Date: 14/12/2018 20:3
0

Hammerli 850 AirMagnum. 225-1000. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (127 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Gary from USA on 2014-02-09 16:51:40

Things I liked: Supreme accuracy, 8-shot repeater, CO2 optional adapter, easy loading and changing of magazine, very smooth consistent trigger pull. Wouldn't sell the 850 and the Nikon scope combination for a $1000. cause I may have gotten one in a thousand insofar as accuracy goes.

Things I would have changed: Nothing really, guess I just got a cream puff, by the way it is .177.

What others should know: I'm a retired engineer so am used to testing things and I am amazed at the accuracy of this rifle. But first let me say that I started out looking for an air rifle that I could shoot in my basement shooting range (9 yds) for my own amusement as well as for teaching my granddaughters to shoot. I first ordered a Chinese rifle (big mistake), sent it back the next day-poor quality, bad engineering. Then I ran across the 850 on the internet at Pyramyd. Decided to give it a try. Liked it from the beginning. I fired about 1000 rounds so far in about 1 month. The optional CO2 adapter allows you to use 1 or 2 (12 gm) cylinders when you don't want to shoot all day long using the 88 gm cylinder. In order to obtain the inherent accuracy I felt was in the rifle, I needed a high magnification scope. My first attempt was a Chinese scope (guess I didn't learn my lesson with the rifle). After trying 3 scopes I gave up and went to a Nikon 3-9X40 Prostaff Target EFR. The main reason I selected this scope was because it will actually focus at the highest mag down to 7 yds! The other scopes claimed focus down to 10 yds but didn't delivery. Next tried 12 different pellets since most airguns have a preference. After many shots I found that my rifle likes the RWS Match 10 Light 7.0 grain. Set up a target at 9 yds in a pellet trap using bench rest The target had 56 bulls the diam of the pellet. The average miss from bull center to pellet hole center was 0.32 mm! Repeat .32 mm!

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Patrick from USA on 2018-08-09 12:55:26

Things I liked: Great air rifle out of the box. Accurate, while it lasted.

Things I would have changed: - Bottle O-Ring blew out after 5th CO2 bottle. - It should come standard with small CO2 cartridge adapter.

What others should know: After about the 5th Co2 bottle, the O-Ring blew out. I tried ordering some replacements but they didn't hold (Co2 leaked out right away). I have wasted about 5 Co2 bottles trying different O-Rings. I can't even confirm what the correct O-Ring size is for these O-rings. The replacement O-Rings from Bagnell & Kirkwood (doesn't mention size) are approx $18 once shipped from the UK. I am not willing to spend that much without guarantee they would work, so this gun is trash as far as I am concerned.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 67 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2018-12-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: accurate, plenty of power for metal targets pt 20 yards.

    Things I would have changed: an adapter for 12 0z co2 would be nice. the 88 oz are great but it is hard to shoot enough to put gun up empty. 88 oz is good for over 200 rounds.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2018-11-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I am a hunter. Clearly, this is a repeater results in a more much productive hunt. Once I dialed in my scope to my choice of ammo, the gun is a beast!

    Things I would have changed: My complaint is: I went to Amazon and purchased a bulk quantity of CO2 cylinders (JT brand). I screwed in the cylinder and it held for a second or two then blew out the o-ring (I lost the o-ring in the field). Nobody in America had the o-ring and I could not find anyone who could give me the specs on the replacement...it's a frickin' o-ring...I should be able to find it anywhere. I order three overpriced o-rings from the UK and installed one in my 850. Same thing happened. Tried a different o-ring: same thing. Umarex says don't use Air Venturi cylinders. I didn't. I used JT cylinders. Upon viewing the available cylinders available on-line it became apparent that there seems to be no quality control in your air cylinders. Here is a comm. I sent to JT, Umarex and Pyramid: "Johnny, Here is a photo of the two different versions of your product I found on line. The first one clearly has a shorter nipple where the cylinder marries with the o-ring. The second has a longer nipple (this is the version I have and is not compatible with my Umarex Hammerli AirMagnum 850). The first one clearly has 15-16 threads and the second has maybe 10-12 threads. They ARE different, but packaged as the same. This is becoming very frustrating...What is the deal?

