for this rifle. Extra magazines (multi shot) are pricey but really good quality (I like how they stay in place with the magnet). The single shot mags are a pain to use. At least I haven't figured out how to easily load single pellets with it. Had two bad air pressure gauges that were both replaced by the manufacturer without any issues- great customer service. I tried a number of pellets and luckily my copy shoots really well with inexpensive Crosman Premiers.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cody from USA on 2019-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This thing is a pea shooter! Easy dime sized groups at 25 yards. This is my first PCP and I'm thoroughly impressed. Its quiet, and it hits birds and rats hard. It's hard to have this much fun without drugs. The gun is super light, makes it nice for packing around. It handles extremely well in off hand shooting scenarios and when a rest is available its almost like shooting off a bench. Definitely would recommend this for someone who is looking for a nice air gun or someone who is new to the sport.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger has a lot of creep, however it is fairly light so its not much of a problem. The shot count is a little low but once again, not that big of a problem.

    What others should know: Be sure you've done research on how to fill the gun properly.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2019-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This dude is accurate, I'm talking 3/8" at 40yds with jsb 18 grain. Trigger is OK, lots of travel but light enough. Easy to fill and mags work great. It's more quiet than most people say. Gun came in filled with air.

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of any gamo parts. Cheaper mags and throw in an extra

    What others should know: The gas tube warped as air is filled or used. Had to remove barrel band.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By CARLOS from USA on 2019-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Purchase on Jan 2018. By Jan 2019 I had to change twice the pressure gauge And began to leak air through the fill port .

    Things I would have changed: Better pressure gauge. Improved fill port system.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2018-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.764 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Light weight and compact. Has a long dove tail to mount optics easily, fairly quiet and very accurate @ 50 yards. The stock is nicely done for being plastic. Power is ok a entry level pcp.

    Things I would have changed: The magazine is junk. Its made of cheap plastic and wears out after about 500 shots. Its a shame there is no open sights on this gun.

    What others should know: The magazine is problematic needs to be redesigned. After shooting few hundred pellets the indexing on the magazine is way off and chews up the probe o ring. A new magazine from Gamo is $50 bucks! Thats right $50 bucks for a pos magazine!! If not for the magazine I would not have any problem giving this air gun a five star rating. If I had known about the mag issue before I purchased it I would have not bought it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2018-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I'm impressed with the gun so far. I find it very accurate for my needs out to about my 40 yard limit. I have found the trigger and bolt have both smoothed out after putting 300 various pellets through it. My only knock against the gun is the high price for the magazines.

    Things I would have changed: Lower price for the extra magazines, otherwise no complaints for what it costs.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TODD from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is my first pcp and I think I made the best choice possible. There are a lot of new entry level pcps but I cant imagine any being better for me than this urban. It is super accurate, I have shot 1/2 inch groups at 40 yards with Crosman dome pellets. The fit and finish are very good, much better than my QB78S. I am also happy with the balance between shot count and ease of hand pumping, about 4 minutes of pumping gives me 20 very consistent shots. If I want, I could pump for 6-7 minutes and get up to 35 shots, but I prefer shorter pumping and greater consistency over the highest shot count. I have shot about 2,000 pellets through this gun in about a year and I have no regrets whatsoever.

    Things I would have changed: I am sure the suppressor does better than not having one, but I still wish it were quieter.

    What others should know: I considered the Gauntlet, and the Stormrider when I bought this, now, after all the reviews are out I have no regrets. I am sure that the $1000 + guns are amazing to shoot, but for shooting targets and maybe a pest or two, I dont think Iwill ever need anything more than my Urban.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Leonardo from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy is excellent, with several kind of pellets. Quiet enough to be considered backyard friendly. Comfortable grip. No recoil at all.

    Things I would have changed: Bolt action is not that smooth. Magazine is ridiculously expensive as it is.

    What others should know: Good entry level PCP air rifle.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cliff from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything! This was my first PCP. Pellet type, pellet weight doesn't matter, this gun shoots tight groups! Gun is very quiet!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, the only upgrade/upgrades that would be very useful is a adjustable butt plate and cheek riser for specific scope set-ups. Also, maybe provided a second magazine or make the replacement/secondary mag slightly cheaper. It's a great magazine, just a little pricey.

