Date: 24/3/2019 12:15
0

Air Venturi Air. AV-COMP4500. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (87 reviews)
3 star2 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Lynn from USA on 2017-05-19 23:25:40

Things I liked: This thing is a total bargain and will make your life better, especially if you bought an unregulated Marauder in .25. It is an excellent value. The package as it arrives is complete and no additional fittings were needed. Just add oil and water. It even has a male/male fitting so I could backfill my scuba tank with my existing fill hose. (I also was somewhat intrigued and entertained by the brilliant cardboard packaging.)

Things I would have changed: I would like to know a more exact specification for the oil. Most compressors and vacuum pumps mandate a specification from the manufacturer. I want maximum life and don't care what the oil costs if it will make a difference. The attitude with this is that it doesn't much matter... use a diesel motor oil or a mineral oil, petroleum based or synthetic, or whatever. (I'm pretty sure it does matter). On this site it is said to use a motor oil but the instructions also mention to use a compressor oil, which are a mineral oil. It will be interesting to see what kind of life individuals get from one lubricant or another over time when rebuilds come up.

What others should know: I looked at the market for a long time and nearly bought a Bauer, Daystate, an Omega, or that Italian job at various times but couldn't pull the trigger because they each lacked something. This one has reasonably high volume output, it's not quiet but better than I expected, it's compact and reasonably portable, runs on 110v, has auto shut-off, and it's still cheaper than all the others, none of which can check all those boxes. Other than waiting 3 months for delivery, I can't be more satisfied. If there is a shortcoming I don't know what it is.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Chip from USA on 2018-12-03 21:59:06

Things I liked: When I first received it, it worked. It failed after one year and the compressor was lightly used. I only used it form my air pistol needs. I only fill to 200 bar...3,000 psi

Things I would have changed: Durability. It cannot fail after a total of four hours of use.

What others should know: Buy something else

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2019-03-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fairly compact, and easy to set up. I've been PCP shooting for many years. I inherited my brothers guns and that got me going. I have his scuba tank. I would have the local FD fill it for me. It would take a week for the command to approve the fill. Then, they upgraded their pump. It has a cage to put their tanks in while filling them. Local codes I think. My tank was too large for them to fill. Now, with my own compressor, I have other local PCP shooters coming to me.

    Things I would have changed: I would have a Hobbs hour meter installed from the factory. I installed mine myself and it works good. Further, I would have a way of venting the bleed oil/water to external container. Hose or something to get that away from the interior. I would like to see the power connection on the side or back.

    What others should know: It's set it, let it run till it quits. Follow instructions on testing this feature. You'll be happy feet next time that tank is empty and you don't have to farm it out.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronnie from USA on 2019-03-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: like?? Huh!! I love it. It's easy to operate. All self contained in one unit. Not as loud as I expected after reading some of the reviews. The weight is fine with me too. Sits proud on the new bench i built for it and don't dance around.

    Things I would have changed: I can't think of anything I would change except an hour meter would be nice.

    What others should know: I've been seriously air gunning a few years now but I wore out 3 o 4 Daisy' power lines in my kid like days. I started a few years ago with a RWS 460 magnum which l love to shoot. Then I started studying PCP air rifles and soon got my first marauder and boy was I excited. I had a 90 ci tank that I had filled a couple of times until the paintball arena went out of business. Then there was the hand pump. I did that for 3 or 4 years with no Big issues. It just make you really make all your shots mean something. Plink wasn't as fun as it should be, in other words. So I finally decided to get a compressor and so glad I did. The first one arrived damaged in shipping. It was during the hustle of the Christmas Holliday so it got tossed around a bit I'm sure. I notified PA and the gladly and promptly sent a replacement. It was perfect. I can't say enough about how pleased I am with the compressor and the service from PA. Thank you Pyramid Air and Thank you Air Venturi. Ronnie C.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jeffery from USA on 2019-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The compressor came and pump didnt work but pyramedair was quick to send me new one. That came wuth broken fan shroud for compressor motor wrote to Pyramudaur and they aloud me to try it unit works well and there sending me a new fan shroud. Great customer service.. and they have great Gun techs. Thats why i order my Guns and my equipment from them great service.. and the fan shroud you could see got broken from shipping

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Great service great tecks equals the Best customer service Great company love my Gun My seneca Recluse and my Aircompresser

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randy from USA on 2019-01-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quick, quiet, easy to operate, and backed by Air Venturi. It arrived at my house in perfect condition. I filled my 74' AV Carbon Fiber tank from empty to 4500psi in just over an hour. Refills from 3800 to 4500 take about 12 minutes. Just turn it on, purge water as often as you want, it will shut off at your set pressure reading and enjoy your PCP's.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing with the compressor. An hour meter might be nice, but I keep a log and that works fine. A lower price would be nice, but I wouldn't want to pay a few bucks less and loose the quality.