    What others should know: Awesome pellet gun! However, the gun seems to be finicky when it comes to the co2 cylinders you select. Apparently, either sellers are not aware of this or they don't want you to know there is an issue.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alex from USA on 2018-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: + Bolt action 8-shot repeater! + Bolt action 8-shot repeater! + Bolt action 8-shot repeater! + Comes with 2 magazines (I honestly see no reason to get more) + Lightweight & Durable synthetic stock + Requires no special holds or techniques to shoot + 11mm dovetail optics rail (I recommend UTG/Leapers scopes), you can also completely remove the front and rear sight assemblies. + Extremely easy to maintain and service, I recommend a silicone-impregnated gun sock @ Walmart for $15 for storage, especially long-term. + Adjustable lightweight trigger + Dead accurate; from benchrest I shot less than half-inch groups @ 25 yards (.177cal).

    Things I would have changed: - ASA (brass thing you screw the tank in to) o-ring has a tendency to go bad after about 300 shots causing the CO2 to leak out. Just take out the o-ring and drive to your local hardware store, problem solved, 10mins & $0.50 per o-ring (buy a couple). Re-oil it at least once every 500 shots (if it lasts that long). - The obvious downside is that it runs only CO2, which practically limits the gun to summer-time shooting only. For most shooters, this is not a problem, but for winter-time hunters this is a major drawback compared to PCPs; 850 will suffer performance loss as the CO2 cools. I have not tried winter-time shooting, but I only shoot paper targets and cans. - The gun does not come with any degassing device or mechanism built into it. Once attached, unscrewing a CO2 bottle will cost you the entire rest of the bottle. You can however purchase a device for 88g's that you screw on top and acts as an on/off seal to preserve bottles.

    What others should know: Recently started shooting my .177 850 again, had the thing since 2011 but put less than 1000 rounds through it. Six years later I take it out, replace the ASA o-ring, and I've had no problems with it at all. Decided, since its well out of warranty at 6 years old, to take it apart completely and clean & regrease/oil it. Internals are not crazy-complex but there are a few small parts (depends how in-depth you go really, ie dont take apart the bolt assembly theres no need). YouTube 850 air magnum disassembly. Barrel has a tendency to rust but this is completely normal for blued steel (very common on firearms and pellet rifles), like I said above just a little bit of RemOil and a paper towel/tarry cloth will do the trick, steel wool if its really bad. Buy CO2 tanks at Walmart, and o-rings for the ASA at your local hardware store or Home Depot/Lowes. Do not store it with a CO2 tank attached for more than a day or two. That's how you damage components, specifically o-rings.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Patrick from USA on 2018-08-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great air rifle out of the box. Accurate, while it lasted.

    Things I would have changed: - Bottle O-Ring blew out after 5th CO2 bottle. - It should come standard with small CO2 cartridge adapter.

    What others should know: After about the 5th Co2 bottle, the O-Ring blew out. I tried ordering some replacements but they didn't hold (Co2 leaked out right away). I have wasted about 5 Co2 bottles trying different O-Rings. I can't even confirm what the correct O-Ring size is for these O-rings. The replacement O-Rings from Bagnell & Kirkwood (doesn't mention size) are approx $18 once shipped from the UK. I am not willing to spend that much without guarantee they would work, so this gun is trash as far as I am concerned.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scove from USA on 2018-07-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a FANTASTIC HIGH POWERED C02. RIFLE !!!!!! BAR. NONE !!!

    Things I would have changed: IT SHOUL D COME WITH AN ADAPTER FOR NORMAL C02 CARTRIDGES !!!!!!

    What others should know: AGAIN CANNOT BE BEAT FOR ACCURACY AND PRICE !!!!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Evergun from USA on 2018-03-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate!! Best gun I own. Super impressed!