    What others should know: I have the .22cal, FYI. For an entry level PCP, it's awesome! I would even consider it as a step up from entry level for how it performs! I have only one issue that will be taken care of by warranty once I touch base with Gamo. The pressure gauge is stuck @ 2000psi, it worked perfectly right out of the box. Shot approx. 700-800 rds, maybe slightly more before it stuck. I've read that maybe there's some small debris that worked it's way to the gauge or maybe the gauge is slightly ever so slightly over tightened. I'll have to see what Gamo says in the future.

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Justin from USA on 2018-07-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.343 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Synthetic stock, hard to say much as I have not shot it yet.

    Things I would have changed: Gamo needs to do a better job including fill probe when shipping gun.

    What others should know: Gun shipped without fill probe, owners manual shows it should come with one. Pyramyd air did not have one to supply, Gamo did not follow up on request for replacement. Bought the gun in May, still have not shot it in July because I have no way to fill tank. Probes are readily available on multiple UK websites, just takes 2+ weeks to ship to US.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By HOMEY on 2018-07-01
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Buy one you will like it. Worth every penny. Girl friend bought one, I set it up with a Bushnell 3x9x40 sports view. H&N 14.6 grain hunter target. Dime size groups all day long at 20 yards. Deadly on ground squirrels at 50 yards. I an in the market for an FX Streamline or Daystate Regal XL Huma reg. I will get one or the other, but after shooting the Urban, I had to buy one for me. It does the job with accuracy and power.

    Things I would have changed: For the price, nothing. If you want more quality pay the price and step up to the higher quality airguns. If you are on a budget and want to check out a PCP airgun, this one is the one you want to start with. Oh there is something that I would change, the price for an extra magazine. Gamo, $50 is highway robbery. I refuse to buy one.

    What others should know: Be safe. Gun comes precharged. Becare not to double load pellets. Fire your last shot, pull back bolt to remove your magazine, if you have cocked the gun and filled the shot chamber with air, discharge air for full safety. Safe the gun. For those worried about air, purchase a 4500 psi hand pump or 4500 psi compressor and tank. I did. I am getting ready for my next PCP. Enjoy shooting.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brent from USA on 2018-06-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fills from 1000 to 3000 psi take about 100 strokes on a Hill hand pump and will provide 30 shots. Plenty of power, a 1/2 inch sheet of plywood will not stop a pellet at 20 yards. Good value for the money. Can't wait to try it out on the neighborhood raccoons.

    Things I would have changed: The bolt action is a little touchy. If you don't pull it back completely it will load a pellet without cocking, which could lead to loading a second pellet if you aren't aware of the problem. It would be nice if you didn't have to look down the barrel to see the pressure gauge.

    What others should know: Louder than portrayed by online videos. While it may not bother your neighbors, they will definitely hear it. The noise is similar to my pneumatic nail gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2018-06-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: For the money you cannot find (IMO) another product. The only draw back is the so called silencer on the end of the barrel, it does help but in no way is this thing quiet.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: This was my first PCP airgun, and I would recommend the starter package offered by PA. When I left the "airggun community" as a kid, there were only pump guns. The improvements are vast, to say the least. Do your own homework and I hope this helps. Since my purchase I have added six other airguns to my collection and plan to continue.

     
  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By EthanJM from USA on 2018-05-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: *Really good barrel, jagged one hole groups out of the box at 30 yards right out of the box, first day. *Good weight and very well balanced, makes for good off hand shooting. *Plenty quiet enough for backyard shooting if you live in town. *Hand pump friendly. I grew attached with these good qualities very quickly, but I had so many problems (I'm not the only one) that I sadly have to give the gun two stars. I want to give it three but that would imply my experience with it was "okay", which is wasn't.

    Things I would have changed: Overall quality control. I had three out of four of the most common problems, only problem I didn't have was the moderator problem. *Float the barrel, keep the barrel band for support but don't allow it to actually touch the barrel. I'm convinced that a lot of the people who claim their band isn't causing a problem haven't tried nudging their barrel left or right and tested for a POI shift. People who cut them off are seeing major improvements to their gun. Be warned though, this voids the warranty. *Put better gauges on them, sticking gauges seem way too common. *Sometimes people have feeding problems, sometimes it can be remedied with a shim, for mine something else was causing it. Rough feeding can damage the o-ring on the magazine or bolt. *A more significant problem people are having are misaligned or loose baffles on the moderator. Can cause clipping or moderator to be blown out. *Lastly, this one isn't quality control, but 50 dollar magazines?!

