Date: 1/6/2020 1:57
0

Customer Reviews for Hammerli 850 AirMagnum

Average Customer Review

4.5 (134 reviews)
Hammerli 850 AirMagnum
Special OrderLimited Quantities.
Check product details for delivery time.

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Gary from USA on 2014-02-09 16:51:40

Things I liked: Supreme accuracy, 8-shot repeater, CO2 optional adapter, easy loading and changing of magazine, very smooth consistent trigger pull. Wouldn't sell the 850 and the Nikon scope combination for a $1000. cause I may have gotten one in a thousand insofar as accuracy goes.

Things I would have changed: Nothing really, guess I just got a cream puff, by the way it is .177.

What others should know: I'm a retired engineer so am used to testing things and I am amazed at the accuracy of this rifle. But first let me say that I started out looking for an air rifle that I could shoot in my basement shooting range (9 yds) for my own amusement as well as for teaching my granddaughters to shoot. I first ordered a Chinese rifle (big mistake), sent it back the next day-poor quality, bad engineering. Then I ran across the 850 on the internet at Pyramyd. Decided to give it a try. Liked it from the beginning. I fired about 1000 rounds so far in about 1 month. The optional CO2 adapter allows you to use 1 or 2 (12 gm) cylinders when you don't want to shoot all day long using the 88 gm cylinder. In order to obtain the inherent accuracy I felt was in the rifle, I needed a high magnification scope. My first attempt was a Chinese scope (guess I didn't learn my lesson with the rifle). After trying 3 scopes I gave up and went to a Nikon 3-9X40 Prostaff Target EFR. The main reason I selected this scope was because it will actually focus at the highest mag down to 7 yds! The other scopes claimed focus down to 10 yds but didn't delivery. Next tried 12 different pellets since most airguns have a preference. After many shots I found that my rifle likes the RWS Match 10 Light 7.0 grain. Set up a target at 9 yds in a pellet trap using bench rest The target had 56 bulls the diam of the pellet. The average miss from bull center to pellet hole center was 0.32 mm! Repeat .32 mm!

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Patrick from USA on 2018-08-09 12:55:26

Things I liked: Great air rifle out of the box. Accurate, while it lasted.

Things I would have changed: - Bottle O-Ring blew out after 5th CO2 bottle. - It should come standard with small CO2 cartridge adapter.

What others should know: After about the 5th Co2 bottle, the O-Ring blew out. I tried ordering some replacements but they didn't hold (Co2 leaked out right away). I have wasted about 5 Co2 bottles trying different O-Rings. I can't even confirm what the correct O-Ring size is for these O-rings. The replacement O-Rings from Bagnell & Kirkwood (doesn't mention size) are approx $18 once shipped from the UK. I am not willing to spend that much without guarantee they would work, so this gun is trash as far as I am concerned.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 67 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2020-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Glad I bought my Hammerli 850 .22 cal when I did. Cause now they Umarex changed it, it is No longer called the Hammerli, but they do look like a hammerli, I dont know what has changed. My hammerli850 in .22 cal is very accurate, very little recoil, and Quiet, the trigger is very Nice, and Light, the rifle is light weight. I put a Williams Peep sight on it, and it works great out to 50 yards and keeps it very light weight, I also have a Bushnell TRS-25 red dot, which also works great, and keeps it very light, for all day hunting small game. I also have a UTG 3-12x32 sidewheel AO, this is also Light weight setup. A descent sling is all that is needed. Really love this Great Co2 rifle, the Barrel has Very thick, heavy wall, making it very accurate at its power level. I would Liked to have gotten another one in .177 cal they are that good. I bought the 2x 12 gram co2 adaptor and if I dont want to shoot very many shots a Put in one spent co2 cart, and one full one.

    Things I would have changed: Umarex should have kept the Original Hammerli 850 the way it was. as it was a great Rifle.

    What others should know: I like a Light weight setup, Williams Makes a Very good Peep sight, for Dove tail Mounting, that lengthens the Sight radius, from stock by a Hugh amount. the Fit and finish of the Hammerli 850 is very good, the Stock is also very good, quality feel of everything about this rifle. I would Like to have seen a side lever cocker, in a Bull pup stock, to get the weight back closer, to really tuck into the shooters body.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2020-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It seem swell made. The fiber optic sights are terrific. I am 61yrs and I can't use open sights well anymore but these are as good as they get for older eyes. After shooting several pellets I found what it liked best and found it to put 8shots in 1/2" at 20 yards. I have not shot a paper target at 50 yards but I have no trouble hitting a 4" metal swingers at 50yds.