    What others should know: I sent my gun, just for kicks, out to a fellow who tuned it. Then I put a Hawke 4-12 x 40 scope on it. WOW. I sighted in the scope with one mag. Then shot 4 others at a target 30 yards out. Shot the bullseye out. Only had 3 fliers about 1" outside the bullseye group, and I wasn't using good ammo for it....just plain old Crosman Premiers. Compared to Umarex Octane Elite, Hatsan QE 87, Crosman 1077, and my Crosman Venom Nitro, it was louder, but way more consistently accurate, and the penetration into plywood at 30 yards was among the best.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2018-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a real target gun. Has the proper weight, balance and feel. I shot it right out of the box with the stock open sights and I was amazed at how accurate this gun is. With slight adjustment on windage I was able to put 8 of 8 shots in the same hole from 10 yards. That may not be a record but consider the fact that I am 81 years young. When you cock this gun you know it is a well machined and assembled piece of German workmanship. I also own a QB78C in .22 cal. which is a fine gun but the 850 just has that feel of precision and believe me I know precision as I'm a retired Tool& Die Maker.

    Things I would have changed: At this point I have only fired about 200 rounds thru the gun and the only fault I find is one of the magazines miss indexes and causes a jam in the bolt.. I will contact Pyamyd Air about this after I give it a break in period and a little dab of white grease. I can see I'm going to need to buy more magazines cause you can sure go thru 8 shots in a hurry with this beauty.

    What others should know: I first went with a Danna PCP and it was a beautiful gun but due to a breathing problem I could not pump the gun to pull pressure and I contacted Pyramym and they told me to return the gun with free shipping for a full refund which they did. Just save all your shipping material and they were great about the return.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By marc from USA on 2017-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: this is on sweet gun to shoot. smooth trigger.

    Things I would have changed: not much.

    What others should know: the bolt is a little sticky , if you are not definate in your bolt action the pellet will not load. a little practice takes care of that. if you put a scope on this gun you might want a rail with droop compensation. it seems this gun is accurate as hell but range is limited. 30-35 yards is about it. less for quality pest control, maybe 25 yards.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Sarosh from USA on 2017-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This air rifle never quite worked for me. The mag always jammed. Got a second one as a replacement, same problem. Tried everything from best pellets that money can buy to expert help. Have experience with all sorts of air rifles--love my AA prosport and PCPs. I have a CO2 pistol and it works just fine, wanted to have a CO2 rifle as well. Guess it is just not meant to be...

    Things I would have changed: I only buy it from PyramidAir now and seek advice beforehand.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2017-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: German engineering, out of the box dead on! Little to no adjustments or cleaning. Load, aim, fire and be surprised just how "dead on" this rifle is. Perfect balance, excellent grip and LOP. Trigger does not need further adjustment. Excellent let-off. Easy to load. Firm bolt action. Excellent intuitive auto safety and release to fire position. No special grip to accurately fire (no artillery hold needed). Pure joy to shoot. Why did I wait so long to purchase? If your on the fence about purchasing, you'll say the same thing! Buy it! It won't "break the bank" at $300. Be sure you buy it from PA. The folks there know this gun well and what add-on's to purchase with it.

    Things I would have changed: May be offer a wood stock? Other than that, not a thing.

    What others should know: Mine is a .22 set up with Mantis 3-9 32 AO scope, on a picatinny rail. compensator and a UTG bipod. (See mine in the Shared Images photos. It's the "Sniper Hammerli") That tips the cost out to $440. If you do shoot inside as I do, you need the compensator. It's quite load without it. I used 2" heat shrink around compensator holes, but seamed it at the bottom, and use contact cement at the seam. Hasn't moved. Looks professional. Don't over tighten the 88gram co2. You''ll damage the needle "O" ring. Buy a pack of 3 clips. You''l need the extras. Mine gets about 150 - 160 shots out of an 88 gram co2. .22 cal is much easy to load than .177 cal. .22 cal is a bigger hole in the target, easier to see where you hit. Plain and simple, you'll love this gun! Shoot Safe!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2017-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very well made, easy to use and very accurate.. I put 16 rounds on my target, around 60' within an area about the size of a quarter... that is good enough for me...with electrical tape rapped around the compensator it is quite enough to use easily in my back yard... i'm very satisfied with it...I chose a red dot site instead of a scope, and it seems to work just fine...

