Date: 10/12/2018 4:56
0

Benjamin Maximus Air. BPM22B-N. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (48 reviews)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By M. from USA on 2016-09-24 13:12:22

Things I liked: Nice weight, very accurate with the right pellets, great price. The rifle was charged to about 1000 psi when it arrived and hasn't leaked yet.

Things I would have changed: The trigger. Mine breaks at between 5 and 7 lbs, but is crisp nonetheless.

What others should know: This is a great entry level PCP rifle. It shoots H&N 10.65 gr. pellets into a 9/16' group at a measured 25 yds. from a rest. I had to shoot 6, or 7 different brands and weights to find the right pellet. These pellets generate 18 fpe at the muzzle at 876 fps and 10.76 fpe at 50 yds. Plenty of power for ground squirrels out to 50 yds. The "sweet spot," pressure wise, is between 1750 psi and about 1100 psi and gives me about 30 shots. I bought an 80 cu. ft. scuba tank, used, for $35.00, which holds 3300 psi. It gives me approximately 157 fills from 1100 psi to 1750 psi, so it was a cheap and economical way to go. I found an inexpensive fill station on Amazon for $34.00, so I'm in to the whole thing for about $270.00 plus ammo. I will probably put a Marauder trigger in it when I get the money, but I can shoot it like it is in the meantime. I would recommend this rifle to anyone wanting an entry level PCP .

The most helpful critical review

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:3.0

By philip from USA on 2017-05-20 13:36:46

Things I liked: First the air pump would not disconnect without draining the tank. The iar would not stay in the gun. Then the cocking mechanism broke off after only a few uses. Both issues clearly just cheap design.

Things I would have changed: First the air pump would not disconnect without draining the tank. The iar would not stay in the gun. Then the cocking mechanism broke off after only a few uses. Both issues clearly just cheap design.

What others should know: First the air pump would not disconnect without draining the tank. The iar would not stay in the gun. Then the cocking mechanism broke off after only a few uses. Both issues clearly just cheap design.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: I really like my new Benjamin Maximus. I'm glad that it came with its own pump, target and a can of ammo, as it saved me money that I did not have to spend on those things. The gun is a lot lighter than I expected, but this is good because I'm up in age and rather have a lighter gun than the heavier ones I've bought in the past. I haven't hunted with it yet, but I have no problem hitting the target and cans without a scope. I did have to line up and glue the front sight as it moved after a few shots. Now I hit what I shoot at. This is my very first PCP, but will not be my last. after a while I plan to upgrade so I won't have to load after each shot. All in all, I am pleased with my purchase.

    Things I would have changed: Secure front sight.

    What others should know: Air seeps out after a while. I don't know if this is supposed to happen or not. I wish it would hold the air longer.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lee from USA on 2018-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: everything...the stock feels natural when i grip it unlike some guns where the stock is too bulky, very accurate and powerful out of the box, and easy to hand pump.

    Things I would have changed: the trigger is a tad bit heavy, but then again they do leave two non threaded screw holes to do some customized trigger pull work. internally threaded barrel

    What others should know: outside its quite loud almost like a .22 firearm, so be alert about shooting if you have close neighbors, even louder when in a building or a basement

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By SCOTT from USA on 2018-04-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate with jsb 15.89 , and best pellet is jsb 18.1. Don't bother with any others. I am getting 32 shots with 15.89 jsb, 2000 psi to 1000 psi at 60 degrees temp on up.

    Things I would have changed: . Trigger is a little stiff, but does not affect accuracy if you squeeze it very slowly

    What others should know: Very loud. Unless you want it sounding like .22 powder burner, or you are not near anyone install a 6" TKO muzzlebrake,super quiet. Push muzzlebrake down until it stops. Won't be able to use dust cap if properly installed. Use a 3x9x32 bugbuster. High dovetail mounts. Take it easy pulling back bolt if rough for long period heard it will break off. Clean barrel by pushing patch from muzzle down to bolt, pull back

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bob from USA on 2018-02-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is the right weight and length. Very accurate and performs great. Looks good also

    Things I would have changed: I put a scope on it that makes it better for me

    What others should know: Great dependable pcp rifle

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sal from USA on 2017-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: First of all, it's accurate - light weight - easy to fill with pump or air tank and looks good! And if you want it quiet - put a TKO muzzle brake on it. Super quiet, you take a shot and people around you don't know you have.

    Things I would have changed: A clip would have been nice.

    What others should know: Great all around rifle - plenty of upgrades out there, Customize your heart out!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2017-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The only reason I didn't give 5 stars on accuracy is because I haven,t put a scope on it. It's just way too fun plinking and hitting those old saw blades hanging on a nail in the tree. PWANG!!!

    Things I would have changed: When the air tank is full to 2500 psi, the shot noise becomes minimal while the pellet travels at good speed. I would design with this phenomenon in mind making the gun nearly silent without added equipment.

