Date: 15/12/2018 2:59
0

Air Venturi Air. AV-COMP4500. Customer Reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (80 reviews)
3 star2 star
Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Lynn from USA on 2017-05-19 23:25:40

Things I liked: This thing is a total bargain and will make your life better, especially if you bought an unregulated Marauder in .25. It is an excellent value. The package as it arrives is complete and no additional fittings were needed. Just add oil and water. It even has a male/male fitting so I could backfill my scuba tank with my existing fill hose. (I also was somewhat intrigued and entertained by the brilliant cardboard packaging.)

Things I would have changed: I would like to know a more exact specification for the oil. Most compressors and vacuum pumps mandate a specification from the manufacturer. I want maximum life and don't care what the oil costs if it will make a difference. The attitude with this is that it doesn't much matter... use a diesel motor oil or a mineral oil, petroleum based or synthetic, or whatever. (I'm pretty sure it does matter). On this site it is said to use a motor oil but the instructions also mention to use a compressor oil, which are a mineral oil. It will be interesting to see what kind of life individuals get from one lubricant or another over time when rebuilds come up.

What others should know: I looked at the market for a long time and nearly bought a Bauer, Daystate, an Omega, or that Italian job at various times but couldn't pull the trigger because they each lacked something. This one has reasonably high volume output, it's not quiet but better than I expected, it's compact and reasonably portable, runs on 110v, has auto shut-off, and it's still cheaper than all the others, none of which can check all those boxes. Other than waiting 3 months for delivery, I can't be more satisfied. If there is a shortcoming I don't know what it is.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Chip from USA on 2018-12-03 21:59:06

Things I liked: When I first received it, it worked. It failed after one year and the compressor was lightly used. I only used it form my air pistol needs. I only fill to 200 bar...3,000 psi

Things I would have changed: Durability. It cannot fail after a total of four hours of use.

What others should know: Buy something else

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jason from USA on 2018-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've had mine for 7 months, it runs smooth and steady. The air comes out dry. I've got a downline cylinder filter, and it's not seen a drop of water. I do get white fluid that sprays a bit on the bleed, but none of that seems to make it out of the condenser output tube. I had one issue with a seal on the output hose, Pyramyd mailed a replacement within minutes of of calling them.

    Things I would have changed: A little pricy, but a lot of value.

    What others should know: You'll need some more ammo

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Istvan from USA on 2018-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Saves me time and money to refill my tank. I can shoot as much as I like and not worry about running out of air. I'm shooting FX PCP air rifles and they take lots of air.

    Things I would have changed: Should include a vibration hour meter.

    What others should know: The fill time for my 75 cu ft for 2800 psi to 4500 psi is 30 minutes. I've filled it 2 times. The initial cost is expensive but it's worth it. If you are a serious PCP air rifle shooter, it's a good investment in the long run.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sandra from USA on 2018-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought this as a gift for my husband. He absolutely loves it. He is 62, but has had two back surgeries. The pump was very hard on him. Now it takes him about 1 minute to fill up each gun. He is thrilled!

    Things I would have changed: It does have a slight odor when used, which I know cannot be helped. But if I could change that (in a perfect world), I would.

    What others should know: Pyramid Air has absolutely the best customer service bar none! You get all the help and guidance you need ( I need it because I am in uncharted territory shopping for my husband); the shipping time is unbelievable, and the packaging is perfect! Everything arrives BEFORE scheduled delivery date and in perfect condition. Do not hesitate to order from this company! They are excellent to work with!

     
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Chip from USA on 2018-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: When I first received it, it worked. It failed after one year and the compressor was lightly used. I only used it form my air pistol needs. I only fill to 200 bar...3,000 psi

    Things I would have changed: Durability. It cannot fail after a total of four hours of use.

