Date: 20/10/2017 11:24
0

H&N Rundkugel, .177 Cal, 7.7 Grains, Copper-Coated Round Balls, 500ct reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.5 (6 reviews)
5 star4 star3 star2 star1 star
(3 votes)(2 votes)(1 vote)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0

By Michael from USA on 2014-12-01 00:26:26

Things I liked: H&N Rundkugel are very consistently sized, The copper coating helps prevent flat spots by a tight magazine.

Things I would have changed: They're not inexpensive (but worth the premium price).

What others should know: These copper-coated round balls are not always in stock. When you find them, buy several tins!

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Size/Shape Distribution:3.0

By Airgun Papa from USA on 2013-03-18 15:34:39

Things I liked: These are shaped and formed very well and the copper coating allows them to work in guns that I could not get even high quality lead balls to work in.

Things I would have changed: Well, I would like to get them cheaper and I would have them of a more uniform size. These ranged from .1735" to .177". Unless you sort them you are not going to be able to use them in some guns mentioned below.

What others should know: I am old school. Heavier projectiles are better than lightweights as long as you don't take it too far. I had tried non-coated lead balls from H&N in my Colt 1911 Special Combat, Crosman C-31 and Daisy Model 25 and all of them had jams. However, with these I was able to get all three guns to function perfectly --- as long as I sorted the copper-coated lead BB's into the following categories: .1735" to .175"; .175+" to .176" and .176+" up. The Colt and the Crosman C-31 will function only with the smallest sizes up to the maximum .175". The Daisy 25 also was most consistent with these smallest sizes, but still functioned with shot up to .176" but the Chronograph dropped when one of the .176" balls were encountered, so I would say it best to also limit the Daisy to the smallest sized of less than .176". The .176" and above were great in my Crosman 1077 and Crosman 2100 with very impressive accuracy. The bottom line is sorting these is a pain and they are too expensive compared to other ammo offerings that will work in these guns, unless you are a nut like me that just wants something better for some special purpose he may find for them in the future.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Art from USA on 2016-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Ok I would have given these Rundkugels 5 stars for fun, but that is not an option. I have to start by saying, in good humor, that these are the most pricey least accurate H&N ammo. But I got these to make use of a 77xs magazine (modern 880), and the thought of 50 shots, self contained, no fumbling for pellets, sounded good. For Daisy rifle users - 35, 880, 77xs, 901 - you are in business! The magazine design loads them easily. Multiple reviews by Crosman pump users say the lead balls do not load right; sorry Crosman users. But 5 stars for fun, 5 stars for fast loading, and 5 stars for clean ammo. I fired 50 shots fast and easy, faster than expected. Gamo has ball offering - but toggle on the "1 star" reviews to see why I don't use that ammo. I no longer use Gamo ammo period.

    Things I would have changed: H&N should make all their Rundkugel offerings in 4.54mm. Their most expensive option is that - assuring that each ball engages the rifling. The Excite Smart Shot is for repeater guns and is sized at under 4.5mm for BB guns. These 4.5 are good in pump guns, but I would avoid in springers. Some are pee wees - just under 4.5 - and rolled down the barrel of my 77xs.

    What others should know: Shooters have to lower standards for lead balls. They just are not as good as decent pellets. 15 yards was as far out as I could go, and H&N says on the tin cover they are for close range; enlarge the picture of the tin to see it. Groups I was excited about were at 12 yards: 6 out of 10, 2 close misses, and 2 wild shots. Both 1 inch targets showed those results. The last shot on a 10 shot group, I loaded a ball and then pointed the barrel down; it rolled right out into my hand. I reloaded it, pumped my gun, and fired. To my surprise, it hit solid on the one inch target. So, these lead balls, even without engaging the rifling, are more accurate than a steal BB. The Rundkugels mushroom nicely inside the pellet trap. They are a blast for thrashing soup cans. Know not to point your gun straight up while loading. The balls can spill out; just lightly tip up barrel to feed ball into breach.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By glenn from Canada on 2014-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: nice ball shot

    Things I would have changed: make some BB caliber like this style too please

    What others should know: won't fire in all guns will not work as a BB

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By glenn from Canada on 2014-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: nice some of the heaviest and hardest BBs on the market deliver consistent high speed accuracy

    Things I would have changed: i want a .22 version aswell

    What others should know: these balls will not fit and fire in all guns, as they are larger than the .177 BB caliber

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2014-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: H&N Rundkugel are very consistently sized, The copper coating helps prevent flat spots by a tight magazine.

    Things I would have changed: They're not inexpensive (but worth the premium price).

    What others should know: These copper-coated round balls are not always in stock. When you find them, buy several tins!

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2014-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: copper coating

    Things I would have changed: screw on lid

    What others should know: Tried these in my Drozd Bumblebee. Very, very accurate but I am am one of the unlucky ones and no matter what adjustments made am getting feeding problems in the 30 round magazine. Sometimes this happens with the 30 round mags...they hate the lead balls they are supposed to shoot and jam up the magazine. This is NOT H&N's fault, its part of owning a Drozd.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Airgun Papa from USA on 2013-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: These are shaped and formed very well and the copper coating allows them to work in guns that I could not get even high quality lead balls to work in.

    Things I would have changed: Well, I would like to get them cheaper and I would have them of a more uniform size. These ranged from .1735" to .177". Unless you sort them you are not going to be able to use them in some guns mentioned below.

    What others should know: I am old school. Heavier projectiles are better than lightweights as long as you don't take it too far. I had tried non-coated lead balls from H&N in my Colt 1911 Special Combat, Crosman C-31 and Daisy Model 25 and all of them had jams. However, with these I was able to get all three guns to function perfectly --- as long as I sorted the copper-coated lead BB's into the following categories: .1735" to .175"; .175+" to .176" and .176+" up. The Colt and the Crosman C-31 will function only with the smallest sizes up to the maximum .175". The Daisy 25 also was most consistent with these smallest sizes, but still functioned with shot up to .176" but the Chronograph dropped when one of the .176" balls were encountered, so I would say it best to also limit the Daisy to the smallest sized of less than .176". The .176" and above were great in my Crosman 1077 and Crosman 2100 with very impressive accuracy. The bottom line is sorting these is a pain and they are too expensive compared to other ammo offerings that will work in these guns, unless you are a nut like me that just wants something better for some special purpose he may find for them in the future.

     
Navigation