    What others should know: If you have any desire to go PCP, do not hesitate, get the combo with the gun and hand operated air pump. I love mine so much, now I'm looking for a cheap big bore for combination slug and arrow.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Leslie from USA on 2017-06-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Very accurate. Nice light weight. adequate power. Not pellet picky

    Things I would have changed: Not much that I would change. This is a nice light weight gun for the field or bench. Lighter hammer spring - I broke the bolt handle due to excessive cocking force and that cocking force may be to much for "light weight" shooters. A lighter spring would probably result in somewhat lower velocities.

    What others should know: However, if you plan to mod this gun the Discovery is a better choice as the valve is anchored with three screws rather than two screws on the Maximus. I ended up buying a Disco air tube and valve so that I could use the Magnum Airpower valve extensiion. Mine is tuned for 30+ foot pounds energy and can go to 36 foot pounds. With the mods that I have done the Discovery would have saved me about $150. If you like the gun at about 22 foot pounds and very accurate, then the stock Maximus is a great gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2017-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: My first PCP rifle, and guess what, the last 15 shots I put through the chronograph with 12gr lead pellets averaged 874.8fps/22.84fpe. BETTER numbers than the advertised 850fps for the .22 cal. I know, I find it had to believe too, honest advertising!!

    Things I would have changed: Difficult to get pellets in the breech, same compliant everybody has. I also have a scope with mid rings and that makes it even more difficult to load. I bought a pair of bent tip tweezers to try and I also got an air venturi pellet pen. Gonna see if I can heat the plastic tube alittle and bend it to make loading easier. Just slows down your fun alittle.

    What others should know: Getting into PCP is EXPENSIVE and the low price of this rifle changes that. The low max psi of 2000 makes filling with the hand pump WAY easier than the 3000psi rifles! Now if we could only get lower prices on carbon fiber air tanks!!!!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2017-05-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great entry level gun, fun to shoot, backyard friendly

    Things I would have changed: Easier way to load pellets

    What others should know: As stated above

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By philip from USA on 2017-05-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.54 ratings

    Things I liked: First the air pump would not disconnect without draining the tank. The iar would not stay in the gun. Then the cocking mechanism broke off after only a few uses. Both issues clearly just cheap design.

    Things I would have changed: First the air pump would not disconnect without draining the tank. The iar would not stay in the gun. Then the cocking mechanism broke off after only a few uses. Both issues clearly just cheap design.

    What others should know: First the air pump would not disconnect without draining the tank. The iar would not stay in the gun. Then the cocking mechanism broke off after only a few uses. Both issues clearly just cheap design.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Phillip from USA on 2017-05-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Weight, Trigger is Crisp (but heavy), low psi max performance velocity wise.

    Things I would have changed: The Shipping Carton offers no protection for the gun, the top of the breech had busted through the carton and the barrel was almost through the end. The gun arrived with the barrel shoved way off to the left side and it resisted (as if spring loaded) my attempts to right it after loosening the grub screws. I think the barrel was actually bent in shipping, and this would not surprise me as poorly as it was packaged. But, since I can't fill it, I cant see if its gonna be usable.

    What others should know: The Foster Fitting on mine is not standard, None of the Female Quick Disconnects I have will fit it. The closest sized one I have to the Benjamin's Probe size is still too small for the Benjamin but too big for my Air Venturi Probes for my Evanix, Sam Yang, Air Force, and my 2240 converted to HiPac. Even with all the bearings removed (for shits and giggles) the Benjamin's connector is still to large to slide in. Thought maybe it was too big for the little O-Rings in the Female ends so I removed them and its just too large in diameter for the hole in my Female Quick Disconnects period. Ordered the newest version from PA to see if maybe it would fit ($30) with my fingers crossed. The un came with no pressure in the tank and since I can't put any in it, fingers crossed it doesn't leak... I will update the ratings once I can put air in the rifle...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2017-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Almost everything. It is the second best air rifle I have owned as an adult.

    Things I would have changed: Previously stated.

    What others should know: I finished the season with the Maximus and it performed very well. Since then, I have shot some of the 15.89 gr JSB pellets I received from Pyramyd Air; I adjusted the scope; and I shot some more. I am well pleased with their accuracy and consistency. They will be my hunting pellets next season. There is an issue when I attempted to degas my Maximus with the tool I used to degas my Discovery. It does not work with the Maximus.? . Everyone tells me it should; but it does not. I have asked the question on the GTA Forum, to Crosman, and Pyramyd Air. I have not received an answer yet.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Erik from USA on 2017-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: This is my first PCP air rifle--I got in .22 caliber. The things I liked: 1.Great accuracy--as good of groups as my Beeman R10. 2. Amazing value--can't find lower price PCP, yet the performance is great. Remember this is a simple, "no-frills" set up: synthetic stock, single shot air rifle. FYI: The package deal was also a great deal: Mantis scope was clear and very good. The Benjamin pump is working well--had it almost 9 months to date. This has been a great way to break into PCP air rifles. 3. Trigger is good. A little creep, but breaks clean. I shoot good groups with it and see no reason to modify it. I will say, however, it is not as good as my Rekord trigger in my R10 (but nothing is). 4.It is designed to operate at 2000 psi max. This is a key detail if you are going to pump it up by hand. It is easy to pump up to 2000 psi--a kid 10-12 years old or an elderly person could even handle it fine. However, most PCPs operate at 3000 psi--much harder to pump up. 5. Light weight.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. Would I like a better trigger, or a walnut stock, or have a multiple shot magazine? Sure. But then I would be buying a Benjamin Marauder and paying much more. Again, this is no-frills but surprisingly high performance.