    Things I would have changed: Once I put a scope on it it was obvious it needed a higher comb, at least for me. I find I need to put a comb riser kit on many of my hunting rifles so it might just be me. I used a UTG 3-12x32 AO Bug Buster Rifle Scope.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2020-03-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: In the co2 category for air rifles, nothing even comes close! This co2 rifle was crafted by the hand of God himself. Amazing trigger right out of the box. Nice weight. Not too heavy but you know you've got something there for sure. Unlike those cheesy mag systems where you turn the top half,put a pellet in and repeat those steps 10 times with pellets jamming or not seating properly, this gun has very easy mags that are a no brainer. I can't tell you about the open sights because I use a scope. The 850 shoulders very nicely. No recoil when shooting but you can feel the power which it has. I could keep going but I think you get the gist by now so stop thinking and just buy it for yourself!!!!!

    Things I would have changed: For the price point, include the silencer. Maybe offer different colored synthetic stocks or two tone. A nice quality scope included. Everything else is spot on perfect!

    What others should know: I recently got into co2 guns because I have issues with joint pain and break barrel rifles just aren't an option anymore. You can read my other reviews on the Diana chaser and crosman QB78S. Both are lower cost point co2 rifles and frankly you get what you pay for. Both the chaser and QB78 are okay but even with all the mods available they still won't measure up to the 850. My umarex 850 is in .177. Yes I am getting the .22 version next! There is some competition with another umerex rifle and maybe a couple of others trying to make the next best co2 rifle but it's not out there so stop looking. The Hammerli now known as the Umarex 850 has been around for a long while now and still the king of all co2 rifles!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Woody from USA on 2019-12-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Big step up from my Gamo underlever springer. Trigger it smooth and no take up. Magazine is great instead on loading one at a time. Hits where I point it!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing so far

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ricardo from USA on 2019-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Can use Umarex 2-12g CO2 adapter to replace the 88g CO2. Easy to load pellets in the rotary magazine. Adjustable trigger travel, 23.6-inch barrel and can receive a scope. The automatic trigger safety, although some times it is in your way, is good. It is very precise and came accurate for 24 feet. If you don't mess-up, a 1/4-inch target can be consistently hit at 24 feet. Bolt lever action.

    Things I would have changed: Instead of dovetail, to have picatinny rail.

    What others should know: To take the most of it I installed an UTG 4-16x40 AO scope with low rings on top of an UTG universal dovetail to picatinny adapter. Only the top part of the rear sight was removed. Don't buy the Umarex compensator, it doesn't fit well. The gun has a threaded muzzle protected by a cap. With 2-12g CO2 I have 64 good rounds. The bolt lever operation is nice, although rough at the beginning.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ellis from USA on 2019-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Comfortable fit and feel to the 850. With 3-9 x 50 scope installed, zeroed it at 11 yards with JSB Heavys (18.13 gr). Very good grouping through 32 shots. Moved back to 29 yards and shot another 16 pellets - forgot co2 velocity drops in cold weather (36 degrees) and my shots progressive hit lower on target. I was using the Umarex adapter with 2 co2 cartridges so I was also getting low on co2. I'll wait until warmer weather to zero it at longer ranges.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at this time.

    What others should know: Co2 velocity changes about 2 fps per degree F. which I had forgot. If it is cold outside your shots will start dropping lower as the rifle cools off.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By SeungY. from USA on 2018-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: it's a very excellent co2 airgun in the market.

    Things I would have changed: none

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2018-12-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: accurate, plenty of power for metal targets pt 20 yards.

    Things I would have changed: an adapter for 12 0z co2 would be nice. the 88 oz are great but it is hard to shoot enough to put gun up empty. 88 oz is good for over 200 rounds.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2018-11-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I am a hunter. Clearly, this is a repeater results in a more much productive hunt. Once I dialed in my scope to my choice of ammo, the gun is a beast!

    Things I would have changed: My complaint is: I went to Amazon and purchased a bulk quantity of CO2 cylinders (JT brand). I screwed in the cylinder and it held for a second or two then blew out the o-ring (I lost the o-ring in the field). Nobody in America had the o-ring and I could not find anyone who could give me the specs on the replacement...it's a frickin' o-ring...I should be able to find it anywhere. I order three overpriced o-rings from the UK and installed one in my 850. Same thing happened. Tried a different o-ring: same thing. Umarex says don't use Air Venturi cylinders. I didn't. I used JT cylinders. Upon viewing the available cylinders available on-line it became apparent that there seems to be no quality control in your air cylinders. Here is a comm. I sent to JT, Umarex and Pyramid: "Johnny, Here is a photo of the two different versions of your product I found on line. The first one clearly has a shorter nipple where the cylinder marries with the o-ring. The second has a longer nipple (this is the version I have and is not compatible with my Umarex Hammerli AirMagnum 850). The first one clearly has 15-16 threads and the second has maybe 10-12 threads. They ARE different, but packaged as the same. This is becoming very frustrating...What is the deal?