    What others should know: I used a mixture of 50/50 antifreeze and distilled water to help prevent any corrosion. I also used Royal Purple synthetic compressor oil. I changed the oil after the first 10 minutes of break in, and again after my first tank fill which was just over an hour of run time. I'll now change the oil and air filter every 25 hours. I purge the water about every 10 minutes and get maybe a table spoon out. You can do that with no interruptions to the compressor. I uploaded a picture of the "cart" I made for it. It makes moving it around and purging the water much easier. You will definitely enjoy your hobby more with this air compressor!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JOHNR from USA on 2019-01-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It was simple to set up. I did order the Air Venturi 4500 Compressor Oil, 16 Oz. to simplify the process of getting started

    Things I would have changed: Nothing I can think of. Maybe I would add an hour meter.

    What others should know: I filled my Marauder (with an extended air cylinder) in about 2 minutes, maybe 2.5minutes. The auto shut off was easy to set, and it worked like a charm. I have an 88 cu in tank coming in a few days. I can't want to fill this

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Mark from USA on 2019-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the ability to fill air tanks

    Things I would have changed: haven't had it long enough to snivel.

    What others should know: Only filled my tank once so far, but when the automatic shutoff shut the pump down, my 20 amp breaker tripped. Want to see it happen again before calling.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joseph from USA on 2018-12-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Packed extremely well and quickly shipped. Easy to set up and use. Filled my 74cf tank from 2000-4500 psi in 23 minutes. This compressor is well made and quiet.

    Things I would have changed: Add an hour meter but not a deal breaker. Log book works too.

    What others should know: I'm glad I made this investment purchase. Even tho I live around the corner from a dive shop here in Akron Ohio. I like the independence/convienence this compressor gives me. BTW from my experience with sprinkler system air compressors, follow the maintence/oil change recommendations religiously. Joseph in Akron, Ohio

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jason from USA on 2018-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've had mine for 7 months, it runs smooth and steady. The air comes out dry. I've got a downline cylinder filter, and it's not seen a drop of water. I do get white fluid that sprays a bit on the bleed, but none of that seems to make it out of the condenser output tube. I had one issue with a seal on the output hose, Pyramyd mailed a replacement within minutes of of calling them.

    Things I would have changed: A little pricy, but a lot of value.

    What others should know: You'll need some more ammo

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Istvan from USA on 2018-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Saves me time and money to refill my tank. I can shoot as much as I like and not worry about running out of air. I'm shooting FX PCP air rifles and they take lots of air.

    Things I would have changed: Should include a vibration hour meter.

    What others should know: The fill time for my 75 cu ft for 2800 psi to 4500 psi is 30 minutes. I've filled it 2 times. The initial cost is expensive but it's worth it. If you are a serious PCP air rifle shooter, it's a good investment in the long run.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sandra from USA on 2018-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought this as a gift for my husband. He absolutely loves it. He is 62, but has had two back surgeries. The pump was very hard on him. Now it takes him about 1 minute to fill up each gun. He is thrilled!

    Things I would have changed: It does have a slight odor when used, which I know cannot be helped. But if I could change that (in a perfect world), I would.

    What others should know: Pyramid Air has absolutely the best customer service bar none! You get all the help and guidance you need ( I need it because I am in uncharted territory shopping for my husband); the shipping time is unbelievable, and the packaging is perfect! Everything arrives BEFORE scheduled delivery date and in perfect condition. Do not hesitate to order from this company! They are excellent to work with!

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Chip from USA on 2018-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: When I first received it, it worked. It failed after one year and the compressor was lightly used. I only used it form my air pistol needs. I only fill to 200 bar...3,000 psi

    Things I would have changed: Durability. It cannot fail after a total of four hours of use.