    What others should know: Buy something else

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Merle from USA on 2018-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice compressor fills up scuba and all paintball tanks About as loud as a normal air compressor

    Things I would have changed: Hour meter

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2018-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like everything about my new compressor. Fills my new FX Crown in a few minutes and the fill cut-off gauge is spot on.

    Things I would have changed: I would hinge the covers so the could be opened for maintenance and assembly with out taking screws out.

    What others should know: So much better than filling my air guns from scuba bottles plus my Crown takes more bar then the old scuba tank could feed it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joel from USA on 2018-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My hand pump quit so I decided to go with an electric pump and I am glad I did this is an excellent pump it will pump my air arms s410 up in just a few minutes I also have a suba tank it will pump it up in about 30 minutes from 0 to 3000 psi

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By daniel from USA on 2018-10-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the quality

    What others should know: this compressor takes a special compressor oil which does not come with the unit.Also no mention of this in the add.You find this out when you are at your cabin and read the instructions.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Glenn from USA on 2018-10-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Built like a tank. This unit is also powerful, relatively quiet and fast as when filling up my PCPs. Easy to use as well with excellent instructions.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at all

    What others should know: This is an awesome unit and worth every penny. It will make you want to shoot your PCPs all the time because of its ease of use. My advice is to save up for it if you need to, because it will psych you up to shoot a lot more than if you rely on a hand pump, which gets old really fast. You won't be disappointed if you purchase this unit because I feel it is an excellent investment for the hobby. I was on the fence buying it at first because of the price but now I am very glad I did.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DARRYL from USA on 2018-10-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Air Venturi 4500 Compressor is well-built, well-thought-out in terms of features, controls, and operation, and reasonably priced for what you are getting. It is easy to set-up and simple in its operation. The manual that comes with the unit is well-written, and simple to understand and follow.

    Things I would have changed: Based upon the reviews of other users, I ordered and installed an hour meter to keep track of when particular maintenance items were to be conducted. The cost was about $35 delivered to my door for the hour meter, and it simply attaches to the compressor with Velcro or the supplied adhesive strip. The compressor is also heavy. You would be well-advised to purchase some type of wheeled cart or moving dolly to mount it on so you can push it around when needed. I mounted mine on a wooden moving dolly that I purchased at Home Depot. I also purchased a small plastic bin that I mounted next to the compressor on the dolly to hold my extra bottles or oil, owners manual, power cord, and small parts.

    What others should know: Be sure to buy at a couple of bottles of the Air Venturi Compressor Oil so you can get up and running as soon as the unit is delivered. The oil comes in handy 16-ounce bottles, which is exactly the amount called for in the manual. Always be sure to have one or two extra bottles handy. About the only other thing that would make this product even more useful would be some type of cover to keep the unit clean when not being used. I am sure that you could find a cardboard box at the UPS Store that would slip over the unit to do the job.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chris from USA on 2018-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Best thing you will ever buy to support your pre-charged airgun addiction.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing. The only tiny annoyance is the glycerin filled pressure gauge has a bubble of air that always seems to be blocking the view of my 3000psi marking. But that is no reason to take any credit away from the compressor.

    What others should know: I highly recommend changing the oil after the first couple tanks you fill. The book recommends changing after 25 hours initially however I did an oil change after the 10 minute break in period and then I topped off two scuba tanks. I found the oil was definitely full of particles from the break in period. I plan on doing another oil change after another hour of use on the compressor. This is common wear during the break in period of any new motor and it should not be of concern to see, however there is no need to leave the grit and abrasive particles in the machine during the break in period. Also note that your oil in the machine will not appear to be as dirty in the viewing window as it actually is in the compressor. All the metal shavings and bits of metal will settle into the bottom of the pan when the machine is turned off. So I am just recommending oil changes more frequently when you first begin to use the compressor.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Cecil from USA on 2018-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Size and ease of use.

    Things I would have changed: Would add a hour meter and maybe make the temperature gauge in farenheit.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Luke from USA on 2018-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works great fast fill not to loud.