    What others should know: Awesome pellet gun! However, the gun seems to be finicky when it comes to the co2 cylinders you select. Apparently, either sellers are not aware of this or they don't want you to know there is an issue.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alex S from USA on 2018-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: + Bolt action 8-shot repeater! + Bolt action 8-shot repeater! + Bolt action 8-shot repeater! + Comes with 2 magazines (I honestly see no reason to get more) + Lightweight & Durable synthetic stock + Requires no special holds or techniques to shoot + 11mm dovetail optics rail (I recommend UTG/Leapers scopes), you can also completely remove the front and rear sight assemblies. + Extremely easy to maintain and service, I recommend a silicone-impregnated gun sock @ Walmart for $15 for storage, especially long-term. + Adjustable lightweight trigger + Dead accurate; from benchrest I shot less than half-inch groups @ 25 yards (.177cal).

    Things I would have changed: - ASA (brass thing you screw the tank in to) o-ring has a tendency to go bad after about 300 shots causing the CO2 to leak out. Just take out the o-ring and drive to your local hardware store, problem solved, 10mins & $0.50 per o-ring (buy a couple). Re-oil it at least once every 500 shots (if it lasts that long). - The obvious downside is that it runs only CO2, which practically limits the gun to summer-time shooting only. For most shooters, this is not a problem, but for winter-time hunters this is a major drawback compared to PCPs; 850 will suffer performance loss as the CO2 cools. I have not tried winter-time shooting, but I only shoot paper targets and cans. - The gun does not come with any degassing device or mechanism built into it. Once attached, unscrewing a CO2 bottle will cost you the entire rest of the bottle. You can however purchase a device for 88g's that you screw on top and acts as an on/off seal to preserve bottles.

    What others should know: Recently started shooting my .177 850 again, had the thing since 2011 but put less than 1000 rounds through it. Six years later I take it out, replace the ASA o-ring, and I've had no problems with it at all. Decided, since its well out of warranty at 6 years old, to take it apart completely and clean & regrease/oil it. Internals are not crazy-complex but there are a few small parts (depends how in-depth you go really, ie dont take apart the bolt assembly theres no need). YouTube 850 air magnum disassembly. Barrel has a tendency to rust but this is completely normal for blued steel (very common on firearms and pellet rifles), like I said above just a little bit of RemOil and a paper towel/tarry cloth will do the trick, steel wool if its really bad. Buy CO2 tanks at Walmart, and o-rings for the ASA at your local hardware store or Home Depot/Lowes. Do not store it with a CO2 tank attached for more than a day or two. That's how you damage components, specifically o-rings.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Patrick from USA on 2018-08-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great air rifle out of the box. Accurate, while it lasted.

    Things I would have changed: - Bottle O-Ring blew out after 5th CO2 bottle. - It should come standard with small CO2 cartridge adapter.

    What others should know: After about the 5th Co2 bottle, the O-Ring blew out. I tried ordering some replacements but they didn't hold (Co2 leaked out right away). I have wasted about 5 Co2 bottles trying different O-Rings. I can't even confirm what the correct O-Ring size is for these O-rings. The replacement O-Rings from Bagnell & Kirkwood (doesn't mention size) are approx $18 once shipped from the UK. I am not willing to spend that much without guarantee they would work, so this gun is trash as far as I am concerned.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scove from USA on 2018-07-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a FANTASTIC HIGH POWERED C02. RIFLE !!!!!! BAR. NONE !!!

    Things I would have changed: IT SHOUL D COME WITH AN ADAPTER FOR NORMAL C02 CARTRIDGES !!!!!!

    What others should know: AGAIN CANNOT BE BEAT FOR ACCURACY AND PRICE !!!!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Evergun from USA on 2018-03-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Accurate!! Best gun I own. Super impressed!

    What others should know: I sent my gun, just for kicks, out to a fellow who tuned it. Then I put a Hawke 4-12 x 40 scope on it. WOW. I sighted in the scope with one mag. Then shot 4 others at a target 30 yards out. Shot the bullseye out. Only had 3 fliers about 1" outside the bullseye group, and I wasn't using good ammo for it....just plain old Crosman Premiers. Compared to Umarex Octane Elite, Hatsan QE 87, Crosman 1077, and my Crosman Venom Nitro, it was louder, but way more consistently accurate, and the penetration into plywood at 30 yards was among the best.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2018-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a real target gun. Has the proper weight, balance and feel. I shot it right out of the box with the stock open sights and I was amazed at how accurate this gun is. With slight adjustment on windage I was able to put 8 of 8 shots in the same hole from 10 yards. That may not be a record but consider the fact that I am 81 years young. When you cock this gun you know it is a well machined and assembled piece of German workmanship. I also own a QB78C in .22 cal. which is a fine gun but the 850 just has that feel of precision and believe me I know precision as I'm a retired Tool& Die Maker.