    What others should know: Buy something else

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Merle from USA on 2018-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice compressor fills up scuba and all paintball tanks About as loud as a normal air compressor

    Things I would have changed: Hour meter

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2018-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like everything about my new compressor. Fills my new FX Crown in a few minutes and the fill cut-off gauge is spot on.

    Things I would have changed: I would hinge the covers so the could be opened for maintenance and assembly with out taking screws out.

    What others should know: So much better than filling my air guns from scuba bottles plus my Crown takes more bar then the old scuba tank could feed it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joel from USA on 2018-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My hand pump quit so I decided to go with an electric pump and I am glad I did this is an excellent pump it will pump my air arms s410 up in just a few minutes I also have a suba tank it will pump it up in about 30 minutes from 0 to 3000 psi

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By daniel from USA on 2018-10-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the quality

    What others should know: this compressor takes a special compressor oil which does not come with the unit.Also no mention of this in the add.You find this out when you are at your cabin and read the instructions.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Glenn from USA on 2018-10-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Built like a tank. This unit is also powerful, relatively quiet and fast as when filling up my PCPs. Easy to use as well with excellent instructions.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at all

    What others should know: This is an awesome unit and worth every penny. It will make you want to shoot your PCPs all the time because of its ease of use. My advice is to save up for it if you need to, because it will psych you up to shoot a lot more than if you rely on a hand pump, which gets old really fast. You won't be disappointed if you purchase this unit because I feel it is an excellent investment for the hobby. I was on the fence buying it at first because of the price but now I am very glad I did.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DARRYL from USA on 2018-10-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Air Venturi 4500 Compressor is well-built, well-thought-out in terms of features, controls, and operation, and reasonably priced for what you are getting. It is easy to set-up and simple in its operation. The manual that comes with the unit is well-written, and simple to understand and follow.

    Things I would have changed: Based upon the reviews of other users, I ordered and installed an hour meter to keep track of when particular maintenance items were to be conducted. The cost was about $35 delivered to my door for the hour meter, and it simply attaches to the compressor with Velcro or the supplied adhesive strip. The compressor is also heavy. You would be well-advised to purchase some type of wheeled cart or moving dolly to mount it on so you can push it around when needed. I mounted mine on a wooden moving dolly that I purchased at Home Depot. I also purchased a small plastic bin that I mounted next to the compressor on the dolly to hold my extra bottles or oil, owners manual, power cord, and small parts.

    What others should know: Be sure to buy at a couple of bottles of the Air Venturi Compressor Oil so you can get up and running as soon as the unit is delivered. The oil comes in handy 16-ounce bottles, which is exactly the amount called for in the manual. Always be sure to have one or two extra bottles handy. About the only other thing that would make this product even more useful would be some type of cover to keep the unit clean when not being used. I am sure that you could find a cardboard box at the UPS Store that would slip over the unit to do the job.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chris from USA on 2018-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Best thing you will ever buy to support your pre-charged airgun addiction.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing. The only tiny annoyance is the glycerin filled pressure gauge has a bubble of air that always seems to be blocking the view of my 3000psi marking. But that is no reason to take any credit away from the compressor.

    What others should know: I highly recommend changing the oil after the first couple tanks you fill. The book recommends changing after 25 hours initially however I did an oil change after the 10 minute break in period and then I topped off two scuba tanks. I found the oil was definitely full of particles from the break in period. I plan on doing another oil change after another hour of use on the compressor. This is common wear during the break in period of any new motor and it should not be of concern to see, however there is no need to leave the grit and abrasive particles in the machine during the break in period. Also note that your oil in the machine will not appear to be as dirty in the viewing window as it actually is in the compressor. All the metal shavings and bits of metal will settle into the bottom of the pan when the machine is turned off. So I am just recommending oil changes more frequently when you first begin to use the compressor.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Cecil from USA on 2018-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Size and ease of use.

    Things I would have changed: Would add a hour meter and maybe make the temperature gauge in farenheit.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Luke from USA on 2018-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works great fast fill not to loud.

    Things I would have changed: Needs to come with oil. Nothing like waiting on backordered compressor, to have to wait for oil to come in.

     
  • 12345 Next
Navigation