    Things I would have changed: Needs a shut off valve for the CO2, a wooden stock as an option would be nice.. also options for a sling....

    What others should know: This airgun will not disappoint you... it will do EVERYTHING that you can expect it to do, and it will do it very well

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Al in Wisconsin from USA on 2016-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Have not used it, it's winter in Wisconsin 9 degrees this am. Received in 3 days and highly recommended by your experts to buy. Excellent condition, waiting to get into warmer place. Fits like a glove, so great in hand.

    Things I would have changed: Until I am able be shoot it NO Change except slightly lower cost.

    What others should know: PA customer service has always been outstanding and should be your go to place for any air gun sales and help of any kind.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Philip from USA on 2016-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It is a repeater. It has very visible sights, although they are plastic. I use a BSA AR 4x AO scope.( I have three of these on air rifles now, very good scope. About 70 bucks at Pyramyd.) Unusual but light trigger. Very accurate. Good power to about 200 shots.

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of automatic safety, it is annoying. Put big boy picatinny rail on top. Also redesign CO2 system so cylinder can be removed without losing gas.

    What others should know: This rifle just loves RWS Meisterkugeln 14 gr pellets. Others are OK but these are really accurate. 90 gram CO2 cost about 8 bucks each after tax around here. CO2 does not leak out of rifle, and I do not remove it at the end of the day. Chronograph puts RWS pellets at 630 FPS, with a total variation of 15 FPS. This is at about 75 degrees F.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Raymond from USA on 2016-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Hammerli 850 Airmagnum is a superbly crafted .22 cal air rifle. For purists who wouldn't think of owning or using a rifle with a synthetic stock, unless you want to travel to Europe and buy one that does have a Woodstock then spend the extra bucks shipping it back to the US, getting through customs etc. then by all means go for it. For me, the synthetic stock works beautifully and is solidly crafted. Some fill the hollow butt chamber with insulating foam but I doubt that would alter the balance of the rifle. Whether it would suppress any of the muzzle noise is an unknown for me.

    Things I would have changed: Offer a sample of RWS pellets as an incentive for purchase or a discount on the CO2 adapter at the time of purchase. Also, for urban rodent hunting, it would be ideal having a functioning muzzle suppressor either internal or external. The one available currently is purely cosmetic under you wrap a bunch of electrical tape around it. Coolness takes a backseat to bring very useful in my book. Umarex/RWS are you listening?

    What others should know: Transitioning from a heavy duty springer break your arm and shoulder break-barrel to an 8-shot CO2 bolt action repeater is a real awakening. This repeater provides quick followup shots for novices like myself are a necessity. Looking forward to getting a scope mounted and zeroed for improved accuracy. And lastly, even if there are some minor issues you can be sure that purchasing from PA is the way to go. They do their best to make things right and earn your business. A big thanks to Stacy for all her help with my purchases.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By frederick from USA on 2016-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I love this rifle !! It is accurate, and powerful enough for what I use it for. I have avocado trees, and my neighbors have fruit trees. Roof rats (rattus rattus ) come after fruit, and love avocados. There was much rain last year, so there are many rats. We all have dogs in my neighborhood, and don't use poison, out of fear we will kill our beloved pets. I'm now retired, and have lots of spare time, so I kill rats. I have 45 kills as of yesterday, and have only missed once. I was using a spring air rifle, and didn't know about using the "artillery hold", so I missed one, because you have to make quick shots sometimes. I have 39 kills in a row with my trusty Hammeli 850 AirMagnum. It is accurate, the trigger is not quite match-quality, but very nice. I haven't even adjusted it yet, but will. I'm shooting consistent 3/8 to 1/2 " inch groups at 72 feet. I own a Weatherby 33 378, and hit the target at over 1200 yards, with no problem.

    Things I would have changed: An adjustable cheek rest, and co2 shut-off valve would be a nice option, but for the price, I have no complaints.