    Things I would have changed: At this point I have only fired about 200 rounds thru the gun and the only fault I find is one of the magazines miss indexes and causes a jam in the bolt.. I will contact Pyamyd Air about this after I give it a break in period and a little dab of white grease. I can see I'm going to need to buy more magazines cause you can sure go thru 8 shots in a hurry with this beauty.

    What others should know: I first went with a Danna PCP and it was a beautiful gun but due to a breathing problem I could not pump the gun to pull pressure and I contacted Pyramym and they told me to return the gun with free shipping for a full refund which they did. Just save all your shipping material and they were great about the return.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By marc from USA on 2017-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: this is on sweet gun to shoot. smooth trigger.

    Things I would have changed: not much.

    What others should know: the bolt is a little sticky , if you are not definate in your bolt action the pellet will not load. a little practice takes care of that. if you put a scope on this gun you might want a rail with droop compensation. it seems this gun is accurate as hell but range is limited. 30-35 yards is about it. less for quality pest control, maybe 25 yards.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Sarosh from USA on 2017-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This air rifle never quite worked for me. The mag always jammed. Got a second one as a replacement, same problem. Tried everything from best pellets that money can buy to expert help. Have experience with all sorts of air rifles--love my AA prosport and PCPs. I have a CO2 pistol and it works just fine, wanted to have a CO2 rifle as well. Guess it is just not meant to be...

    Things I would have changed: I only buy it from PyramidAir now and seek advice beforehand.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2017-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: German engineering, out of the box dead on! Little to no adjustments or cleaning. Load, aim, fire and be surprised just how "dead on" this rifle is. Perfect balance, excellent grip and LOP. Trigger does not need further adjustment. Excellent let-off. Easy to load. Firm bolt action. Excellent intuitive auto safety and release to fire position. No special grip to accurately fire (no artillery hold needed). Pure joy to shoot. Why did I wait so long to purchase? If your on the fence about purchasing, you'll say the same thing! Buy it! It won't "break the bank" at $300. Be sure you buy it from PA. The folks there know this gun well and what add-on's to purchase with it.

    Things I would have changed: May be offer a wood stock? Other than that, not a thing.

    What others should know: Mine is a .22 set up with Mantis 3-9 32 AO scope, on a picatinny rail. compensator and a UTG bipod. (See mine in the Shared Images photos. It's the "Sniper Hammerli") That tips the cost out to $440. If you do shoot inside as I do, you need the compensator. It's quite load without it. I used 2" heat shrink around compensator holes, but seamed it at the bottom, and use contact cement at the seam. Hasn't moved. Looks professional. Don't over tighten the 88gram co2. You''ll damage the needle "O" ring. Buy a pack of 3 clips. You''l need the extras. Mine gets about 150 - 160 shots out of an 88 gram co2. .22 cal is much easy to load than .177 cal. .22 cal is a bigger hole in the target, easier to see where you hit. Plain and simple, you'll love this gun! Shoot Safe!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2017-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very well made, easy to use and very accurate.. I put 16 rounds on my target, around 60' within an area about the size of a quarter... that is good enough for me...with electrical tape rapped around the compensator it is quite enough to use easily in my back yard... i'm very satisfied with it...I chose a red dot site instead of a scope, and it seems to work just fine...

    Things I would have changed: Needs a shut off valve for the CO2, a wooden stock as an option would be nice.. also options for a sling....

    What others should know: This airgun will not disappoint you... it will do EVERYTHING that you can expect it to do, and it will do it very well

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Al in Wisconsin from USA on 2016-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Have not used it, it's winter in Wisconsin 9 degrees this am. Received in 3 days and highly recommended by your experts to buy. Excellent condition, waiting to get into warmer place. Fits like a glove, so great in hand.

    Things I would have changed: Until I am able be shoot it NO Change except slightly lower cost.

    What others should know: PA customer service has always been outstanding and should be your go to place for any air gun sales and help of any kind.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Philip from USA on 2016-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It is a repeater. It has very visible sights, although they are plastic. I use a BSA AR 4x AO scope.( I have three of these on air rifles now, very good scope. About 70 bucks at Pyramyd.) Unusual but light trigger. Very accurate. Good power to about 200 shots.

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of automatic safety, it is annoying. Put big boy picatinny rail on top. Also redesign CO2 system so cylinder can be removed without losing gas.

    What others should know: This rifle just loves RWS Meisterkugeln 14 gr pellets. Others are OK but these are really accurate. 90 gram CO2 cost about 8 bucks each after tax around here. CO2 does not leak out of rifle, and I do not remove it at the end of the day. Chronograph puts RWS pellets at 630 FPS, with a total variation of 15 FPS. This is at about 75 degrees F.

     
  • 123 ... 67 Next
Navigation