    What others should know: This airgun has been a great way to cheaply practice my shooting. I also hunted with this air rifle--love it. Thank you, Benjamin for making a PCP air rifle for the masses. I wasn't sure I wanted to make the leap into PCP guns (I am frugal--cheap by nature), but glad I did.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2017-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is my first PCP and this thing is awesome. I bundled it when I bought it and glad I did. Put everything together took it to work with me and within 4 shots it was sighted in the 5th shot hit the same hole. The maximus is extremely accurate and I recommend it to anyone.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Get high profile scope mounts

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Orlando from USA on 2016-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great PCP air rifle man love this rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Shoot great very acquired.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By CARLOS from USA on 2016-11-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very light. Accurate. Not expensive.

    Things I would have changed: Breech and bolt. Mine broke the bolt at 3 moths after purchase. Make it multishot.

    What others should know: Bolt and handle broke at 3 months.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2016-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.04 ratings

    Things I liked: Light weight. accuracy and price

    Things I would have changed: Larger loading port and make it easier to close the bolt without having to push very hard forward on several brands of pellets

    What others should know: This gun is a great value. However, the two complaints above really distract from it being a great gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By leslie from USA on 2016-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice gun for the money Like it as well as my disc

    Things I would have changed: Like just as it is, would be nice with a smoother trgger

    What others should know: The one I have seems to like about any pellet I use shot count is great (.177 cal.)

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.04 ratings

    Things I liked: Just received my benjamin maximus in .22 two days ago. It arrived charged to about 1000 psi, with the benjamin hand pump. After some very easy assembly of the pump, I got the fill hose attached and had no problem charging it to 2000 psi. The connection was a little fiddly but it was very easy to tell when you had successfully engaged the fill hose. The last ~10 strokes of the pump were fairly difficult, and involved lifting my entire 130 lb frame off the ground, but for 50-60 strokes of the pump you get easily 30 shots, and probably more. After I got the gun filled, took it outside and shots some groups of 10 with JSB Exacts, Crosman Premier Domes, and some Exact Heavies. Compared to my 1377, it is jaw-droppingly accurate. With the scope now zeroed in (picked up a Hatsan Optima 3-9x40AO), I am confident I will hit a dime every time at 20 yards. Spring rifles have nothing on this. Really great air rifle, would recommend.

    Things I would have changed: I'm no expert on triggers, but this one seems to get the job done, plastic though it is. The bolt is a bit difficult to pull back, but I think this will improve with time and I have had no misfires or jams so far. The bolt also seems to want to bounce up and partly open when you fire, not sure if this is an issue or not. Pellets can be hard to jam into the narrow space between the fairly long/sharp pellet probe and the rear opening of the barrel, but I can still load it standing with the rifle occupying one hand completely. Really, at this price point, there isn't anything much I would change. It is loud: only fired it twice before realizing it would need some alterations to be backyard friendly. Fortunately, I'd planned for just such a contingency, and my solution seems to be working. Oh, and the narrow hard plastic stock can be a bit uncomfortable against my bony shoulders: I'm hoping an aftermarket butt pad will help with this.

    What others should know: It is lightweight, mine hasn't leaked yet, it shoots very straight and very hard - I haven't had the opportunity the measure velocities, but the downrange effects on full aluminum cans, bottles, and other soft targets are quite satisfying. There is no recoil. With all the extra parts I've put into this rifle, the whole package minus pump has only cost $340 for a very entertaining plinking and target gun which I have no doubt would be capable of hunting as well.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carol from USA on 2016-09-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.03 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything! This was my first PCP and I love it! 25 shots from 2000-1200 psi. And super easy to fill with the pump! It's really liking the crossman premier domed pellets. This rifle is super light even topped with the Mantis scope. It's an amazing rifle far superior to my .22 springers! Great great buy! Pyramyd air rocks! And this Maximus .22 is a down right coon slaying machine!

    Things I would have changed: Maybe an adjustable trigger that's metal. Oh and scope stops. I haven't had any issues yet but it worries me not having any.

    What others should know: Buy it it's amazing!!

     
  • 123 Next
Navigation