    What others should know: This is a very nice weapon, for the low price. It dispatches rats at 62 feet, using RWS Super-H-Points, every time, if your aim is true. My 850 is the .22 cal, by-the-way. Purchase the umarex compenstor with your 850. Look on the internet on as how to improve it. It's only $30 something dollar sand works. There are better compensators out there, but this one works well , at a lower cost.The 850 can be very quiet, and the neighbors won't even know you are there. As soon as Pyramyd Air has another 10 % off sale on everything, like the recent sale, I'll purchase .25 Cal MRod, for reliable, longer range rat hunting, soon. Roof rats are what spread the black - death, by - the- way, so it's OK in my book to shoot them. I'm disabled, and have a difficult time with break-barrel rifles. The 850 is very gentle on hands and shoulders that will need joint replacement surgery. Thank you, Fred

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Harold from USA on 2016-07-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Build quality of the one I eventually received. Ability to have multiple pellets ready to go. Large Co2 cartridge is a big plus (I haven't gotten to the end of the first one yet). If you're concerned with dispatching squirrels, this rifle will do it at a reasonable distance.

    Things I would have changed: Although info says that the rifle is sighted in before leaving the factory at about 10 meters, mine wasn't. I didn't think I could be that bad at 30 feet. My own re-sighting fixed it. I'm trying to get better at hitting that bullseye without buying a scope (my issue not the rifle's). I needed the features, but I didn't need the weight. However, since I'm not carrying it around for very long, it'll be OK.

    What others should know: The first shipment was damaged in transit. Pyramid Air was quick to respond and replace the unit. So long as you take care of your issues within the return period, you're "golden."

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2016-05-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Feel, weight, well, everything. I love the idea of not having to pump for every single shot. Yet it still has the power you want/need.

    Things I would have changed: To make it completely awesome, they need to design a better front sight. Merely pushing it left or right is not that accurate to perfectly sight in. A simple screw would do the job.

    What others should know: You'll get about 60-70 shots with the 2 co2 powerletts. The 90 gram tank, just about 200 shots. Great trigger pull, not overly loud to shoot. Pricey, but well worth it, in my books.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2016-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The easy answer to what I like is ... everything. Outstanding features of this rifle are its accuracy, the way it feels in my hands, the eight shot magazines, the quality machining and finishing of the metal parts, the efficient use of CO2, the really nice smooth trigger, and the available extras, including a silencer and an adapter which allows use of two 12s instead of one 88.

    Things I would have changed: This rifle has been around for a long time. Why isn't a wood stock available yet?

    What others should know: I originally thought this rifle would be too expensive. An extra $100 for the CO2 adapter, $40 more for the 'muzzle brake' (aka a true silencer), and a scope and rings, brought the total to a shade over $500. Well, I'm very happy I bought this package, and if you do, you will be too. I've accumulated over 30 airguns. This one is the most accurate. The last time I shot it, I put the first 16 .22 pellets in one ragged hole at 50 feet. This gun makes me a shooter. I can't believe how accurate it is. 80-100 shots on two 12s. Great economy of CO2. One downside is that mine seemed pellet picky when I first started shooting it. I gravitated to Falcons exclusively now. No jams, Very very rare mis-feeds, usually my fault. The more I have shot this rifle, the smoother it gets. It's my #1 go to.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Hiram from USA on 2016-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Fun, fun, fun. Accurate, accurate, accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Make the bolt handle a wee bit longer. Sometimes I raked my thumb knuckle on scope.

    What others should know: I've seen other reviews where the forearm can come off when picking up rifle, so I always pick mine up by the barrel, don't want to drop my baby.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2016-03-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Weight, size, repeater, bolt action, sights, co2 and no break barrel, accuracy, straight hard hitting, relatively quiet, variety of pellet choices, 88 & 12gr co2 usage.

    Things I would have changed: Smooth out the bolt action to prevent jams for faster repeat shooting. Even with carefully recessed pellets, still an occasional jam. Maybe breakin time required for smoother action.

    What others should know: Recommend a try. . .one of the finest co2 rifles offered. . .both calibers ( I own both). Experiment with pellets, buy extra magazine clips and possibly the 12gr co2 adapter. All around nice air rifle and hard to believe it is not a low powered break barrel.

     
  • 123 ... 67 Next
Navigation