    What others should know: My barrel band was a major problem, a small nudge of the barrel changed my POI significantly. If I was going to keep it and I didn't have so many other problems I would have cut the thing off. I was going to keep the gun and cut it off eventually, but I had other problems as well. Continued below. A lot of broken gauges, mine was stuck when I got it, never moved. You can put an aftermarket gauge on, this voids the warranty though. Again, I was going to eventually replace it voiding my warranty. Some people have feeding problems, mine hung up every now and then, but it seemed okay, then I noticed the o-ring in the magazine (costs 50 bucks) was getting torn up. This was strike three and I sent it in for a refund, PA gave no problems refunding. Something was misaligned, it wasn't just in need of a shim (some have had luck with shims). Final common issue is in the moderator, the baffles can come loose or not line up properly causing pellet clipping or even the moderator being blown out.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bob from USA on 2018-05-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fit and finish are great love the way it shoulders at 25 yrds it's a laser at 40 yrds 1/2" 5 shot groups and that was just using a blanket roll for a rest haven't used it for hunting yet as squirrelseason doesn't start till the fall and i don't shoot it if I don't eat it except for pests the gun has the power and accuracy I wanted this is my first pcp and what can I say all my break barrels are going up for sale not to hard to fill with a hill mk4 pump all in all very pleased I'm now looking at a synod or a armada next so I can reach out a little farther

    Things I would have changed: Nothing much except I wish it came with sling studs so I can mount a bipod when target shooting drop the price on extra mags $50 bucks is nuts

    What others should know: If you're looking for a entry level pcp this is it

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronnie from USA on 2018-05-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Ease of operation, power, accuracy, general feel of rifle to shoulder. Also I like the customer service. My first rifle had a defect and Pyramyd Air replaced very quickly!

    Things I would have changed: Should come with two box magazines. Sling Swivel attachments would be nice.

    What others should know: Excellent air rifle for pest such as squirrels and rabbits.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Peter from USA on 2018-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything, small light great fit & finish quiet nice trigger ( I put in a 2.5x 8mm screw to take most of the creep out of the second stage safety is in a great place

    Things I would have changed: Moderator is permanently attached to the gug if you damage it

    What others should know: My other gun is a bsa scorpion 1200se great gun I wanted more of the same but lighter, my scorpion was $850 the urban was less than a third of that , I've run it through a chrono averaging 23-24 fpe love this little urban , usaly when you buy a cheap gun you get a cheap gun not the case here , mine arrived with a stuck pressure gauge gamo shipped me a new one this is an exalent little gun great as a first pcp or as in my case a second no Chinese junk made in the U.K. I can't believe you can get a gun this good for the price

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2018-02-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like absolutely everything about this rifle. It is light, comfortable, and handy. The action is buttery smooth, and the trigger is equally so. The second stage is a little long, but it's still smooth and light. The manual safety is easy to reach while in a shooting position, which is something often overlooked in airgun design. The shot string is VERY consistent for an unregulated PCP, giving me 20 or so shots in the sweet spot at around 24fpe and a 20fps spread using H&N Terminators. Above all else, though, this thing is ACCURATE! I consistently get 1/2" groups with most pellets at 50 yards. The hammer forged barrel in this gun is simply not equaled by other entry level PCPs. This rifle is made in the UK, and the build quality is outstanding.

    Things I would have changed: If I have one complaint about this rifle, it's that the enormous moderator is a bit misleading. While I do consider this gun quiet enough for backyard use, it's not nearly as quiet as the giant moderator would have you believe. Much more secondarily, the 10 shot magazine I received with the rifle was a smidge out of timing. This would cause a bit of a hang up when closing the bolt. I contacted Pyramid Air about it, and they sent me a new one without question. This is common for my experiences with Pyramid Air. Your company has only ever treated me well...and VERY much so!

    What others should know: Don't get me wrong, I like everything about this rifle...but what pleased me the most on the first day, is that the green band around the buttpad is only an o-ring and comes right off. :)

  • 12 Next
Navigation