    Things I would have changed: Needs to come with oil. Nothing like waiting on backordered compressor, to have to wait for oil to come in.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2018-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a well made machine. Easy to set up. Runs fairly quiet. Fills my Tiger Shark tank from 3700 to 4500 psi in about 10 minutes. The auto shut off works great, but make sure you are on a 20 amp circuit. Had mine on a 15 and when the auto shut off kicked in it kicked the breaker. The manual does not say what amp circuit it should be on. I have about 120 minutes of run time it and it has performed flawlessly. The oil that the manual calls for is used in ATV's so when you look for it, look in the ATV section and not the automobile oil section. You can also use compressor oil. This is one purchase you should make now, and one you will never regret.

    Things I would have changed: It weighs about 80 lbs. Adding some caster wheels would help allot of folks move it about if necessary. If I ever have to go mobile with it I plan to mount it to a small pull cart.

    What others should know: There are a few events in life that provide you with a new sense of freedom - getting your drivers license, getting your first car, graduating from school and moving into your first apartment on your own, and maybe for some, getting divorced or retiring. But to the serious air gunner nothing compares to the freedom you experience when you buy this compressor. No more worries of running out of air at the wrong time, no more worries about where to get the air and more paying for air for some folks. It provides stress free unlimited shooting time which for shooting addicts like myself, that is priceless. I would strongly recommend to anyone looking to move into the PCP world, to buy this compressor - FIRST. I believe that most of us made our first PCP gun choices based on availability of air and shot count. This steered me to purchase a good rifle but not necessarily the one I wanted at the time. Had I bought the compressor FIRST, I would have had a much larger pool to pick from. BUY IT!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By GREG from USA on 2018-08-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fast fill rate.

    Things I would have changed: Couple compressor with the air venturi moisture pre filter at a discount, say $10 off total price.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Glenn from USA on 2018-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Awesome pump, works like it should for the money

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Get one it's the way to go

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Nick from USA on 2018-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very easy to use so far. With the help of YouTube videos Im feeling fairly confident that Im not doing anything wrong. I have a 44cf tank and it takes about 10-12 minutes to top it off from about 2900lbs to 4500lbs. Something unexpected happens when filling my Gamo TC45 from around 3000lbs to 4500lbs. When the pressure reaches around 3900lbs while filling the compressor begins to sort of let off! It will build up pressure, the gun valve will open and take the air then the compressor air pressure gauge will drop until it reaches pressure again! It will eventually fill to gun completely in about 6 minutes. It was unnerving the first time this happened however.

    Things I would have changed: Not sure yet. So far so good!

    What others should know: I like the convenience and ease of use. I am completely satisfied and would recommend it.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sparrow on 2018-08-04
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very well built, very efficient unit, fills all my guns and tanks very little time. Very quiet unit.

    Things I would have changed: Install casters on unit, install hour meter on unit, supply cover for unit.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2018-07-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I can fill my own tanks and my own guns no more hassle. It's not as loud as I thought it would be. I filled my 88cf tank from zero to 4500 psi tonight. I was in my basement and the wife did not boot me to the garage. The whole unit seemed to be quality. Extra parts were included some seals and o-rings. There was a female foster adaptor included I was able to use the extended foster connector that came with my inpact. Now I can get it off with my hand no more using pliers.

    Things I would have changed: Not much it worked pretty well first time out.

    What others should know: I filled my compressor with royal purple synthetic air compressor oil. I filled the cooling system with purified drinking water and a bottle of royal purple ice. I need this compressor to last. It was 20.3C when I started filling my bottle took it roughly 1.5hr and temperature never went over 63.6C. It was eventless and went exactly as planned. The bottle was slightly warm to the touch after filling. I am a happy airgunner.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2018-07-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very fast fills. Easy to operate.

    Things I would have changed: Would like to see a hour meter.

    What others should know: Just buy it. Worth every penny in my book.

  • 1234 Next
Navigation